BFL Bellarine Football League 2018

It's Matthew Sproule, think it's his 3rd year coming up in 2016. I'm a Port man, but I can't see a lot of improvement to be honest. And I don't care what anyone says though, don't tell me every team is spending the same amount of money in 2016, the "salary cap" doesn't exist, in reality, because of under the table payments, payments to spouses and "in kind" payments made by some clubs, and because of this the bottom teams such as Port will never improve unfortunately.

Cheers footy man,
Is Matthew Sproule from Werribee/Hoppers Crossing?
Great area Port Arlington. Is it more about money coming in via sponsors etc maybe.
I'm from the Essendon area but how many people do you get to your games? Do Port have a good following?

Cheers footy man,
Is Matthew Sproule from Werribee/Hoppers Crossing?
Great area Port Arlington. Is it more about money coming in via sponsors etc maybe.
I'm from the Essendon area but how many people do you get to your games? Do Port have a good following?
Yes he played Werribee VFL, also coached Melton Sth, Ocean Grove and Modewarre. Our games are always well attended, with a great and loyal following. I'm a bit biased, but I think It's accepted we have the best ground surface, the best facilities, the best culture and the best town in the Geelong region.

Just a slight twinge of bias there Footyman. You might be stretching it saying Port has the best culture and is the best town. Each to their own though

Good point The Mailman32, just my opinion.

Also, why has AFL Barwon not yet released the 2016 BFL Fixture?

To Mr Lee Hartman and your staff, It's not that hard, It's a 10 team competition, and It's what you are paid very nicely to do. Clubs base there year around the fixture. Get the bloody fixture out, or just resign and get someone in there who can run the show competently. GDFL have had there's out for weeks.

Good point The Mailman32, just my opinion.

Also, why has AFL Barwon not yet released the 2016 BFL Fixture?

To Mr Lee Hartman and your staff, It's not that hard, It's a 10 team competition, and It's what you are paid very nicely to do. Clubs base there year around the fixture. Get the bloody fixture out, or just resign and get someone in there who can run the show competently. GDFL have had there's out for weeks.
Still 2 weeks away at this point..

I'm moving to South Geelong middle of January, what level of football is the BFL at?
I played in Melbourne for a little while, barely stayed a float Div 2 ressies.

I'm 23, half fit but normally played forward flank with the exception of having the odd run in centre.
I don't think I'm too far from Newcomb or Geelong Amatuer.

Any advice would be great.

I'm moving to South Geelong middle of January, what level of football is the BFL at?

I'm 23, half fit but normally played forward flank with the exception of having the odd run in centre.

GDFL might be better not sure how good div 2 ressies is there but thomson, east geelong places like that are close and less travel

Why is it that on any Big Footy forum in the State, ie every league, you can say, within reason, what you want? But as soon as you say 1 thing against the mighty Geelong Amatuer, it gets taken off, or you get a ban?? Do the moderators have an affiliation with this much loved club?

Just read that michael stevenson from ammos has signed at bannockburn. Not sure ive heard of him, what type of player should the competition expect? Did he play ones at ammos? Or should i say consistently because I did hear somewhere they have had 40-45 or so players go through their seniors last year or year before

Why is it that on any Big Footy forum in the State, ie every league, you can say, within reason, what you want? But as soon as you say 1 thing against the mighty Geelong Amatuer, it gets taken off, or you get a ban?? Do the moderators have an affiliation with this much loved club?
Haha would've loved to have read what got said about Ammos, the underachieving flogs...

Just read that michael stevenson from ammos has signed at bannockburn. Not sure ive heard of him, what type of player should the competition expect? Did he play ones at ammos? Or should i say consistently because I did hear somewhere they have had 40-45 or so players go through their seniors last year or year before
Haven't seen too much of him but was originally from Lara and played 1's there so should play seniors at Banno. Think he may be a key defender?

Yeh im not sure where he plays. So im assuming he played ones at ammos? Few token games out of lara the last year or two. But he wouldnt have been there last year obviously. Guess just wait and see

We're all entitled to an opinion but

1. Port has poor crowds
2. Ground surface is pretty good
3. Facilities are the equal worst in the league. Recent renovations have upgraded most clubs to an excellent standard except for Drysdale Port and Newcomb.
4. Best Culture? i suppose you have to be inside a club to fully gauge that, but it certainly isn't a winning culture. No finals for around 20 years?
5. Best town? Also only just below newcomb as the town with the highest unemployment and lowest socioeconomic status in the league. Also neighbouring St.Leonards has a huge ice problem and a high rate of murder!

We're all entitled to an opinion but

1. Port has poor crowds
2. Ground surface is pretty good
3. Facilities are the equal worst in the league. Recent renovations have upgraded most clubs to an excellent standard except for Drysdale Port and Newcomb.
4. Best Culture? i suppose you have to be inside a club to fully gauge that, but it certainly isn't a winning culture. No finals for around 20 years?
5. Best town? Also only just below newcomb as the town with the highest unemployment and lowest socioeconomic status in the league. Also neighbouring St.Leonards has a huge ice problem and a high rate of murder!

Ok apart from that though?

Buchanan has committed to playing with Ammos. Knocked back a big offer from Ovean Grove so watch Ammos roll out the old 'he's playing with his mates so the money's not important to him' line.
There may be some unusually high payments to some of their netballers next year.
Hopefully AFL Barwon are fair dinkum about policing the cap and points. We'll wait and see I suppose....

Ocean Grove don't mind splashing there cash for 1 or 2 big recruits every year do they. Hargraves - dud. Rooke - gun. Pity you can't win a flag of the back of one or two players.

Having said that Linton will be a superstar in the Bellarine next year. Early favourite for the league medal. Nice little sign on fee that he got from what I'm told too.

Ocean Grove don't mind splashing there cash for 1 or 2 big recruits every year do they. Hargraves - dud. Rooke - gun. Pity you can't win a flag of the back of one or two players.

Having said that Linton will be a superstar in the Bellarine next year. Early favourite for the league medal. Nice little sign on fee that he got from what I'm told too.

I am led to believe that you are not allowed to pay a sign on fee anymore! I'm sure the honourable Lee Hartman will have something to say about this?

Exactly right, sign on fees are now outlawed

But of course AFL Barwon wouldn't take a look

Well known around local footy circles Drysdale are offering big sign on fees as well. Torquay are allegedly offering players resort accommodation for every home game, a "sponsorship" that will not be mentioned in any salary cap figures.

And how does a club like Drysdale with such a huge junior setup get allocated extra points in the new points system? If the 1 point locals are not progressing to senior football it is purely mismanagement and poor development.

Well known around local footy circles Drysdale are offering big sign on fees as well. Torquay are allegedly offering players resort accommodation for every home game, a "sponsorship" that will not be mentioned in any salary cap figures.

And how does a club like Drysdale with such a huge junior setup get allocated extra points in the new points system? If the 1 point locals are not progressing to senior football it is purely mismanagement and poor development.
How does recruiting 6 GFL players like Queenscliff have done 'improve junior pathways' as Lee Hartman is quoted???? And they get an extra 2 points to fit them in. This team would have been playing finals if they won the last game this year....