Attn : New members

Seems there might be a couple of new Roys fans floating around the Fitzroy board at the moment.

I encourage yers to introduce yourselves, perhaps answer a quick quiz so everybody can get to know everybody a little better.

Give this a burl if you so desire :

Nickname :
Team supported NOW (Bris/Reds/North/none/etc) :
First Roys match you attended :
Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand :
Favourite match :

I dunno, I'm out of questions already :D .. but anything else that takes your fancy!

Eg for myself :

Nickname : Mobbenfuhrer
Team supported NOW (Bris/Reds/North/none/etc) : Fitzroy Reds
First Roys match you attended : One in mid-80s, but started going proper in 1989.
Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand : Under Hawthorn stand at PP, Outer outer and then just up steps from main entrance at WO.
Favourite match : Round 18,89 v Melbourne.

(seasoned bigfooty users are also welcome to post)

Nicknames:
Oliver Slabovic / Oliver Beer / Oliver Bourbon & Coke....

Team supported NOW:
Brisbane

First Roys match you attended:
Junction Oval....1983 I think...the match where Bernie kicked his 100. Ran out on the ground and was bowled over 5m inside the boundary line.....cracked the ****s and jumped back over the fence...I was 9yrs old and can't remember the opposition.

Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand:
STAND!! Princes Park outer, Western Oval Outer, VFL Park walkway, BRING BACK STANDING ROOM!!

Favourite match:
Fitzroy's last win vs Fremantle in 96 and 86 Elimination Final

Still enjoy the footy despite the clinical, sterilised grounds, stuffy administration and impersonal style we seem to have these days.

cheers all!

Great stuff Oliver, exactly what I was hoping for in responses.

So where in the outers were you.

At Western Oval we started around the outer on a northern HFF, and later were standing between the cheer squad and a race in the 'inner outer'.

Were you part of a group of mates?

always with my family...a staunch Fitzroy clan. A big bunch of wog butchers with a penchant for cold beer. :D

Princes Park we were always in the pocket on the opposite side of the ground as the visiting players race....sorry...hopeless with landmarks...
Yeah Mobbenfuhrer I know where you mean at the Western Oval, we were either behind the goals at the southern end of the ground or in front of the main stand in case of a howling gale which seems to pervade that ground....(anyone remember the practice match at the start of this season?)

haha. Deep Vein Rombotis. A nickname is born.
There was a practice match there at the start of this season against the Doggies. Blowing a freakin southerly gale right up the guts. Scores were pretty even at 3/4 time and we were coming home with what seemed like an 8 goal breeze. We ended up losing by about 5 goals. The wheels well and truly fell off. Was the worst quarter I think I've ever seen Brisbane play. Lucky we saved it all for a practice match.....I now place even less credence in practice matches than I did before.

I was. Apologies....wishful thinking. I want Fitzroy back!
I think I only went to one Fitzroy practice match. Fitzy v Coll at Vic Park. My uncle had about 12 cans and just smoked a reefer then got into a punch on with a Collingwood supporter. It would have been funny if it wasn't so serious.
I did attend the Fitzroy Club Hotel but only a couple of times. Dare say I saw you there Mobbenfuhrer.:)

You may have, I was a return customer there :D

I think I saw a praccie v someone at Vic Park but don't think it was the Pies. ACtually I think it was v Richmond and Dundas was playing for the Tigers.

I saw practice matches against Brisbane @ Bendigo, against a couple of teams @ Skinner reserve, against Footscray @ North Geelong Oval, against North Melbourne @ Sunbury, umm ... don't remember what else.

Nickname : Hilly/Lynchy
Team supported NOW: Brisbane, i could not steer away from the Lion

First Roys match you attended : maybe 91 after moving from Darwin

Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand : PP on the wing opposite tha members, WO behind the goals near the bar.

Favourite match : tough choice, beating Adelaide in Adelaide when we were really struggling, or the last win against Freo when I managed to get my head in the centre of the Age holding a green can, ended up on the pine the following day as my coach saw the pic too.

Attended with: My mate Shanno/Roosy or my father in law (to be at the time) Doc.

actually Doc names everyone after a player from their favourite team, according to a number of catergories, I got Lynchy because I play anywhere up the spine as a rule (based on the opposition). Roosy because he was a player that got heaps of the ball but looked as if he wasnt trying and because he had that sort of half mullet that Roosy did.

At PP we were normally to the right of the Lynch mob, within 20 metres.

Nickname: St Roy

Team supported now: Lions

First Roys match you attended: St Kilda v Fitzroy at Waverley in 1975, aged 8.

Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand: Behind the goals at Princes Park, along the members wing at Western Oval.

Favorite match: 1991 v North Melbourne (I think that's the year, Ross Lyon kicked a goal just before the siren to win the game).

Nickname : Slax

Team supported NOW (Bris/Reds/North/none/etc) : Bris & Reds

First Roys match you attended : Hawthorn v Fitzroy PP 1980 (don't know which round though) age 5

Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand : In front of the coaches boxes Hawthorn stand or under the milk shed. In front of the EJ Whitten stand at WO. In the Lynch MOB

Favourite match : 95 v Adelaide at Footy park

Nickname : Levo

Team supported NOW (Bris/Reds/North/none/etc) : Reds

First Roys match you attended : At Brunny Street with my Dad in 1953 aged 4.

Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand : Brunny Street in front of the Scoreboard.
Princes Park In front of the scoreboard Garton St end, then later years in the Heatly Stand, then the Social Club, Junction first game there in the white stand near the scorboard, then in front of the rooms so you could hear the coach through the vent.
Vic Park Ryder Stand and as opposition the scorboard end.
Western Oval the Social club or in front of the Goughies Bar railway end
Favourite match : 95 v Adelaide at Footy park

Nickname: Hey you Ashole,W@nker

Team supported now: Fremantle, Norwich City

First Roys match you attended: Fitz vs WCE, 1987, WACA.

Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand:in front of the TV with my good mates Beer,Scotch and Polish Pure Spirit.

Favorite match: Fitz vs Adelaide, 2nd Fitz v Geelong 90?

Hobbies: Putting all my energy into hating the Australian cricket team. (bunch of bankers).

Regret: Never seeing the Roys in Melb.

Happy: At the MCG Rnd 19 this year.

Nickname : Rabs
Team supported NOW (Bris/Reds/North/none/etc) : no one really.
First Roys match you attended : 1973 v Essendon at the Junction Oval
Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand : Used to sit in the cheer squad from about 1977 - 1982, then I suppose I had no real strategy when I went to games. Just stood wherever.
Favourite match : Any game in which we won. Good ones where when we won at the Junction Oval in the early 80's.

Cheers to St Roy, Slax, fitzmantle, levo and rabs for sharing a little about themselves with the rest of the crowd.

I hereby proclaim old stagers Slax, fitzmantle, levo and rabs as Roy fan "life-coaches" who can help mould new arrivals into becoming contributing team members.

Slax = life-coach for new Roys fans who choose to follow both Brissy and the Reds. Also holds private tutoring in slab demolition.
fitzmantle = life-coach for new Roys fans who choose to follow an alternative AFL team. Also holds private tutoring in healthy cynicism.
levo = life-coach for new Roys fans who choose to leave the country rather than bear the pain. Also holds private tutoring in healthy antagonism. Additional degree in memorabilia collection, or, as Rodney Rude would put it : 'finding luggage'.
rabs = life-coach for those new Roys fans who would rather not follow anyone much anymore. Also hold private tutoring in replicating Fitzroy gameplans in lifestyle management.

St Roy and Hilly are reasonably recent acquisitions, Oliver a very recent one. All have taken up an interest in Brissy. I haven't yet dedicated a life-coach for those who would like to align themselves with Brisbane primarily, yet, but Stocka might be the best one for that. He's a big Brissy fan.

There ya go, its like a 'Dad-for-a-day' scheme. :D

Nickname : Broken
Team supported NOW (Bris/Reds/North/none/etc) : none - caught a couple of Reds games in the past few years
First Roys match you attended : Late 70s
Where at the matches did you like to sit/stand : Princess Park - near the forward flanks. Whitten Oval - behind the interchange bench, not far from the mob.
Favourite match : I have a soft spot for the last 3 wins. The '86 elim final was something special...have great memories of being a young kid at the Junction Oval and hearing the crowd singing the song as we poured out of the ground following a win.

Nickname: Seagull

Team supported now: Lions

First match attended: I think it was Rd 19...1979 vs St Kilda at the Junction Oval, Bob Beecroft kicked 4.2

Where at matches did you like to sit/stand: Robert Heatlely end at Princess Park and I sat in front of the social club the stand at the Western Oval.

Fav match: Rd 2 1994, Johnno kicked a few on debut against the Bombers and we won and Kevin Caton kicking a point just before the siren against Geelong in '88 or '89 at Princess Park.

Attn : New members