FTA-TV Angry Boys - Chris Lilley

s.mouse's "slap my elbow" debuted on the aria charts at no. 37 :eek:

Poo on you should come in at number 1 if thats the case...

Oh no, seriously? Thats such a shame as I was really looking forward to it, having second thoughts about watching it now, do you think I should give it ago?

It's an excellent blend of the character-based comedy from his earlier series and an examination of fame and celebrity.

However, if you're just after the catch-phrases like most folks round here, then tune in at around 9:28 and you'll catch the trailer for next week's episode.

I'd definitely recommend it.

It's an excellent blend of the character-based comedy from his earlier series and an examination of fame and celebrity.

However, if you're just after the catch-phrases like most folks round here, then tune in at around 9:28 and you'll catch the trailer for next week's episode.

Thanks for the tip mate! Yeah I guess I am into the catch phases, I'm really interrested to see how he develops the new characters in Angry boys and wither they will be as successful as the characters he had in Summer Heights High! ( By the way I really do wish he could make another series of Summer heights high):D

I'm a big fan, and think people have been very quick to judge what is proving to be a complex and clever show.

I must admit that episode 2, in which Lilley debuted the character of Smouse, left me questioning whether Lilly had over-estimated his own cleverness, but those doubts have well and truly been allayed as I find myself enjoying AB more and more each week.

People are equally quick to throw around the 'genius' label in regards to Chris Lilley, which is a bit hyperbolic imo; but the guy has a gift for observational humour and the subtlety to examine a range of issues and themes in such a way that the audience is never quite sure what to expect or where it is going.

A good, quick example would be Daniel's interactions with a local gay teen (I can't remember the name of the character unfortunately).
Daniel's mum, fed up with his constant use of the derogatory term '***', arranges for Daniel to spend a day with a young gay man.

The results were interesting, and I think they stayed true to the character of Daniel.
Daniel is an immature bogan, but not a hateful guy really (well, apart from his angst at Steve taking over the 'Dad' role in his family).

Soon enough he finds himself enjoying the young gay guy's company; he genuinely strikes up a friendship, but that doesn't stop Daniel from using the word '***', or attempting to exploit his new buddy's close relationships with a couple of local teen girls.

Lesson ? I'm not sure !
Daniel's ignorance at his potentially hurtful words (the gay kid doesnt seem particularly bothered by the use of the word '***' btw) is somewhat offset by his ignorance about everything - the guy is an idiot, but at the same time he's just a kid learning to be a young man.

Smouse is an even more interesting character (his 'educational' song about paedophiles to a young audience of primary school kids was hilarious btw), one I initially dismissed as being a huge mis-step in Lilley's oeuvre but is proving to be just as nuanced as the rest of his characters (and possibly funnier).

I like all the characters apart from Jen.

He's nailed the boys and they will always be quality. Gran must be difficult to master as she is subtle but he's done it. I like Blake too, love the voice and intonations.

I don't find Jen or Smouse funny, but I reckon he's got the Smouse character right.

As for Jen, I think she's a waste of time.

Thought the previous episode was far better. Jen and Smouse just aren't funny, and the kid playing Tim is such a poor actor it angers me.

Yeah last week's episode was way better, was good all the way through with heaps of laughs. This week's episode was back to the patchiness of the previous episodes which is mainly due to having too much S.Mouse and Jap mum.

The series would be so much better if he just stuck to doing Daniel and Nathan, Gran and Blake. He nails those characters so much better than the other two.

Yeah I agree, its probably best for him to stick with a only a few characters, I think by adding more characters it starts to get confusing and people are less likey to get to know them like the characters that were in summer heights high.

The last few episodes have been better but the humour is still lacking. Like I have said before though, the characters are accurate to a tee.

Not so sure about Smouse and Jap Mom, but the Australian ones are at least.

At the risk of sounding like a wanky Sydney entertainment writer, Lilley's unquestionable talent lies in is his remarkable ability to inhabit characters who provide painfully accurate reflections of people who we are able to recognize from our everyday lives.

We all know someone like Phil Olivetti, Ja'ime, Daniel and Nathan, Nan, Blake Oakfield etc. We can also recognize the unique Aussie cultural stereotypes presented in characters like Jonah and Ricky Wong etc.

Therein lies the problem with a character like Smouse IMO. He just comes across as another tired pastiche of well worn american gangsta rap cliches.

The Jap mom is a little different. The humour is there, but its quite subtle and its satire is based in stuff the audience finds it harder to recognize or identify with. If your talking purely about Lilley's performance, I actually think Jen Okazaki is probably the most complex, most nuanced character he has yet put on screen.

At the end of the day look at it this way. If Chris Lilley had of come back with another term at Summer Heights High, it probably would of rated through the roof, all the people on here bagging Angry Boys would instead be raving, and Lilley would now be having a truckload of cash thrown at him by the commercial networks.

Thank god Chris Lilley didnt do that.

It would of been so easy and so tempting to just repeat a proven formula - something we see so often from Aussie tv. But Lilley, to his credit, had a little more ambition and tried something else.

Good on him for that if nothing else.

FTA-TV Angry Boys - Chris Lilley