Alberton Footy League

Why do I get the feeling you already knew who the names were Leo? Why didn't you just say them.

Or is Bench Boy you as well?

Long way to drive from the city to Killy Bass, though not much further than Kor-Bena or Poowong I guess.

Who's the coach down there? What was the motivator for these guys going down there?

Steve O'Bryan ex Gipps power Capt & Casey VCapt is Capt/Coach still only 23/24 possibly best player in district football also showing promise as coach was offered capt/coach at 5 major league clubs - 2 Gippsland league & 3 Casey/Nepean clubs.
Tim Smith was at Gippy Power same time ? Believe KB was confident of getting Ben Fraser back although he has decided to play in Melb next year
Once again KB throwing some coin about hope they get some reward.
Problem at KB no depth has been for 5 yrs should have joined Ellinbank with NNG & CL. Alberton never wanted them & have given them shocking draws since joining always travel to Yarram, DWWW & Toora

Steve O'Bryan ex Gipps power Capt & Casey VCapt is Capt/Coach still only 23/24 possibly best player in district football also showing promise as coach was offered capt/coach at 5 major league clubs - 2 Gippsland league & 3 Casey/Nepean clubs.
Tim Smith was at Gippy Power same time ? Believe KB was confident of getting Ben Fraser back although he has decided to play in Melb next year
Problem at KB no depth has been for 5 yrs should have joined Ellinbank with NNG & CL. Alberton never wanted them & have given them shocking draws since joining always travel to Yarram, DWWW & Toora

Nearly right Ellinbank had no room for Bass or Phillip Island only option at time was Alberton. They went where the VCFL put them. Steve Obryan is coach only. The clubs the others in Alberton want gone are Korumburra & Phillip Island. Bass are not seen as a threat finance wise or dominating the finals and about the same size as the other clubs in the league

You have to be joking don't you ? What about the clubs that are in the middle of the comp ie m.d.u, stony , Fishy they always seem to get drawen to go to phillip island, bass, yarram and d.w.w.w all over hour trips so i hardly think bass are being hard done by !! Phillip island i think i read travelled to m.d.u for the first time this year in 5 years so whos getting a rough draw around here bass i think not !!

Dont think Tim Smith played power, but good player.

Offered Ben Fraser a ridiculous amount of cash but he is playing at Blackburn in eastern Divy 1.

Big call saying best player in district football. I know he is a gun but thats a huge call, didnt even win the alberton league B and F. Which 5 clubs were they, find that hard to believe they would offer him a job without an interview.

There's a difference between offered the job and contacted to apply.

That's where a lot of these rumours are chinese whispered from. People are called asking if they'd like to apply and that gets passed on as offered the job.

Tim Smith's chest gets in the way of his footy these days. Too much protein powder. Let alone the amount of product in that guy's head. Accentuates his spray tan nicely though.

You have to be joking don't you ? What about the clubs that are in the middle of the comp ie m.d.u, stony , Fishy they always seem to get drawen to go to phillip island, bass, yarram and d.w.w.w all over hour trips so i hardly think bass are being hard done by !! Phillip island i think i read travelled to m.d.u for the first time this year in 5 years so whos getting a rough draw around here bass i think not !!

mate i dont think that the draw is good for bass or island, id say they get the worst draws if anything. since PI has been in the league, so last 5 years, we have been to Yarram every year, and theyve been to island twice im pretty sure, havent been in last two years at least. it is strange that we havent played at mdu much, but weve played there the last two years, and they never had to come to island twice in a year or anythin so its not so bad. personally i think the teams u speak of that are middle of the league have it better off, they have much more closer games that are bout 15-30min drive, compared to pi and bass who have 2 travel much further for the away games that are long distance... so get over it u hav no credibility

Don't think P.I or Bass can complain about the draw as they joined a competition and knew that the draw would not favour them as the eastern end clubs did not want you guys in, in the first place. 1 trip to Meeniyan in 5 years check the draws if you want. At the end of the day nothing is close to cowes so you blokes are going to have to travel where ever you play just the way it is.;)

Great news if true Yarram want out of Alberton league it will save some clubs money as rooms wont be vandalised after games and they wont have to worry about them playing unregistered players under different names I think there will be a Que of clubs to help them pack.
Goodbye we will miss you (not)

Where'd you hear the rumour that Yarram want out, panthercat?
It was in the local paper one of the presidents of the club was ''quoted''
Maybe the other president doesn't know? Good to see the two club president system is working so well no wonder the club is in a mess.
Whats the saying to many chiefs??

It was in the local paper one of the presidents of the club was ''quoted''
Maybe the other president doesn't know? Good to see the two club president system is working so well no wonder the club is in a mess.
Whats the saying to many chiefs??

Thanks for that. The Yarram paper? Yeah they have way too many people running around trying to be spokespeople for the club, I don't think anyone really knows what's going on.

YFC aren't a very welcoming club, no matter how many years your kids have been playing, if you're not in the 'clique' you're nothing. I can see why other teams in the league dislike them, their attitude is all wrong, unfortunately.

I wish we could send the so-called heirachy to another league and just leave the kids and parents who are just there for some good footy and love of the game.. We'd be so much more welcomed in the Alberton league then, I reckon.

Thanks for that. The Yarram paper? Yeah they have way too many people running around trying to be spokespeople for the club, I don't think anyone really knows what's going on.

YFC aren't a very welcoming club, no matter how many years your kids have been playing, if you're not in the 'clique' you're nothing. I can see why other teams in the league dislike them, their attitude is all wrong, unfortunately.

I wish we could send the so-called heirachy to another league and just leave the kids and parents who are just there for some good footy and love of the game.. We'd be so much more welcomed in the Alberton league then, I reckon.

Last time I checked, Yarram had one president named Paul Clavarino. Who was the person speaking on behalf of the club?

Maybloomz - in what was was Yarram an unwelcoming club? If there is something that you're not happy about then generally the best way to resolve the problem is to talk to the people you're not happy with. Correct me if I am wrong!

As far as the club having the wrong attitude, I disagree strongly. Ever since the 3rds went into recession for one year in the Mid-90s, the policy of the club has been to promote youngsters in both footy and netball. On the back of this, the club won many awards for fair play in the junior grades.

If you're not happy with how the club is run and the hierachy involved, I would say the best way to change that is to get your hands dirty and become involved with the running of the club either on the weekend or by joining the committee.

Maybloomz, I have been a part of the Yarram Football Club for a big part of my life. It means alot to me. I hope you can work through your differences and enjoy your footy this year behind the new senior coach Jeremy Reid.

Nah we've been associated with the club for too long now for things to change, which is a pity. I just wish the club would be welcoming to new parents that's all, it's a pretty tight circle and when you're a newcomer it's even tighter. We did try, I tried offering help to the canteen, was told 'we have the netballers'... it's easier to just give up and become just another face in the crowd. There are some nice people floating around on gameday though.

Look, essentially I support the club, and from talking to other parents of junior players I do know that our experiences aren't unique, so it doesn't make me feel quite so crappy these days. But it is what it is.

Last time I checked, Yarram had one president named Paul Clavarino. Who was the person speaking on behalf of the club?

The paper quoted the co president of Yarram maybe he was self appointed? I will try and dig up the paper to see who his name is.

The other president is Anthony Rodaughan

killy bass and phillip island probably arent in a position to complain, you cant have your cake and eat it too, you wantd in our league you deal with the travelling, seeing as they're both at the ass-hole end of the league they have to travel due to their geographical position.. or do they just want to play every game at home?

Maybloomz - in what was was Yarram an unwelcoming club? If there is something that you're not happy about then generally the best way to resolve the problem is to talk to the people you're not happy with. Correct me if I am wrong!

As far as the club having the wrong attitude, I disagree strongly. Ever since the 3rds went into recession for one year in the Mid-90s, the policy of the club has been to promote youngsters in both footy and netball. On the back of this, the club won many awards for fair play in the junior grades.

If you're not happy with how the club is run and the hierachy involved, I would say the best way to change that is to get your hands dirty and become involved with the running of the club either on the weekend or by joining the committee.

Maybloomz, I have been a part of the Yarram Football Club for a big part of my life. It means alot to me. I hope you can work through your differences and enjoy your footy this year behind the new senior coach Jeremy Reid.

As someone who the Yarram football club also means a lot to,I support your comments and would like to back them up.
Yarram football club was formed in 1886 and as such is one of the oldest stand alone football clubs ( no mergers) in Australia, must have done something right to survive this long.
AS for those who want to pack Yarram's bags,
Maybe it's time for a history lesson,
Alberton Football League was formed in 1946 ( Yarram F.C. was a founding club). When the Killy Bass, Korumburra and Phillip Island had no where else to play the Alberton league welcomed them with open arms as they wanted to provide a place for young men and women to play football and netball, travel was an issue but it was stated clubs at each end of the league would only have to travel to extremes once a year.
Maybe if some are not happy with Yarram or MDU they could find another league that would take them?

As someone who the Yarram football club also means a lot to,I support your comments and would like to back them up.
Yarram football club was formed in 1886 and as such is one of the oldest stand alone football clubs ( no mergers) in Australia, must have done something right to survive this long.
AS for those who want to pack Yarram's bags,
Maybe it's time for a history lesson,
Alberton Football League was formed in 1946 ( Yarram F.C. was a founding club). When the Killy Bass, Korumburra and Phillip Island had no where else to play the Alberton league welcomed them with open arms as they wanted to provide a place for young men and women to play football and netball, travel was an issue but it was stated clubs at each end of the league would only have to travel to extremes once a year.
Maybe if some are not happy with Yarram or MDU they could find another league that would take them?
It was Yarram's co Presidented who wants to go it came from within your club the other clubs were not welcomed the vcfl made them accept it. Yarrams ojections to Wonthaggi not playing against them and pushing hard for them to go forced a club from the league. They may have been a founding club but doesn't give them rights over the other clubs

killy bass and phillip island probably arent in a position to complain, you cant have your cake and eat it too, you wantd in our league you deal with the travelling, seeing as they're both at the ass-hole end of the league they have to travel due to their geographical position.. or do they just want to play every game at home?
Bass and Phillip island were told where to go by vcfl. The only League available was Alberton. Also you might have the ends of the league mixed up

From Yarrams website

Off field, Peter Jenkins and Anthony Rodaughan will lead the club with a dual presidency role. With both individuals having extensive football and football management experience the club is in good hands and will be an exciting place to be in the upcoming season.

Heard a whisper from someone connected with the club players not happy with new coach