AFL= UnAustralian?

the only flags flying at the dome now are victory flags.:confused:

afl are petty and childish.

Just proves it, it is an afl vs nrl thing. I love my soccer too, but geez, soccer is a bigger threat to the afl than the nrl so why isn't that a business decision not to let soccer (football) fly their flags. This is just bizzare:cool:

Correct me if I'm wrong but are there only 2 countries in the world that attach a prefix to denote a lack of patriotism i.e. yourselves and the US?
Un-American
Un-Australian
American culture seems to be quite a big influence in Oz now. Why is that? I've noticed players being referred to as D-Rod and J-Mac etc. and a lot of US-style terminology seeping into commentary on AFL games. Is this just a recent development?

Correct me if I'm wrong but are there only 2 countries in the world that attach a prefix to denote a lack of patriotism i.e. yourselves and the US?
Un-American
Un-Australian
American culture seems to be quite a big influence in Oz now. Why is that? I've noticed players being referred to as D-Rod and J-Mac etc. and a lot of US-style terminology seeping into commentary on AFL games. Is this just a recent development?

I've been here nearly 10 years (OMG has it been that long?) and I've always thought the place was a bit Americanised. That said, the Ockers are starting to say, chance and dance differently, so you never know. Things may be changing.

Hard to figure out the problem with flying a few flags at the Dome.

Rugby league posses no threat to Aussie Rules here.

My god some of you people are pathetic, it didn't say they put any of these banners on the AFL's building did they?

If it's across the road or next door, wtf has it got to do with the almighty AFL? :rolleyes:

And I'll stand by what I said, someone has to tell the truth once in a while, the AFL are being petty and they are showing fear.

fat-straws.jpg

Clutching at these?

Just proves it, it is an afl vs nrl thing. I love my soccer too, but geez, soccer is a bigger threat to the afl than the nrl so why isn't that a business decision not to let soccer (football) fly their flags. This is just bizzare:cool:

Football posses no threat to the AFL. The main season in Australia is played when the AFL season is finished.

Im sure Demetriou couldn't give a shit what the NRL do.

The game is in no state or will not be in a state for a long time to ever challenge the game.

Don't get why some people don't understand this.:rolleyes:

I've always hated the term 'un-Australian'.
We are such a multi-cultural place that to be Australian can mean many different things to different people.

I'm going to a few RL World Cup games but I can't see myself supporting the Australian team because I know there will be individuals I don't like playing for them. Also I look at this competetion and see Australian born players representing almost every single nation. Does it make me 'un-Australian' not to support this team? What about those players playing for those other countries?

I love my sport, my rugby league, my Aussie rules, my soccer but we are all bloody well Australian and the AFL is clearly the most Australian of the lot of them having been developed here. They are however being a quite petty in taking objection to a few flags being displayed. It's not like the flags are going to hurt them in any way.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport...st-for-58-years/2008/10/06/1223145262246.html

00000290.gif

They can't even bring themselves to support Australia at a World Cup, my god, this is so unAustralian from one of our biggest sporting bodies, I mean, they sent people over to Germany to support Australia in the Soccer, they didn't mention anything during the 2003 RUWC, but as soon as Rugby League tries to get support down South, the door slams shut, how sad and how petty.

(please don't lock this thread as I think people should know that the AFL is being a tad precious)

Don't know about the UnAustralian part, but seriously, a few flags has the AFL HQ in such a huff that they ask to take them down????

You have to laugh at how petty that looks, no matter which sport you follow. :D

hi guys, i am from the subcontinent and a huge fan of oz, its a bit off-topic but i wanted to know a bit about sport in oz
1)pls confirm u live in oz so that i know that u r not taking wild guesses

i wanted to ask u that overall taking 12 months in an year, where does nrl rank in terms of media coverage in what order in the choice of sports in the aussie media, are the top three as follows,
1) afl
2) cricket
3) nrl
do u live in oz?which is the most well known sports team in australia?
please reply

i have done a similar thing on cricket to find confused answers

With regard to the footy codes media coverage varies dramatically from state to state.
NRL is prevalent in NSW and Qld, gets minimal coverage in Victoria and virtually none anywhere else. Where as AFL gets huge exposure in Vic, WA and SA and minimal coverage in NSW and Qld (still they get a lot more coverage compared with NRL in Victoria).

On the other hand cricket gets blanket coverage across the country and dominates the sports media between October and March after the football season has ended.

With cricket dominating in summer and footy in winter it is not easy to work out the media coverage across all 12 months but I would say you have it right with:
1) afl
2) cricket
3) nrl

which is the most well known sports team in australia?

For me AFL and NRL are equal footy popularity...

Cricket dominates the summer months

Collingwood and Broncos most known footy teams

For me AFL and NRL are equal footy popularity...

Cricket dominates the summer months

Collingwood and Broncos most known footy teams
thx mate, would u say that cricket is the no 1 sport in oz with afl and nrl joint no 2 if u look at overall 12 months and overall on a national basis

With regard to the footy codes media coverage varies dramatically from state to state.
NRL is prevalent in NSW and Qld, gets minimal coverage in Victoria and virtually none anywhere else. Where as AFL gets huge exposure in Vic, WA and SA and minimal coverage in NSW and Qld (still they get a lot more coverage compared with NRL in Victoria).

On the other hand cricket gets blanket coverage across the country and dominates the sports media between October and March after the football season has ended.

With cricket dominating in summer and footy in winter it is not easy to work out the media coverage across all 12 months but I would say you have it right with:
1) afl
2) cricket
3) nrl

thx dude, is collingwood nationally overall more popular than aussie cricket team or is it the other way around?i am surprised that collingwood is more popular than the baggygreen

No way.

It's ridiculous to compare one AFL team to the popularity of the national Cricket team.
mate, if there is a location mentioned for everyone who is posting, then is it understood that, tht fellow lives in that particular place?
who are conisdered the biggest stars in aus, is it fair to say, afl and nrl players, cricketers and hollywood actors and actresses, u can answer in one word if its yes, thx

thx mate, would u say that cricket is the no 1 sport in oz with afl and nrl joint no 2 if u look at overall 12 months and overall on a national basis

yes for a sport cricket is number 1, due too more people would recongnise a cricketer than a footy player.

Example...a person in sydney would recognise a nrl player then cricket then afl

in melbounre- afl, cricket, nrl

Haha, I like this Indian guy.

Now for the AFL/NRL fan!

Christabella said:
NRL is prevalent in NSW and Qld, gets minimal coverage in Victoria and virtually none anywhere else. Where as AFL gets huge exposure in Vic, WA and SA and minimal coverage in NSW and Qld

Christabella said:
(still they get a lot more coverage compared with NRL in Victoria).

1) afl
2) cricket
3) nrl

moskingqa5.gif

'You RL fan you'

(s******)

Don't know about the UnAustralian part, but seriously, a few flags has the AFL HQ in such a huff that they ask to take them down????

You have to laugh at how petty that looks, no matter which sport you follow. :D

It's UnAustralian to not get behind an Australian team during a WC as the media likes to tell us all the time, when Aus is involved, it's US against the world and all the sporting bodies support it, maybe not the fans, but the sports do.

There's plenty of sports out there that are smaller than RL who all the other sporting bodies get behind and support.

The AFL is different though, and it's a disgrace.

The AFL were quite in their rights to get the flags taken down.

Why should the AFL promote rugby league?

Does TELSTRA promote OPTUS? NO!
Does McDonalds promote Hungry Jacks? NO!
Dose Channel 7 promote Channels 9 or 10? NO!
Does FORD promote HOLDEN? NO!

GET REAL! :mad:

What a silly thread! :thumbsdown:

The AFL were quite in their rights to get the flags taken down.

Why should the AFL promote rugby league?

Does TELSTRA promote OPTUS? NO!
Does McDonalds promote Hungry Jacks? NO!
Dose Channel 7 promote Channels 9 or 10? NO!
Does FORD promote HOLDEN? NO!

GET REAL! :mad:

What a silly thread! :thumbsdown:

Fair point, if the ARL wanted to buy ground signage at an AFL match.
which they dont.

The banners referred to, were in a public street, outside the AFL's RENTED office, in a supposed multi-purpose stadium.

AFL = scaredy-pants.
Tassie Girl jnr - get a clue.

'You RL fan you'

(s******)

What is that supposed to mean?

That because of a few comments made about the level of media coverage different sports get that I do not support Rugby League? Well you would be bloody well mistaken and I'll bet I have been to more games of Rugby League than you this year.

Or does it mean that you can't support both codes, it's got to be one or the other? If that's the case then I feel sorry for you.

What is that supposed to mean?

That because of a few comments made about the level of media coverage different sports get that I do not support Rugby League? Well you would be bloody well mistaken and I'll bet I have been to more games of Rugby League than you this year.

Or does it mean that you can't support both codes, it's got to be one or the other? If that's the case then I feel sorry for you.

You don't know where I've been.

I could've been to France, England and Wales to watch RL this year at Pro level.

Anyone can say whatever shit they like over the net.

Yes I had a go at your post about coverage because it deserved having a go at.

You are biased towards AFL and it shows.

RL fan s******.

Again, this is what you said.

NRL is prevalent in NSW and Qld, gets minimal coverage in Victoria and virtually none anywhere else. Where as AFL gets huge exposure in Vic, WA and SA and minimal coverage in NSW and Qld

You have a look again and see if you can see how you have been biased in this post, it shouldn't be hard if you are a RL fan. :rolleyes:

Oh, and I'll support whatever the hell I like, it's got nothing to do with you, but if it makes you feel superior to say you support AFL and NRL, well good for you.

AFL= UnAustralian?