Bachar Houli

I think we are going to see more draftees with the fittness of Bachar in years to come.We will still have heaps of string bean 17-18 year olds in the AFL draft of course,but more young blokes like Houli will be bulking up the arms and running them selves into super fitness as 16 year olds and be ready to play seniors at 18-19,instead of clubs waiting 3 years for them to be ready.

Maybe Houli will be the yard stick over time........as in "I want to be as fit as Bachar Houli when I get drafted".:thumbsu:

Off course he will he is a Bomber now

I reckon he'll nearly be the last.

I can see Davey, Jetta, Gumbleton and Hislop all playing before him.

He'll probably beat Reimers for a game.

Davey would nearly fit straight into the side as he is already a ready made player and was already playing seniors in SANFL

You have got Houli's pace all wrong people.

It was his major weakness and has been for the past 2-3 yrs. He has always been told he needed to get quicker to play AFL. He consistantly recorded times around 3.20 for the 20m which is very slow. He subsequently got proper running coaching and that has increased his speed alot. At the draft camp he ran 2.98 (IIRC) somewhere just under 3, which is a good result, especially for a guy as slow as he was. There is no way in hell that he got 2.75, somebody is having a lend there. 2.95 maybe but 2.75 is quicker than Judd or Davey or anyone could pull out.

Pace aside, he will be a good player for you guys and a bargain pick where you got him. WC were interested in him but were scared off because it was feared homesickness would be an issue. That might have been why he fell as far as he did - the interstate clubs didnt like the go-home factor.

The only issue with him I can envisage is how much he can improve. He has worked so hard on his game, his body is immaculate in terms of conditioning, his pace is optimal or close to it. Probably doesnt have a huge scope to improve but as I said before, will still make AFL IMO.

I reckon he'll nearly be the last.

I can see Davey, Jetta, Gumbleton and Hislop all playing before him.

He'll probably beat Reimers for a game.

You could be right there Longy. He probably looks sensational in training and time will tell if he has improved and can play well in up-coming intra-club prac matches,but the real question is how he would handle the pressure of playing a flat out, fast paced AFL game?

It depends how his mind can handle senior footy I think.Jetta will be same I reakon.He had a handful of games at senior level at Sth Fremantle but most of his time has been with the colts and at state level with the other teenagers.

Sheed's will resist putting Houli in unless he's got something extra special to offer (like Rama did at the same age) and choose his team around the guys his already developed. Its gunna be interesting to see what he does every week at the selection table.

Don't know about the wce guy saying Houli isn't that quick. Someone has got their stats wrong I feel. But all I'm interested in is his 3km run the other day which was very impressive:thumbsu:

I think we need time to see Houli under match conditions and not base his level as a footballer around performing in sprints and training drills. Playing under pressure with Mark Johnson about to bury you if you don't get rid of the pill quickly....thats what counts the most.

My tip for 1st draftee to play...Davey and Gumby..in the same match:thumbsu:

I'm not sure whether I mentioned it in this Houli thread or the other one (a merger could be an idea), but I watched him play in the intra-club match before Christmas.

It took him three and a half quarters to find the footy, it was only his first game against men and it was only an intra-club match, but it took him a long time to get into the game. He looked lost playing across half-forward, when he went into the middle late in the game he found it a couple of times but he looked like he really struggled to adjust.

Obviously this will improve with time, on the other hand Davey and Jetta both looked dangerous around goals, Hislop found quite a bit of it and Reimers looked fantastic running up and down the wing.

Jetta has natural speed and natural smarts. He knows how to get the footy, he'll play senior footy this year. He doesn't need a big body to play AFL footy.

I don't know if Gumbleton will play round one, but I'd almost be shocked if Davey didn't. That being said, the NAB Cup could go a long way to deciding who plays and who doesn't.

No prob.

I actually haven't been to training, just the one intra-club match.

But if I do get a chance to go down, I will and I'll post my views.

Don't know about the wce guy saying Houli isn't that quick. Someone has got their stats wrong I feel. But all I'm interested in is his 3km run the other day which was very impressive:thumbsu:

That would be the Ess website. As I said before, 2.75 for 20m is not attainable. It would make him the quickest player in the league and mean he has improved half a second in about a year which is not realistic. Even 2.75 from 2.96 at the DC in October is impossible. .2 is a massive drop in afew months. Cant happen.

I didnt say he was slow, but has worked on his pace after it was deemed an issue. His pace at the DC was very good, not express but quick. He isnt the type of guy who will break the lines with raw acceleration but he is comfortably quick enough to go head to head with most AFL players.

Code:
That would be the Ess website.
As I said before, 2.75 for 20m is not attainable. It would make him the quickest player in the league and mean he has improved half a second in about a year which is not realistic. Even 2.75 from 2.96 at the DC in October is impossible. .2 is a massive drop in afew months. Cant happen.

I didnt say he was slow, but has worked on his pace after it was deemed an issue. His pace at the DC was very good, not express but quick. He isnt the type of guy who will break the lines with raw acceleration but he is comfortably quick enough to go head to head with most AFL players.

Well then, why would EFC make such a claim if they wern't 100% sure this was his correct time? I doubt the club would make such a mistake releasing this news,seeing it's a pretty unbelievable result for such a young recruit.

I'd say there is no issue with regards to the figures published by Essendon and the AFL draft camp.

I think the their maybe a difference in the way the time trials are conducted.

Well then, why would EFC make such a claim if they wern't 100% sure this was his correct time? I doubt the club would make such a mistake releasing this news,seeing it's a pretty unbelievable result for such a young recruit.

I cant speak for your club. But something is amiss.

Testing times mean nothing anyway. You guys will see him play and realise that he isnt that quick. And this issue will be burried.

So what are u saying you dont rate him

If you read my post above, you'll see I do.

He just isnt as quick as you might think. Its really not a big deal, I am just setting things straight so you guys dont expect him to be Aaron Davey or Chris Judd quick (which is what the time he's said to have would mean).

If you read my post above, you'll see I do.

He just isnt as quick as you might think. Its really not a big deal, I am just setting things straight so you guys dont expect him to be Aaron Davey or Chris Judd quick (which is what the time he's said to have would mean).

A few BF bombers have seen him live at training,is he quick or what?

He doesnt seem lightning quick but he isnt slow, looks to be around Stanton pace to me. What he does seem to have is the ability to keep pushing himself hence he is always up the front in any of the endurance runs.

I can't be bothered going thru 295 posts of Bashar....

I still want to know if the bloke can kick on his right as good as his left..???

Or is he one of those perfect left footers that tend to stay on the left with most kicks?

I haven't seen a heap of him, so there may be someone better qualified to answer this.

From what I have seen, he's like most left-footers in that he doesn't use his right foot very much, if at all. Again, like most left-footers he will try to get onto his left rather than kick on his right and more often than not, has the time to do so.

I haven't seen a heap of him, so there may be someone better qualified to answer this.

From what I have seen, he's like most left-footers in that he doesn't use his right foot very much, if at all. Again, like most left-footers he will try to get onto his left rather than kick on his right and more often than not, has the time to do so.

MMMmmmm..very interesting. Maybe Bashar should have a talk to Voss and find out about the advantages of kicking on either foot.

But being a left footer,its probably to late to start practicing on the right...hope he does a bit better than Lucas attempting the righty:D

Has anyone seen him at training contesting (1 on 1) over-head marks?

Whats he like at this important skill?