Anyone else share my confidence this week?

It will all be won in the middle which is where they have beaten us before so our midfielders have got to be hard as nails and do not get pushed off the ball and that will be helped by the big men Hudson and Minson as they both have grunt in them. Our forward line is much better than before as we have options not just Johnno, as they now have to cover Welsh, Murphy, Aka, Gia, Hahn and others that will rotate through the forward line. Saints are great at pushing us around and we just need to be hard at the ball. Interesting stat to all the Wight knockers if you go to our Website he is our leading tackler after 2 rounds with 8, I'm not a huge fan of his but i think at the moment he is doing his job as the other defenders in Lake, Morris, Hargrave, Gilbee and Griffen have heaps of talent. Hard to be confident about this one as it has been a long time between drinks with these guys and Sydney. Please defenders shut down Milne as he does my head. Not super confident but I have a feeling we might pull it off. Go Doggies

Great post. Hope like hell that we win... more wishful than super confident at the moment. Agree that Hudson has been super for us, but King has been useful at St Kilda also. Hoping for a solid win!!!

I'm starting to feel a little less confident after hearing that the saints cancelled training for today due to weather.
Sometimes a break in routine can have a positive effect on players, other times it can have an adverse effect. Lets hope its the latter.
:rolleyes:

I am reasonably confident we can and will win.

I will be listening to Grant Thomas as he doesnt rate us at all and would love nothing more than to roll his beloved saints. The fat bastard pots us at every opportunity. He has made some valid points but interestingly he thinks Melb & the Bulldogs are not hard enough to go anywhere this year. I hope we beat the crap of the saints on the scoreboard and on the ground. For all the hype they get facts are they have one flag and so do we. Cant understand why their supporters are so cocky - either they are underachivers or are no good...will be mighty pisd orf if we dont win.

Hate that bombastic abnoxious fat failed coach. I missed have been asleep the last 30 years all that success he had as aplayer with the Saints.:eek:

I've been looking forward to the Saints game for a while - I felt this game would be a barometer as to how good we are in 2008 and if we've improved or not.

I was staggered to see the match odds - $2.75 for the Dogs and $1.45 for the Saints. Wouldn't mind putting a few bucks on the Dogs - we're a lot better than that!

Saints have had the wood over us in the last few years, make no mistake. We all have our theories on who would match up best against who - our backline etc etc - but bottom line is - if we win, 15 clubs will take notice of us and it'll be a massive boost to our confidence and mojo. I'm sure a few clubs think we got over the line vs Adelaide thanks to BJ, that Melbourne is Melbourne ......

I am quietly confident we will play well - it'll be a tough 4 quarter rollercoaster of a match I reckon.

BRING IT ON!!!!

Dogs by 10 goals, with the only question mark being how ugly will the saints play in an effort to save percentage.

I am sure most teams go into flood mode after conceding consecutive goals

if the saints adopt the superflood lock down gameplan, the dogs should play kick to kick across half back. Let the crowd moan?

I actually believe for the first time against them we have the edge in the middle. Pace advantage, tick. Skill advantage, tick.

The key is controlling Roo. We can't stop him completely and if Hargreaves gets the job he will need help. Lake should cover Gehrig well. We break even in their forward line and we win comfortably.

I was not too confident until I heard Ross Lyon talk us up

We want to bring our work boots and make sure we're in the contest because they (the Bulldogs) can blow you away quicker than any other team in the AFL," he said.

"They've got all their run and skill back. They're really up and firing and I think everyone respects the way they play and they're a really difficult challenge

GO DOGS

I would be much more confident at the MCG agains them where we can use the wide spaces and run and kick. The Dome suits the Saints against us but I think if we can run them off their legs and use the foot skills effectively, we should be able to win. I would like to see Eade go for the shoot out, back our blokes against theirs. I think the way our skills are at the moment we can kick 25 goals in a game, they might kick 20 but you do the math !

you little fu.....ing beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How good was that??!! After the first quarter I was contemplating hanging myself with my scarf off the third level...

What happened next was just unbelievable!!

Wil Minson ( whom I have not had much time for) was huge in the ruck, he contributed for 4 quarters and thats what its all about!!

Dale Morris is my god dam hero!! He pulled roo's pants down and inserted a digit.

Cooney is on this year, very consistant!

Everyone from addison to callan to Welsh contributed, dug deep and that's how you play footy!

We harrased and chased everything.. I always said it was gonna be one on their half forward line and in the centre, after quarter time we busted it open...

Wight did well after Kosi gave him the reach around early... Griff is unbeleivable

Seriously hope we can get up in this game, even put a bit of money on us... had a bit of a flutter with multi bets as well. I simply couldn't resist $3.40 for under 39 points. Fingers crossed!

One point! One point! One point away from disaster. As it sounds now, I might go drinking now and then take the girl out for dinner next week. Considering that the Doggies for under 39 was the hinge of my multi-bets... I could be in for a big weekend!

(Rookie resolves not to re-bet his winnings from tonight and possible extra bonuses from multibets that are now looking like very solid payouts)

When we were getting smashed i thought of this thread and thought "yeah i share you bloody confidence:mad::rolleyes:"

hahahaha:thumbsu:

I was ready to hang myself....

it went according to my script tonight, which rarely happens!!:D:cool:

Dogs by 10 goals, with the only question mark being how ugly will the saints play in an effort to save percentage.

I am sure most teams go into flood mode after conceding consecutive goals

if the saints adopt the superflood lock down gameplan, the dogs should play kick to kick across half back. Let the crowd moan?

I didn't allow for the balls that hit the post, and Welsh missing. That would have got us closer. I'll try to factor these things in next week.;)

*bump*

Nothing much has changed, really. I feel as confident as ever that we have broken the hoodoo against St Kilda and I expect nothing less this weekend.

How is everyone else feeling about the contest?

After watching the Saints live yesterday I'm feeling very confident. If we play like how we did against Hawthorn, it will go a long way to winning us the match.

Not too sure about this one. We SHOULD win but you never know. The games I was confident we'd win comfortably we really struggled with. I'm going into this one with an extremely quiet confidence. Another game that could go either way depending on who turns up to play on the day.

Anyone else share my confidence this week?