Beau Dowler

Aaron Keating broke his pelvis in 2 places (not sure if 2 and 3 places is much of a difference) in round 1 of 1997 Vs. the BL and ended up playing his first game of the season in round 22 before playing in 2 grand finals for the Adelaide Crows and Norwood in the SANFL the week after.

IIRC Nathan Bassett broke his Pelvis in 1997 or 98 Melbourne reserves after he was evaluated to the main list (or was it his sternum) and played round 1 in 1999 for the crows.

95% chance he will get drafted some where, for a top 10 draft pick and a KKP to be over looked is just silly and anywhere after pick 35 would be a calculated gamble that most clubs would look at. Picking up a potential star player with a late pick is a gamble I would take.

crows98 said:
Aaron Keating broke his pelvis in 2 places (not sure if 2 and 3 places is much of a difference) in round 1 of 1997 Vs. the BL and ended up playing his first game of the season in round 22 before playing in 2 grand finals for the Adelaide Crows and Norwood in the SANFL the week after.

IIRC Nathan Bassett broke his Pelvis in 1997 or 98 Melbourne reserves after he was evaluated to the main list (or was it his sternum) and played round 1 in 1999 for the crows.

95% chance he will get drafted some where, for a top 10 draft pick and a KKP to be over looked is just silly and anywhere after pick 35 would be a calculated gamble that most clubs would look at. Picking up a potential star player with a late pick is a gamble I would take.

you are correct with Keating and it was 2 places from memory, Basset though broke his sternum.

Hopefully it is only a stress fracture as quoted on the AFL web site, this may result in him sliding a little and effecting his football next year but with good management he should have no lasting effect.

However if it does turn out to be a triple break I am not sure that his propects are good.

I currently have him rated at number 4.

This is Dissapointing news and I hope we all take this as a warning to take care.

Reckon he will still go through as a first round pick considering the time frame is 6 weeks to 3 months according to the AFL website. Teams with multiple picks or late picks in the first round could end up smiling as a quality player could slip through to them.

Absolutely terrible news. The term couldnt happen to a nicer bloke gets used in many instances like these, but Beau is genuinely one of the nicest kids you will ever meet, has time for everyone, not an inch of arrogance in him, deadset just a great kid all together. I hope it isnt too serious because he is going to be a superstar in the AFL one day. Good luck Beau.

well that is in fact true....that he has broken his pelvis in three places....and that he is probably most likely to miss out on footy this year...absolutely devastating for the young lad

personally, i bvelieve its not moral to talk about hsi draft chances hurt or not when the kid has been through this. We should just wish him all the ebst,a dn let everythign take care of itself. He doesnt need all this speculation around him now.

On behlaf of the bigfooty community, and all those loyal supporters of junior, grass roots foo0ty right thrtough to tac and the afl, we wish u all the ebst in a safe and speedy recovery beau, and hope ur dreams will come true over the next few years.

Best wishes, Johnson_26 and the bigfooty community

johnson_26 said:
personally, i bvelieve its not moral to talk about hsi draft chances hurt or not when the kid has been through this. We should just wish him all the ebst,a dn let everythign take care of itself. He doesnt need all this speculation around him now.

On behlaf of the bigfooty community, and all those loyal supporters of junior, grass roots foo0ty right thrtough to tac and the afl, we wish u all the ebst in a safe and speedy recovery beau, and hope ur dreams will come true over the next few years.

Best wishes, Johnson_26 and the bigfooty community
i seconds that, goodluck with your recovery

Thankfully the injury is not life threatening and he will make a full recovery.

I just wanna say that this has nothign to do with morality, i reckon the first and foremost thing on Beaus mind will be his football career and hence you can't criticise someone for talking about his future.

He will undoubtably be hurting more knowing that his chances of being drafted and playing at the elite have been jeopardised.

Therefore, as long as it is within certain standards, there is no need to tiptoe around the issue like he is dead. Life is short remember, football isn't everything.

yeh no doubt wipeoff5, but l;ets put things into perspective,, ur perspective.

footy last 14 years of a palyers seniopr career,,, if lucky,,, he has another 40 years outside of life to occupy,,

lets worry abotu his well being and a speedy recovery before we talk about how badly he aint gonna be drafted and this and that, we dunno, just wish him all the best

Completely agree with the wishes for a speedy recovery. I'm guessing it was the last day of school yesterday and he was simply out with mates last night.

However, the draft talk can't be ignored. There were probably 16 AFL recruiting managers who were scratching their heads today, and will be tomorrow as they wait for reports on his condition. Regardless of whether it is morally right or wrong (look at the shambles that is trade week and the meat market of draft camp - are there morals in AFL anyway?), this could shape the draft in a small way but potentially in a very large way.

As I said, all the best, I hope he has a speedy recovery.

yeh ur the wise head footman,, i totally agree with u, has further made an unpredictable draft even weeker, was justs aying lets hope he gets betetr and doesnt need a hip replacment or op before we go off tlakin bout his draft chances,,,

but yes, puts the whole system in a connumdrum. Furthermore, wat uw ere saying the emat market that the draft campo is is spot on. every 18 year old i ahve spoken to says exactly the same thing.

Matt Burgan on Dowler's setback
5:54:56 PM Fri 21 October, 2005
Matt Burgan
Sportal for afl.com.au
afl.com.au's Matt Burgan takes a look at how Beau Dowler's injury setback may resonate when recruiters sit down to nominate their selections at the NAB AFL Draft on November 26.

Beau Dowler is one of the brightest young talls available in this year's NAB AFL Draft, having shone for the Oakeligh Chargers and at representative level for Victoria Metropolitan in the 2005 NAB AFL under 18 championships.

His carnival was outstanding and he won selection on the half-forward flank in the All-Australian team.

Dowler distinguished himself with his strong marking and his accurate kicking at goal. His performance against Western Australia was particularly eye-catching as he booted four goals and took several contested marks.

To top off his fine 2005 season he was named in the TAC Cup team of the year and also recently attended the NAB AFL Draft Camp.

Unfortunately, on Friday he was involved in a car accident and suffered stress fractures to his pelvis.

It is believed that he could miss anywhere from six weeks to three months and with the NAB AFL Draft looming, clubs will be eager to monitor his progress.

Dowler was considered likely to be picked up by one of the first eight clubs involved in this year's selections - namely Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon, Richmond, Brisbane Lions, Fremantle and the Western Bulldogs.

The reason is that he is widely regarded as a top 10 draft selection - and some drafting experts believe he could be taken in the top five - such is his standing in this year's pool.

But where does he fit into the equation now? Will some clubs looking for a key position prospect use this as an easy and convenient excuse to pick someone else first?

Possibly, but as one leading football identity has suggested, Dowler's setback will not hinder his standing at all, as his talent will far outweigh any injuries in the short-term.

It was also pointed out that Gippsland Power's Xavier Ellis - also a likely top five prospect - is set to concentrate on his schooling in 2006 - much as St Kilda's Luke Ball did when he was drafted in the 2001 NAB AFL Draft.

There is no chance Ellis will be overlooked this year.

The point was made that clubs will be prepared to consider the long-term view rather than the short-term option, with the identity suggesting that Dowler fits the long-term option and that clubs will see past his accident.

Clubs will be loathe to pass up Dowler - such is his ability as a key tall - and all things being considered, he will still be a highly sought after prospect.

Despite Dowler's unusual predicament, a number of players have entered drafts under injury clouds. One only has to reflect on the 2001 NAB AFL Draft when a handy youngster was plucked early on despite having undergone shoulder reconstructions.

His name? Chris Judd.

But first and foremost, the entire football community wishes Beau Dowler a speedy recovery.

johnson_26 said:
was justs aying lets hope he gets betetr and doesnt need a hip replacment or op before we go off tlakin bout his draft chances
Absolutely. At least he's still here that probably matters more than the draft or Year 12 exams.

At the same time I also hope the others in the car weren't badly hurt. Beau is 17 yr old and couldn't have been driving so I presume at least one, probably two or three others were in the car as well.

having only played with beau on a few occasions but knowing him for about 2 years, you will never meet any bloke who is as hard working and dedicated to football then him. as a mate, this news shocks me as he was very excited and looking forward to playing afl wherever he went. hes a terrific individual and i really do hope that this doesnt effect his chances of getting drafted as he is and will be a superstar of the game. good luck to you beauy. love ya mate

Beau Dowler