JimDocker

Oct 16, 2007
Doncaster Rovers, Boston Celtics
Another thread about a house mate spending all of his time in his bedroom led me to wonder about spending time alone.

Do we get enough alone time to relax and do our own thing? Do any of you want more time alone?

I guess I am thinking about people in relationships that may be overbearing at times.

Personally, I have the balance about right. I am very happily married and enjoy spending time with my wife and my little boy, but my wife is very understanding about us both having our own lives, so we get out on our own or with our own friends often enough. She is going out for dinner on Thursday and I am looking forward to it. Having the house to myself (once my boy is in bed).

i play pub poker every monday night. would go nuts without it, as the missus works 3 out of 4 weeknights, so i have to look after the kids.

the missus gets 3 hours every morning when the boy is at kindy

Untitled-1.jpg

I love it. Often turn my phone off and just veg out in front of the TV/computer all day.

I like it to the point where I'll get annoyed if someone tries to call me/message me. The follow up calls can get me really pissed off.

Especially Sundays. A man needs time to fester in his own filth/hangover for a day without being bothered.

Girls seem to hate it though. Often leads to one-sided arguments about not caring enough and how I'm an arseh*le for ignoring them etc etc. I tend to just shrug and laugh.

Definitely need alone time, current girlfriend is very good with this, we are of the same thinking as much as we like spending time together it is important for both of us to have our own lives as well. Works well in winter, she isn't really a footy person and I am.

I love it. Often turn my phone off and just veg out in front of the TV/computer all day.

I like it to the point where I'll get annoyed if someone tries to call me/message me. The follow up calls can get me really pissed off.

Especially Sundays. A man needs time to fester in his own filth/hangover for a day without being bothered.

Girls seem to hate it though. Often leads to one-sided arguments about not caring enough and how I'm an arseh*le for ignoring them etc etc. I tend to just shrug and laugh.

Quoted for description of my life

The best kind of time is alone time. Being injured at the moment, so not working, I have been getting a lot of it lately. It's nice to just chill at home, play some playstation, go on the computer, do some exercise, all when I want to.

I live alone and I think it's better for me. I'm really social and I value time with friends but when I want to be alone, I want to be alone.....and that's for at least a bit every day.

Sometimes I need what only you can provide: your absence.

One of my favourite things is when you've got something planned with a mate but you really can't be ****ed doing it because you're hungover/tired/whatever and they call you to see if cancelling would be ok.

Doesn't happen too often but is pretty awesome when it does.

You learn to appreciate alone time a lot more as you have kids too

I work in a very busy retail outfit and need some time where i don't talk to anyone. My kids are generally in bed by 7:30 and the wife by 9, so i get after 9 till whenever i go to bed to play games or watch whatever i want on TV

Also get a few hours every couple of weeks where my wife will take the kids out and i can crank the volume on said games

I do the same for my wife when i can, get the kids out for a few hours and let her do stuff in peace

Its important

This time of the year is when I treasure Saturdays, as it is true alone time. No footy, no work to distract you, no partners or kids to worry about, family time is generally Sunday anyway (which reminds me....). Don't get a lot of alone time from about March to September.

Elayne Boosler
Heh. So true.

Avoiding co-dependence in relationships makes a big difference to this. I don't think I could handle dating a girl who didn't maintain her own circle of friends. For me it is less about wanting to be alone, and more about not wanting to be around the same people all the time. I can handle going out 5 nights in a week if I'm doing different things with different people every time.

That said, I do still spend a fair whack of time alone. I imagine I won't really find myself struggling to find time for myself until I have kids. I probably won't fully appreciate the value of it until then either.

I love my alone time :thumbsu:, nothing better than doing SFA after a long week :p.

I can reach a point sometimes where too much social interaction makes me go batty, it depends on who i am hanging out with. I do need to find a balance though as i can have too much alone time that the next time i am out in social, i have an adverse reaction to it.... but i can also put that down to not being tolerable of the stupidity of some people.

Huge fan of alone time, but some people find it weird, as in:

Went to Bali for a mate's 30th a couple of years ago, big group of us there for a week or so, brilliant time, got on the sauce every night and did a heap of touristy stuff.

Anyway, during the day, most of the group would want to do everything together, and most of the time I was fine with it, but after a few days I was happy to lounge by the pool/wander the streets/beach by myself just to get some alone time.

Some of the group thought it was strange that I didn't want to spend all our holiday time together, preferring (only occasionally) to be alone. But I needed it!

Family & Relationships Alone Time