Assorted Doom and Gloom Within

Re: What Hawthorn needs to do NOW!

1) Give either Delloites, Ernst and Young, PriceWaterhouseCoopers or KPMG a call on monday and ask for a performance/comprehensive audit of every department at the Hawthorn football club, i want to know why this club with over 40 million in annual turnover can go from Premeriship winning champion to basket case in 18 months.

2) Get rid of Barker, Murphy, Morton immediately

3) Make every player take an extra 50 shots on goal at training per week

4) Use every available resource and get talent scouts to every VFL, SANFL, WAFL etc, im still trying to understand how quality players like Silvani and Barlow can slip through our fingers when we desperately need decent mature age players for a cheap price. If we already have talent scouts then sack them and get better ones, offer anyone more credentialed a great price, we cant afford more draft blunders especially now that GC is coming in next year

We may not be able to revive this season but if we take drastic action and make a full review (not too dissimilar to what Costa did with Geelong back in 06) then we get back on track.

Not sure things are that dire but i do agree that if this season finishes poorly a Costa style review of the Club would be in order.

We simply cannot accept mediocrity and all aspects of the club should come under the microscope if this season finishes the way it has started.

Re: start to re build

BIG CALL but what the F@#K
after tonight we need to start to rebuild was there any positives?
we need another ruck they wont bring a backup in like Isle
How can we run 2 good side to the last 1/4 and get spanked by the pies
which we should have beaten.
Someone said we need to lower our expectations we need to after tonight I LOVE THE HAWKS BUT WE WERE SHOCKING
I am gob smacked I am so pissed off I will not bag one player but the team and coaching staff because we are better than this I handle getting beat by the cats & dogs we were competitive.

I don't post a lot but after tonight I had to have a say

Interesting you say that mate because i thought we were very lucky against the dogs and i felt it too could have been a ten goal game

yes now, be reasonable, give someone credit when its due. i was at the game, but from my seat, murphy had a good game, no clangers, and tried extremely hard all game. can hold his head up high.

as a footy club, i would focus on next week. i am sure that will start tonight. i will be at geelongf cheering on jordan lisle and dowler.

Re: our list is over rated

I agree OP except for the last line "tank it up". None of the recruits we have garnered since 08 are anything special. But , maybe it's just the way they are forced to play. Clarkson looks like he has no idea in the coaches box even after the first 5 minutes. Maybe 08 was anomaly??

Agreeing with someone putting down the side and coach? Go figure... :rolleyes:

Lets not get too stressed.

We'll hit round 12 at about 6 and 6. We'll get a ruckman back to play with Renouf. Young, Burgoyne, Rioli, Ladson, Sewell, Dowler etc will all be fit with a few games under their belt. Schoenmakers confidence will be back. Franklin and Shiels will also be back. We will hit september in prime condition with the possible addition of Gibson.

We'll be fine.

We looked tired and disinterested tonight. We will be back next week with the inclusions.

Agree with the move of Roughy to CHB calls he lacks confidence in front of goals and will do him the world of good for a couple of weeks, could be the making of him.

Lets put this one behind us and move on I have lol(lucky my Collingwood loving brother is working away for another 2 weeks).....

Re: parkin was wrong

Totally agree !! Don't think Moss and Morton will be in for much longer. But Murphy??? He can't do no wrong in Clarksons eyes. NOT AN AFL STANDARD PLAYER!!!:thumbsdown:

Agree i've cut the guy a lot of slack, but he is not up to it. Get some decent players FFS. Terrible 2 years.:thumbsdown:

Our list would be the envy of most other clubs due to the GWS and Gold Coast teams coming in. We have a lot of talented kids.

In round 1 against Melbourne we had a younger team with less games average than the Dees. I think North Melbourne were the only other round 1 team with less average games per player.

The overall youth of the list means that when we have injuries to senior players the kids get promoted before their time. This hurts initially but we will reap the rewards over coming seasons.

The argument could be made that we are in a premiership window and we should have targeted experienced players to win now. Well we did! Gibson for the back half, Burgoyne for the middle, Hooper for the forward line and Skipper for the ruck. Injuries have held all four back. We knew about Burgoyne but the other three have been bad luck.

I personally think our list is fine. We play some average teams over the next 6-8 weeks so we should be fine. As Franklin, Sewell, Shiels, Hooper, Taylor, Dowler, Burgoyne (even Gibson, Skipper and Bailey later on) return and as Young, Rioli, Ladson etc get more games under their belt and as Schoenmakers becomes more confident we will look at our list differently.

Go Hawks!!!

yes now, be reasonable, give someone credit when its due. i was at the game, but from my seat, murphy had a good game, no clangers, and tried extremely hard all game. can hold his head up high.

as a footy club, i would focus on next week. i am sure that will start tonight. i will be at geelongf cheering on jordan lisle and dowler.

yeah, i must admit i generally dislike murphy, but tonight he was very impressive. gave his all in most contests, didnt make his usual poor kick or rubbish handball. thought he was good in most contests and stuck on his player well, just got burnt a few times by others turnovers

Yep, let's rebuild. Everyone over 30, doors over there.

Why aren't any of you blokes moving?

Whaddya mean you're all only in your early 20s?

What about him? He's got a wig for christ's sake!

And the dude with the scary spider thing on his head from two years ago.

28? F@#k me, you're a bunch of babies.

Perhaps being the youngest side in the league is starting to catch up with us?

Post of the week.

+ 1 :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Murphy always gives his all...his all is just not that good is all. If we remain a basket case for the rest of the year, then yes a full review, changing of the guard must happen.

Murphy has been serviceable all year - as he was on occasions last year & most of 2008.

He is a serviceable player & taller/faster guys, with more skill & ability, are stuffing up far worse than he is.

Murphy is playing to his capacity & is doing his job. It is up to the coach to decide whether he is doing it well enough & whether someone else could do it better.

I actually think Murph is beyond criticism at the moment - for this season anyway.

Agreeing with someone putting down the side and coach? Go figure... :rolleyes:

Seriously mate, you are more negative than anyone else on here, We all bleed for the Brown & Gold and many of us see what is happening once again this year. If you can't take the heat (reality), maybe you should give yourself a time out.

PS: you are a poster I always read & respect your thoughts. It aint personal mate. You are making yourself out to be blind to the problems we have right now. anyways, we will all be happy when we beat North by 20 points at Aurora next week.

dont drink at the footy murphy was useless wake up.

Watch the replay then come back and tell us if he did not do any clangers

Win the next 2 or we are done.

We have North Melbourne (Tassie) & Essendon (MCG) in the next 2 weeks and if we are serious about being a top 8 team we must win both of these games.

If we don't i think we can pretty much kiss this season goodbye.

our list is alittle overrated..

i heard raps about muston being a judd lyk player hes shown nothing..

but there our boys get behind them and back them.

i have to say we cant rely on making finals beating rubbish lyk richmond,melbourne,north ect..

we have to contest with the best.

geelong,stk,wbd and collingwood ect..

otherwise well get blown out.

Mitchell's Disposal's

What the hell has happened to mitchell's disposal's

over the past 2 weeks his disposal's has been a joke at best

last week against the dogs he had 8 clangers and i would hate to see how many he had tonight

he needs to lift his his game big time

Define 'overrated'.

If something is worth $10, yet I talk it up as though it is worth $15, is the object 'overrated', or have I overrated it???

So if our team is talked about as being great, yet isn't playing great footy, is that the fault of the team or the di*&head talking about the team.

It is important to define the differences between an overrated team and an underperforming team.

Dockers are overrated - they ar a sh&t team playing well.

We are an underperforming team. We are a good team playing sh%t.

Big difference. I know which club I would rather be a member of.

Re: Win the next 2 or we are done.

Disagree. We are still good enough to bounce back. It's going to be a hard slog next week and we'll probably have 2-3 out from this game. We need to get the wins on the board however ugly and build confidence. Get blokes back into the side and go from there. The draw always looked tough 1-3 not ideal but we are capable. Have some faith!

Re: Mitchell's Disposal's

What the hell has happened to mitchell's disposal's

over the past 2 weeks his disposal's has been a joke at best

last week against the dogs he had 8 clangers and i would hate to see how many he had tonight

he needs to lift his his game big time

Much like Chance Bateman.

Assorted Doom and Gloom Within