Alwyn Davey

Not a chance... If you want Houli you'd have to give us Davey + 3rd Rounder. First of all Aaron Davey would be hard pressed to get a spot in our best 22 with a fit list. We have an abundance of players that play the role he plays. Houli has sublime skills, a fantastic work ethic, and can run all day.

Wasn't being serious mate.

rumour is that brad green wants to leave melbourne because dean bailey makes him lethargic due to boredom.

i've got as much evidence to back that up as the original post.

Davey has first run following major knee injury

Friday, 11 July 2008
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
The famously fast right leg of Alwyn Davey is feeling stronger by the day following a season ending injury during training in April. Davey tore the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee and needed a full reconstruction.
He is currently three months into his 10-12 month recovery.
“I just started walking and light jogging exercises on Wednesday,” he said.
“Before that I have been doing a little bit of other leg work like squats and leg press to try and get the muscles right in my leg.
“To keep fit I have mostly been doing swimming and a bit of bike, speed ball - basically anything that keeps you off your feet.
“There is no pain at all now (in the knee) so it’s all good – it probably stopped hurting about a month ago.”
Davey, 24, said he is determined not to rush things and will work under the guiding eye of rehabilitation coach, Mark Cera.
“I have spent about nine weeks with Mark now and it all seems to be going well,” Davey said.
“He isn’t working me hard at this stage but after about four months I will start to step it up.”
The goal sneak is keen to build up his strength in the gym to better cope with the physical pressure of the AFL.
The father of three says it has been a disappointing season following his impressive debut year in 2007 (which was also cut short with a broken arm).
He won the club rising star award but, in 2008, hasn’t been able to consistently deliver on the promise that the club and fans know he can.
With 19 AFL games to his name Davey is now simply looking forward to 2009.
“When they told me (about the knee injury) I was sad to hear the news but after a week or so I got over it and started looking forward to next year,” he said.
“I just can’t wait to get back on the field and play with my team-mates.”
An area that has been keeping him busy during rehab is his commitments after winning the 2007 AFL Army Award (see photo).

He recently joined Glen Archer in Darwin (Davey’s home town) for the launch of the Defence Jobs U/17s Academy, a new initiative designed to foster young NT footballers.

Davey and Archer helped out with drills, and then split the group into two teams - Team Davey and Team Archer and Team Davey.- and they coached opposing teams, with Team Archer coming out as the overall winners.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5925

Davey has first run following major knee injury

Friday, 11 July 2008
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
The famously fast right leg of Alwyn Davey is feeling stronger by the day following a season ending injury during training in April. Davey tore the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee and needed a full reconstruction.
He is currently three months into his 10-12 month recovery.
“I just started walking and light jogging exercises on Wednesday,” he said.
“Before that I have been doing a little bit of other leg work like squats and leg press to try and get the muscles right in my leg.
“To keep fit I have mostly been doing swimming and a bit of bike, speed ball - basically anything that keeps you off your feet.
“There is no pain at all now (in the knee) so it’s all good – it probably stopped hurting about a month ago.”
Davey, 24, said he is determined not to rush things and will work under the guiding eye of rehabilitation coach, Mark Cera.
“I have spent about nine weeks with Mark now and it all seems to be going well,” Davey said.
“He isn’t working me hard at this stage but after about four months I will start to step it up.”
The goal sneak is keen to build up his strength in the gym to better cope with the physical pressure of the AFL.
The father of three says it has been a disappointing season following his impressive debut year in 2007 (which was also cut short with a broken arm).
He won the club rising star award but, in 2008, hasn’t been able to consistently deliver on the promise that the club and fans know he can.
With 19 AFL games to his name Davey is now simply looking forward to 2009.
“When they told me (about the knee injury) I was sad to hear the news but after a week or so I got over it and started looking forward to next year,” he said.
“I just can’t wait to get back on the field and play with my brother.”
An area that has been keeping him busy during rehab is his commitments after winning the 2007 AFL Army Award (see photo).

He recently joined Glen Archer in Darwin (Davey’s home town) for the launch of the Defence Jobs U/17s Academy, a new initiative designed to foster young NT footballers.

Davey and Archer helped out with drills, and then split the group into two teams - Team Davey and Team Archer and Team Davey.- and they coached opposing teams, with Team Archer coming out as the overall winners.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5925

Edited for accuracy

rumour is that brad green wants to leave melbourne because dean bailey makes him lethargic due to boredom.

i've got as much evidence to back that up as the original post.

That'll teach him mate! I'm sure davey_magik will be asking the permission of both both yourself and Daytripper before he ever dares post a potential trade on here again that involves an Essendon player. :rolleyes:

You said he and Knights don't get along (which you obviously just made up seeing as you haven't stated one shred of evidence to back this up). Thats slander IMO.

Why don't you put your real name to the bottom of your posts and we'll start making up stuff about you ?

Its should be okay according to you if we just start the post as "Rumour has it....."

If I want to read mindless, nasty, gossip with no substantiation I will pick up my wife's New Idea. It would be good if you could get your little mind around that and leave that sort of garbage off here.

Good grief, have a sook

It's the trading board ffs :rolleyes:

Off topic a tad, but Essendon LOVE Houli and rumor has it that the coaching staff expect him to be a captain one day.
We wouldn't trade Houli for a first round draft pick.
Because Houli has more talent and ability than the talls in the first round of this draft?

Houli has missed every game since round 11 after being considered injury prone as a junior footballer.

The Bombers are seeking specialist advice about his injuries http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5953.

davey_magik is right, Essendon supporters are a funny lot when they have a stack of running players like Houli with a nice kick.

The Bombers have the best spin department in the AFL. :thumbsu:

Why would we want to downgrade?

Aaron Davey

Career Highs

Disposals 29 v Western Bulldogs, 13th May 2007
Kicks 23 v Western Bulldogs, 13th May 2007
Handballs 9 v Carlton, 20th Apr 2008
Marks 10 v Western Bulldogs, 13th May 2007
Goals 5 v Geelong, 16th May 2004
Tackles 9 v North Melbourne, 27th May 2007

Alwyn Davey

Career Highs

Disposals 16 v Brisbane, 19th May 2007
Kicks 11 v Geelong, 30th Mar 2008
Handballs 12 v Carlton, 5th Apr 2008
Marks 6 v St Kilda, 21st Apr 2007
Goals 3 v Collingwood, 25th Apr 2007
Tackles 8 v Melbourne, 29th Jun 2007

You really cannot draw a summation from such stats. They play entirely different roles in entirely different teams.

Aaron is often in the midfield, whilst Alwyn is clearly too small to be playing around the likes of Watson and Hille; we need to protect the smaller bodied guys, and, as seen through the incident of his broken arm last year, Alwyn needs special consideration as he is the smallest bloke in the AFL.

When Aaron has been played in the forward flank/pocket position that Alwyn has been positioned at throughout his career, he has had no other team mates playing for the exact same position, and has not had to invariably compete for the same ball using the same attributes (lightning pace, freakish agility and an undoubtable X factor) as other players around him, bar 2-3 games this year with Wonameirri. In Alwyn's case, he has always had to compete for a position in the side with guys like Lovett, Jetta, Dempsey and more, and as a result, has not been given as much of an opportunity to have as great an impact as Aaron.

Alwyn obviously emerged at a latter stage to Aaron, although they both have had injury problems.

However, I personally remain with a relatively unbiased view on these two. To this stage, Aaron has been a more valuable player, even though I believe the team has influenced this a lot. Alwyn is not quite there yet, but it will be great to see him continue his development next year, and considering Essendon's concentration on pace, I really doubt that he will be traded at all.

that chump is a troll. Been "switching" from Essendon to Collingwood all week. Total loser.

On topic, Davey won't, or shouldn't, be going anywhere.

Comparisons between he and Aaron are odious, because they are both awesome players and the irrespective clubs should be thrilled they have a Davey on their list

Why would we want to downgrade?

Aaron Davey

Career Highs

Disposals 29 v Western Bulldogs, 13th May 2007
Kicks 23 v Western Bulldogs, 13th May 2007
Handballs 9 v Carlton, 20th Apr 2008
Marks 10 v Western Bulldogs, 13th May 2007
Goals 5 v Geelong, 16th May 2004
Tackles 9 v North Melbourne, 27th May 2007

Alwyn Davey

Career Highs

Disposals 16 v Brisbane, 19th May 2007
Kicks 11 v Geelong, 30th Mar 2008
Handballs 12 v Carlton, 5th Apr 2008
Marks 6 v St Kilda, 21st Apr 2007
Goals 3 v Collingwood, 25th Apr 2007
Tackles 8 v Melbourne, 29th Jun 2007

Aaron Davey

Debut = 2004
Games = 97
Disposals per game = 11.2
Goals per Game = 1.3
Tackles per Game = 3.1

Alwyn Davey

Debut = 2007
Games = 19
Goals = 20
Disposals Per Game = 12.2
Goals per Game = 1.1
Tackles Per Game = 4.1

I would like to apologise for all the idiotic essendon supporters who've posted their drivel in this thread.

If you're going to look at the drafts and trading board on Big Footy you really cant afford to be that precious...

I would like to apologise for all the idiotic essendon supporters who've posted their drivel in this thread.

If you're going to look at the drafts and trading board on Big Footy you really cant afford to be that precious...

Ever heard of free speech mate? Everyone is allowed to their opinion so who are you to apologise for others? We don't live in China.

The Aaron to Essendon or Alwyn to Melbourne connection was always going to be made. Idiots make up these sorts of rumours, and then pass them onto other idiots, who then post them on BigFooty.

Of course it was always going to come up. And its not impossible that its true. Unlikely, but not impossible. People coming on here and having heart attacks over one of our favourite players being mentioned need to get over themselves. Or spend time on a different board.

Alwyn Davey