Arch is on tonight's Footy Show

Some very uncomfortable TV viewing...don't give up your day job Arch. FFS Mick Martyn looked like a very eloquent wordsmith sitting next to him.

That was excruciating to watch....almost as awkward as watching S Clayton go for a contested mark. Not pretty.

Only saw a couple of bits but I thought it could have been worse. I thought the segment where he tipped the Swans to beat the Crows because Wayne was playing was definitely entertaining.

The show is airing right now, the intro is on as we speak. Geez doesnt sound good from what I read above... Arch is a very intellegent guy, not too sure he is right for the Footy Show, but we'll see.

First add break here in WA...
He seems really uncomftable, not really a media personality. Feel a bit sorry for him, hope the ice breaks over the next segment or so.

Was worth watching just to see him stick it to that tool who sometimes plays for Adelaide. He tipped Sydney because that tool was comming back in for Adelaide. He seemed to enjoy that moment too. Good to see that he still hates the big headed pr1ck.

It was uncomfortable, but I guess we feel it more keenly than the average TV viewer.

Arch will benefit from the experience. Strange, isnt it? One of the most respected, courageous players ever to play AFL - and he's been doing it for the best part of a decade - but is rarely sighted on the telly. Once he relaxes a bit and realises he doesn't have to answer Eddie's questions with more than a quick one liner he'll be alright....

Yeah the only problem I saw was the way he tried to use the Carey joke when it really isn't required. I know he is trying to make fun of the situation for a light hearted television program, though we knew he didnt really want to talk about it.

To an average fan he wouldnt have seemed so bad, but us BF fans put a lot of pressure on this guy! Who will be next, we've had Kingy, Had Arch, I want to see Stevo on there. He is a clone of this awesome player in my Under 16's team, speaks just like him too: Interview with Stevens after RD3 Brisbane Game"So Stevo, Had an oppertunity late in the game, but you brought it back to a draw with that point" Stevens then replies "Yeah should of dobbed that one" and then "Michael Voss just on the siren there?" Stevens replies "I think it was after, haha" He is an awesome character. Also speaks to reporters with his mouthguard still in, hehe. Dont see him ever doing media though, especially after the Carey Saga.

In other interviews I've seen with Archer he seems quiet like what he was last night. The only time he doesn't seem to be is straight after a game where probably the adrenelin is still flowing.

I know people who've met him at North functions and they've all commented on how quiet he was.

Arch is the only bloke I know of who has a cup of coffee after the game. I played for years and have never seen anyone have a coffee straight after a match.

Archer was unable to string 2 words together... and looked like it was the last place on earth he wanted to be. Amazing that someone who is that old and been around that long... with all the media training players get could be that bad in front of a camera. I was seriously cringing for most of the show hoping he wouldn't say something.

Originally posted by Chris_Judd
Archer was unable to string 2 words together... and looked like it was the last place on earth he wanted to be. Amazing that someone who is that old and been around that long... with all the media training players get could be that bad in front of a camera. I was seriously cringing for most of the show hoping he wouldn't say something.
"Amazing"?

Gee, you're pretty easily "amazed" sunshine!!

Based on your curiously over-the-top reaction to the insignificant detail of the merrits of Glenn Archer's media performances, i reckon you'd come close to wetting your pants if you actually saw the bloke do what he's paid for: play footy.

Dunno if your little ticker could handle all that excitement.

Arch always seems very uneasy in front of a camera, seems to speak with very little confidence. His media skills haven't been developed enough over the last 12 years.

Does anyone have some inside knowledge on the processes for selecting the panelists? If a North player was requested, surely Kingy would have been a better bet?

The only explanations I can offer : :D
- Archer won't be on the plane to Brisbane, so he was excused to be on the panel instead of Kingy who will play
- it was certain that Carey would return this week, and TFS team wanted to create an opportunity for a controversial viewpoint, knowing that Arch was more likely to appear than Stevo

Kudos to him though, for not putting on a front and toeing the party line on things. As someone else has mentioned, he didn't have to think about the politics of what he was saying.

I wouldn't mind seeing Digby on TFS. He seems to have that laconic John Barnes style about him.. and how could an audience not love a bloke called Digby!!!

And before anyone says he hasn't achieved enough as a player.. GLENN FARKEN MANTON!!!!

Darky...I'm guessing Arch was on because Micky was a special guest and they couldn't exactly have any blue baggers ('cos not 1 of 'em is worthy to even walk in Mick's shadow) on the panel to have a chat and pat him on the back for the 300th.

But your theory has merit with not making the trip to Brissie - didn't think of that.

And I hope my original post on this thread wasn't mis-understood. I wasn't bagging Arch (he's my fave player) - more feeling sorry for the bastard last night.

Originally posted by Lidge
Darky...I'm guessing Arch was on because Micky was a special guest and they couldn't exactly have any blue baggers ('cos not 1 of 'em is worthy to even walk in Mick's shadow) on the panel to have a chat and pat him on the back for the 300th.

Fair point, but surely Kingy who played 10 years with Mick, or Colby who we KNOW won't play this week, don't exactly think he's a c**t !!!

Originally posted by Carlos
"Based on your curiously over-the-top reaction to the insignificant detail of the merrits of Glenn Archer's media performances, i reckon you'd come close to wetting your pants if you actually saw the bloke do what he's paid for: play footy.

Dunno if your little ticker could handle all that excitement.

Yeah I would be ****ting my pants if Archer came up to me.... NOT..... if he was about to hit me all I would have to do is point a camera at his face and he would freeze and giggle like a shy schoolgirl.

Originally posted by Chris_Judd
Yeah I would be ****ting my pants if Archer came up to me.... NOT..... if he was about to hit me all I would have to do is point a camera at his face and he would freeze and giggle like a shy schoolgirl.

... at which point you would soil your Y fronts, and he would proceed to cave your face in while continuing to "giggle like a shy schoolgirl".

Arch is on tonight's Footy Show