Amateur Footballer/Records - waste of money??

vafaeye

Jul 6, 2009
As I was leaving after a B Premier grade game on Saturday I noticed one of the home team helpers throw a box of records out into the recycling bin whilst muttering, 'f.......ng waste of money!'

It made the EYE think. On speaking to the elderly gent he explained that his well respected club was forced into taking a set amount every week and that they paid nearly $2 a copy. They never sold any and players were not really interested in them b/c most info was on the net?

The EYE wants to know if this is correct?? Why wouldn't you nominate want you wanted. Not much point if the VAFA say to sponsors/advertisers that we have ?000s circulated every week when they are in the bin?

Very interested in lower division clubs views on the humble record!

THE ALL KNOWING EYE WHO ON THIS OCCASION HAS NO IDEA?

:confused:

Spot on Eye.

This has always been a bee-in-the-bonnet for me and most clubs.

I have always stated the first thing the league needs to do is determine what is the record for?. 1) revenue making 2) communicating to the masses.

In this high tech media environment they need to realise physical media properties are dying and I would hope they start to head towards #(2).

I believe the record remains an important part of the VAFA scene especially for our older supporters and less computer literate supporters as it continues to be a means of promoting the game, detailing the people and performances and generating advertising funds to print & distribution.

If HO start to head towards option (2) then they need to provide an open book policy of showing the clubs the costs/revenues, historic and projected, and the budget.

Based this information I think you would find the record could sustain a cover price of say $0.60 rather than the $2 to break even across X '000's units.

Then as suggestion, the clubs, based on their player membership numbers (leave at players rather than including local supporter members) then pay X players x $0.60 as their cost for the record throughout the year. The club could then add on 18 x $0.60 = $10.80 to player subs and all covered.

This decreases the cost to the clubs and ensures VAFA continue to have a physical property of their brand across all participants.

Further, it may motivate clubs to source and divert advertisers to the record so the cost could be further reduced from $0.60 to the clubs.

It all comes back to the VAFA Objective of the Record and if it is (1) then all clubs will continue to incur high cost and significant waste. The time has come for club presidents to rally and make the HO transparent and accountable for their publication as in this day and age the Eye is right, just an enormous waste and cost to ALL Clubs - it will continue to be as people source their information from other media streams.

As I was leaving after a B Premier grade game on Saturday I noticed one of the home team helpers throw a box of records out into the recycling bin whilst muttering, 'f.......ng waste of money!'

It made the EYE think. On speaking to the elderly gent he explained that his well respected club was forced into taking a set amount every week and that they paid nearly $2 a copy. They never sold any and players were not really interested in them b/c most info was on the net?

The EYE wants to know if this is correct?? Why wouldn't you nominate want you wanted. Not much point if the VAFA say to sponsors/advertisers that we have ?000s circulated every week when they are in the bin?

Uh-Hum....[clears throat and removes Scribe hat, places VAFA club hat on]

Dear VAFAeye,

I'm pretty sure the VAFA require each club to take at least one box of Amateur Footballers per 2 teams in the competition, which means most clubs get about 96 to 128 (I think) magazines per week.

They automatically bill the clubs together with affiliation fees on a monthly basis.

At my current (Fitzroy) and former (OT) clubs, we have had little problem selling the allocated numbers when the seniors play at home, and this means we end up making I think 50 cents per record. Only ends up being $30 to $50 profit, but it's not a loss-making exercise if you are able to sell them.

When the seniors play away, I think there's scope to request fewer records as it's nigh impossible to sell them when U19/3rds/clubbies guys are playing at home as the crowds are smaller and interest in the AF is less.

In any event, if a club veteran helper is concerned about it being a f....ing waste of money, I daresay it's because said club hasn't been able to sell the AF to its supporters. We usually pop our Records by the scoreboard/BBQ/canteen and the people running those jobs flog them pretty easily at Brunswick Street. Either that or they're placed on the tables at a home game luncheons and the price of the Record is included in the cost of a seat at the lunch.

Pretty easily done if done correctly.

{places Scribe hat back on}....and not a bad read on the 'bog' during half time.

BHN gives them away.

Dear VAFAeye,

I'm pretty sure the VAFA require each club to take at least one box of Amateur Footballers per 2 teams in the competition, which means most clubs get about 96 to 128 (I think) magazines per week.

They automatically bill the clubs together with affiliation fees on a monthly basis.

At my current (Fitzroy) and former (OT) clubs, we have had little problem selling the allocated numbers when the seniors play at home, and this means we end up making I think 50 cents per record. Only ends up being $30 to $50 profit, but it's not a loss-making exercise if you are able to sell them.

When the seniors play away, I think there's scope to request fewer records as it's nigh impossible to sell them when U19/3rds/clubbies guys are playing at home as the crowds are smaller and interest in the AF is less.

In any event, if a club veteran helper is concerned about it being a f....ing waste of money, I daresay it's because said club hasn't been able to sell the AF to its supporters. We usually pop our Records by the scoreboard/BBQ/canteen and the people running those jobs flog them pretty easily at Brunswick Street. Either that or they're placed on the tables at a home game luncheons and the price of the Record is included in the cost of a seat at the lunch.

{places Scribe hat back on}....and not a bad read on the 'bog' during half time.

Which page do you use on the "bog?"

Lower grades would not have a crowd to sell to. Agree with the above CC. It is a waste of money when you can't even give them away. Another example of the higher grades having a better $ opportunity. I agree that you should order what you need same as footies, shorts etc.
Do other lower grades give them away as well??

Dear VAFAeye,

That's the key Scribe. Lower grades do not have a hope in hell of doing that.

Spot on Eye.

This has always been a bee-in-the-bonnet for me and most clubs.

I have always stated the first thing the league needs to do is determine what is the record for?. 1) revenue making 2) communicating to the masses.

In this high tech media environment they need to realise physical media properties are dying and I would hope they start to head towards #(2).

I believe the record remains an important part of the VAFA scene especially for our older supporters and less computer literate supporters as it continues to be a means of promoting the game, detailing the people and performances and generating advertising funds to print & distribution.

If HO start to head towards option (2) then they need to provide an open book policy of showing the clubs the costs/revenues, historic and projected, and the budget.

Based this information I think you would find the record could sustain a cover price of say $0.60 rather than the $2 to break even across X '000's units.

Then as suggestion, the clubs, based on their player membership numbers (leave at players rather than including local supporter members) then pay X players x $0.06 as their cost for the record throughout the year.

This decreases the cost to the clubs and ensures VAFA continue to have a physical property of their brand across all participants.

Further, it may motivate clubs to source and divert advertisers to the record so the cost could be further reduced from $0.60 to the clubs.

It all comes back to the VAFA Objective of the Record and if it is (1) then all clubs will continue to incur high cost and significant waste. The time has come for club presidents to rally and make the HO transparent and accountable for their publication as in this day and age the Eye is right, just an enormous waste and cost to ALL Clubs - it will continue to be as people source their information from other media streams.

I am not really on top off this one but our club gets say 50 each week at say $1.50 = $75 a week X 18 weeks = $1350.00. I can tell you in Div 2 WE COULD NOT SELL ONE FOR 50 CENTS much less $2. It is just another unnecessary $$$ strain for battling clubs.

As for scribe it is a pity you were not there in the Uni Reds days. If they can remember they will tell you it is a farce.

Tuesday nights tribunal there are still boxes uncollected b/c away teams just don't care. [Bet M Shol will have them cleared away now!!]

Order what you want Scribe but why force others to suffer?

[/b][/color]

I am not really on top off this one but our club gets say 50 each week at say $1.50 = $75 a week X 18 weeks = $1350.00. I can tell you in Div 2 WE COULD NOT SELL ONE FOR 50 CENTS much less $2. It is just another unnecessary $$$ strain for battling clubs.

As for scribe it is a pity you were not there in the Uni Reds days. If they can remember they will tell you it is a farce.

Tuesday nights tribunal there are still boxes uncollected b/c away teams just don't care. [Bet M Shol will have them cleared away now!!]

Order what you want Scribe but why force others to suffer?

It may be time for the Association to check with the Clubs on this.
1) Whether Clubs want to retain The Record at all.
2) And if so, Clubs have a choice of a minimum / maximum number each week.

One thing, last year the Player Jumper No's were on the vafa website but they aren't included in 2010 which is disappointing. Perhaps someone knows why this is?

It may be time for the Association to check with the Clubs on this.
1) Whether Clubs want to retain The Record at all.
2) And if so, Clubs have a choice of a minimum / maximum number each week.

One thing, last year the Player Jumper No's were on the vafa website but they aren't included in 2010 which is disappointing. Perhaps someone knows why this is?

So you buy the VAFA Record!!!

And you buy one every week MAX???

;)

Vafaeye,

You didn't quite get what I was alluding too.

VAFA deliberately leave numbers off players on the Website, so the masses have to go out and buy a VAFA Record.

PS I nick mine every Thursday night, as do most of the players.

Vafaeye,

You didn't quite get what I was alluding too.

VAFA deliberately leave numbers off players on the Website, so the masses have to go out and buy a VAFA Record.

PS I nick mine every Thursday night, as do most of the players.

think a little more laterally, people. Cyan Press has long been associated with the Ammo's...and is listed as one of the Comp's major sponsors. I'd suggest the Ammo's would get their footy records typeset, designed and printed for very little (if not for free).

Lets assume they get them produced at a 50% discount to market rate. When you add in the substantial advertising opportunities afforded to companies like Schweppes, Boags etc...and then the costs get on-sold to each of the clubs, it becomes quite a profitable little earner for Head Office.

think a little more laterally, people. Cyan Press has long been associated with the Ammo's...and is listed as one of the Comp's major sponsors. I'd suggest the Ammo's would get their footy records typeset, designed and printed for very little (if not for free).

Lets assume they get them produced at a 50% discount to market rate. When you add in the substantial advertising opportunities afforded to companies like Schweppes, Boags etc...and then the costs get on-sold to each of the clubs, it becomes quite a profitable little earner for Head Office.

HBF, to think laterally would make you realise that the print media has declined some 40% over last 5-8 years, hence it would be in Cyan interest to keep in bed with the VAFA if they print 5k? units a week. Also main reason is they make alot of money from VAFA is that all Records are sold on a firm basis i.e. not sale or return, hence VAFA Clubs (not HO) pay for all records thrown out which is ridiculous considering an RRP of $2. Go into your local newsagent and ask them if they pay for all their Ralph's?..no, they only pay for what they sell and the rest are returned for credit.

Clubs need to wake up to this and get the HO to change it as everytime you guys throw out remaining records it costs YOU not the supplier or VAFA HO - wake up!

Now the waste, if 40% of all records are thrown out without anyone reading them then what,s the use - waste of another tree, production and paper waste. Clubs paying for this waste, not VAFA HO

If they print them then they need to ensure higher rate of read and ensure clubs are not held to ransom just so they can make a healthy profit at HO.

Needs a complete overhaul.

Proactive clubs will give the records away at the canteen when someone purchases a dog or a pie and a soft drink.Most of the records end up on the ground or in the bin and from this aspect it is a waste of time and money and doing untold damage to the environment. I managed to catch up on three games on the weekend and I must say the standard of footy was excellent, but in all cases the crowds were abysmal.

When will the Ammos administration pull their heads out of the 1950's and repeal the prohibitian ban that they have had in place since Moses played for Ajax in the Jerusalem league? In all of the games I attended people were hiding in the shadows watching the game, and enjoying a can or three of their favourite alcoholic beverage.They were not loud or obnoxious, and cleaned up after themselves. The year is 2010, not 1950, so to the VAFA administration please move into the here and now and give clubs a chance to attract crowds and watch some very good footy, compared to the rubbish that the Southern League serves up.

Yep, a bit hard asking the coaches on the day for a look at the team sheet - as a player or players are wearing numbers that don't correspond with the Record.

Cant sell them at our club. Also the setup has changed for the worse. Keep the scores,goalkickers, milestones etc on the division page.

Cost is an absolute ripoff. Unlike the private school boys we in the lower divisions can't afford to give the ammos money for which we get no return

Cant sell them at our club. Also the setup has changed for the worse. Keep the scores,goalkickers, milestones etc on the division page.

Cost is an absolute ripoff. Unlike the private school boys we in the lower divisions can't afford to give the ammos money for which we get no return

Divvy 1 side. We can't even give them away either. Environmental waste every week. Suspect we don't collect them when we play away. Shall ask the treasurer what it costs & repost.

Agreed another VAFA ripoff. Why can't we choose what we want?

Why do you need a beer at an ammos game?

My apologies comarade for daring to suggest something as radical as being allowed to have a beer at a game of footy.It may actually encourage more spectators to attend who appreciate the choice of partaking a beer or two on a Saturday afternoon,and provide some much needed atmosphere at local games as well as a revenue stream for clubs. But by all means continue forcing clubs to pay for records that lie scattered on the change room floors and then end up in the rubbish bins. Your attitude is symptomatic of the Ammo's view of the world. We will tell you what to do and think.

Ammos footy is the best to watch for the reasons that there is a better / friendlier atmosphere amongst supporters than there is at local leagues that do allow alcohol.

I find the Ammos is heaps better than the WRFL or EDFL & The EFL when i lived in the east.

you get the banter without the fear of violence!

Watched a Kyneton (BFL) game recently and the conduct and language of the portion of the crowd that was obviously on the gas for an extended period was disgraceful. Whilst I am usually the first to line up at the Rupo bar at 4.30pm on a Saturday, I wholly agree with TT and say keep it dry. As for the record, I enjoy reading it cover to cover on Sunday mornings as the wife serves me brekky in bed. ;)

69'er, as you live in the area, why don't you do some research and go to a SFL game at Dingley, Highett, Cheltenham, Hampton etc etc (take your pick) and stay to the end of the day - what an absolute disgrace their feral supporters are with a dozen in their guts.

In fact get out to Dingley early and partake in the $10 all you can drink on the far HFF from 12-4. An absolute ripper of a day enjoyed by the locals over the fence with the fire going etc. Fail to see any footy action but they sure make up for it with their own stuff.

After your research jump back on board and let us know your thoughts.

Watched a Kyneton (BFL) game recently and the conduct and language of the portion of the crowd that was obviously on the gas for an extended period was disgraceful. Whilst I am usually the first to line up at the Rupo bar at 4.30pm on a Saturday, I wholly agree with TT and say keep it dry. As for the record, I enjoy reading it cover to cover on Sunday mornings as the wife serves me brekky in bed. ;)

What!, she never served me any brekky in bed, it was out the door before you got home.;)

Amateur Footballer/Records - waste of money??