Ballarat Football League

Sensational post Hank, been really surprised at the cost of local country football, considering the VFL to watch AFL listed players play is cheaper, sometimes at Austar Arena it is a gold coin donation.

Well done to Ben Taylor, bit of chat about him over summer, makes his debut with the Roosters senior team this week, as stated, very good player.

What are peoples thoughts on the football this weekend,
Marsh at home to Redan:
Melton at home to Sebas
Ballarat at home to Melton South
East v lakers at both their home
Sunbury at home to Darley, interesting clash given Darley success over Sunbury last year final with ex coach on other team.

Very well done to Ben Taylor, i'm sure he will show that his position is well deserved. Good luck to him.

This weeks wrap up.

Sunbury to beat darley easily, East to get over lakers, if east click may blow out, Ballarat should win but a few out, so reckon only get up by 7 goals, Redan should also win easy. Sebas is my tip for an upset.

Have a good weekend.:thumbsu: :)

What are peoples thoughts on the football this weekend,
Marsh at home to Redan:
Melton at home to Sebas
Ballarat at home to Melton South
East v lakers at both their home
Sunbury at home to Darley, interesting clash given Darley success over Sunbury last year final with ex coach on other team.[/quote]

Will be lucky to get a close game this week. South maybe to push Ballarat.

Sunbury will smash Darley - the brains and the players have all left. Kega to kick 6. I said that Darley would lose the next 3 by 150 points. It could be 150 in 2 games. Rain is the only saviour.

Speaking of records, do you know that if you buy a record in round one you will not have to pay gate fees all year?

Simply keep a copy in your car, drive through the gate without stopping and flash the record at the guy on the gate as you drive through. It will look as if you have already been through, paid and purchased a record.

Free entry for everyone!

FIGHT THE POWER!!!!!
hahaha. very smart hank! i like it.

Really good bloke, footy form has been good. has had a few sesions with the boys and you can see the devil inside..

Good sessions of drinking will be the only value GL will bring to Darley. Gee it must be tough to follow a side that has been ok but now will be lucky not to win the spoon this year.

As for Sunbury they don't need Serge this year as they are flying. Come into the rooms after the game and you can join me in singing the Sunbury song. Plenty of room for more Darley people that see the light.

Good sessions of drinking will be the only value GL will bring to Darley. Gee it must be tough to follow a side that has been ok but now will be lucky not to win the spoon this year.

As for Sunbury they don't need Serge this year as they are flying. Come into the rooms after the game and you can join me in singing the Sunbury song. Plenty of room for more Darley people that see the light.

I wouldn't say there would be plenty of room if you have your fat ass in there backslapping and trying to be part of something that you never could have due to the fact that you love pizza, pies and piss too much, Fat boy.

I dont think at any stage has it been said that Darley expect to be a top side this year Fat boy, there has been alot of changes at the club deffinatly for the better that will take time. And ill tell you right now that on three occasions last year The so called big Boys that Sunbury claim to be were ment to spank Darley as well and went home with there tail between there legs.Yes i no that was last year and alot has changed but Darley dont get intimidated by Sunbury like most other teams so it may be closer than you think ill c you at the canteen PIG

Wrong!

Noticed one of the umpires 'clap' when Redan kicked their first goal against the cobras on the weekend then signal the 'all clear' to the goal umpire.
Not a good look when you think about it.... Then he went on and gave 4 dodgey free kicks against the Cobras to Redan......They wouldn't have changed the game as Redan were just way too good however makes you wonder if there was actually any favourites being played out there on the field??????

As the ladder stands, I think it's pretty accurate as to how it will look come season's end. South were found out when they played someone decent. The only surprise was the Margin in the Melton game.

Noticed one of the umpires 'clap' when Redan kicked their first goal against the cobras on the weekend then signal the 'all clear' to the goal umpire.
Not a good look when you think about it.... Then he went on and gave 4 dodgey free kicks against the Cobras to Redan......They wouldn't have changed the game as Redan were just way too good however makes you wonder if there was actually any favourites being played out there on the field??????

You seriously just noticed this?

As the ladder stands, I think it's pretty accurate as to how it will look come season's end. South were found out when they played someone decent.
Agree to an extent 19th. The top 4 def showing they are all going to be competing come finals time, however their rankings is yet to be determined as barring Ballarat, East Sunbury and Redan have only played 1 of each other.
I was at the Ballarat Melton South Game on Sunday, and boy, can it be cold watching footy at Dahlsens. Luckily snuck in and got some food care of head office. They got me at the gate but I got them in the catering. First half was a terrific contest was of finals standard, plenty of pressure, thought Melton South should have been further in front at half time. Second half Ballarat opened the game up and looked very good, very silky and accurate with disposal and showed South their tails. So I wouldnt say Melton south were found out as such as they more than competed and looked very dangerous, just that Ballarat over the course of the game on their home ground played the conditions and ground better. Both sides where actually a bit better than what I thought though before the day. Only question mark on Ballarat, lack of quality talls when they play the other top 3.

You get lippy - put a stupid comment like the game maybe close and then go into hiding.

What are your views on Darley now after getting beat by 145 points in 2 games and another hiding this week?

80 plus points was about where I thought the game would be. Darley are slow, with little footy ability and half the team does not go when it is there turn. Keep clinging onto last years results if that makes you sleep easier at nights.

Hank, you from what I can imagine have been a round football a bit, I havent seen enough of Ballarat Football in recent years to comment, but do you think the umpires in the competition actually can influence a game when East sides are playing West?

Ventured down to Clarke Oval yesterday and watched a far superior Sunbury smash Darley and not even get out of 2nd gear, Darley were slow and have poor foot skills, they have alot of work to do to get anywhere in the next couple of years...

You get lippy - put a stupid comment like the game maybe close and then go into hiding.

What are your views on Darley now after getting beat by 145 points in 2 games and another hiding this week?

80 plus points was about where I thought the game would be. Darley are slow, with little footy ability and half the team does not go when it is there turn. Keep clinging onto last years results if that makes you sleep easier at nights.

I ventured across to sunbury yesterday hoping to see a devils victory. i love teh sporting club there with the TAB, Beer and great bar maids.

From the past two weeks it can be seen that Darley wont be competing with the big boys come 2nd week of the finals campaign the way they are playing at the moment. Sunbury and East are two flag favourites and they are both very good sides. Sunbury slightly ahead in my opinion. Its what happens when boys play men, but you can see pasages of play within the devils to see they have the talent.

They were made to look slow by their poor foot skills. had plenty of footy but just didnt use it. Darley actually won the last quarter and you can say Sunbury stopped, but good sides never do.

Not all doom and gloom at the Devils Playground but work to do.

I ventured across to sunbury yesterday hoping to see a devils victory. i love teh sporting club there with the TAB, Beer and great bar maids.

From the past two weeks it can be seen that Darley wont be competing with the big boys come 2nd week of the finals campaign the way they are playing at the moment. Sunbury and East are two flag favourites and they are both very good sides. Sunbury slightly ahead in my opinion. Its what happens when boys play men, but you can see pasages of play within the devils to see they have the talent.

They were made to look slow by their poor foot skills. had plenty of footy but just didnt use it. Darley actually won the last quarter and you can say Sunbury stopped, but good sides never do.

Not all doom and gloom at the Devils Playground but work to do.

Sunbury still to add Griffen, Corey Brown, Oakie and Power. 3 of there best 7. A lot of room to improve.

shane fisher is the pinnicle of which football excellence is measured a true champion of the game

get off his end mate, how about the ******** gets on the park first... from what ive heard and seen of him your probably shane fisher yourself

As the ladder stands, I think it's pretty accurate as to how it will look come season's end. South were found out when they played someone decent. The only surprise was the Margin in the Melton game.

Yeah i think your right there 19th man...it seems to be Ballarat,Sunbury,East Point, and Redan who are gonna fight it out. But i suppose anything can happen in football but these are the fab 4 and the ones to beet. I think 5th and 6th spots are def up for grabs tho