BFL Bellarine Football League 2018

Everything seems pretty quiet at the moment douglas86. Except down on the surf coast. I don't like the way AFL Barwon have nurtured the new Suns team, make them work a bit harder to establish themselves I reckon, but what are Torquay whingeing about? They already won the battle to keep Jan Juc juniors out a few years ago. They have 450 participating juniors, and with an ever growing population, surely the town can cope with 2 teams. What did Torquay think was going to happen, when 90% of the 75 Auskickers at Nth Torquay last year lived out there in new estates (Addy Stats), and they have an oval and infrastructure ready to go. Maybe Torquay can now sympathise with other teams eg. Thomson, E Geelong, St Albans and Newcomb in the same area all trying to get juniors. Portarlington, Drysdale and Queenscliff, in the same area. These teams have battled on like this for years, and although they've all had a few down times, they survive. Live with it tigers.

Sorry for butting in as I am a GDFL follower but I posted this last week on our site, interested in the comments from our fellow Bellarine mates on what you think as apart from Torquay and Ammos oh Ocean Grove some of your clubs must struggle for juniors like some of ours, cheers.

Speaking of Football Geelong and how they police things this year I just noticed a 1/4 page advertisement in todays addy promoting and calling on players and volunteers for the second junior team in Torquay - the Suns under 9s, 10s, 11s. What are they doing do help the smaller clubs that need juniors, especially the GDFL clubs with larger clubs in the area? Answer - nothing, their job should be to promote junior football fairly and evenly around the entire region. I am only using Belmont as an example but we try hard to build the juniors but always lose kids and families, especially the better players to South Barwon and Grovedale who have multiple multiple under 10, 12, 14, 16s. I think they have like 4 or 5 teams of under 10s and 12s. I am sure East, Thomson, West, BPH etc are in similar positions. Anyone else agree or want to add an opinion as this is a pretty important topic, especially with points affecting clubs in the future.

Sorry for butting in as I am a GDFL follower but I posted this last week on our site, interested in the comments from our fellow Bellarine mates on what you think as apart from Torquay and Ammos oh Ocean Grove some of your clubs must struggle for juniors like some of ours, cheers.

Speaking of Football Geelong and how they police things this year I just noticed a 1/4 page advertisement in todays addy promoting and calling on players and volunteers for the second junior team in Torquay - the Suns under 9s, 10s, 11s. What are they doing do help the smaller clubs that need juniors, especially the GDFL clubs with larger clubs in the area? Answer - nothing, their job should be to promote junior football fairly and evenly around the entire region. I am only using Belmont as an example but we try hard to build the juniors but always lose kids and families, especially the better players to South Barwon and Grovedale who have multiple multiple under 10, 12, 14, 16s. I think they have like 4 or 5 teams of under 10s and 12s. I am sure East, Thomson, West, BPH etc are in similar positions. Anyone else agree or want to add an opinion as this is a pretty important topic, especially with points affecting clubs in the future.
Everyone welcome on each site Punchy, welcome aboard.
I agree with what you say 100% with the Suns and AFL Barwon. Just can't see how Torquay can complain. They don't know what it's like to struggle.

I'm not too sure what AFL Barwon could do to get more juniors to these clubs you speak of, personally I think it all comes down to demographics, and the problem is, in regards to BFL, is that your Torquay's, OG's, Ammos and even Drysdale are going to become stronger through their juniors, with population growth, which in turn should lead to stronger senior teams. My personal opinion, having played juniors and BFL (a while back now), is that these stronger teams aren't really cashing in on their junior numbers, what I've noticed is that plenty of gun juniors just don't go on to senior footy with these stronger clubs, a lot of them just give the game up, or move away for uni etc, I'm not sure. Then these stronger clubs (both financially and population) ca$h in on recruits ( a la Ammos, Torquay etc). It's just my observation, but these teams could keep these kids and build around them, instead of having to fork out loads of $$ on the big recruits... I guess if you've got the money why not spend it? Must say it always makes me happy when a true 'small town' club upstages the perennial finalists on GF day.

While Torquay sook about losing a few junior players, and they have around 350. They need to look at what will potentially happen to Newcomb. GDFL has announced that all juniors in the GDFL will get free membership next season. So who do you think parents will send there kids to in that area, with free memberships available with neighbouring teams Thomson and East Geelong. After all the hard work that Newcomb committee put in to rebuild junior teams and colts in the last year. They have a reason to be upset, not the rich and famous and overcrowded Torquay Tigers.

Newcomb have done the hard work that other clubs haven't

The GDFL aren't covering all junior memberships just a limited number of Auskick and net set go for each club. A good investment in their clubs junior programs all the same they all need whatever help they can get

Presidents from all 3 leagues apparently meeting up this week eye the proposed competition restructure (BFL on Thursday).
Could there be a similar situation to the Casey Cardinia League breaking away from MPNFL last year? Not sure if their commission structure is the same as AFL Barwon but an interesting precedent....

I reckon that will serve them well, money is a quick fix and people are happy to pay if it is a good program
Your joking right? If not then you've obviously have never had a role in junior footy and dealt with parents.

The GDFL aren't covering all junior memberships just a limited number of Auskick and net set go for each club. A good investment in their clubs junior programs all the same they all need whatever help they can get
Yes they are, suggest you read the story before you post.

My apologies footyman my response was based on news I heard from the delegates meeting before the article came out. Good on the GDFL for actively supporting their own clubs junior programs as opposed to AFL Barwon trying to force their member clubs into a direction they really don't want to go!

What salary cap?

Salary Cap and Point system???? Its a joke, see below on Krock footy, I wouldnt want to be picking Torquays team on a Thursday night. Ammo V Tigers GF, lock it in, I feel for some of the other clubs. And I may add same thing in GFL and GDFL, rich get richer, poor get poorer.

IF Torquay was keen to add some big-game experience to its list as it looks to end a 10-year premiership drought then is hasn’t gone wrong with its two latest signings.

Ben Kennedy returns home after six seasons with Bell Park, which yielded 103 games and the 2011 premiership.

Fellow former Dragon Jarrod Thompson has joined him at Spring Creek Reserve.
Tigers coach Dom Gleeson says Thompson, who has represented Vic Country on numerous occasions, will hold down a key defensive post.

Salary Cap and Point system???? Its a joke, see below on Krock footy, I wouldnt want to be picking Torquays team on a Thursday night. Ammo V Tigers GF, lock it in, I feel for some of the other clubs. And I may add same thing in GFL and GDFL, rich get richer, poor get poorer.

IF Torquay was keen to add some big-game experience to its list as it looks to end a 10-year premiership drought then is hasn’t gone wrong with its two latest signings.

Ben Kennedy returns home after six seasons with Bell Park, which yielded 103 games and the 2011 premiership.

Fellow former Dragon Jarrod Thompson has joined him at Spring Creek Reserve.
Tigers coach Dom Gleeson says Thompson, who has represented Vic Country on numerous occasions, will hold down a key defensive post.
There's only some people on here who understand the whole scenario, re: the future of all footy in Geelong at our grassroots level, DOUGLAS86 you do, SENIOR VS JUNIOR, you don't. EOS.

Exactly what don't I understand footyman? And if you have the balls why don't you disclose which team/league you are actually associated with?

What is the problem with AFL Barwon overseeing both GFL and BFL as it currently does and the GDFL taking care of itself?

The GDFL which currently owns Buckleys and another major gaming venue in Warrnambool have invested far too much time and money to even consider joining the proposed restructure of football in Geelong, and as the decision will be made on behalf of the league by the clubs themselves, there is not a chance in hell of the proposal going ahead (GDFL anyway).

Footyman, 2 posts prior to this you stated that Torquay had 450 juniors participating but now you say 350.
Please get your facts right before posting. Likewise with your comments in the GDFL forum.

So anyone who disagrees with your opinion don't understand? Got it.
Ah, Powersaur, I actually agreed with everything you said. Love Newcomb and all they stand for. Please re read carefully and get back to me. Thanks.

Exactly what don't I understand footyman? And if you have the balls why don't you disclose which team/league you are actually associated with?

What is the problem with AFL Barwon overseeing both GFL and BFL as it currently does and the GDFL taking care of itself?

The GDFL which currently owns Buckleys and another major gaming venue in Warrnambool have invested far too much time and money to even consider joining the proposed restructure of football in Geelong, and as the decision will be made on behalf of the league by the clubs themselves, there is not a chance in hell of the proposal going ahead (GDFL anyway).
I'm Portarlington, that's BFL, soon to become GFL Division 3 or 4, that's common knowledge, apparently you've read all my posts as you said, you would have worked that out, its not a secret, What's your team?? Its not my decision that AFL Barwon will take over GDFL, its just going to happen, whether you like it or not. I'm a realist, you aren't. Move on.

So what would your thoughts be then (if relegation takes place) when you have to drop $40k of your salary cap?
How would that affect your club which is already struggling to attract players?
I bet all the players that have no connection to the history and fabric of the footy club walk!
Where will that leave you then?
Once you go down you won't be going back up any time soon.
Leave it how it is, keep the tradition of the three leagues going, introduce the salary cap and points system but leave the three leagues alone. To think the new Torquay side will start of in Div 4 as outlined by AFL Barwon is a disgrace. They should be part of the BFL.

So what would your thoughts be then (if relegation takes place) when you have to drop $40k of your salary cap?
How would that affect your club which is already struggling to attract players?
I bet all the players that have no connection to the history and fabric of the footy club walk!
Where will that leave you then?
Once you go down you won't be going back up any time soon.
Leave it how it is, keep the tradition of the three leagues going, introduce the salary cap and points system but leave the three leagues alone. To think the new Torquay side will start of in Div 4 as outlined by AFL Barwon is a disgrace. They should be part of the BFL.
Agree 100%. What's your team?

Your joking right? If not then you've obviously have never had a role in junior footy and dealt with parents.
Money is not everything, after talking to sources at Newcomb, East and Thomson, I think you will find Newcomb well ahead in Junior Structure and it has nothing to do with free memberships

We'll see, once the parents realise what's happening. Hope it works out for Newcomb. Senior vs Junior's gone quiet!!

I think your doubting the effort Newcomb are putting in
You really are a Princess. I having nothing but praise for the Newcomb Junior set up and what they've done over the last 2 years. Read other people's full post's before you post Princess.

Last edited by a moderator: