Australian National Anthem in Auslan at Grand Final

The Grand Final is such a amateur event as it is anyway. They were dumb enough to get Meatloaf when everyone knew he was well past it, so wouldn't be surprising if/when they did get an interpreter in they ended up with someone like this bloke.

108049.jpg

To be fair... you would be actually right. That is what happens when you don't consult with the Deaf Community to find the appropriate interpreter or for their recommendation.

I doubt the problem is the AFL so much as Ch7/Foxtel.

If the AFL puts someone on to do it, then Ch7/Foxtel would be obliged to show that (or look like assholes).

There are ~30,000 deaf people in the country, assuming a proportion will be watching is about the same as the rest of the country (~10%), that'd be a bit over 3000 viewers, split between Ch7 and Foxtel.

Do you really think Ch7/Foxtel really want to be (effectively) forced to show that for the duration for the benefit of around 3000 viewers between them? The upside for them is miniscule, but it'd require extra work from them and an outcry if they do anything deemed wrong, so there is plenty of downside risk. Of course, they don't want to say that publicly, so instead they 'encourage' the AFL not to put anyone up there in the first place...Problem solved.

I really doubt that many in the deaf community would care all that much though...Presumably they watch the rest of the broadcast with subtitles, would having the anthem in auslan really change the viewing experience all that much for them?

I doubt the problem is the AFL so much as Ch7/Foxtel.

If the AFL puts someone on to do it, then Ch7/Foxtel would be obliged to show that (or look like assholes).

There are ~30,000 deaf people in the country, assuming a proportion will be watching is about the same as the rest of the country (~10%), that'd be a bit over 3000 viewers, split between Ch7 and Foxtel.

Do you really think Ch7/Foxtel really want to be (effectively) forced to show that for the duration for the benefit of around 3000 viewers between them? The upside for them is miniscule, but it'd require extra work from them and an outcry if they do anything deemed wrong, so there is plenty of downside risk. Of course, they don't want to say that publicly, so instead they 'encourage' the AFL not to put anyone up there in the first place...Problem solved.

I really doubt that many in the deaf community would care all that much though...Presumably they watch the rest of the broadcast with subtitles, would having the anthem in auslan really change the viewing experience all that much for them?
Yea I agree with this.

That is unless they get the guy who did the sign language for Mandela's memorial to do it. Sign me up in that case.

To be fair... you would be actually right. That is what happens when you don't consult with the Deaf Community to find the appropriate interpreter or for their recommendation.
Are you deaf?

Are you Australian? Are you a representative of the Australian Deaf community or have you just taken it upon yourself to lead this cause?

I'm not deaf, nor do I have any other disability, but I can't possibly understand how not hearing the anthem could lead you to feeling left out.

And if you can, then fine, good luck I hope you can change it. But isn't the game of football the priority on grand final day? And isn't there something you can appeal for change in regards to the Deaf community and football that is more important than the national anthem?

If this is important there must 1000's of other things that need changing? Deaf people playing football? Improving the broadcast for Deaf people watching games? Deaf people working in football clubs?

You've linked a petition to ask the AFL to 'provide' an interpreter. That implies you want the AFL to pay for it. Why not fund raise to pay for it yourself and turn a bad news story in to a good news story?

Are you deaf?

Are you Australian? Are you a representative of the Australian Deaf community or have you just taken it upon yourself to lead this cause?

I'm not deaf, nor do I have any other disability, but I can't possibly understand how not hearing the anthem could lead you to feeling left out.

And if you can, then fine, good luck I hope you can change it. But isn't the game of football the priority on grand final day? And isn't there something you can appeal for change in regards to the Deaf community and football that is more important than the national anthem?

If this is important there must 1000's of other things that need changing? Deaf people playing football? Improving the broadcast for Deaf people watching games? Deaf people working in football clubs?

You've linked a petition to ask the AFL to 'provide' an interpreter. That implies you want the AFL to pay for it. Why not fund raise to pay for it yourself and turn a bad news story in to a good news story?

I am Deaf. I am Australian. I am member of Australian Deaf Community in particular "Auslaners". I however live in New Zealand, where I am enjoying the accessibility that many of my country people are denied. You see, in New Zealand, New Zealand Sign Language is recognised by the Act of Parliament to be an official language of New Zealand alongside Te Reo Maori and English. Here accessibility are guaranteed by law. NZSL are given funding by the NZ government (the only country in the world to do so). There are programs being implemented in early stages to encourage NZ people learn Te Reo Maori, English and NZSL at schools as part of curriculum.

I didn't start this petition nor started the campaign it. I merely noticed it and helped out by sharing it out to attract more petition plus increase awareness. As I recognise the plight of my friends and deaf community back in Australia. Many hearing people are unaware of long history of oppression of Deaf culture and sign language, since 1880 Milan Conference for Deaf Education where governments around the world agreed to forbid sign language and taken upon recommendation by Alexander Graham Bell to also forbid Deaf/Deaf marriage so sign language and deaf culture would become extinct. The influence still lingers in a way to shut out sign language as a compliment or alternative to cochlear implants to help develop language. (Speech therapy isn't language development, yet is being prioritised on 0-5 year old deaf children, causing language development delays.)

I agree the game of football is a priority on grand final day. Tell that to the AFL with all those fanfare of pre-game entertainment, and Grand Final Parade. Why bother making those pre-game festivities if it is not going go to be inclusive? A small gesture like Auslan interpreter on the Grand Final day goes a long way for many things; it recognise our language. It recognise our Deaf culture. It raises awareness about the beauty of sign language. With 100,000 people watching at the game, and if broadcaster are kindly enough to show it in a box in the corner, it would reach millions of people around Australia. This would build up on the momentum shown by 2015 Young Australian of the Year winner Drisana Levitzke-Gray has made in advocating for Auslan to be recognised, prioritise to be taught to deaf children, as it is their human rights to have access to Auslan which incredibly in this 21st century, 130 years after Milan Conference, is still being denied.

The least AFL can do is acknowledge that.

There are Deaf players trying to get into football clubs which will be on merit, there are campaign to improve broadcasting which the channels have taken upon themselves (captioning, live captioning, providing interpreters so on).

AFL have previously provided Auslan interpreter for the anthem, for some reason this was stopped. I wonder why, although I have known for a fact that in the past 50 years around the world where broadcaster has shown sign language, it was met with some private lobby from organisations who are carrying on Alexander Graham Bell's legacy, and particular dislike for sign language, preferring oral method without sign language (it require both, as it takes two to tango). It is this influence that caused them to stop broadcasting. Still happens nowadays.

If I am to fundraise to pay for myself, I might as well fundraise to pay for interpreter for the following appointments:

doctor appointment
accountant appointments
teacher meetings
work meetings
hospital appointments
family events
attending concerts
theatre shows

and many many many other things. That on top of my hearing aids costs ($4000 per hearing aid, plus $50 every two months for batteries), (if you like to recommend cochlear implants, then lets throw in a few thousands for speech therapy, and time to retrain our brain pathways to be able to understand what you are saying).

All for what? Ah yes, Tens thousands of dollars a year just to be included in the hearing world the way hearing people wants. We have a mortgage, taxes, insurance and food bills to pay as well you know.

It would be mightily cheaper, efficient and beneficial for both hearing and deaf people to compromise on some things instead of Deaf paying their way every time to gain access. There is such a thing as benefits for hearing people; for example AFL are doing something every game, many times that Deaf people invented; the huddle; more than a century ago, the only Deaf university in the world; Galladaut University in Washington DC, US, have (still do) an American football team, and they would openly communicate in sign language. However opponents wise up and learnt sign language so they could understand what Deaf players were saying, hence they formed huddle to keep their signing a secret. This method of the huddle spread all over to NFL and over to other sports including AFL.

Auslan interpreter for 5 minutes for the national anthem is a fine compromise don't you think? Compared to an interpreter for the entire match commentary.

But then they wouldn't be able to complain about the result.

Auslan interpreter for 5 minutes for the national anthem is a fine compromise don't you think? Compared to an interpreter for the entire match commentary.
Some very good points in there. My post wasn't to trivialise the issues Deaf people face, it's just I think the anthem is trivial. So when it comes to the above I'd say no, it's not a fine compromise.

You'll see when the anthem starts, when it finishes, you'll know the words. I get it would be nice to hear it signed but I just don't see how you're missing out.

If it was me I'd much rather have the match commentary, or even better deaf commentators who aren't idiots like BT and that's something I'd work towards.

Some very good points in there. My post wasn't to trivialise the issues Deaf people face, it's just I think the anthem is trivial. So when it comes to the above I'd say no, it's not a fine compromise.

You'll see when the anthem starts, when it finishes, you'll know the words. I get it would be nice to hear it signed but I just don't see how you're missing out.

If it was me I'd much rather have the match commentary, or even better deaf commentators who aren't idiots like BT and that's something I'd work towards.

You are right. However the National Anthem is significantly political. Look at the words it says "Australians, all". ALL! What hope do we have to get commentary, accessibility, education, in Auslan if the anthem itself isn't in Auslan interpreted at a major event. As I said before, it is only 5 minutes, compared to all other efforts which would require significant investment, time and efforts. The national anthem has bigger potential, bigger returns, for least investment in it due to its significant political and national nature. Despite the terrible lyrics, despite the fact that Australian don't remember the lyrics, it remains the national song, and has national significances.

There is a High Court case going on right now that would determine whether Deaf people can be a juror with an Auslan interpreter. They are arguments that the Auslan interpreter would constitute as 13th juror. This legal fight has been going on for two years, and been denying Deaf chance to be a juror, in particular when deaf people are being judged in court by hearing jurors.

So the Deaf community are not just wanting the anthem to be Auslan interpreted. They are working on so many things, advocating so many things, often without success or results, sometimes very successful like Auslan-interpreted theatre show (Lion King and King Kong, for example).
An Auslan interpreted Anthem at AFL can set the precedent, to be copied in other sports and major events. That can set momentum rolling for Deaf Australians to be more inclusive, and Auslan to be more widespread awareness. A 2 hours commentary won't be as inspiring as 5 minutes anthem signing.

I am Deaf. I am Australian. I am member of Australian Deaf Community in particular "Auslaners". I however live in New Zealand, where I am enjoying the accessibility that many of my country people are denied. You see, in New Zealand, New Zealand Sign Language is recognised by the Act of Parliament to be an official language of New Zealand alongside Te Reo Maori and English. Here accessibility are guaranteed by law. NZSL are given funding by the NZ government (the only country in the world to do so). There are programs being implemented in early stages to encourage NZ people learn Te Reo Maori, English and NZSL at schools as part of curriculum.

I didn't start this petition nor started the campaign it. I merely noticed it and helped out by sharing it out to attract more petition plus increase awareness. As I recognise the plight of my friends and deaf community back in Australia. Many hearing people are unaware of long history of oppression of Deaf culture and sign language, since 1880 Milan Conference for Deaf Education where governments around the world agreed to forbid sign language and taken upon recommendation by Alexander Graham Bell to also forbid Deaf/Deaf marriage so sign language and deaf culture would become extinct. The influence still lingers in a way to shut out sign language as a compliment or alternative to cochlear implants to help develop language. (Speech therapy isn't language development, yet is being prioritised on 0-5 year old deaf children, causing language development delays.)

I agree the game of football is a priority on grand final day. Tell that to the AFL with all those fanfare of pre-game entertainment, and Grand Final Parade. Why bother making those pre-game festivities if it is not going go to be inclusive? A small gesture like Auslan interpreter on the Grand Final day goes a long way for many things; it recognise our language. It recognise our Deaf culture. It raises awareness about the beauty of sign language. With 100,000 people watching at the game, and if broadcaster are kindly enough to show it in a box in the corner, it would reach millions of people around Australia. This would build up on the momentum shown by 2015 Young Australian of the Year winner Drisana Levitzke-Gray has made in advocating for Auslan to be recognised, prioritise to be taught to deaf children, as it is their human rights to have access to Auslan which incredibly in this 21st century, 130 years after Milan Conference, is still being denied.

The least AFL can do is acknowledge that.

There are Deaf players trying to get into football clubs which will be on merit, there are campaign to improve broadcasting which the channels have taken upon themselves (captioning, live captioning, providing interpreters so on).

AFL have previously provided Auslan interpreter for the anthem, for some reason this was stopped. I wonder why, although I have known for a fact that in the past 50 years around the world where broadcaster has shown sign language, it was met with some private lobby from organisations who are carrying on Alexander Graham Bell's legacy, and particular dislike for sign language, preferring oral method without sign language (it require both, as it takes two to tango). It is this influence that caused them to stop broadcasting. Still happens nowadays.

If I am to fundraise to pay for myself, I might as well fundraise to pay for interpreter for the following appointments:

doctor appointment
accountant appointments
teacher meetings
work meetings
hospital appointments
family events
attending concerts
theatre shows

and many many many other things. That on top of my hearing aids costs ($4000 per hearing aid, plus $50 every two months for batteries), (if you like to recommend cochlear implants, then lets throw in a few thousands for speech therapy, and time to retrain our brain pathways to be able to understand what you are saying).

All for what? Ah yes, Tens thousands of dollars a year just to be included in the hearing world the way hearing people wants. We have a mortgage, taxes, insurance and food bills to pay as well you know.

It would be mightily cheaper, efficient and beneficial for both hearing and deaf people to compromise on some things instead of Deaf paying their way every time to gain access. There is such a thing as benefits for hearing people; for example AFL are doing something every game, many times that Deaf people invented; the huddle; more than a century ago, the only Deaf university in the world; Galladaut University in Washington DC, US, have (still do) an American football team, and they would openly communicate in sign language. However opponents wise up and learnt sign language so they could understand what Deaf players were saying, hence they formed huddle to keep their signing a secret. This method of the huddle spread all over to NFL and over to other sports including AFL.

Just to support you on this case. Personally, I'm an Australian who's hard of hearing as well too. My mate started this petition a few days ago and I was right behind him on this movement. We recieved a letter from the jokers of the AFL back to us saying, "It's too much to organise and it takes too much time." I laughed so hard because of how the league is becoming more and more of a joke.

Back to myself, as a 17-year old who has played footy for 11 years of my life, I enjoy the sport, very very much. And I have a deep passion in the game and I have been lucky enough to represent Victoria as part of the Men's Deaf AFL. Not the case, my other mate, under the name of Sam McLarty; goes to Yarra Valley Grammar and plays for Oakleigh Chargers, and was lucky enough to represent the actual AFL Vic Metro, two years in a row (2015 and 2016). Who happens to be my inspiration, for one reason. For Sam, he's profoundly deaf and wears a Cochlear Implant, but has not been stopped from playing his game, now going into the AFL Draft Combine this year, and could potentially be in the top-30 draft picks. Thus meaning that he will be making history in AFL that a profoundly deaf player to have been drafted.

Now, to those ignorant, idiotic, no-brainers who sit behind their phones/computers and being disrespectful keyboard warriors. Do me a favour, stop being absolute tools. Think of this as an advantage for not just everyone, but for those who are in need. Spread and show the beautiful language and culture we share amongst ourselves because we are all the same.

I'd love to stand amongst the 90k odd crowd on the first Saturday of October this year and follow the anthem before cheering on my Hawks to a record-equalling 4th straight flag... That has only been the missing bit from grand finals I attended between 2012 and 2014 while paying the same amount as others who can follow the anthem aurally.

It makes sense to be consistent and provide Auslan interpreters at the big dance when the AFL also do the same thing for the presentation of teams and Premiership Cup at end of the famed GF parade - deaf people DO go to the Grand Final also!!!

It was done in the 1990's and early 2000's but stopped presumably when their former CEO, Andrew Demetriou was in the role. With Gillon McLachlan at the helm, he has shown to be inclusive of people with AFL, with the women's competition starting next year and multi-cultural programs being implemented - why not add another string to his bow and make the Grand Final pre-match entertainment accessible for ALL!

Sign the petition guys - you know it makes sense!

https://www.change.org/p/afl-in-gen..._term=mob-xs-no_src-reason_msg&fb_ref=Default

Lol yep they're gonna stay home cause they won't know when the NA is on.
May seem trivial to you perhaps but when the Anthem plays we have a look around the stadium and pass the time until it is over, whilst many others are feeling very patriotic after the anthem.

If the tables were turned and you were at an event that was in Auslan only, you'd want to follow most of it and have someone voice what is being signed, no?

May seem trivial to you perhaps but when the Anthem plays we have a look around the stadium and pass the time until it is over, whilst many others are feeling very patriotic after the anthem.

If the tables were turned and you were at an event that was in Auslan only, you'd want to follow most of it and have someone voice what is being signed, no?

Why would I go to an Auslan only event? And no it's not the same thing.

Plus I reckon the fact deaf people couldn't hear the NA wouldn't phase them, I think they're used to these types of scenarios in their day to day.

Should we have an Auslan interpreter? Yes we should no harm to be as inclusive as possible, Do i think the deaf community will be very upset if we don't? No.

Some of the ignorance in this thread is downright disgusting.

Yes. Should have happened years ago.

Edit: signed the petition.

Plus I reckon the fact deaf people couldn't hear the NA wouldn't phase them, I think they're used to these types of scenarios in their day to day.

Why should deaf people get used to these types of scenarios - it is a human right to have access to events in their language. It is that attitude in society that is disempowering deaf people at the moment - to the point where the disability lies with society, not with deaf people in wanting to have equal footing in the world they live in.

1500 signatures tells me that it does bother them, that they are not part of the experience in singing the national anthem - I am one of those 1500. And what type of person are you to make assumptions on behalf of the deaf community and reckoning it does not faze them?

Australian National Anthem in Auslan at Grand Final