BFL Bellarine Football League 2018

I'd like to be the first to congratulate Torquay, despite recruiting a bevy of high profile players in the off season, to cleverly leave enough room in their salary cap to fit in Scott Hughes at round 5. Well done. Great for club bonding at torquay that every home game there is a row of rooms at the sands booked out for new players. I wouldn't want to be in a hotel room next to a torquay player though, not much sleep, they're still squealing about the Grand Final!
What an ANZAC DAY match we had at Drysdale today, it had absolutely everything. Large crowd, 25 degrees warmth, a few blues on the field, it was close all day, and a very, very tough match. It went right down to the wire. Oh yeah, and a win to the mighty Demons (but grudgingly credit to the Hawks also), it was a real old fashioned heart stopper.

I'd like to be the first to congratulate Torquay, despite recruiting a bevy of high profile players in the off season, to cleverly leave enough room in their salary cap to fit in Scott Hughes at round 5. Well done. Great for club bonding at torquay that every home game there is a row of rooms at the sands booked out for new players. I wouldn't want to be in a hotel room next to a torquay player though, not much sleep, they're still squealing about the Grand Final!

I dont think its illegal to give players accommodation is it?

And with the salary cap, pretty sure most clubs pay players per game so they wouldn't be breaking the cap at this point in time. If they get close towards the end of the year then they might have to be careful

Grubberjim,

I hear OG have James Linton on a nice LARGE package also?

Care to fill us in?

email confirmation this morning from AFL Barwon advising that any accomodation MUST. Be included in the salary cap

Let's hope the Torquay boys aren't being checked in under their own names..

If they were providing free accommodation & if the league were serious, then they would be caught by now.

But as i said they have until the end of the year until they break the salary cap

Was a ripping day, as a Drysdale person, absolutely shattered with the result, we should never lose with 10 more shots on goal, lucky next game is only 6 weeks away!! See you at boat rd
Should be another close one. As a demon, I'd say that the 10 more missed shots were caused by our great defensive pressure.

They can't catch them for breaking the salary cap until it happens, but AFL Barwon is treating accomodation costs as match payments, so unless Torquay aren't paying anywhere the rest of the league, then they will hit tipping point *if* the rumours about accomodation is true

They are very serious, as clubs have been warned about it again this week
Anyone know what's happened between Torquay and Modda to cause such angst? Last weeks match, and then last year when Finch copped a broken arm amongst other serious injuries. Some sort of history there or what? I see Driscoll involved again, he's a troublemaker for Modda.

First reply on here on accusations of salary cap cheating is always another accusation!!
Anyone know what's happened between Torquay and Modda to cause such angst? Last weeks match, and then last year when Finch copped a broken arm amongst other serious injuries. Some sort of history there or what? I see Driscoll involved again, he's a troublemaker for Modda.[/QUOTE

Whispers around the traps is Modda was out for payback from Finch getting his arm broken!!! 6 weeks for a sling tackle seems well over the top.

Anyone prepared to write off Torquay's season yet?

Pretty disappointing start so far but I personally think they will play a major role come finals time...

Anyone prepared to write off Torquay's season yet?

Pretty disappointing start so far but I personally think they will play a major role come finals time...

When you have the players they do i think they will be a player in the finals series, probably wont win it but should get atleast to a 2nd final

When the team starts playing well Hughes will kick bags

Sprout getting the chop from Portarlington is a surprise isn't it? He must of upset someone on the committee as I thought Port were tracking ok.
Judging by the scoreboard they were in the game against Torquay on the weekend and had a lead at 3 qtr against Barwon Heads a few weeks back.
Recruiting Kellett was a big mistake in my opinion but there has to be more to the story.

Sprout getting the chop from Portarlington is a surprise isn't it? He must of upset someone on the committee as I thought Port were tracking ok.
Judging by the scoreboard they were in the game against Torquay on the weekend and had a lead at 3 qtr against Barwon Heads a few weeks back.
Recruiting Kellett was a big mistake in my opinion but there has to be more to the story.

Lost the players, captain walked out preseason due to Sprouley's attitude and methods as well, blokes left preseason only returning to play 2's only so they can avoid him.. Place is imploding!!

Anyone got more insight as to how he coaches? he must be a poor coach if he keeps getting sacked when looking at results it seems he isnt doing the worst job.

is he an aggressive coach as in yelling at his players all the time?

A coach leaving hardly means that a club is imploding wilsons2015, and I'm actually surprised that an ordinary ressies player like you knows such big words. He made Drysdale his bunny team at least, and outcoached Fitzgerald and Chapman for the last 3 in a row.

Nice you know who I am

Why isn't Rhys playing at port anymore? Why are supporters and players pretty chuffed with this decision?

Who hasn't made Dale their bunnies last few years, main reason I left! But they are on the right track with the right people running things, port bring in sproule and ripping blokes like weir and kellett, and falling apart already!!

Nice you know who I am

Why isn't Rhys playing at port anymore? Why are supporters and players pretty chuffed with this decision?

Who hasn't made Dale their bunnies last few years, main reason I left! But they are on the right track with the right people running things, port bring in sproule and ripping blokes like weir and kellett, and falling apart already!!
Rhys has had a bad arm injury, which affects his livelihood o/s of footy. Weirs having a great season, Kellett's a dud. Where's Drysdale's pre season captain gone? Oh that's right cheating on teammates wasn't he, that's on the right track is it? I'd say you left Dale because you are actually no good, same reason u left Port????

A coach leaving hardly means that a club is imploding wilsons2015, and I'm actually surprised that an ordinary ressies player like you knows such big words. He made Drysdale his bunny team at least, and outcoached Fitzgerald and Chapman for the last 3 in a row.
Saw Sproule's tweet on the addy website and just had to come back on here and see how my mate footyman is doing?!

Sacking the coach after round 8 isn't a great sign for a club going through a re-building phase. A phase that is approaching its second decade...

Interesting that someone makes a brutally honest call about Portarlington and you respond by delivering a personal insult? You've slotted your fair share of clubs when they've been down on their luck so now it's your turn to take your medicine footyboy!

Saw Sproule's tweet on the addy website and just had to come back on here and see how my mate footyman is doing?!

Sacking the coach after round 8 isn't a great sign for a club going through a re-building phase. A phase that is approaching its second decade...

Interesting that someone makes a brutally honest call about Portarlington and you respond by delivering a personal insult? You've slotted your fair share of clubs when they've been down on their luck so now it's your turn to take your medicine footyboy!
I don't reckon Sproule's comments after the Anglesea game would have helped his cause with the players or the committee either.

Gidday FALSENINE, good to have u back. How was rehab anyway? As usual you have no footy based opinions, you just use other peoples post's to bring up the past, because you don't have any ideas of your own. Who do you follow anyway Mr Fence Sitter??

Nothing worse than a spineless footy club and it looks like port have answered the roll call again. Blind freddy can see Sproule took on the worse toughest job in the region and to actually get them competitive nether lone win without breaking the bank is an amazing effort, and clearly those that run that club have no clue the effort he would have had to go to or understand the garbage he would have had to told potential players to get them even interested in the place. Hold your head up high Sproule, higher than those 'experts' that have passed judgement on you. Disgrace!

Matthew..

Is it true you told Libba to go the punch vs Anglesea and the club found out?

Cheers

BIgFooty

From the outside looking in, I'd have to say it's a proactive move by Port giving Sproule the flick now and not at the end of the season. By the looks of it there's obviously a few disgruntled players and when that's the case you know it's only a matter of time before the coach is shown the door. As good a job as he's done, the club need to retain their playing group they have now otherwise risk the players walking out.