Ben Ronke

I thought he just gave the usual ‘yeah nah I just try to base my game on pressure and tackling and if the goals come it’s akways a bonus but I was just trying to play my role for the team and full credit to Hawthorn we know they’re a great club so we were always going to have to put in a four quarter effort and yeah nah it was just great to get the four points’.

But I only saw the Richo interview on the ground.
That was pretty much the size of it, but you’re being very unfair, because contrary to what you wrote, he didn’t say “yeah nah” once. And that to me that instantly puts him in a super-elite category of footballer.

What are the knocks on him? Good goal sense, decent speed, a really decent tackler and seems reasonable in traffic too. Exactly the kind of player you want to recruit - especially in this day and age.
Was doing it at the Cannons but wasw overlooked about 90 times in the ND & RD before the Swans pounced on yet another rookie gem. We always do well with rookies but Swans are another level again. A mate pointed out in a recent game they fielded 12 former rookies, go figure!

Ronke got his goals through sheer hard work, pace, strength and footy smarts. That's a winning combination, may never kick 7 again but looks to be a player of substance.

First game v Geelong the commentators were calling him Ronki.

Last night it was Ronk. Then post game Horse called him Ronki.

Did Dane Rampe ever have this issue?
The Rampe is too cool for such confusion.
As for the young fella, I’m going with Honky Tonk from now on.

Awesome to see a young fella work hard and put in a stellar performance at a young age early on in his career.

Bloody exciting.

Hurts me to say it because of who it was against, but his effort last night was brilliant, what a gem.

7 goals is 7 goals, but I bet my arse Horse would have been even more impressed by his effort than his output, 10 tackles from a 3rd gamer (not to mention his pressure and tackle breaking ability with ball in hand) or however many he has played, in a big game, is something to hang your hat on.

Well played kid.

Further, the fact that two of those tackles nailed Burgoyne HTB inside 50 is even more impressive. Not many players can say they've done that before!

Even as a Hawks fan on the receiving end.... he was fantastic. Very very exciting prospect for the Swans.
If he can maintain anything close to that the guy is going to be a genuine gun, cut from the same cloth as Robbie Gray.

Further, the fact that two of those tackles nailed Burgoyne HTB inside 50 is even more impressive. Not many players can say they've done that before!

Being picky, but only one of the HTB frees against Burgoyne that led to a goal was a Ronke tackle. The other was Hewett (I think) and Ronke scored from a play on (taking the "advantage").

Rupert Wills had 11, 8, 12 and 10 tackles in his first 4 games for Collingwood but no 7 goal games amongst them :straining:

Ben Ronke