AFL - Time for 2 divisions?

Don't think it could happen now mate, it's only chance was back in the 80's when club football was around. All franchises would have to go to do it now especially in WA and SA. The horse has well and truly bolted in my view.
It should of been done but it wasn't and that's all she wrote I reckon.

Think you quoted the wrong post....I was just talking about the current teams here.

Fixture wise, North go to Tassie and I can see there being two conferences of 9 (Vic and Aus)

- play your own conference twice (16 games)

- play the other once (9 games, 5/4 and 4/5 H&A split alternating years)

- NAB cup scratched for three additional H&A games

- more games for TV

- retains certainty of 2x derby games for everybody

- lends some kind of certainty to draw

- one ladder and finals series to remain

100% for a 2nd division

12 teams in each division all clubs play each other twice.

Give succesfull state league clubs an opportunity to develop a team for a shot at AFL TV money... they would be getting more crowds than GWS and Gold Coast

It really doesn't matter what a swans fans idea is... it will always have something to do with COLA or Dawks fans will call it stupid.

Not a bad idea however need more teams and stronger lower divisions spending more coin to be competitive.

I like the idea of two conferences as long as their is only one ladder.
Play every one in your conference twice and everyone in the other once.

If they were to do that, 3 conferences would be better because it'd give you 22 games.

The trouble, as always, is who goes in which conference.

Yep quoted wrong one!!

As for the post about VFL/VFA merger and consequences...Yeah, the horse has long since bolted on that.

Not sure the WAFL/SANFL would have liked being treated as being roughly equivalent to the VFL 2nd division either.

Well shit, I have to remember that bigfooty isn't like most forums where you might be lucky get 5 posts in a night to your thread. From what I've read, it seems you support the idea! Hopefully the AFL implements it soon!

AFL - Time for 2 divisions?