Benalla & District Part 2

I dont want to bring this up again, but if you dont think what some players did out there was a "dog act" what would you call it?
What was your reason for leaving a struggling club in the lurch just before the season started?
Were you one of the guys who left because the club couldnt afford to pay its well over payed players, or one who left because the coach left? Either way, if you are offended, how do you think the guys out there that are playing for nothing but the club, the team and the jumper felt?:([/quote]

The only "dog act" to occur out there was in the way the senior coach was treated, executive committee members made a decison to reduce his pay by more than 50% from what he recieved in 2008 due to alleged financial restraints the club apparently were facing... yet at the same executives were going behind the senior coach's back and offering the assistant coach at the time the full amount ( if not more ) than the senior coach was paid in 2008. So, so much for the financial restraints.... It was obviously a personal issue ( most likely not even football related) the executives had with the senior coach, I left because i did not agree with the treatment the senior coach received...

There was no need for all the BS that went on, very frustrating and alot of mistruths being spoken. I know if Greg had of coached the core group of players would have stayed and the club would not find itself in the position that they are in now, because from what i saw of Longwood and Goorambat this year, Tatong would have been more than competetive with them!

Unfortunantly whats happend has happend, and im happy the club now had the appropriate people in place the lead the charge for the future, its going to be a struggle and at the end of the day it will be the VCFL to decide the clubs fate, fingers, toes and everything else are crossed

I dont want to bring this up again, but if you dont think what some players did out there was a "dog act" what would you call it?
What was your reason for leaving a struggling club in the lurch just before the season started?
Were you one of the guys who left because the club couldnt afford to pay its well over payed players, or one who left because the coach left? Either way, if you are offended, how do you think the guys out there that are playing for nothing but the club, the team and the jumper felt?:(

The only "dog act" to occur out there was in the way the senior coach was treated, executive committee members made a decison to reduce his pay by more than 50% from what he recieved in 2008 due to alleged financial restraints the club apparently were facing... yet at the same executives were going behind the senior coach's back and offering the assistant coach at the time the full amount ( if not more ) than the senior coach was paid in 2008. So, so much for the financial restraints.... It was obviously a personal issue ( most likely not even football related) the executives had with the senior coach, I left because i did not agree with the treatment the senior coach received...

There was no need for all the BS that went on, very frustrating and alot of mistruths being spoken. I know if Greg had of coached the core group of players would have stayed and the club would not find itself in the position that they are in now, because from what i saw of Longwood and Goorambat this year, Tatong would have been more than competetive with them!

Unfortunantly whats happend has happend, and im happy the club now had the appropriate people in place the lead the charge for the future, its going to be a struggle and at the end of the day it will be the VCFL to decide the clubs fate, fingers, toes and everything else are crossed[/quote]

Go the prong

All the best to the teams playing off in tomorrows big on!!
My money is on the bats to win in a close one......I bloody hope they do anyway!
In the seniors I hope Doon beat Swanpool, they should and it should be a thumping.........feels kind of weird barracking for Doon, but all the best to em.

All the best to the teams playing off in tomorrows big on!!
My money is on the bats to win in a close one......I bloody hope they do anyway!
In the seniors I hope Doon beat Swanpool, they should and it should be a thumping.........feels kind of weird barracking for Doon, but all the best to em.
G'day Kit Kat .. Got a feeling you might have too much "malt" in the mix, supporting the Money Doon for the ones.
For mine it's the Batters to win in the twos but don't ever give any credibility to Monet Doon .. for arts sake!
Even if you discount the rumoured player payments of $50k per season for ’08 and ’09 by 50% it is still far and away removed from what “district” players should be paid! Let alone what the tax man should know!
Speaking of Shrek, from a land far, far away .. I’ll be interested to see how the Dollar Doon fare in the YV League.
Last 2 years I’ve upset the apple cart to ask if they are still getting the funds from Lara .. that’s a place down near Geelong on the road to Bacchus Marsh .. if you get my drift.
Let alone the commitment and legal challenges of their off field staff. Que?
My wish is that Swanpool deny the money grubbers another “purchased” premiership.
My wish is that VCFL now pull their fingers out. They have now extinguished the Benalla League as a corporate removal of a cost of a pimple on a wart.
My wish is that they now come forward with their promise of a future for footy in small country towns!
I’ll be their Sunday .. quietly watching the end of BDFNL .. but I’ll have a bag of RED tomatoes if anyone from the VCFL has any condescending word on the microphone to say!!
From now on, just let us get on with our own business .. and if money is the success for Doon then good luck to future of small town footy. ‘Cos the non-corporates won’t buy it!
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:

all the best to the teams playing off in tomorrows big on!!
My money is on the bats to win in a close one......i bloody hope they do anyway!
In the seniors i hope doon beat swanpool, they should and it should be a thumping.........feels kind of weird barracking for doon, but all the best to em.
wtf!!!!!!!!!!

G’day Dodgie .. Settle now! Don’t have one of those :eek:heart attacks!!
The Kit Kat is a man who has been out there on the ground this year but doesn’t fully know the recent history of the Doonmerchants impact on the lack of competitiveness in the BDFL which has contributed markedly to the demise of the league. Admittedly, they used the excuse to set themselves up to go to the YV League .. then pointed the finger at the Redlegs for wanting to leave back in ‘07.
For my part, Batters 2’s are deserved contenders for tomorrow’s flag but I’ll have to have a quiet beer with the Kit Kat about any support for the DOONMSAYERS!
Like when they had an oops moment at Redlegs Stadium on 07 July, 2007 in the last quarter when the line up was called and they had 19 players on the ground .. erh sorry bout that.
Resulting stripping on the scoreboard to lose the game also resulted in head high sniping from Doon which blokes like Paulkes and Varcs will testify was ..”not very nice”.
Of course the money spent in those last three seasons has generated a complete disrespect from myself ..so I wish the best of worse fortune to the Mountain men and for cripes sake .. when the BDFL post the score on the net .. GET IT RIGHT!! Especially if the Swannies finally reap a reward for their rebuilding in the noughties.
Cheers
John Carrot

wtf!!!!!!!!!!
And for the non believers .. this was in the footy record OTB in 07!:thumbsu:

WHO LET THE DOGS OUT … WHO .. WHO!
Longwood’s annual battle for the Ian “Chisa” Hamilton Cup against Bonnie Doon at Redlegs Stadium ended with climax and theatre 16 minutes into the last quarter, when a line-up was called and the count revealed 19 Bulldogs players on the field.

There was concern on the numbers during the previous quarter and after the count the Bulldogs score of 15.12 (102), to the Redlegs 5.8 (38), was struck from the scoreboard.
The final margin of 40 points to Longwood gave them the match.
Unfortunately, a great game became spiteful after the decision with two Bonnie Doon players reported.
However .. as all cricketers know. Hit the ball on to the pads to be given out LBW, or hit the ground to be given out caught behind .. by the time you look at the scorebook you are still out.
Doon showed great form and controlled the match with a more physical style all day but the Longwood runners couldn’t click and skill errors were high by the Leggers.
But the rules are the rules. In no way is it suggested that the error was a deliberate ploy, however it was a grave lapse in concentration by the Bulldogs bench with their in-attention to interchanges.
The form by Adam Larkins this year is tremendous. “Snags” has done the hard yards to overcome injury and his will to run all day to win BoG was an inspiration to his team mates and the large crowd in attendance for the Club’s reunion.
Brendan Vercoe was under a fitness cloud for the match but still gave his normal stoic display while Brian Morris is another to pound the beat. “Mozza’s” talent once he grabs that Sherrin is masterful. Great kicking on the run and top vision for perfect passes.
Mister Consistent, Jay “Grievous” Kubiel was a winner as well, not afraid to match it in the clashes with the Doggies, while Jason Webb also had strength as a winner in the ruck. Captain, Scott Paulke, tolerated the usual tagging attention his talent draws, however was carried unconscious from the ground ten minutes before the final siren.
Ben Tanner, from Bonnie Doon, was ordered from the field by the umpire at the same time.
“Polks” was shaken but not stirred and recovered sufficiently to receive the Ian “Chisa” Hamilton Cup in the post-match presentation from the late president’s wife, Jean Hamilton. Jean was again pleased to honour her husband’s memory through the Longwood Club and also thanked the Bonnie Doon Football Club for their continued participation in the event.

well done to Bonnie Doon, especially to both Chris and Tyrell Dunne who have endured a bloody tough fortnight after losing their dad and bidding farewell to him on Friday - I reckon Ray Dunne woulda been the proudest man in heaven yesterday.

Tommy Webster 9 goals :thumbsu:

G’day Dodgie .. Settle now! Don’t have one of those :eek:heart attacks!!
The Kit Kat is a man who has been out there on the ground this year but doesn’t fully know the recent history of the Doonmerchants impact on the lack of competitiveness in the BDFL which has contributed markedly to the demise of the league. Admittedly, they used the excuse to set themselves up to go to the YV League .. then pointed the finger at the Redlegs for wanting to leave back in ‘07.
For my part, Batters 2’s are deserved contenders for tomorrow’s flag but I’ll have to have a quiet beer with the Kit Kat about any support for the DOONMSAYERS!
Like when they had an oops moment at Redlegs Stadium on 07 July, 2007 in the last quarter when the line up was called and they had 19 players on the ground .. erh sorry bout that.
Resulting stripping on the scoreboard to lose the game also resulted in head high sniping from Doon which blokes like Paulkes and Varcs will testify was ..”not very nice”.
[B]Of course the money spent in those last three seasons has [/B]generated a complete disrespect from myself ..so I wish the best of worse fortune to the Mountain men and for cripes sake .. when the BDFL post the score on the net .. GET IT RIGHT!! Especially if the Swannies finally reap a reward for their rebuilding in the noughties.
Cheers
John Carrot

Might be a case of people in glass houses...........

Are the rumours true that a current Euroa onballer has been offered $550 a game, and a current KDFL ruckman $350 a game.

Surely not trying to buy entry into another league are we?

Might be a case of people in glass houses...........

Are the rumours true that a current Euroa onballer has been offered $550 a game, and a current KDFL ruckman $350 a game.

Surely not trying to buy entry into another league are we?

Would that KDFL ruckman be a Longwood lad?

well done to Bonnie Doon, especially to both Chris and Tyrell Dunne who have endured a bloody tough fortnight after losing their dad and bidding farewell to him on Friday - I reckon Ray Dunne woulda been the proudest man in heaven yesterday.

Tommy Webster 9 goals :thumbsu:

.. Respect Doona2
Sad times for the Dunne Brothers and it makes any footy rivalry; whether it is in the heat of the moment or a stir with a wink, pale into insignificance after your news about their Dad.
I can empathise.
A similar thing happened to my brothers and I when we were about the same age.
Without any stupid punning, this is also my last post for the BDFNL.
It takes a season of commitment “over and above” to win a flag, so that acknowledgement and congratulations must be accorded to Bonnie Doon in 2009.
The Redlegs now have a chance for survival in the KDFL in 2010 . My only hope is that small town country footy survives against interests out of our control and that all five of we teams go on to a sustainable future.
So can I leave with two comments:
1. We all go on to stronger leagues, but not to the level of Stony Creek (population 140) in the Alberton League who played the unbeatable Wonthaggi Power (population 8000) in the Grand Final last week. The Creek led all day and won the flag by 14 points!
2. From the forty years of enjoyment of Longwood Footy, and all of the Clubs we played against in the Benalla Football .. and Netball ..League – let me thank you and leave with this clip.
Cheers to Auld Lang Syne
John Carrot:thumbsu:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpvYoY4juLc&feature=related

Whats the go with coaches and clubs any 1 in yet

Pretty sure the meeting and vote for Bonnie Doon to go into the YVMDFL is on tonight with all 20 clubs to vote on it. Would think it would be highly unlikely that they will get the numbers in that vote but the vcfl may get the final say

Meeting for Doons presentation has been moved back to the 7th of October.

No VT, as is the onballer ex VT.

Would be nice to see an experienced Euroa veteran goalkicker give the towners another go.

No chance of that. He is quite happy back where he belongs and i believe regrets going there in the first place.

Meeting for Doons presentation has been moved back to the 7th of October.

Bonnie Doon presented to the YVMDFLs 20 clubs last night followed by a vote which was 5 for 15 against them joining the league.
Bad news for Doon as I suspect now they must apply for the O & K.
But may end up in YVMDFL anyway if VCFL get the final call

The VCFL shut down the B&D??
So why dont the B&D clubs put there presentations to them have them make the dicission in the first place.
Seems a total waist of time a the moment as Longwood & Bonnie Doon will be going to appeal to the VCFL.
All backwards stuff to me by the VCFL!
Keep up the good work!

My thoughts exactly Rog - I am of the opinion that the VCFL knows exactly where Longwood and Doon will be next year and probably have for a while - they just want it to run through the 'processes' to make it all look above board

If it's the same VCFL blokes who were involved when the CGFL was shut down then nothing would surprise me :rolleyes: