Rumour Beams coming on heavy, hot and strong (Beams & picks 41 & 44 for 18, 56, COL's 2019 1st rd)

Also, if Claye finishes at the Lions this year, then he could also move to Melbourne and play VFL.

We will keep Claye to keep Dayne if need be, I've said that for the last 3 years and maintain that Claye will get another reserves contract if Dayne decides to stay.

Where there's smoke theres fire. That's all I say.

Can 100% see he is devaloping that losing fatigue and his wife would almost certinally want to move back home.

We can break it down a million different ways and go for the trade 'where theres still value' angle' but let's face It, we will get nothing for him and will get held over the barrel by a Melbourne club who will push the 'grant him his wish' card.

Dayne is the fave of the club, the kids adore him and he has been a key symbol in the 'it's ok to stay in Brissy' push.. him leaving would be a major downer for everyone, footy aside, his commitment to helping us back up the ladder is incredibly important for the spirit of the group, cant deney is be absolutley shattered if he he left.

If Beams wanted to move on for family reasons we wouldn't stand in his way. We will be in grave trouble though re our best 22 experience.

Stef Martin is probably got 1 maybe 2 years left, Hodge 1 year, then the other best 22 experience is Zorko, Robinson and Rich who is not a leader, you could maybe add Christensen to that list.

We are in deep shit, you can not win games regularly with so little best 22 experience. We simply must get in a couple of decent mature age recruits with leadership qualities over the next couple of years even without Beams leaving.

Our young guys now are 21.. 22.. 23 by then, I don't think it will be as bad as you'd think. I'm a big fan of 'some experience' but look what letting go of experience at North and the Eagles did. I know they are older than us, but sometimes the impact isnt as set in stone as you'd imagine. Still hope he stays and I think he will.

If beams left others would follow you'd think. He's been a huge push of the "stick together" culture and if our contracted senior players leave you couldn't really blame the kids for asking the question either.

Football wise, would be a disaster and a huge hit to the teams culture.

All that being said, given what he's been through I'm sure the club would want to accommodate his wishes.

Its June and trade period is October. Even if it is true and not being seriously exaggerated there is a lot of water to go under the bridge. But until we hit September and someone other than Tom Browne (who is easily the stupidest afl journo) also reports it, I'd say nothing to see here just yet. I think Browne said that his wife wants to move back 'before' the second child was born, which is going to be a bit difficult without a mid-season trade period ;)

Given his age I don't think we'd get anything more than a very late 1st/early second. Maybe a future pick is the way to overcome it but we shouldn't stand in his way if that is his call at the end of the year.

Fagan on the news this evening said he always thought Beams would move back to Melbourne coz of his wife is from there and added that Beams hasn't spoke to him about it.

I think I'm the dissenting voice on this issue and expect you'll all let me know about it.

When beams wanted to come to Brisbane it suited us and was definitely to our benefit on field and retention wise, but it was what he wanted. If his father wasn't unwell he wouldn't have come no matter what we offered - it was on his terms and he got exactly what he wanted. Last year Claye believed he was gone and was surprised to get an extension. I'm positive Claye was kept simply to please Dayne which is another example of how the club have supported Dayne. And he is an experienced professional who knew exactly how long the contract he signed was for, as did his wife.

I get he is struggling to cope and I empathise - being orphaned in your 20s and younger sucks but many many people (including me) go through the same situation without the tremendous support Dayne has and is receiving. It might take a lot of counselling and time, but Dayne is mentally strong and he will eventually come to terms with his loss.

I think we deserve him finishing out his contract - you shouldn't desert people who clearly still need you and who supported you when you needed it - and I don't care what he does once his contract expires.

I think I'm the dissenting voice on this issue and expect you'll all let me know about it.

When beams wanted to come to Brisbane it suited us and was definitely to our benefit on field and retention wise, but it was what he wanted. If his father wasn't unwell he wouldn't have come no matter what we offered - it was on his terms and he got exactly what he wanted. Last year Claye believed he was gone and was surprised to get an extension. I'm positive Claye was kept simply to please Dayne which is another example of how the club have supported Dayne. And he is an experienced professional who knew exactly how long the contract he signed was for, as did his wife.

I get he is struggling to cope and I empathise - being orphaned in your 20s and younger sucks but many many people (including me) go through the same situation without the tremendous support Dayne has and is receiving. It might take a lot of counselling and time, but Dayne is mentally strong and he will eventually come to terms with his loss.

I think we deserve him finishing out his contract - you shouldn't desert people who clearly still need you and who supported you when you needed it - and I don't care what he does once his contract expires.

With all that said, mental health can effect (and as we saw with Bourdain, can take) lives no matter what people have going for them. Beams, a proud leader and captain, had to step down due to the mental health issues which came on as a result of losing his father. He opened up about needing counseling. If Beams finds at the end of the year he needs to be closer to his wife's family who he is very close to then so be it. This is a sport, not life. His wellbeing is the only important thing here.

It's also a job. He can always quit.

Exactly. Given it is a job he can quit, but I can't see him ****ing the club by saying he will only go to one club etc. He's not that type of guy. With that said, I reckon a late first and maybe some change is the best we'll get if he does go unless someone with a better draft position wants him.

Exactly. Given it is a job he can quit, but I can't see him ******* the club by saying he will only go to one club etc. He's not that type of guy. With that said, I reckon a late first and maybe some change is the best we'll get if he does go unless someone with a better draft position wants him.

I dunno. If he does it wouldn't be unexpected. Decline Gold Coast's initial offer, left Collingwood while under contract and now possibly leaving us under contract.

To be fair GC couldn't afford what he was worth and would have had to take way Unders and the Pies would have received similar compensation.

Agree with emphasis on at the end of the year when there has been time for emotions to stabilise and healing to happen. Right now I'm sure he is simply overwhelmed, and may even benefit from some time away from the game.

But .. this discussion has been started now and sometimes early discussion is a way of preparing the club members for upcoming change. Fagan's comment could easily be interpreted as 'we knew he was going to return to Melbourne once his father passed but there hasn't been any discussions with his management yet.' Which is very different to evaluating at the end of the year.

Agree with emphasis on at the end of the year when there has been time for emotions to stabilise and healing to happen. Right now I'm sure he is simply overwhelmed, and may even benefit from some time away from the game.

But .. this discussion has been started now and sometimes early discussion is a way of preparing the club members for upcoming change. Fagan's comment could easily be interpreted as 'we knew he was going to return to Melbourne once his father passed but there hasn't been any discussions with his management yet.' Which is very different to evaluating at the end of the year.

Fagan knew about him returning to Melbourne after his playing career and from all reports was going to persue a career in scouting or list management from memory. There was never an initial thought of him leaving when his Dad died as his Dad was in remission when he was traded.

I've gotta stop asking for current players pictures on my membership card. This seems to be a recurring curse.

Mate I went from. Rocky to Schache to Beams. GG.

To be fair GC couldn't afford what he was worth and would have had to take way Unders and the Pies would have received similar compensation.

Given the order I think he's talking about Beams not joining GC as a foundation player - he knocked back their zoning offer.

It got knocked on the head by Swan & Beams manager within 24 hours. I wouldn't give it any thought til you hear it from a different source
The club and Schache’s manager knocked any trade speculation on the head after Schache re-signed.

Then Schache’s manager, at the end of the season said, time and time and time again Schache would not be requesting a trade, and that any move would have to come from the club. And Swann and Noble were on the radio repeatedly saying Schache was staying.

Any rumour about Dayne leaving has some legs to it somewhere. We’re not a club in the spotlight whose players get speculated on constantly. When stuff comes out about our players, something tends to happen.

Any rumour about Dayne leaving has some legs to it somewhere.

Yes, but those legs could belong to a supermodel or a rugby prop. I agree that there is a source, and possibly a reliable one, behind this. It doesn't mean it is true though.

Possible example: Beams is still friends with Collingwood players. He tells one of his mates that his wife is struggling without family support and is keen to go home. That player tells Collingwood's list manager. The list manager reaches out to Beams about a possible return.

That alone could be interpreted a thousand ways. At the heart of it though is a conversation between two mates about some shit going on at home. It could mean anywhere from Beams has told the club he needs to go back to Melbourne for family reasons, through to his wife had a bad day.

I'm not saying that's what happened but, in the range of possibilities, Beams making up his mind to leave seems relatively unlikely at this point compared the other possibilities. Certainly not impossible but unlikely.

We’re not a club in the spotlight whose players get speculated on constantly. When stuff comes out about our players, something tends to happen.

Yes, but he's an ex-Collingwood player and a player of elite ability possibly considering moving to a location where up to 9 clubs will be interested in his services. The story isn't about us at all.

What I will say is that it does appear that every reason why Beams moved up here now seems to be gone. However, without knowing his mind, we can't assume those are the same reasons that might make him want to stay.

The club and Schache’s manager knocked any trade speculation on the head after Schache re-signed.

Then Schache’s manager, at the end of the season said, time and time and time again Schache would not be requesting a trade, and that any move would have to come from the club. And Swann and Noble were on the radio repeatedly saying Schache was staying.

Any rumour about Dayne leaving has some legs to it somewhere. We’re not a club in the spotlight whose players get speculated on constantly. When stuff comes out about our players, something tends to happen.
Are you in Vietnam already Briz?