Dundalis

Sep 16, 2005
Just curious how people rank these three in terms of potential and why?

I personally have Wellingham on top, though pretty much neck and neck with Beams, with a decent drop to Sidebottom.

Reasons being Wellingham is by far the superior athlete of the three, and is pretty much good to very good in just about every skill, kicking, tackling, one touch, composure under pressure (think he's the closest in the team to Pendles in this area), pace, even toughness, though his third and fourth efforts could use some work. Even his overhead marking and leap, it hasn't been so much on display in recent games, but anyone that saw his first few games for the club, he was basically played on a forward pocket/wing and took some excellent contested marks, with a big spring, in fact it was the major thing that stood out to me even over his speed.

His concentration levels have improved leaps and bounds, he stays in games, the only two things he actually needs to work on are decision making and those third and fourth efforts, everything else is pretty good.

I know people have gone off Daniel Kerr due to current form and also a few other issues, but Daniel Kerr on form is IMO a phenomenal player. Wellingham to me seems like a Daniel Kerr lite, but hopefully without the off field and anger issues.

Beams was basically Joel Selwood against the Bombers. Under packs extracting and dishing off, delivering pin point into the forward 50, left and right foot. I think a lot of his game is pretty similar and he could end up being close to as good a player.

Sidebottom has an excellent footy brain, and is also quite composed and is a player that always seems to make the right decision with the footy. I just don't know whether he is going to be the player Collingwood fans expect him to be in this day and age. He almost certainly would have been a superstar of the comp back in the 70's and 80's, and perhaps even 90's. But today I don't know if he has the physical tools to be that good. He is a solid kick on both feet, but to me lacks both the depth and penetration that Beams and Wellingham are able to generate. I don't think I've ever seen him kick over 40 metres. People who say he will simply develop a big kick with added strength, that is rubbish. He's slow and doesn't have quite Pendlebury's supreme level of awareness to where he can simply lope through 3 players as though they aren't there take a few bounces and dish off, which is what makes Pendlebury such a good outside player despite having no real foot speed.

At the moment he reminds me of Tarkyn Lockyer, with a little bit of Shane O'Bree. O'Bree only in terms of reading the play and drop of the ball and not skill wise. Most will probably say he has much better foot skills than Lockyer, but I haven't seen it. He's accurate by foot, both feet in fact, but so is Lockyer. They both seem to have similar depth on their kicking, which is around 40-45 metres. I'm going with that purely from what I've seen of him for Collingwood, not anything else, like TAC Cup. Sidebottom does have superior awareness to both and is a better decision maker. Basically I see Sidebottom having a similar career, I expect him to be better than both Lockyer and O'Bree but not by a huge margin. Would be happy to be proven wrong. Would especially be happy to be proven wrong if he turns out to be James Hird or Jimmy Bartel like some were saying after his first few games for the club. I simply see him being a very good player for the club for a decade, but not a superstar or quite elite.

we have found 3 midfield gems here. hard to split them, but i actually think sidebottom might end up being the best of the 3 although they should all be long term excellent players for the club. considering thomas and pendles are still only 22 the midfield is looking very healthy for the next few years

Beams - I rate him the highest at the moment because he is an extremely good inside player for his age, yet also has a very good tank (from his own hard work) and outside game. He gets a massive amount of his touches in the forward half of the ground, and kicks goals. He isn't afraid to use his opposite foot. His vision is top rate. His hands are clean and his handballs are flat, accurate and set up space for his teammates. I can't see him losing many of these abilities and will only get better.

Sidebottom - he is just an highly economic player who will develop into our highest ball winner for a number of years at his peak. He will use it well, kick a few goals, and be able to play off half back and up forward if we need him. He is not far off Beams at the moment, but he has yet to show he can truly sting the opposition. Would love to see him nail a few more goals, or be a bit more creative in some way.

Wellingham - his clearance work and ball carrying is a real asset. My only question is if he has the natural will to win and work ethic of the other two. He could be like a Daniel Kerr if he really pushed himself and continued to develop or just a really good second stringer player.

I'd have Sidebottom the highest, he is the youngest of the three and is clearly the least developed. Wellingham has 2 and a half years on him and Beams has almost a year. I think his footy smarts and awareness will see him progress very far. Whenever he seems to be in a 1 on 1 with someone for a loose ball he always seems to come out on top or if in a bad position make a good contest. And despite him not having a lot of pace I haven't seen people just burn past him so I don't think it will be an issue.
I'd have beams next and then Sharrod, all three a going to be good players.

Sidebottom for me. I can't remember the last time I was this excited by a Collingwood youngster. Looking back over the last decade the only other youngsters from anyother clubs that have excited me as much are Judd, Simon Black and NickNat. To me he projects as Jimmy Bartel with better endurance, superior awareness and greater evasive ability.

The other two should be good players too.

It's so hard to rate the 3 players separately, as they all have so many good qualities that have been shown at different stages.

I rate finals peformances highly, so at the moment, my ratings in order would be;

Wellingham
Sidebottom
Beams

But so far in 2010, Beams and Wellingham have exceeded all expectations and are playing consistent team orientated football at a level they haven't before.

Steele mean while is still inconsistent, but doesn't make many errors either.

I think the 3, along with Ball, Thomas, Pendles, Didak and Swan complement each other so well that I rate our midfield as being as "deeply" talented as any in the league, and these 3 youngsters are a huge part of that.

Interesting to note how the 3 came to the club too, 1 (sidebottom) a highly rated draftee, who we considered lucky to get, another (Beams) a draft pick that we rated highly but obviously others didn't, and subsequently we got him late 2nd round, and the other (Wellingham) who is a rookie from Perth who wasn't rated by any other club quite obviously.

Either way, IMO we have three players who will play over 200 games in the black and white, giving us joy for years to come.

And they are only getting started, and will only get better, a scary thought for opposition coaches.:thumbsu:

All are fantastic. Lets hope they can continue their development curves as that would be unbelievably good for our team :)

Sidebottom is my favourite out of the bunch, but all are very high on my list.

I hate player comparisons, but to me Sidebottom is a bit like Robert Harvey. No explosive pace, but a huge tank and can consistently run out the game. He also has the amazing lateral movement and composure, like Harvey. I'll never forget the time Harvey was able to get through about 5 players without even moving, he just shifted his body weight. Sidebottom has this kind of ability.

He also makes the right decision, reads the play well and has good awareness, and execution on both feet. To me these are the assets that made Harvey such a gun.

Wellingham and Beams are also guns and have amazing potential. To me, when these three develop, this will be our premiership window. I don't see us as losing too many important players in the next few years, and it will be when our midfield is Pendles, Thomas, Sidey, Wellingham and Beams with an older Didak, Swan and Ball that our premiership window will open. This is why I am so stoked to see us doing well at the moment, because to me we are still a good two or three years away from being a realistic chance.

Geez, tough to rate one ahead of the others, I think they're all great and will be all be fantastic players. At the moment though I'd say Wellingham and Beams are just ahead of Steele. Beams has taken his game to a new level, he was very close to BOG against Essendon, his kicking was phenomenal, and Wellingham came from absolutely nowhere to go from a fringe player to be an indispensible asset to our midfield.

Steele has a fantastic footy brain, and rarely makes the wrong decision, but doesn't really have the pace to make the most of it. Regardless I think his pressure work and tackling has been great so far, and even if thats all he brings it's enough. I notice he has been playing forward a bit lately though so I reckon the coaches want him to be more of a goal kicking midfielder.

Three cheers to Hine and our development coaches, they really do find some absolute class players and then make them the best they can be.

Already mentioned above but if rating future potential should be remembered that Wellingham is 21 (?) in his 4th year at the club, Beams is 19 in his 2cd year & Steele is 18/19 (he was bottom age & Beams top age so even though same draft they were almost a year apart in age) in his 2cd year.

I love them all and think their current output is in order of their age.

Future output? I honestly do not have a clue what order to put them in except i rate them all highly.

Steele, the boy is potentially a Brownlow material IMHO. He looks more advanced than Pendlebury was at the same stage of his career , his awareness on the footy field is second to none. Wellingham and Beams are not far behind , bloody excited about the next 5/7 years:thumbsu:

Here's some great reading material for the Sidebottom fans:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=448020

Posters from every club fawning over him hoping he makes it to their pick.

All of you Adelaide and Collingwood fans who think they are going to get Steele Sidebottom you will not because the Roos will not let him get past them. Because they need a Ball Magnet Goalkicking midfielder.

Love it :D

2008, what a draft. Hope the class of 2009 does just as well!

I know it's BF but interesting to see though the turn about in Wellingham raters. Not so long ago people were saying he wasn't up to scratch so it's great to see his talent has turned into consistency with the more experience and confidence he gains.

The beauty about Wellingham is that he was a rookie. A diamond in the rough. The club should be credited too but not giving him the boot (no pun intended) after that TAC sponsor loss. Had always rated him so rapt he's stepped up this year. He'll start getting more attention but the beauty with our mid field list now is that we have a lot more depth.

Beamsy is a classic, the ready made midfielder that is only going to get better. Understands the game, runs hard and is that "footballer's footballer" that opposition supporters wish they had too. How can anyone not love the way the game goes about his footy?

But Sidey is my fav for sure. His biggest weakest is one on one's which will improve as he gains strength ... but apart from that it's all up from there. Geez his understanding of ball and player movement is simply outstanding for his age and one of those "you can't teach that" type things. His pure evenness on both sides will make him a stand out for many, many years to come. He may not be that speedster off the step but then again he's a pure on-baller who will run around all day with the biggest smile on his face. :D

Geez its hard to do.

At the moment i'd rate it:
Wellingham
Beams
Sidebottom

However on potential i'd flip it right around and say:
Sidebottom
Beams
Wellingham

I could justify my reasons but i'd babble for 3 pages and i won't bore you all with that. Regardless, i think its quite clear that the future of our midfield is in very good hands!

Sidebottom has a lot of upside. His body has heaps of development still in it.

He already wins a lot of ball, but once he gets more size on and is stronger in the contest he'll be able to win a lot more of he's own footy, and he is already extremely creative by hand and pretty god by foot.

You don't see him choose the wrong option at all really.

Sorry to go off topic, but this thread got me thinking about how Buckley is going to inherit such a good midfield, better than any he played in(potentially) with Beams, Sidebottom, Wellingham, Pendlebury, and Thomas all in the 21-24 age bracket then add Swan, Didak and Ball into that mix.it looks very very good. very lucky coach.

Here's some great reading material for the Sidebottom fans:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=448020

Posters from every club fawning over him hoping he makes it to their pick.

Love it :D

2008, what a draft. Hope the class of 2009 does just as well!

Well if Freo would of Drafted Rich and Ziebell would of gone to the Lions and Steele would of most Likely gone to North. Then I think we would of Drafted Swift.

So we can thank Freo again:thumbsu:

The next few years are going to be very interesting.

Little mel gibson is getting better each game.
beams just fits.

And the the thing that really stood out watching Wellingham in his first good games, was his hands. Quick, clean, qaulity.

Very tough to do. They are 3 very different midfielders with different attributes, so as a group they should work very well together.

If I am forced to rate them, I have to think over a 10 year period who will be on top.

#1 I go with Beams as he will be a leader of the club, is hard & tough & will be a big game player. He will be a commanding influence on the field and a match winner (Scotty Burns Mark II).

#2 Sidebottom will be a non stop running machine is the youngest & so should have a lot more upside from what we see now, if he can add goal kicking too his resume he will be a beauty. Brownlow potential (Dane Swan Mark II).

#3 Wellingham, great season so far but he had to deliver as he is the older of the 3, hopefully its all up from here, but perhaps just a little more reserved on him given his slower start to his career, he will get stronger and will make him a force to be reckoned with around the stoppages (Scott Pendlebury Mark II).

1. Beams [Best case: Joel Selwood, Worst case: rich man's Marc Murphy]
2. Wellingham [Best case: Daniel Kerr, Worst case: Jaredd Brennan circa 2009]
3. Sidebottom [Best case: poor man's Sam Mitchell, Worst case: rich man's Tarkyn Lockyer]

Wasn't terribly difficult for me. Wellingham's best game might be better than Beams' best game, but Beams has it all over him for leadership, consistency and hardness (mind you he has it all over any of our mids for hardness).

sidebottom is a royals royce, wait till his body develops over the next 2 years. beams is the new scott burns with goal kicking potential. wellingham is the player we have been screaming out for , the kind who can break away from the pack with geniune pace. i cant remember since weve had a player like that, maybe tony francis. good to see thomas playing like that as well.but in summary i would have sidebottom, wellingham and beams, but not much between them. finally we have a midfield to be proud of

1. Beams
2. Wellingham
3. Sidebottom

Wasn't terribly difficult for me. Wellingham's best game might be better than Beams' best game, but Beams has it all over him for leadership, consistency and hardness (mind you he has it all over any of our mids for hardness).

Strangely enough Sidebottom's best game is better than the other two and by quite a margin.

Cometh the hour cometh the man. It's Sidebottom's clutch performance under huge pressure in last year's knockout semi-final that has him as the number one potential for me. He showed in the TAC GF that he can produce on the big stage, and then upped it in his 10th game to go a long way to steering us into a Prelim.

I would prefer he modelled his game on Dane Swan than anyone else. Just rack up the stats, sprint hard, do the team things (tackling/shepherding). Super professional.

The other two are great prospects and we are fortunate to have all 3, and even more so that we are not relying on them to be the main focus of the opposition, with any number of options currently available with Pendlebury, Swan, Didak, Davis, Thomas all part of the midfield rotation.

My order: Sidebottom, Beams, Wellingham
All of which ordered by performances currently banked on the big stage.
With all due respect Wellingham really has not shown this consistency before this year - over 20 possessions, lots of tackles, etc.

Beams, Wellingham, Sidebottom