Aker sacked

Bon spoke eloquently about Aker at North training today, and about how difficult a decision this would've been for the Dogs (and well considered).

The SEN guys (Harford and Schibeci) were extremely impressed with Bon and what he had to say on his fellow ex Lion.

Also........

Apparently Barry Hall was uncomfortable about the advertised showdown with Aker on tonight's TFS, and has pulled out (not sure if it's just the segment he's withdrawn from or the entire show). Fair enough too. Jonathan Brown's on the show as well so it should be nice and tense, with Aker a guest, but not as tense as it could've been with both Brown and Hall there to face up to Aker.

The word I heard this afternoon was that the final straw was the stuff that came out on the footy show a couple of weeks ago about Aker copping the star chamber treatment from the other players.

An absolute superstar of a player, especially in his heyday, and someone who more often than not caused us problems.

A big mouth off field, seeking attention and willing to walk his own path without considering the consequences for his club and fellow players.

TFS should be interesting if, as I'd expect, he's a guest, as Barry Hall's been confirmed as one of the panellists.

Anyway, he's the greatest exponent of kicking both sides of the body that I've ever seen, and he leaves with a sensational array of awards and trophies.

You never know, he COULD'VE performed a Stewy Dew game breaking role with a one quarter burst of brilliance if they made the GF. We, and they, will never know.

You know, as much as he's made his own bad, it's sad that he's going to be remembered for all the off field stuff than his playing ability, which was just freakishly good.

Don't know if anyone else caught Sam's rant just on The Footy Show, but it just struck me how high and mighty Eade, their fans and the whole footy world got about us after the Scott Thompson/Thug Hall incident.

Funny how things turn around.

Can't ****ing wait to get at them in a few weeks.

Apparently the book's finished and it's critical of Giansiricusa, Murphy and Hudson. So says the co-author anyway.

Aker also lets fly at Brisbane. Bon might get a mention.

Rather than hold up publication I think he might write a sequel, beginning with his last weeks at the Doggies.

From what I can tell they'd had enough of him 6 weeks ago when he wouldn't quit media for the run into the finals and since then they've been setting up their case for dismissal.

Apparently, they called a players' meeting, minus Aker, where (according to Aker) Brad Johnson asked "hands up if you can play with a teammate you can't trust off the field".

When nobody put their hand up, it was taken as a unanimous vote that the players wanted Aker out.

Stand by for more. Aker is very different and once he works out what's true to him, the facts become irrelevant.

Did they ask the same question in regards to Scott West?

Always thought of aker as a great player, spoke his mind of the field so not liked by many. But he has been hard done by by the Bulldogs. Smacks of the problem got too hard , lets sack him. Aker absolutely dominated mr rose on the footy show. Feel sorry for aker, congratulations on a great career.

Can't see another thread on this, so...

I don't watch the Footy Show that often but:
1. Sam Newman cannot string a sentence together
2. Aka was incredibly unconvincing
3. How on earth did the Bulldogs media guy let the Campbell Rose interview happen like it did (No Bull would never had put Euge in that situation)?
4. Jonathan Brown is deceptively intelligent and quite impressive

rofl. can't believe people were desperately wanting Rose to be our CEO not so long ago.

what a pencil necked ****wit. one of the worst media performances I've ever seen.

not sure it was really his fault though... hard to rescue the situation when the first meeting you've apparently had with someone you just sacked is on national TV with him on one side and his idiotic mate on the other...

HulkStatue2.jpg

not sure it was really his fault though... hard to rescue the situation when the first meeting you've apparently had with someone you just sacked is on national TV with him on one side and his idiotic mate on the other...

if he didn't know the specifics, then why did they put him on television to represent their position in their first place?

terrible media management if the case. they basically threw him to the wolves and I reckon 99% of footy fans would be on Aker's side after that.

if he didn't know the specifics, then why did they put him on television to represent their position in their first place?

terrible media management if the case. they basically threw him to the wolves and I reckon 99% of footy fans would be on Aker's side after that.

Agree. From a PR perspective it was a no win for the doggies. Dumb media management.

He's not an Arocca or a Gary Pert type of CEO, who can confidently be a face of the club in the media. So why on earth is he going on TFS like a lamb to slaughter?

whoever came up with the idea of putting a suit out there to go toe to toe with aker in front of a footy show audience should be getting the sack

As Rose said the key comment that Aker made was the one he made in relation to the Leading Teams methods where he said "I don't need to put up with that crap" (or words to that effect).

Smacked completely of an individual who wanted to do things his own way and sought a separate set of rules for himself.

What's Caro got to do with this?

Honestly, as much as Aker's a mouth, he is a champion footballer and I for one felt very sorry for him throughout tonight's show. Not in an "I pity you, you weakling" kind of way, but for the way the Dogs have downright humiliated a champion who deserves much better than that. Those failures are barely worthy of cleaning Aker's boots!

Anyhoo, SHIT HAPPENS!

The whole thing's regrettable.

He's not an Arocca or a Gary Pert type of CEO, who can confidently be a face of the club in the media. So why on earth is he going on TFS like a lamb to slaughter?

Agree, ridiculously bad move as I reckon they (Dogs) had come out of it quite well up to then. Sam was a blithering fool doing Aker's case more harm than good, and I reckon JB and Gary nailed Aker a few times with their questions. The man says he takes responsibility for his actions, but he seems in denial to me.

Rose was crucified but he'll get over it and the club now moves forward.

Face it, Aker put himself above the team for way too long. They got sick of that and dumped him. Correct decision, IMO. I think doing it now was the right thing and the whole episode will make them stronger.

The problem is you could tell tonight Aker knows he has f*cked up. You could clearly see it in his eyes, but he is too arrogant and stubborn to back down. So he keeps digging and comes across as a petulant child.

Which is a shame as he's an absolute champion footballer in every sense of the word and should be remembered as such.

The problem is you could tell tonight Aker knows he has f*cked up. You could clearly see it in his eyes, but he is too arrogant and stubborn to back down. So he keeps digging and comes across as a petulant child.

I can't, for the life of me, understand why anyone involved would've agreed to tonight's proceedings. Aker, just sacked and obviously bitter, in the public spotlight and under pressure, in one corner. Peabody, pen pusher and whiz on the calculator but not a front man's a-hole, in the other.

Yep, it was a trainwreck.

[youtube]Bb4hMZKtRA4[/youtube]

Also, has anyone else read Aker's first book? You can tell where he has the permanent chip on his shoulder from his upbringing. As is so often the case, it's the same thing that made him so good which is his downfall too.

Like watching a train-wreck.

I feel for Rose having to be the face in this situation, Aker was always going to have the crowd with him after his side was first up and Sam was also trying to get in good with Aker again by revving him up and making Rose uncomfortable. Really awkward television. Taking care of the boys as it were.

The only person who came out it looking better was Brown.

Aker sacked