Motty

Jun 19, 2005
Carlton/East Fremantle
I am heading down to play a season of footy in the AFL next season with Dalyston - knowing my skills I shall be well entrenched in the Twos. What should I expect and what do people think of the clubs in the league at Seniors and Reserves level (and you can be brutally honest about Daly as well!) ;) .

Motty said:
I am heading down to play a season of footy in the AFL next season with Dalyston - knowing my skills I shall be well entrenched in the Twos. What should I expect and what do people think of the clubs in the league at Seniors and Reserves level (and you can be brutally honest about Daly as well!) ;) .
********hole

Played Tarwin Lower in a praccy match and they were OK. I would think it would be Inverloch to win but.

So there's a fair bit of leaning towards the original Alberton clubs? The Tooras and Yarrams etc?

Wouldn't population dip as you get further out that way? Do other leagues vieing for the same players keep the larger centres to the western end honest?

alberton league is dodgey, ellinbank and disctrict whould play them in interleague.

to crapest leagues in gippsland.

Big call goodie considering Alberton regulary flog the north and mid gippy comps in interleague. Dont know much about the Ellinbank comp but considering Gippy Latrobe is the major comp in Gippsland, several Alberton clubs would go extremely well at the supposed higher level. Do admit though that the bottom sides in Alberton are absolute garbage, thats what will happen in such a big comp though.

i suppose, i had a quick look at some scores, today, the league looks like it has improved, its abit like the EDFL, top teams are awesome, bottom teams are shithouse. you get that though in country footy. didnt know alberton league played mid gippy and north gippy and beat them, thats rather interesting.

I would say about 6 years ago alberton would have been better than Ellinbank league but ellinbank has improved so much in last few years would be 2nd best league in gippsland now. Alberton better than mid nor north gippy still.

Big clean out at foster, started my football career playing 4ths down there. Playing to win the pie and coke award every weeek, it was the bonus.

-Mav

Big clean out at foster, started my football career playing 4ths down there. Playing to win the pie and coke award every weeek, it was the bonus.

-Mav

The Ellinbank league would want to have improved after the East Gippy league used to give it a belting it the couple of interleague games they played.

The Ellinbank league has improved so much in the last 5 years the top teams are now very strong. Nyora last year would beat the premiers from 5 years ago by 12 goals i reckon. Even the middle range teams last year like NNG, Lang Lang, Poowong and Buln were decent sides and games between those sides were a good standard to watch. Now there is 14 teams there is more of a gap from the top sides to the bottom sides but this year it appears more even.

Wonthaggi and Yarram are miles ahead of anyone. Toora have improved, got a monster fullforward rhodes i think his name is, fish creek will be up there too, foster and burra will both be the big fallers, very young teams

I heard that the vcfl was making them move to a stronger league (WGLFL) because they were too strong for the alberton league. The two teams in wonthaggi merged but then went down a comp. I don't know if this will be better for both leagues and the club or not.

the 2 top sides in alberton (yarram and wonthaggi) r that far ahead of everyone else its a joke. The rest of the leauge is shit. They all like 2 think they r playing in a super comp but the reality is it has gone backwards the last couple of years, the standard has definatly slipped

Gidday Blokes, if anyone reads this down gippy way, theres not much happening on your big footy anyway. Wondering if big Craig Hams and Jamie Smith are still running around at all, were foster/ fishy in the day. cheers

hams retired a few years back, think he ended up at wonthaggi rovers.jamie smith hasnt played down here 4 a long time last i heard he was up nsw somewhere