Game Day BATTLE OF THE FOLD COASTS - WCE vs GCS (Round 1)

Thanks Basil. I just want to give you a bit of an insight into the Saturday afternoon team.

We’re a bunch of unique individuals – Carbine Chaos , Dylan82, squashface , Miguel Sanchez and myself.

We’re gonna engage with our minds and our hearts. We’re gonna exchange ideas, thoughts and even our energy.

And to speak from your heart you need to have courage. You need to be honest and authentic.

We’re not always gonna get it right. And sometimes, you’re not going to agree with us. But that’s okay, because just like you we care. Just like you, we’re passionate about the game.

So if you want to come along for the ride, join us on Saturday arvos, because we just love the footy.

So is this the preview to the preview?

Or the actual preview?

Gold Coast in Round 1 :

2020 L (47) Port at Carrara
2019 L (1) Saints at Docklands
2018 W 16 North at Cazaly (Cairns)
2017 L (2) Brisbane at Carrara
2016 W 61 Essendon at Carrara
2015 L (26) Melbourne at MCG
2014 W 18 Richmond at Carrara
2013 W 13 Saints at Carrara
2012 L (69) Adelaide at Carrara
2011 L (119) Carlton at Gabba (was Round 2 after they had the bye Round 1)

Won 1 of their last 4 round 1 games and have never won on the road other than Cairns

Two of the last 3 times we’ve lost Round 1 we’ve made the GF (2015 lost to Bulldogs at docklands and 2018 lost to Sydney at home)

Also a little concerned as we are so slow at moving the ball and add to that we love going sideways not forward could be suicide for us.

The flip-side is that our ball movement and reduced interchanges could see opposition teams tire in the second half.

I’m a glass half-full kinda guy so looking for a light on the horizon.

Like you I’ll be interested to see how things pan out this arvo and into the season.

Willie Rioli - a miscarriage of justice. Suspended longer than he played.

Two of the last 3 times we’ve lost Round 1 we’ve made the GF (2015 lost to Bulldogs at docklands and 2018 lost to Sydney at home)

Are you trying to say that we don't need to sack Simmo, burn our membership and fold the club if by some chance we don't come away with the W today?

Howdy western seaboard dwellers

Is there any precedent of a home and away game having the bounce down pushed back due to heat?

That would require common sense so since it’s the AFL we’re talking about, probably not

Howdy western seaboard dwellers

Is there any precedent of a home and away game having the bounce down pushed back due to heat?

They usually just allow for extended breaks - couple of minutes extra for 1st and 3rd qtr times and 5-10 for half-time.

Genuine danger game today. They're a young and keen side who start seasons well.

Vardy just needs to impose himself physically today. Put a few knees into Witts and slow him down. His form in the preseason was very poor and he'll be out as soon as Williams is available/fit. Williams should feel very stupid for that dunking incident, tbh. Costing himself games here.

Don't expect it to be easy, but I expect we'll get it done in the end.

Eagles by 17.
Going by some of the results so far this round every game is a danger game. Adelaide beat Geelong and Swans beat Brisbane.

We need to be at our best to be Gold Coast.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

After watching the rest of the round im concerned how we're gonna go. The game's transitioned towards rewarding teams that can run the ball - something that we're pretty sh*thouse at doing.

The man on the mark rule will def help us out of defense, but I feel like we're looking at a season where we get burned on the rebound pretty hard.

So, not to make it about my stuff, but I've got a bet with a mate of mine about Nelson this year. I'm tipping he has a pretty bloody good season and wrinkles out some of the brainfarts. Should he end up in the top 15 of the B&F at season's end, my dear old idiot friend is prepared to grow a Prime Liam Duggan Mullet and Moustache.

Pray for Jackson Nelson.

So, not to make it about my stuff, but I've got a bet with a mate of mine about Nelson this year. I'm tipping he has a pretty bloody good season and wrinkles out some of the brainfarts. Should he end up in the top 15 of the B&F at season's end, my dear old idiot friend is prepared to grow a Prime Liam Duggan Mullet and Moustache.

Pray for Jackson Nelson.
Top 15 should be attainable if he can keep his spot.

After watching the rest of the round im concerned how we're gonna go. The game's transitioned towards rewarding teams that can run the ball - something that we're pretty sh*thouse at doing.

The man on the mark rule will def help us out of defense, but I feel like we're looking at a season where we get burned on the rebound pretty hard.

Why? If there’s one thing we’re at least pretty decent at, it’s covering the fast rebound with our interceptors. Not all sides will have the efficiency and skills to punish us on the rebound.

The problem we should be looking at is on our ability to lock down. Barrass hasn’t exactly transitioned into the next Ashley McIntosh, while McGovern should stick to playing his natural game. We got killed by tall forwards early last year when we were struggling.

The kick and mark game we employed over the past couple years isn’t null and void solely because of the new rule changes. It’s still a viable strategy - the new rules just give teams another option. I was reading on the Freo board just then from some of their posters that the choice to employ the same strategy of precise kicking and marking doesn’t work anymore; what they seem to be forgetting is they don’t have the personnel (available atm) to execute it.

Really, the thing I’m most upset about is the fact we delisted the one player these new roles seem made for (Jetta), and the goddamn club hasn’t given us a single reason why.

To be fair, we get destroyed by quick transition already.

It's almost like it's the first time it's ever been hot in Perth during March and it's a huge surprise to the AFL. fu**en morons.

Should just make the first 4 rounds in Perth night games and then start with the shitty Sunday twilight spots we get shoe-horned into.
Ill start this off with a massive **** victoria, since every year they want to cram us into the last game of the round, making our season the most condensed. Just play a double header Friday night game round one, with shitty daylight savings over east no overlap and we get a proper night game. Useless campaigners scheduling soley for the vic tv market over all else.

Having watched Gold Coasts practice games, their transition wasn't great to be honest.

They are a great contest team and a great clearance team. Their inside 50's aren't great, and they make their forwards work very hard.

Lukosious on a wing is a scary prospect, because his ball use potentially fixes up the area where they fall down, good kicks going inside 50.

If Gold Coast win the ball on the inside and get it to Lukosious on the outside they will burn us.

Outside of that, they'll make errors moving the ball forward and we will burn them on turnover.

Playing keepsies off will make them pretty tired as they run one side to the other to try and block the switch.

Expect a lot of red time goals as players like Gaff and Duggan go to work at the end of quarters.

I think playing last game of the round helps us too. We would have seen 7-8 games with these new rules in effect.