Ben Cousins

Re: Commisserations about Ben

I know you must have mixed emotions when, through no fault of your own, you lost a favourite son. So I can imagine how you feel with him going to another club.

Be great to have some of you take Richmond on as a second club.

We have your state colours, we've got Ben and Morton lol, so it will almost feel like home.

Well, I know I'm fishing, but you'd be more than welcome.

There's nothing like going to Tiger games when we're on a roll, so you'd be jumping on a great bandwagon.

I'm so looking forward to the Carlton game. If you wanna see him play, I reckon this will be a sell out and you'll only get in with a membership :D

I remember following the Eagles when they first came into the comp, and I was fortunate enough to be there when they won their first couple of GFs, so I feel an affinity with the Eagles.

Hopefully, those who support Ben will still enjoy seeing him play.

Cheers
To be honest I usually will barrack for Richmond if they are playing and WCE isn't.

Every supporter deserves to see their team at least make finals.. (except Blues supporters)

Great to see him given another shot. I hope he plays well, even against us, as long as we win the game of course.

It's different with Cuz to Judd. I hope Judd sucks and never wins a thing with Carlton. But I wish Cuzzy all the best. He may be pulling on a Tigers guerney next season but you know in his heart, he would rather be wearing blue and gold.
Exactly.

Judd won a premiership with us and then as captain decided to fck off for more money and show boat himself around melbourne like he was the Michael Jordan of the AFL. Cousins would rather be playing with the Eagles but he made mistakes and now has to play out the rest of his career elsewhere.

Cousins will be much more welcome back to West Coast once his playing days are over than Judd. I get the feeling even when Judd retires he will make little effort to get along to West Coast functions such as premiership reunions, etc. That day he held the cup aloft with Worsfold and barely managed a smile - opposition supporters had a crack at us, and i knew they were right but just didnt want to admit it. Judd couldnt care less about the Eagles jumper. Just wants his personal glory.

I have mixed emotions. Rapt that Ben has been given another chance to play - but sad that he will do so in another team's colours. However of all the other teams, I am glad that Richmond is the team he will be with. I have always had a soft spot for the Tigers and now they will definately be my second team. I hope the Tiger army takes Ben to their hearts like we did. They have gained a champion player who will lead from the front both at training and on the field. He will give 100% in everything he does. I can't imagine the pain I would have felt if I had seen him in a Carlton or Essendon jumper ( both cheating scum) of Collingwood ( favoured sons). I will watch every Richmond game I can and hope Ben gets them into the finals in 2009 - hopefully at the expense of Carlton and Juddas. I would never boo Ben but wish nothing but bad things for Juddas.

Do you reckon one day cuz will come back after his playing career is over and maybe do something with the eagles, i dont mean the head coach but maybe midfield coach or something to do with the west coast eagles footy club, or do you reckon he might go into the media and do something there.

I wouldn't think so, but you never know...

I love this thread!!

Agreee with everyone...
Luv CUz...hope he helps Richmond win a premiership for the mighty Richo!!!

I like this thread coz all of us LUV the Cuz, and we all think with our heart instead of other threads where ppl are like "Ben cousins is dead to me', and "hes a druggie and stuff". Tell those ppl to get f**ked.

Im in Melbourne, so Il renew my eagles mebership and pop down to Tigerland and get a Richmond membership too =)

Ben was a champion for the eagles I am sorry that he is not at the eagles anymore but very happy that he has come to my club.yer sure he made a lot of mistakes outside footy but I believe he can still make ammends.
As for the WCE you will comeback as the eagles have some great young talent.:thumbsu:

I'm sorry, but I don't get all this Cousins' love :confused:. Yes he was a great player for the Eagles but he was also the one who just about single handedly brought down the club and you all sit there defending him. :confused:

I know there's a large amount of lovable larrikin in Cousins and that must be why everyone is so angry at everyone else but the guy who caused it.

Now that's off my chest I still did enjoy watching the 2006 First Semi v the Bulldogs where the Judd and Cousins tore them apart, but those times are gone people, time to move on to the new breed and see what they can do.

Legend.....legend ....legend.

Thats all i have to say about Cuz .Sure he ****ed up in a major way but football wise he was a legend player .

Chrsco..... Ben F**ked up yes we all know that but for god sake the kid is a champion and yes champions do make big mistakes in their life but Ben will go down as an Eagle legend ( well in my book ) and I for one will look beyond the hoo ha over Ben the drug addict.
The things that gets up my nose is that he was never caught be the AFL and there are players who are still playing today whom have been caught but are being protected :mad::mad:F**k the AFL nobs....

BEN YOU ARE A STAR MATE F**K what people say.

The things that get up my nose

image-of-cocaine.jpg

I'm sorry, but I don't get all this Cousins' love :confused:. Yes he was a great player for the Eagles but he was also the one who just about single handedly brought down the club and you all sit there defending him. :confused:

I know there's a large amount of lovable larrikin in Cousins and that must be why everyone is so angry at everyone else but the guy who caused it.

Now that's off my chest I still did enjoy watching the 2006 First Semi v the Bulldogs where the Judd and Cousins tore them apart, but those times are gone people, time to move on to the new breed and see what they can do.

Your right people should build a bridge and get over it.

It would be interesting to see how Cuz would have been remembered if we had lost our draft picks, look how far it set back Carlton.

We didn't lose those draft pics, so no harm done apart from the hiding we took from everyone in and out of the media for 12 months. I won't miss that.

Chrsco..... Ben F**ked up yes we all know that but for god sake the kid is a champion and yes champions do make big mistakes in their life but Ben will go down as an Eagle legend ( well in my book ) and I for one will look beyond the hoo ha over Ben the drug addict.
The things that gets up my nose is that he was never caught be the AFL and there are players who are still playing today whom have been caught but are being protected :mad::mad:F**k the AFL nobs....

BEN YOU ARE A STAR MATE F**K what people say.

Sorry E4M, but that's exactly the attitude I don't understand. You are one of the biggest critics of Worsfold and wanting him removed, yet this bloke, who just about bought our club to it's knees you wanted back. :confused:
Remember, losing him (and the other bloke) also screwed Worsfold's game plan, which had proven successful to that point, whether anyone likes it or not.

Now, he is a star and may be again, I don't know, but we wouldn't have these young kids if we had kept him and he kept screwing up. Remember, perception is reality, and the media (and AFL) sure made it look like he screwed up larger than any other.

I agree with your final sentiments though, it's a travesty that he has been singled out, simply because he was punished by the club and the explanation as to why had to be aired for all to see.

Sorry E4M, but that's exactly the attitude I don't understand. You are one of the biggest critics of Worsfold and wanting him removed, yet this bloke, who just about bought our club to it's knees you wanted back. :confused:
Remember, losing him (and the other bloke) also screwed Worsfold's game plan, which had proven successful to that point, whether anyone likes it or not.

Now, he is a star and may be again, I don't know, but we wouldn't have these young kids if we had kept him and he kept screwing up. Remember, perception is reality, and the media (and AFL) sure made it look like he screwed up larger than any other.

I agree with your final sentiments though, it's a travesty that he has been singled out, simply because he was punished by the club and the explanation as to why had to be aired for all to see.

I'm sorry Chrsco I have never wanted Woosha sacked lets get that straight , yes I have been a big critic of Woosha only towards his game plan it needs to change which Woosha has never been able to do but with a change in the coaches box we may just see come to fruition , talk about tunnel vision......:eek:

Mate I love your work on BF but we may be divided on this issue of Cousins but hey that's what it all about.

I'm sorry Chrsco I have never wanted Woosha sacked lets get that straight , yes I have been a big critic of Woosha only towards his game plan it needs to change which Woosha has never been able to do but with a change in the coaches box we may just see come to fruition , talk about tunnel vision......:eek:

Mate I love your work on BF but we may be divided on this issue of Cousins but hey that's what it all about.

Sorry E4M, not meaning to be hostile towards you, as it seems to have come across, but I genuinely don't understand the Cousins' love. I liked him as a player and enjoyed watching him ply his trade, but what he put the club through.......

The other part I am sore about is that Richmond are able to pick up a 4 times AA player, for nix and they cry and wail like they were robbed by not allowing Polak to go off the main list, all so they could have Cousins and whoever else they wanted. FFS, they got a bona fide champion player for nix and in all of this the Eagles got stitched up by being forced to ditch him for nothing.

I will enjoy watching Cousins play again but I won't be supporting Richmond in any of it.

Ben Cousins