Article

Certainly sounds positive, but like any old-time Tiger fan, I'd prefer to wait and see. The last thing I need is another false dawn.

Still, good news should sometimes be taken at face value.

One of the more interesting points was about the side more-or-less picking itself at the start of last year (in that all Richmond fans would have had the same best 22)

This year, in contrast, there have been considerable differences between my best 22, and those of CJH, tiger-of-old, oh my hat, and all the other RFC supporters here. (Biddescombe should be in the starting 22
mad.gif
)

That means one of two things:

1) None of us have any idea what we're talking about.

OR

2) There is genuine depth and competition now for places in the Richmond team, that there wasn't a couple of years ago.

While the former remains a distinct possibility (at least in my case), if the latter is true then Richmond supporters have a hell of a lot to look forward to.

By the way "The Glove", welcome aboard - if no one has already said so.

I trust your nickname is a reference to my favourite player who may or may not wear a '3' on his back?

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Thanks for the welcome TigerTank.

I think that even though last year was another shocking year as far as missing on the finals ("AGAIN"), the injury problems will be beneficial in the long run. Obviously giving younger and inexperienced players more of a go on the field than they would otherwise get. It will hopefully pay dividends this year, IF our injury list can be somewhat reduced as opposed to last year.

My Nickname certainly does come from the great DK, came very close to winning the best and fairest and he missed about half of the season. Besides, annoyone that annoys Buckley enough to make him hit you in the head deserves acknowledgement.

Oh.... Biddas should be in the best 22...

TheGlove

Howdy Guys,
Can't help myself saying hello here. I read this all the time but have never posted anything before. All i want to say is keep up the Duncan xxx talk. We can be our own private DK fan club. The mutual admiration society, ha.
Also has anyone else noticed the pathetic telly coverage we get over the Ansett cup?
Not one game live, and some not even delayed broadcast. Ripped off again. Typical treatment of Tiger supporters.
rosy3.

Good to see you here Rosy.

But you and I both know you're thinking '23', not '3'.
biggrin.gif

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Shhhhh TT,
A girl's got to have some secrets. I was going to come out of the closet as soon as he gets his BOG first game back.
Go Azza.
And maybe chuck in a number 39 too and a.....

What is happening with the Ansett Cup coverage for the Richmond games??

I haven't seen or heard anything.

welcome aboard glove.well i have optus i got the feb months tv guide and with great anticipation i went straight to the date when the tigers to play the hawks.with panic in my eyes no sign of the match not live or in replay.i flicked to hte next couple of days and still no match replay so once again folks we have been given a very raw deal.
cheers!

Thanks Tiger_Of_Old.

So let me get this right. There is no coverage of the Rich v Haw game from Tassie? What a crock. I don't mind the other 2 not being televised as they are at Optus Oval and I can attend but I'm not flying to Tassie for an Ansett Cup game, not even for Benny's testimonial.

I honetsly can't believe people are hooked on Pisser(Aaron James). I reckon the club would have delisted him last year if he didn't do his knee. He'll be lucky to survive past this year I think, unless he has a miracle recovery from his knee job and plays like a man possesed.

TheGlove

Our depth would have to be the most proven in the competition! Even better than the much vaunted Essendon list!

I've taken our list and broken the players into the following categories:

Senior (capable of cutting it at the senior level), Developing/Unproven and Fringe (had plenty of opportunity but not cemented a place).

Here is what I came up with:

Senior:
  1. Rory Hilton
  2. Darren Gaspar
  3. Duncan Kellaway
  4. Matthew Rogers
  5. Brad Ottens
  6. Mark Chaffey
  7. Marc Dragicevic
  8. Wayne Campbell
  9. Nick Daffy
  10. Joel Bowden
  11. Matthew Richardson
  12. Leon Cameron
  13. Ben Holland
  14. Paul Broderick
  15. Steven Sziller
  16. Clinton King
  17. Craig Biddiscombe
  18. Benny Gale
  19. Jason Torney
  20. David Bourke
  21. Greg Tivendale
  22. Matthew Knights
  23. Andrew Kellaway
  24. Royce Vardy
    [/list=a]

Developing/Unproven
    1. Kayne Pettifer
    2. Aaron Fiora
    3. Paddy Steinfort
    4. Ray Hall
    5. Mark Coughlan
    6. Ezra Poyas
    7. Andrew Krakouer
    8. Scott Homewood
    9. Chris Hyde
    10. Andrew Mills
    11. Ty Zantuck
    12. Ben Haynes
    13. Chris Newman
      [/list=a]

Fringe:
      1. Aaron James
      2. Lionel Proctor
        [/list=a]

------------------
        This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 30 January 2001).]

Originally posted by CJH:

B Torney, A Kellaway, Vardy
HB Cameron, Gaspar, Hilton
C Bowden, D Kellaway, Chaffey
HF Tivendale, Richo, Rogers
F Pettifer, Holland, Dragicevic
R Ottens, Campbell, King
I Gale, Knights, Fiora, Daffy
E Bourke, Steinfort, Sziller

TT,
Actually, no I can't find a spot for Biddiscombe in my top 25. He is a 24 y.o. who has had only one decent season which was leading up to contract renewal time. His career has yielded only 57 games in 6 seasons. (Debut in 1995). I would suggest he is either a depth or tagging player.

I still stand behind this team TT!!! The only possible change I would make is Daffy out!

In fairness though, Biddiscombe would be ranked 26 on my list!

lgsmile-RICH.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Welcome aboard TheGlove and Rosy!

I knew you must be at least reading stuff here Rosy! You're too mad a Tiger to not scour every site for a footy fix!

BTW, I was also at the AGM and will publish some notes on it shortly! Do you subscribe to Crikey? He was sitting only a few seats around from me the other night! Didn't know he was an actual Tiger supporter - thought he was just being there as a journo!

------------------

I am assuming the Tigers/Hawks game will be telecast live on free to air T.V...
It is the only game on that Sunday.
Surely something will go our way for once. There is not even a delayed coverage of that game listed on C7 though.
The next game is listed to be delayed telecast at 10.30 that night.
I don't have the C7 programming for March. The other game at the same time as our third game is Hawks/Demons at CS and I think it would be a safe bet that they would get the coverage. Here's hoping I'm wrong though. I have been wrong once or twice in my life, but I don't often admit it, ha.
While I'm here does anyone know where George has got to? And when are you guys going to contribute to Roarpower again. I feel a bit as though I'm talking to myself there at the moment.

Originally posted by CJH:

Fringe:
  1. Aaron James
  2. Lionel Proctor
    [/list=a]

1. I think these 2 are only on the list because
    of contractual obligations.
    Neither of them has shown enough over the last couple of years for the club to keep carrying them.More so now the lists have been cut again.
    -------------------------------------------

"Ye choose and ye do not choose! What talk is this of choosing? By the Bull that I killed, am I to stand nosing into your dog’s den for my fair dues? It is I, Shere Khan, who speak!"

The Glove, I too remember that blatant punch by Buckley to the side of DK's head (cleverly disguised as a spoiling attempt). That was an outrage that he didn't get 2 or more weeks for that.

CJH, Knighter only on the bench? Hopefully after his best pre-season in 3 or 4 years he may be able to force his way into the starting line-up by round 3
smile.gif

BTW TT I loved the "TigerTank's definitive 2001 Bigfooty Pre-season preview" thread. Classic stuff!!

Yes OMH, that was a classic of a thread from TT!

My view on bench players was that the smaller ones would be used as part of a midfield rotation - it was not intended as a slight on any of them.

When compiling it, I took the view that this is the team that I would most like to see play each week, trying to balance experience, talent and youth. This is why both Pettifer and Fiora get the nod.

------------------

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 30 January 2001).]

ummm errrr rosie usually if its shown on ch7 then c7 would replay it as well.if i am not mistaken last year was the same outcome we played the hawks in tassie and no replay altho last year it was a bit congested with the early start to the year.surely thay have the resources in tassie to have a broadcast of the game u would think?
but then again we dont wear black and white.
cheers!

Let me just say that i too am outraged that our game (hawks vs tigers) isnt being coveraged on any network.... and this isnt the first time either... even though im a hawks supporter(Nick not Ben rules) i was really looking forward to watching the first hitout of both our sides this year.... lets face it we always take careful note of other teams new players as well and its always good to see how other teams are shaping up, i think this may just be the start of sevens downgrading of afl football since they lost the rights.... what are they going to do punish the fans for something that we had no say in.......
I think some of it may have to do with the Aust masters golf........
Still i am very VERY ANGRY... about it.....

Dito, dutchy_rules. I could not agree more.

Absolutely pathetic that ch7 aren't televising a match between 2 Melbourne based clubs from an interstate venue. Maybe they just assume that we will all go over and watch it!!! Or maybe they think we don't give a crap!!! I do recall ch7 saying last year that they felt there was too much footy on TV and they were going to cut Ansett Cup games for 2001. Maybe it is a blessing that ch9/ch10 wll share the footy from 2002, you never know, they may actually show us how bad a job ch7 has been doing in the past.

Oh, by the way dutchy_rules, I think you may be wrong, Ben rules the roost in the Holland household and don't you forget it... :)

TheGlove

CJH, I am very keen to see some of the youngsters too. I was most interested in Pettifer but I hear that Chris Hyde may be the best of them all so far on the training track and is the most likely to get some extended playing time in the Ansett Cup matches.

I also hope that Mark Coghlan is settling in well. My lasting impression of him is his the shattered look on his dial when picked by the Tiges on draft day. There are big wraps on him too I hear.

OMH,

At the AGM they had a few minutes of highlights of each of the Draft and Rookie players.

From what we saw, Pettifer, Coughlan and Hyde all look the goods.

Pettifer does posess excellent skills but what stood out was his marking ability. Only around the even six foot mark but was continually going over packs with one touch marks.

Couglan seemed to play in the same manner as Paul Hasleby - a classic centre type player who also showed a bit of mongrel as well.

Chris Hyde is very very quick. Many of the highlights showed him grabbing the ball and bursting away from packs with superior pace. He may well be the quickest player on our list now. His hand and foot skills also appeared excellent. Remember, he is the player that we effectively chose in place of Jason Cloke. Interesting to see who turns out the better!

------------------

...or maybe it was Coughlan! Either way, my point still stands!

------------------

Ch 7 sucks - A Hawks fan

I remember last year when the Hawks/doggies game in NZ was cut short because of the aust open doubles finals - they have a weird rule where they play a huge amount of games in the fifth set -- even the people in the crowd looked annoyed in the end

I was thinking of using frequent flier points to go to launceston but the taxi fares to and from the airports would still add up to $150 or so.

CJH, I belive that a player picked up under the father/son rule costs you your 2nd pick in the draft. I think Coghlan was that player. Let's hope that he turns out to be a star (and stays a Tiger) and Cloke turns out to be a dud (nothing against Jason of course)
wink.gif

I'm getting ansy...let's get it on!!!

DAMN STRAIGHT OH MY HAT! LET'S GET IT ON!!!

lgsmile-RICH.gif

------------------

Article