Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XII - 💰💰💰

Who would you have drafted instead of these boys?

Players more suited for our list needs. In 2020 we picked up Cox, Reid, Eyre, Brand and Baldwin after picking up Jones and Bryan the previous year.

In 2021 we went for the “steal” Hobbs who Richmond passed over, when he was already the same type of player we had in the middle. Passing over Lohmann, Wilmot, Aleer, Van Rooyen.

In 2022 we went safe again with Tsatsas the ball magnet. Phillipou and McKenzie are looking pretty good right now. Meanwhile Tsatsas has one foot out the door. Then we went for another key defender with pick 25 in Hayes.

So far caddy looks good but he is another third tall type we already have. With Tassie coming in we need to nail our picks.

Dan Houston?

Has anyone thought of Jake Lukosius or Dan Houston?

Average age of selected 23 in Round 22, 2024:

Colliwobbles: 27.4
Geelong: 26.9
Melbourne: 26.0
Western Bulldogs: 26.0
Sydney: 25.8
Carlscum: 25.6
St Kilda: 25.5
Dawks: 25.3
Port: 25.3
Lions: 25.3
Giants: 25.0
Eagles: 25.0
Norf: 24.8
Richmond: 24.7
Adelaide: 24.5
Essendon: 24.4
Fremantle: 24.0
Suns: 23.8
No Goldy, Wright, Hep, Hind help with that number. No idea what our average age for the season would be but I’d reckon higher

Players more suited for our list needs. In 2020 we picked up Cox, Reid, Eyre, Brand and Baldwin after picking up Jones and Bryan the previous year.

In 2021 we went for the “steal” Hobbs who Richmond passed over, when he was already the same type of player we had in the middle. Passing over Lohmann, Wilmot, Aleer, Van Rooyen.

In 2022 we went safe again with Tsatsas the ball magnet. Phillipou and McKenzie are looking pretty good right now. Meanwhile Tsatsas has one foot out the door. Then we went for another key defender with pick 25 in Hayes.

So far caddy looks good but he is another third tall type we already have. With Tassie coming in we need to nail our picks.

What a crock of shit.

Richmond attempted to trade up for our pick 13 to get Hobbs in 2021. They clearly rated him. There’s really not that much after our pick that I’m too upset we missed out on in 2021.

Absolutely nowhere has it been reported that Tsatas has one foot out the door. Only that clubs may sniff about due to him being in the VFL. And Cam Mackenzie was in the VFL last weekend. There’s also been rumours of Phillipou wanting to go home.

What a crock of shit.

Richmond attempted to trade up for our pick 13 to get Hobbs in 2021. They clearly rated him. There’s really not that much after our pick that I’m too upset we missed out on in 2021.

Absolutely nowhere has it been reported that Tsatas has one foot out the door. Only that clubs may sniff about due to him being in the VFL. And Cam Mackenzie was in the VFL last weekend. There’s also been rumours of Phillipou wanting to go home.

We shall see. Hobbs I’m hopeful for but he seems to be another B grade Essendon pick. Tsatsas can’t get into the team while racking up 30 touches a week at VFL level.

Hobbs and tsatas are pretty dominant, at vfl level. Clearly a cut above. They need time in the seniors.

League wide everyone seems to love blitzarts flexibility, can someone compare his career stats to cox and see where he stands, cox will only get better.

We have seen what Perkins can do, yea his form was horrible after injury, but he is at least gonna be a solid forward for us long term.

Reid has been unlucky due to injuries but his health and inclusion in the team will be huge. He has elite footskills.

Caddy already looks the part, aside from his goal kicking.

Yes I’d like to get younger potentially putting stringer parish 2mp up for trade and moving leverde Kelly goldy Heppell on, potentially a couple more and get some more draft prospects in. Our youth is fine

Hobbs and tsatas are pretty dominant, at vfl level. Clearly a cut above. They need time in the seniors.

League wide everyone seems to love blitzarts flexibility, can someone compare his career stats to cox and see where he stands, cox will only get better.

We have seen what Perkins can do, yea his form was horrible after injury, but he is at least gonna be a solid forward for us long term.

Reid has been unlucky due to injuries but his health and inclusion in the team will be huge. He has elite footskills.

Caddy already looks the part, aside from his goal kicking.

Yes I’d like to get younger potentially putting stringer parish 2mp up for trade and moving leverde Kelly goldy Heppell on, potentially a couple more and get some more draft prospects in. Our youth is fine
Tend to agree. People can get pretty doomsday. Think we will know more n a year or so

Honestly this team has been pretty good this year at contested footy with Parish healthy. The forward line has even seemed to function fine with Draper at FF (though you’d love to be able to find an upgrade there)

The biggest issue by far is that they’ve just been plain bad at transition offence and punishing off turnovers.

If they could clean that up that’s a huge reason for optimism going into next season.

Where is this data from? Wheelo has our round 22 team at 25.0

yep, but nuffies think cause our overall list age is old we old..

c'mon, facts don't belong on BigFooty

How many elite young talents do we have? Who cares about an average age when a good chunk making up that average are in fact average.
I agree. absolutely.. this is why bringing in Isaac Cumming and Harry Perryman as rumoured scares me.

Bringing in mature players is for one reason only, to play AFL when we are no even winning finals... yet

How many elite young talents do we have? Who cares about an average age when a good chunk making up that average are in fact average.
It is a fair point . We have a lot of good ordinary young players and a couple of very good in Caldwell and Durham but no absolute elite .

if you’re a competent club with money you can bring in elite talent via trade/free agency if you have enough depth and players trust your a chance to make finals.

Topping up in with the SSS’S didn’t work because we gave up significant draft assets and hurt our depth/ability to get talent

Bringing in FAs that just cost money is just additive to our total talent level you’d be mad not to bring people in

It is a fair point . We have a lot of good ordinary young players and a couple of very good in Caldwell and Durham but no absolute elite .

How are you supposed to know if they will be elite? Do you have access to a time machine or something?

A lot of people's opinions on players generally aren't piqued unless the team itself becomes consistent, relevant and actually does something in finals. Especially if it's a few years or more out. Players are victims of their own output until they aren't.

It was only a year ago when people were questioning if Caldwell would ever show consistency.

Nevertheless everyone agrees that there are holes in the list that still need to be filled but that takes time. There is a case to be made that the environment required for players to flourish into becoming elite or consistent hasn't been a thing at the club until recently.

Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XII - 💰💰💰