Ballarat Football League

BFL snubbed with only two players in state side

21/07/2008 11:31:00 PM
THE BALLARAT Football League has been snubbed by VCFL selectors, with just two BFL players called up for the Australian Country Football Championships to be played in Shepparton from Thursday.
Redan prime mover Jarrod Edwards and Sunbury big man Tim Little have been named in the 24-player squad to represent Victoria in division one against teams from Western Australia, South Australia, the ACT and New South
Wales.
The pair were selected after being among the RegionalOne BFL's best at the VCFL country championships in Shepparton nearly two months ago.
BFL chief executive Rod Ward was pleased Edwards and Little had made the squad but said there were a number of other BFL players who should also have been considered.
"Tim Little is clearly regarded as number one ruckman in country football.
"He was in the team last time when he was playing for Tatura in the Goulburn Valley Football League and he has been just as good since joining the BFL," Ward said.
"And Edwards very much deserved to be in to make up for the disappointment of missing last time, when he missed because of a hamstring injury.
"We're disappointed for a few guys who would have deserved to be in the team and would have given good account of themselves.
"Players like Shane Hutchinson, Brad Miller and Nathan Blomeley should have walked into that side.
"There is a surprising amount of focus on Ovens & Murray and Goulburn Valley players because, I think, of the reputation of those leagues in the past. I think the selectors do concentrate on the north eastern leagues, perhaps
at our expense."
Seven players from the Ovens & Murray league, and four from the Goulburn Valley league, have been named in the squad.
The Ballarat region will also be represented in Division Two, with two Lexton Plains and one Central Highlands players selected for the VCFL District team.
Tom Blackford (Rokewood/Corindhap) and Steve Ross (Natte-Bealiba) will represent the LPFL, while Dunnstown's Rhys Cahir has had the call up from the CHFL, to take on Queensland and an Aboriginal All Stars team.
"We're thrilled from a Lexton Plains point of view to have two players running around in that competition," Ward said. The Australian Country Football Championships conclude with finals on Sunday.

Looks like we now have the 2 premier players in the comp. Debate over. Thanks VCFL. As stated before only the premier players get selected.

News just in, World Footballer of the year nominations are in:

1. Kaka - AC Milan/Brazil
2. Cristiano Ronaldo - Manchester United/Portugal
3. Brad Miller - Darley

Last 4 rounds

Darley - Bacchus, Melton South, Lakers, Ballarat and bye
Melton South - Bye, Darley, Redan, Bacchus, Sunbury
Sunbury - Lakers, Melton, East point, Redan and Melton South
East point - Melton, Redan, Sunbury, bye, Bacchus
Ballarat - North City, Sebas,bye, Darley, Lakers
Lakers - Sunbury, Bye, Darley,north city, Ballarat

Current Ladder
Darley 48
melton South 40
Sunbury 40
East point 36
Ballarat 32
Lakers 32

Darley can't lose top unless lose two games finish year on points 68
Melton south can finish as high as second 60 points or as low as 52 points
Sunbury can finish as high as second 60 points or as low as 52 points
East point can finish as high as second 56 points or as low as 52 points
Ballarat can finish as high as second 48 points or as low as 52 points
Lakers can finish as high as fifth 44 points or as low as 40 points

If melton South Lose 2 games finish on 52
If sunbury lose 2 games finish on 52
East Point may lose one to sunbury finish on 52
If Ballarat lose 2 games finish on 44
If Lakers lose 3 finish 6th

Melton South must beat sunbury and/or Darley
Sunbury must beat Melton South and/or East point Need to improve %
If east point beat sunbury can finish second or third. Need to improve %
If Ballarat beat darley and lakers can finish 3rd as have good percentage

Oracles view however it will be only % between 2nd, 3rd and 4th

Darley
melton South
East point
Sunbury
Ballarat
Lakers

First week finals
Darley v Melton south
East Point v Lakers
Sunbury v Ballarat

Last 4 rounds

Current Ladder
Darley 48
melton South 40
Sunbury 40
East point 36
Ballarat 32
Lakers 32

Darley
melton South
East point
Sunbury
Ballarat
Lakers

First week finals
Darley v Melton south
East Point v Lakers
Sunbury v Ballarat
Good job Oral, lot of work involved there.

I think South will definetly finish second. Sunbury with a full side are the team to beat, although Darley are still winning with a few out.

your not brad 'bummer' miller mate get a life and stop trying to inpersinate people, you wish u were as good as him!

It sure is Sam. Because it appears as though a lot of people are interested, to be honest I think that I am a bit stiff to not have been selected in the VCFL squad but I'll be out there Saturday against the Snakes putting on a 'Miller show' performance for the fans. Enough chat about me though guys, let's focus on the team cos we are the real deal.

Brad

ps. Miss you Chief.

Last 4 rounds

Current Ladder
Darley 48
melton South 40
Sunbury 40
East point 36
Ballarat 32
Lakers 32

Darley
melton South
East point
Sunbury
Ballarat
Lakers

First week finals
Darley v Melton south
East Point v Lakers
Sunbury v Ballarat

Oracle, clearly you have too much time on your hands, but a reasonable assumption in the end. I think all 3 finals arent clear cut, as Ballarat do have a great % only because they have played ordinary sides twice that said they can kick a big score, which would be against Sunbury who has the best defence (lowest score against)...however the goal kickers need to be on song and for some reason you wont answer my question?
By the way you didnt respond about Mark "Boiled Lollies" Nunn, is he injured, why hasnt he kicked many goals this year, he doesnt look interested

Darley and melton South will be a ripper, which could go either way. Both Fit, I would even tip a draw..then extra time, I'd lean to Darley.

East should account for lakers, who have missed Weymouth and Webb for most of the year and theyare important. East missed 10 minutes of footy against Darley and reckon that record will be the answer when al things considered.

sorry i don't understand your twit language! grow up.

Hmmmm... was I right the other week when I said you dont need to rush in and sign Dion, I know your an easy target this week after getting smashed.

I read his article about how he has 5 year plan, and has asked a for a further 2 years which makes 4 years, what do you in year 4, as you have just bought his 5 year plan?
I think this is a reasonable question?

Oracle, clearly you have too much time on your hands, but a reasonable assumption in the end. I think all 3 finals arent clear cut, as Ballarat do have a great % only because they have played ordinary sides twice that said they can kick a big score, which would be against Sunbury who has the best defence (lowest score against)...however the goal kickers need to be on song and for some reason you wont answer my question?
By the way you didnt respond about Mark "Boiled Lollies" Nunn, is he injured, why hasnt he kicked many goals this year, he doesnt look interested

Darley and melton South will be a ripper, which could go either way. Both Fit, I would even tip a draw..then extra time, I'd lean to Darley.

East should account for lakers, who have missed Weymouth and Webb for most of the year and theyare important. East missed 10 minutes of footy against Darley and reckon that record will be the answer when al things considered.

Boiled lollies is looking for a big finals series. Remember his 8 goal haul in the 1st semi final against east point that left poor old fisher crying, his hangers on backstabbing him and then using him as the scape goat. Where are all the hangers on or are you one of them rubba?

And he's done nothing since. Softest player in the BFL.

Thanks for your response about "Boiled Lollies" Nunn, at least I know he is fit and you agree that he is playing Sh.thouse.
Yes the 8 goals was a big day out, although rare these days.
No I didnt backstab Fish, not sure why he was so poorly treated by the club, Hynesy is doing ok with a reasonable list this year. Fortunately the comp has come back a bit this year, so much I reckon last years top 5 would win this years flag, not sure who finished 6th last year.

Anyway thanks update on Nunn, reckon he is injured though.;)

I hear that there is a side of tardy-looking fatties playing D Division Korfball at the YMCA on Friday nights that may be looking for a coach.

Maybe Franky P can find a home right thurr.

Thanks for your response about "Boiled Lollies" Nunn, at least I know he is fit and you agree that he is playing Sh.thouse.
Yes the 8 goals was a big day out, although rare these days.
No I didnt backstab Fish, not sure why he was so poorly treated by the club, Hynesy is doing ok with a reasonable list this year. Fortunately the comp has come back a bit this year, so much I reckon last years top 5 would win this years flag, not sure who finished 6th last year.

Anyway thanks update on Nunn, reckon he is injured though.;)
Fisher resigned immediately after losing the unloseable against Ballarat, end of story. Is that poorly treated is it?

Unloseable, tell me what game of footy is unloseable, Ballarat arent a bad side, there just not a good side. contrary to their own ego's. last Time I looked Ballarat didnt win the flag last year.

Why didnt they re-appoint him later in the season approaching finals, when they had the chance? No lets hold off and wait, for what? up near the top of the table not ever side can win the Grand final apparently only 1 side will win it this year, not 2. So someone is going to get questioned about performance in finals.
I havent seen Ballarat in a Grand final in recent years.

I reckon they thought they get BJ. But he didnt want to travel and coach, he lives spitting distance from Sunbury so that is convenient and he respected at East for his decision.

Sides like Ballarat have achieved less, yet they keep appointing Northey. You cant tell me Ballarat has bad list, it probably just gets paid less than other clubs, supposedly. East pay players and Ballarat pays a coach, it's a matter of what you need.

Shane Manley

Dear Shane Manley,

Without a doubt you are the ugliest man in Ballarat with your your big fat chin in the paper! Quote from Shane Manley " Good luck to North Ballarat for winning the off field but we are interested in who wins the on field battle "
Well looks like you lost both battles my friend!!!!!!! And to all the Ballarat players out there who may reply who is higher on the ladder I think your chances in the finals have been shot to pieces. Good luck you dumb pricks! Good on you North City shove it up em.

Hey Chief,
Marsh netballers thrashed your girls. It was actually just like a training day for the Marsh girls. About 30 goals so I believe.
PS Dont they swollow for you????????????????????

Hey Chief,
Marsh netballers thrashed your girls. It was actually just like a training day for the Marsh girls. About 30 goals so I believe.
PS Dont they swollow for you????????????????????
Well done to the Marsh players that came in and had a beer after their embarassing loss yesterday. Showed some class.
There would have been more come in, but most could not fit through the door (Brae, Killoran, Miles, Horsehead, Pie Shea). Fattest club in the BFL.

Hey Chief,
You are actually quite amusing as I have said before. I'm being serious. I actually laugh out loud when I read your posts - unlike your idiot friend Chumpy (which is prob you?) He has nothing interesting to say at all.
Yes my spelling was pretty bad - if you check out the time though you need to give me some credit I just got home after another one of our fantastic functions. I was a little under the weather.
That's a bit harsh re. our netballers. I think they are hot looking. Yes Frank did a great job - we had our two best actually on the bench so it wasn't too cruel for you. I could comment on the looks of some of your girls but wouldn't be so cruel to mention names on here.
What happened with Zane Dix yesterday?? Did anyone see?? Heard it's going to be looked at??? Yes great game by the big boy Trav. He has been an excellent player for the Devils for many years now - good guy too.The question remains???? Will the Devils be able to maintain their good form come September??

Must be very difficult for Ballarat to cope with that loss yesterday? Surely this says to Shane Manley to Build a Bridge and get over the ******!

E

Yes well done to the Carpet Pythons if you are happy to celebrate one win (senior netball) from 6 matches on the day, it shows where your Second rate club is at in life! Darley slapped you in all footy grades and had 6 first grade players out.

Bring on South!

Hey Chief,
You are actually quite amusing as I have said before. I'm being serious. I actually laugh out loud when I read your posts - unlike your idiot friend Chumpy (which is prob you?) He has nothing interesting to say at all.
Yes my spelling was pretty bad - if you check out the time though you need to give me some credit I just got home after another one of our fantastic functions. I was a little under the weather.
That's a bit harsh re. our netballers. I think they are hot looking. Yes Frank did a great job - we had our two best actually on the bench so it wasn't too cruel for you. I could comment on the looks of some of your girls but wouldn't be so cruel to mention names on here.
What happened with Zane Dix yesterday?? Did anyone see?? Heard it's going to be looked at??? Yes great game by the big boy Trav. He has been an excellent player for the Devils for many years now - good guy too.The question remains???? Will the Devils be able to maintain their good form come September??
A tad harsh on the Chump, i thought i was quite humerous. Oh well back to the drawing board. Might spend the next six months eating Macca's and KFC to make sure I can play in the Marsh's midfield next year.

Fat disgrace and joke of a club.

Any truth in the rumour you are changing your name next year to the "Dockers". Seems to fit well, being the laughing stock in a 2 team town.

Dix played in a winning side yet again against your joke club, lay off him. Worry about your fat recruits food intake.

A tad harsh on the Chump, i thought i was quite humerous. Oh well back to the drawing board. Might spend the next six months eating Macca's and KFC to make sure I can play in the Marsh's midfield next year.

Fat disgrace and joke of a club.

Any truth in the rumour you are changing your name next year to the "Dockers". Seems to fit well, being the laughing stock in a 2 team town.

Dix played in a winning side yet again against your joke club, lay off him. Worry about your fat recruits food intake.

well rod ward doesn't seem to think so. his the one putting the investigation in.

Chumpy - You are such a tool!!! Can you ever think of anything interesting say??????????????? I think not! I'm going to ignore you from no on - as do many other people - Goodbye to the Chump!
Wog - you are on the money re. Dix. Dirty little thing was throwing punches all day long. He wont be playing for at least two weeks.