Balme

I assume Wayne thought the appointment of John Olsen was quite underwhelming too given he was 75 when he became our chairman
That's a very shallow POV .....how much difference has Olsen made to our on-field performances ? ......zero !

Timing is everything in these matters .....when Balme was first approached to be Footy Manager, or whatever descript you want to put to the role ....IIRC this was 3 years ago, when he was most needed, for a developing list .....not at the end of the rebuild

His role would be completely different to roles at RICH, GEEL, and COLL .....so no comparison

As a Director, people are overestimating his direct influence .....how many days a week do you think he'll be at the Club ? ......and he only has one vote at the Board table

That's a very shallow POV .....how much difference has Olsen made to our on-field performances ? ......zero !

Timing is everything in these matters .....when Balme was first approached to be Footy Manager, or whatever descript you want to put to the role ....IIRC this was 3 years ago, when he was most needed, for a developing list .....not at the end of the rebuild

His role would be completely different to roles at RICH, GEEL, and COLL .....so no comparison

As a Director, people are overestimating his direct influence .....how many days a week do you think he'll be at the Club ? ......and he only has one vote at the Board table
Yeah, why would we want someone where he has success with everything he does

Wayne's Law is the opposite of your view is typically the correct view.

Why have you become a desperate attention seeker with bizzare opinions?

Waynes Law is the opposite of your view is typically the correct view.

My POV's ......pretty sure there's no policy, where I need to be a Lemming

So Mob opinion is the correct opinion Kane ?....sadly as a society, this was the accepted norm in the 60's and 70's , resulting in minority groups being poorly treated ...... sadly, we have not learnt any lessons over the years... with Social Media, where critical thinking is squashed by the Mob insisting everyone hold the same views

I feel sad for your type

My POV's ......pretty sure there's no policy, where I need to be a Lemming

So Mob opinion is the correct opinion Kane ?....sadly as a society, this was the accepted norm in the 60's and 70's , resulting in minority groups being poorly treated ...... sadly, we have not learnt any lessons over the years... with Social Media, where critical thinking is squashed by the Mob insisting everyone hold the same views

I feel sad for your type

There is alternative opinions & then there is bat shit crazy to seek attention...

I keep posting this, he's not quite ok upstairs. He can't see anything he does as not being flawless, no matter how many contrary views. I got suspended for reminding him of his own words.

Edit - and what's more important than just the insanity, is that he posted the below believing it scored him points over greycrow, for saying he'd speak up if he was being driven towards a cliff.

04C1A9B9-A417-4F5B-A860-BCC6323773D1.png

Wayne, sorry mate

laughing-smh.gif

Honestly I’m concerned, think I’ll back off, somethings not right
He's a crank. The football version of a flat earther.

They sent cameras up there Wayne. We've got images.

6dfbcecf871bdfa6997fa0e3a37c5ee0

Not everything.

Losing record as Melbourne coach.

He wouldn't be coming as a coach though.

He's not wrong in my view that his influence will be less than some think but I also agree that a Balme trade for Ricciuto is the best piece of news I have heard in a very long time.

If Olsen went as well that would be Nirvana.

He's not wrong in my view that his influence will be less than some think but I also agree that a Balme trade for Ricciuto is the best piece of news I have heard in a very long time.

If Olsen went as well that would be Nirvana.
He’s called it a “meh” appointment and it’s anything but that. Sure given he won’t be full time in the football department but as football director he’s going to have a fair say in how the football department is managed, who it’s managed by and will be a sound voice when it comes to appointments, direction and decisions. He will be the one on the board with football experience the board will refer to, his influence would be massive on there.

Just think who he is replacing in Roo, does anyone think he hasn’t had a big influence on the fortunes of our club over the last 10 years? Well that’s who Balme will be replacing and he is a massive improvement.

As for Olsen, besides the Nicks reappointment, what’s he done wrong?

He’s called it a “meh” appointment and it’s anything but that. Sure given he won’t be full time in the football department but as football director he’s going to have a fair say in how the football department is managed, who it’s managed by and will be a sound voice when it comes to appointments, direction and decisions.

Just think who he is replacing in Roo, does anyone think he hasn’t had a big influence on the fortunes of our club over the last 10 years? Well that’s who Balme will be replacing and he is a massive improvement.

Not much..... but that is a fairly sizable strike against his name.

Agreed, that was just dumb, a big **** up.

But really what else has he done that’s wrong, he’s managed to finally find us a home which looks like a good outcome. I can see him maybe lasting a couple of more years and he would have done his job better than his predecessor.

In fairness, that's a very low bar

But he's been ok, and with any luck will get to see the team improve and start contending again soon

Reckon having the right people in place for a winning football department is pretty important too.

Whoever was pushing to extend Nicks last year should be looking for a new role.

He’s called it a “meh” appointment and it’s anything but that. Sure given he won’t be full time in the football department but as football director he’s going to have a fair say in how the football department is managed, who it’s managed by and will be a sound voice when it comes to appointments, direction and decisions. He will be the one on the board with football experience the board will refer to, his influence would be massive on there.

What's he done right?

You'll have to educate me here from afar. Olsen is the Chairman, a ribbon-cutting, political-influence role. Why is he taking the blame for a coach reappointment? Surely the CEO and his advisers have to cop that blame? Have I missed something?

Wouldn’t the board have to sign off on the contract? If the board aren’t there to make a basic suggestion like “hang on, we haven’t even started the season, let’s wait a bit” then what’s the point of them?

Further a reason given by Silvers was “to stop the noise”, you don’t think such a strategy the board wouldn’t have been part of? As chairman he’s ultimately responsible to use his influence to stop stupid decisions being made.

Balme