Player Watch Beau McCreery

He had one tackle last night. And a fair few ineffective kicks (including the attempt at goal breaking through F50 and butchering the kick). It was a goodish game from him, but I'm still not convinced.
Excellent game. Heaps of score involvements and pressure acts. Which are the metrics that matter for him.

He had one tackle last night. And a fair few ineffective kicks (including the attempt at goal breaking through F50 and butchering the kick). It was a goodish game from him, but I'm still not convinced.

You must have been watching the game in a toilet cubical on your smart watch.

Please….

If you watch him closely at the games or even on TV while off the ball, he is absolutely threatening and menacing to the oppo players. He runs full pelt at them, hip and shoulders them off the ball, etc.
Same sort of athlete as Jordy. When he gets more confident and attacking, we'll have a star on our hands

Really liked Beau’s game last night

20 disposals at 85% efficiency… 2 goals… 5 inside 50s… 8 score involvements… 400 metres gained

And a moment or two of skill… which he is not renowned for in the way say Hill is

Showed he has more dimensions to his game than pressure and tackling

Developing nicely 👍

Some of his contested marking attempts were important. While he didn’t actually take many, his contest meant the Cats players didn’t either, and he was ferocious at the fall of the footy.

I think the AFL need to change definitions around the tackle stat

I think tackles as a stat is only for “boomers” and Supercoach enthusiasts. There are far more advanced and descriptive stats available to coaches these days.

In all fairness to Danger, he got straight up and didn't give even the slightest hint that it hurt. Pretty impressive by both boys.

I could tell by the look on his face that he thought: "Shheeesshhh where did that truck come from?"
Patrick hides pain pretty well, but that one shook him.

I could tell by the look on his face that he thought: "Shheeesshhh where did that truck come from?"
Patrick hides pain pretty well, but that one shook him.
Yes-that really shook him to his toes! You are right. As soon as he saw it was Beau he knew it carried no malice and the idea of retaliation evaporated.

I still want to see more self-belief when he finds himself in space. He is always wanting to give it off even when he is in a better position to kick a goal. He is a brilliant pick up. I love his demeanor on the field. A lay back assassin.

Fair point re looking to give it off. There were a couple of times on Friday night when Beau should have taken his chance on goal. He had time too, to look for another option. All part of his evolution. He’s a ripper player.

So much to be excited about from the whole game but Mccreery was a particular highlight. Like finding a free potato cake in with your minimum chips when low draft picks come good.

AFL Player Ratings from the game had him 3rd best on ground (Mitchell 2nd). Flawed as it is, it's a better guide than fantasy points.

For all the hype on JHF's game (warranted, he was BOG) his rating was 18.9, below Beau.

FWIW, OHenry rated 12.2 and Grundy 9.3 for the Dees (I wish him well but very happy with Titch).

1679374525364.png

So much to be excited about from the whole game but Mccreery was a particular highlight. Like finding a free potato cake in with your minimum chips when low draft picks come good.

AFL Player Ratings from the game had him 3rd best on ground (Mitchell 2nd). Flawed as it is, it's a better guide than fantasy points.

For all the hype on JHF's game (warranted, he was BOG) his rating was 18.9, below Beau.

FWIW, OHenry rated 12.2 and Grundy 9.3 for the Dees (I wish him well but very happy with Titch).

View attachment 1635639
Looking at those stats we had almost all the best players on the ground that night.We clearly should have won by a lot. more than 22 points.

As for Mcreery,I agree,that was his best game so far.He showed that he has a lot more to offer than just being a pressure forward.I hope he realises that too,and keeps developing his game.He could be something special.

View attachment 1635639
What are these player ratings?

Looking at those stats we had almost all the best players on the ground that night.We clearly should have won by a lot. more than 22 points.

As for Mcreery,I agree,that was his best game so far.He showed that he has a lot more to offer than just being a pressure forward.I hope he realises that too,and keeps developing his game.He could be something special.
Indeed we should. Geelong's exceptional accuracy made it look better for them than perhaps it was...

View attachment 1635639
How do the AFL rankings differ from the fantasy points? Looking at those examples I'm guessing they have some other metric that measures impact more than quantity of possessions.

Player Watch Beau McCreery