AFL Silver Membership Waitlist Number

Reckon walk-up will be available at least for standing room on the night? Went on minutes ago and looks as though everything is sold right up to the back of level 4.

I would have thought there would be no problem walking up, but from what you say it might go close to selling out. If you are on twitter you could try tweeting AFLMembership about it (or call them)- they generally like to provide vague answers, but if you ask how many tickets remain unsold they might give you an indication.

(If there is already another thread on this, please link me to it)

Received my AFL membership card yesterday and was surprised to see they now show your waitlist number which is the amount of people ahead of you inline to go gold.

Id like to get an idea of the year people joined and there waitlist number. Ill update this post as the numbers roll in.

Me (Joined 09)
2011: 12,775
2012: 11,197
2013: 9,283
2014: 7,753
2015: 5,255
2016: 1,950
2016 June: Full Membership Offered !

My Son (Joined Dec 13)
2015: 22890
2016: 13639

My Daughter (Joined Dec 14)
2016: 19641
I've been a full member for a while
I'm giving it up this year so one of you may get my spot !

good luck!

Reckon walk-up will be available at least for standing room on the night? Went on minutes ago and looks as though everything is sold right up to the back of level 4.

Given it has all dawned on us finally that Gil dumb idea of no finals this weekend means another full week of tickets on sale I think walk ups looking doubtful.

Why are you giving it up?
terrible value really.

I used to go every week, but I don't go anymore and to be frank, I don't feel like donating 700 bucks a year to the AFL and their communist system. Everyone wanted a draft and a salary cap, but now it gets rorted by the AFL and their northern babies

Given it has all dawned on us finally that Gil dumb idea of no finals this weekend means another full week of tickets on sale I think walk ups looking doubtful.
Good shout to be honest.

But my philosophy is the people who care enough to go (ie the people not willing be rejected and waste a night – 90% of people who would want to go) will buy tickets.

terrible value really.

I used to go every week, but I don't go anymore and to be frank, I don't feel like donating 700 bucks a year to the AFL and their communist system. Everyone wanted a draft and a salary cap, but now it gets rorted by the AFL and their northern babies

HAHAHAHA.
In other words he's not happy that Carlton can't buy Premierships anymore.
:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p

HAHAHAHA.
In other words he's not happy that Carlton can't buy Premierships anymore.
:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p
Well I must admit it's not ideal! :p
All jokes aside, that's not the point, however if you are happy to have the AFL ensuring success for new teams just so people will like them, when you have dyed in the wool Stkilda and Doggies fans who have suffered for years, then fair enough :)

What other league in the world has a situation where the governing body props up new teams and has a goal of them winning premierships after 5 years just so they stick?

The main takeaway is, I don't feel comfortable paying 700 dollars a year for a membership, when the dice are loaded and it's not a fair competition .

Well I must admit it's not ideal! :p
All jokes aside, that's not the point, however if you are happy to have the AFL ensuring success for new teams just so people will like them, when you have dyed in the wool Stkilda and Doggies fans who have suffered for years, then fair enough :)

What other league in the world has a situation where the governing body props up new teams and has a goal of them winning premierships after 5 years just so they stick?

The main takeaway is, I don't feel comfortable paying 700 dollars a year for a membership, when the dice are loaded and it's not a fair competition .

I was only stirring mate.
I hate the expansion teams more than anyone.
The AFL competition is rigged & they are trying to grow the game through having them be successful.
I agree that is totally wrong and unfair to supporters of traditional clubs.
They even made sure they had a Geelong v Hawthorn and Sydney v GWS final through dodgy decisions to Hawthorn last round.
I have full membership and waited too long to get it to give it away.
I am on the verge of considering it though.
I pay for 5 of them and oldest daughter does not go to games anymore.
When they start ripping us off where it becomes too much - I will give the game away.

I was only stirring mate.
I hate the expansion teams more than anyone.
The AFL competition is rigged & they are trying to grow the game through having them be successful.
I agree that is totally wrong and unfair to supporters of traditional clubs.
They even made sure they had a Geelong v Hawthorn and Sydney v GWS final through dodgy decisions to Hawthorn last round.
I have full membership and waited too long to get it to give it away.
I am on the verge of considering it though.
I pay for 5 of them and oldest daughter does not go to games anymore.
When they start ripping us off where it becomes too much - I will give the game away.

I feel you! Ps it's actually cheaper to get rid of it and just get great seats whenever you feel like going!

It's actually poor value!

The grand final tickets you get if your team makes it are no good anyway. Better off keeping the money and if your team gets there, purchase a nice corporate package!!

Apparently only restricted view & standing room tix left for Fri night. AFL Membership just tweeted.

PS: maybe rename this thread to AFL Membership so all things related to AFL membership can be discussed including ticketing, wait list etc.?
Yeah this is looking more and more like a 90k game!

If you're an AFL member, you will not be able to walk-up!

I'd hope AFL members take over medallion club, but I'm not hopeful

Highly unlikely that the AFL will disband the Medallion Club or Centre Wing setup, however they will bring down the prices of booking on level 2 for AFL members and will probably take over the EJ Whitten Bar and one of the larger dining rooms.

Glad I forked out, that match was a ripper.

Highly unlikely that the AFL will disband the Medallion Club or Centre Wing setup, however they will bring down the prices of booking on level 2 for AFL members and will probably take over the EJ Whitten Bar and one of the larger dining rooms.

They need to offer some level 2 access to AFL Members at Docklands when they take over the stadium (and not at exorbitant "additional" prices, it needs to be like the G where you walk up).

Does anyone know how it was sold to the AFL Members when they initially sold Waverley and bought Docklands? I assume the AFL Membership was originally a VFL Park membership predominantly so you would've thought when selling Waverley there would have been some concessions that access to Docklands would be comparable when the AFL took over in 2025. It would be ridiculous if the AFL Members get better access at the G (a ground not owned or managed by the AFL) compared to a stadium the AFL actually own, despite the difference in capacity.

Grand Final ticket was around $170-80 I think. All I know is that it does not cost more that $200.

$194 this year so will be over $200 soon (next year probably).

If you are a full member the price for reservation for prelim was around $18 I think 2 years ago.

$25 + Booking this year

That's the advantage of AFL Membership.
The club members get shafted with finals ticket prices.

So true this is why I went back to AFL Membership - hadn't been to a final in a while (cos Melbourne) and went to the 2013 EF with my cousin - $80 for a ticket and that's just to first week of finals!!! Ridiculous.

You can still go as a silver member if the Prelim was not sold out but at guest prices which are ridiculous.

Does anyone know when they do the ID checks to make sure you're not using someone elses ticket if they check to make sure the ticket is linked to your membership? For example my wife is a Geelong Silver member, if I buy a ticket to the Prelim on a Gold Member card (so only $25 instead of $180 or whatever ridiculous price it is) and she has her membership card with her will that be all they check, to make sure her actual Membership card is hers? Or would they check to link it back to the reserved seat paper ticket?

A full member ticket says 'MEMBER' on it, they will then expect to see a full member card because they know that silver members don't get prelim tickets.