News Amon Buchanan Retires

I believe Egan might have and swapped over to coaching. And yeah most AFL players don't do it because most traded AFL players don't get traded in and left to rot in the ressies on good money with the view of being a developmental leader. Had the lions actually recognised his value in developmental coaching that people here bang on about then they could have offered him a coaching role a get him off the cap space...obviously didn't happen and bucca plays out his 3 year failed trade contract and will likely move on cashed up

If bucca was some sort of youth development leader messiah I would expect him to stay on in a coaching role...wait and see on that.

Yeah he retired...players normally get the first option to retired late in career. More dignified...but no way would he get another lions contract regardless of his "extraordinary good work" for our club.

Does it really bother you that much that some people might want to praise Buchanan for his work around the club?

Egan got an injury to his foot and couldn't play again. Bunno is actually playing for the Cats VFL side doing exactly what Monty has been doing and that is mentoring the younger boys. Maybe Lions didn't recruit him to do that, but his contribution should not be underrated because he couldn't get back into the senior side. Every week he has put in 110% whether it's seniors or reserves. Respect his commitment and effort.

I have watched ressies games, and I have been impressed seeing Amon consistently leading by example. The way he's done so shows a strength of character that contrasts starkly against the likes of the living, breathing bad example that is Jared Brennan.

Taking pot shots at the guy as he retires comes across as callous, spiteful, graceless and unnecessary. I'll believe my own observations and the opinions of those close to him over anyone throwing rocks from afar.

I think there would be a few midfielders in the senior team that have learnt how hard you really have to go at the ball thanks to him. Harwood, Beams and Green are the players that come to mind. His recruitment didn't work out as planned but he really made the best of a not ideal situation.

As a swans supporter have always thought highly of him and glad to see that most brissy fans think the same even though his game time was short lived with you guys. Best of luck in the future Amon.

A great symbol of your club that represents everything you guys stand for, toughness, honesty and willingness to play for the footy club. Great win against the Crows by the way :)

no...talking about the senior games...the contradiction is the people who say his trade is a success but hasnt played much senior action...and good 300k per year well spent?
That's not really the argument being made at all. He didn'f ill the role that he was traded in for, but he did find a job to do, and he did it with a great amount of energy and no sooking. He ended up not being good enough to crack the seniors very often, but he did put in with the role that he was given. Nobody is saying that he is the developmental messiah, or that he is a god of coaching, etc. He is being paid the respect that he deserves in this thread for his effort and service to the club. Nobody is arguing that he shouldn't move on.

I think there would be a few midfielders in the senior team that have learnt how hard you really have to go at the ball thanks to him. Harwood, Beams and Green are the players that come to mind. His recruitment didn't work out as planned but he really made the best of a not ideal situation.
Gibbo has said it perfectly here.

You are thinking about this topic is much too a 'black and white' fashion. This thread is here to pay respect to a guy that didn't work out fully, but did what he could with what he was given.

I think given that pretty much every player who made a speech on Fri night included a thank you to Amon for all his efforts on and off the field, shows that he did indeed make a valuable contribution that may very well have been worth every cent we paid him. All the best to him in his retirement.

no...talking about the senior games...the contradiction is the people who say his trade is a success but hasnt played much senior action...and good 300k per year well spent?

Well again you are contradicting yourself. People in this thread have been talking about his contribution to the Ressies and the young players there so I don't think it wise for you to comment on his output there if you haven't seen him.

That's not really the argument being made at all. He didn'f ill the role that he was traded in for, but he did find a job to do, and he did it with a great amount of energy and no sooking. He ended up not being good enough to crack the seniors very often, but he did put in with the role that he was given. Nobody is saying that he is the developmental messiah, or that he is a god of coaching, etc. He is being paid the respect that he deserves in this thread for his effort and service to the club. Nobody is arguing that he shouldn't move on.

Gibbo has said it perfectly here.

You are thinking about this topic is much too a 'black and white' fashion. This thread is here to pay respect to a guy that didn't work out fully, but did what he could with what he was given.

get your point...I just thought people went a bit over board in singing his praises. But thats just my opinion. I see he did some good but I compare his worth to what Schneider has done at the saints. Both similar players leaving the swans as premiership players but both in my eyes had much different impacts at the clubs. But some lions supporters seem to praise the efforts of Bucca move then the saints supporters ever will for schneider.

I honestly thank bucca for having a crack at the lions and coming north...I just wont make a song and dance about it

anyway, said my bit :)

I think given that pretty much every player who made a speech on Fri night included a thank you to Amon for all his efforts on and off the field, shows that he did indeed make a valuable contribution that may very well have been worth every cent we paid him. All the best to him in his retirement.

In that same time Luke power was pushed out of the club...worth every cent?

Well again you are contradicting yourself. People in this thread have been talking about his contribution to the Ressies and the young players there so I don't think it wise for you to comment on his output there if you haven't seen him.

mate I dont rate the qafl, seen a bit of it and wont rush to see more...and thus wont accept a players worth on the impact he has in such a inferior league...like I said any senior afl player should run rings around other players in that league.

intersting...sounds like he should be a coach. Should have transfers onto the coaching roster instead of taking cap space...would have been nice to keep power on board for a true retirement reward

Convey your sentiments to the playing group and see if they agree. Pretty much every player went out of their way to acknowledge his contribution the other night. I reckon a certain J Brown would tell you to pull your head in.

Whether you rate the standard of competition in the NEAFL (based on extremely limited experience) is besides the point. It's not his statistical dominance that he is being acknowledged for but rather the leadership and physical courage he showed in the reserves and the lengths he went to protect and help mentor his younger teammates. All without ego or complaint... No "I'm a premiership player... this is bullshit" pretense from Amon.

Your comment about Luke Power shows that you've got some misdirected angst. Buchanan isn't the list manager. He is just a guy who was offered a contract at our club and fulfilled the obligations that went with it like a true professional. That is what people are thanking him for. No one is canonising him as a legend of the game.

Can not fathom what you are trying to achieve with your comments.

The majority of posters are thanking Monty on a personal level for his commitment and contribution. You appear to be the odd one out because you are equating that with the dollar value from his contract. Like comparing apples and oranges I think.

Say it to the player group and see if they agree. Pretty much every player went out of their way to acknowledge his contribution the other night. I reckon a certain J Brown would tell you to pull your head in.

Whether you rate the standard of competition in the NEAFL (based on extremely limited experience) is besides the point. It's not his statistical dominance that he is being acknowledged but the leadership and physical courage he showed in the reserves and the lengths he went to protect and help mentor his younger teammates. All without ego or complaint.

Your comment about Luke Power shows that you've got some misdirected angst. Buchanan isn't the list manager. He is a guy who was offered a contract at our club and fulfilled the obligations that went with it like a true professional.

Can not fathom what you are trying to achieve with your comments.

looking back I am probably getting more negative as the post go on...might stop.

my point was I just dont see the huge value of him at the club in terms of what we gave up for him in terms of trade but more so cap space which resulted in a club legend leaving. Happy to accept that he manage to savage some impact for the club in terms of youth development, but hardly a measure of success in my eyes from a player recruited to add senior experience to our senior team. With that in mind I just questioned why people are sending him off like a club legend. If you "can't fathom" my opinion then so be it...dont think it is that irrational in thinking.

intersting...sounds like he should be a coach. Should have transfers onto the coaching roster instead of taking cap space...would have been nice to keep power on board for a true retirement reward

Ok I deleted the extremely sarcastic response I first wrote. Suffice to say I fail to see the relevance of that comment.

The majority of posters are thanking Monty on a personal level for his commitment and contribution. You appear to be the odd one out because you are equating that with the dollar value from his contract. Like comparing apples and oranges I think.

probably about right...but I do also accept he made some impact to the youth (should of switched to coaching knowing his playing days were over years ago). I just think the real reason he was brought to the club were never achieved, and thus surprises my why people send him off like a club champion.

Yeah, should have just told him to get stuffed eh?

thus surprises my why people send him off like a club champion.

I think that might be more about your perception than anything else.

IIRC, Voss's retirement thread had close to 1000 posts.

News Amon Buchanan Retires