• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Benalla & District

Would have to agree Virgel, too much travelling. But the B&D will need a home as the VCFL has pulled the pin. Clubs need to pull their finger out now and make sure the future is secure.
Good point lads but the travel bug has always been the VCFL nightmare (..apart from the B&DFL in the past few years).
Travel? Have a Google on “Whereis”.Mansfield to Rochester, (196.63 km approx 2Hrs 21 Mins ..) Echuca to Mansfield (214.64k 2Hrs 39mins) .. nah, never work.
Longwood to Bright via Milawa (111.49km 1 hr 12 Mins) and Snow Road on to Bright ( All up 177.00 km 2Hrs 4 mins) – half that on 110km freeway and even the possibility of a train to Wang.
Plus the fact that O&K are conducive to accepting Longwood’s thought that Bright and the Redlegs play each other only once a year with each town putting on a big square dance or hoe down!
Organised travel is a given now for country footy, given $1.49 a litre sometimes for unleaded.
O&K don’t demand thirds (as do KDFL) so Longwood supporters .. and especially players … can still have a good night at the “Black Lung” on Frid’y night and not be up too early to go and play footy!
Netball C Grade start around 11.00 - 11.30 so that’s not much of culture shift.

The VCFL have decreed that this is the last year of the Benalla & District Football Netball League. It’s just that they have publicly forgotten to tell everybody!

Longwood have two choices. 0) Fold or Merge are the same thing .. not on, 1) KDFL .. A stronger league still with the travel hassle, especially trying to build thirds. 2) O&KFNL Where thirds appear to be optional. But travel still needs to be organised.

The O&K actually made the overture of incorporating the BDFNL after 2008.

As you have correctly pointed out before CD. The perception amongst a lot of players is that the BDFL footy is sub-standard .. rightly or wrongly, that is the perception.
The Redlegs are poised to use that as a recruiting tool and the town of Longwood also have a few young locals playing elsewhere to play in better levels (.. also read – a better $).
As a Longwood Redlegs supporter tragic, I reckon the O&K option 2 is worth a go. If it evolves into option ZERO then nothing’s lost!

Cheer up silly chumps! If you start with nuffin’ and end up with nuffin’ then you’ve lost nuffin! Always look on the BRIGHT side of football .. Longwood v Bright the Monty Python Life of Brian Perpetual Cup!!

Good point lads but the travel bug has always been the VCFL nightmare (..apart from the B&DFL in the past few years).
Travel? Have a Google on “Whereis”.Mansfield to Rochester, (196.63 km approx 2Hrs 21 Mins ..) Echuca to Mansfield (214.64k 2Hrs 39mins) .. nah, never work.
Longwood to Bright via Milawa (111.49km 1 hr 12 Mins) and Snow Road on to Bright ( All up 177.00 km 2Hrs 4 mins) – half that on 110km freeway and even the possibility of a train to Wang.
Plus the fact that O&K are conducive to accepting Longwood’s thought that Bright and the Redlegs play each other only once a year with each town putting on a big square dance or hoe down!
Organised travel is a given now for country footy, given $1.49 a litre sometimes for unleaded.
O&K don’t demand thirds (as do KDFL) so Longwood supporters .. and especially players … can still have a good night at the “Black Lung” on Frid’y night and not be up too early to go and play footy!
Netball C Grade start around 11.00 - 11.30 so that’s not much of culture shift.

The VCFL have decreed that this is the last year of the Benalla & District Football Netball League. It’s just that they have publicly forgotten to tell everybody!

Longwood have two choices. 0) Fold or Merge are the same thing .. not on, 1) KDFL .. A stronger league still with the travel hassle, especially trying to build thirds. 2) O&KFNL Where thirds appear to be optional. But travel still needs to be organised.

The O&K actually made the overture of incorporating the BDFNL after 2008.

As you have correctly pointed out before CD. The perception amongst a lot of players is that the BDFL footy is sub-standard .. rightly or wrongly, that is the perception.
The Redlegs are poised to use that as a recruiting tool and the town of Longwood also have a few young locals playing elsewhere to play in better levels (.. also read – a better $).
As a Longwood Redlegs supporter tragic, I reckon the O&K option 2 is worth a go. If it evolves into option ZERO then nothing’s lost!

Cheer up silly chumps! If you start with nuffin’ and end up with nuffin’ then you’ve lost nuffin! Always look on the BRIGHT side of football .. Longwood v Bright the Monty Python Life of Brian Perpetual Cup!!
Well put veggie man, but a couple of points.
Comparing the B&D/O&K to a fairly profesional league like the GV isnt a good argument. What would the GV spent on players? Maybe at least 100k and the B&D (Doon may have blown this figure out this year) 20 - 25k and the O&K maybe 25 - 35k. Something tells me that when clubs pay that sor of money (the GV) they would be expected to do more traveling.
Good to see the Longwood players wont need to give up a big Friday night in the pub because they might need to get up a hour earlier. Might be my Longwood has just fallen short come finals time.
You say "If you start with nuffin’ and end up with nuffin’ then you’ve lost nuffin! " but will all the hard work be worth nuffin?
Between you and me veggie man, I would say it would be worth the effort to save your club.
But do you have the people to work it?

JC I can't see the O&K wanting all the teams from the BDFL. I reckon they would settle on a 12 team comp as opposed to a 14-15 team comp. As was indicated on the O&K thread, there may be issues with some grounds and facilities.
PS You're not the messiah, you're just a very naughty boy.

Well put veggie man, but a couple of points.
Comparing the B&D/O&K to a fairly profesional league like the GV isnt a good argument. What would the GV spent on players? Maybe at least 100k and the B&D (Doon may have blown this figure out this year) 20 - 25k and the O&K maybe 25 - 35k. Something tells me that when clubs pay that sor of money (the GV) they would be expected to do more traveling.

I agree totally CD , there is a fair bit of difference between GV players having to do the travel compared with OK/bd boys.
Mate can u imagine the poor old seconds coach at Bright or any club for that matter who is on the phone on the Friday night trying to scratch up numbers in the middle of July. "Mate im a bit short tomorrow can ya give me a hand". "I might be right mate who ya playing"? "Ummm yeah we got go to Longwood i can pick you up at say about 8.45am , ive got to stay for the ones we should get back 8.30 - 9.00 all going well". "sorry mate mabye next week i just remembered im busy". :confused::confused:

Good to see the Longwood players wont need to give up a big Friday night in the pub because they might need to get up a hour earlier. Might be my Longwood has just fallen short come finals time.
You say "If you start with nuffin’ and end up with nuffin’ then you’ve lost nuffin! " but will all the hard work be worth nuffin?
Between you and me veggie man, I would say it would be worth the effort to save your club.
But do you have the people to work it?

AAAAAA

JC I can't see the O&K wanting all the teams from the BDFL. I reckon they would settle on a 12 team comp as opposed to a 14-15 team comp. As was indicated on the O&K thread, there may be issues with some grounds and facilities.
There needs to be changes to more than one league for things to go foward!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reckon you might be right splash, I also reckon that no's will be an issue with the way some of teams are currently struggling.

There needs to be changes to more than one league for things to go foward!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good to see you blokes talking a few positives v negatives for a change .. instead of all the negative shite.
Howlong before King Valley merge ... oops typo .. King Valley are not merging with Howlong. But the valley would be another long trip for .. well Longwood.
Longwood have the strength of support (and have been storing the acorns for a couple of years ..) unlike certain eastern sides who have maybe been spending all donations from someone called Mokbel - before he comes home from Europe to pass the hat!
But Longwood's trip from Benalla to Wang is only another half hour, then most teams are the same distance from Wang as the BDFNL teams are from Benalla. Organised travel won't be an issue.
And as said, if you had Bright and Longwood playing once only then it could be pumped as a big occasion with each side staying on for a hoe down! You'd like a ho' down in Longwood I reckon CD, bring your own red from the cellar of course, and your own protection! And Splash. Forget about the travel for the Wang based clubs, each would do it once a year. 15 in the league would be good for the O&K who seem to know what they are doing. Bringing the Grand Final in from Tarrawingee (in front of a pack of drunken d'heads) to the Norm Minns Showies Oval with crowds over 3000 has been the greatest thing to the League .. except when they moved on from Jenkin Top Liners!! Mine had John Colemans autograph on him .. plus play a final eight and if a BDFL teams finish at the bottom of the top lot, well it would maintain encouragement.
Cheers from the Vegie Patch .. John Carrot. Longwood red .. good grape juice CD! Out on Maygars Hill.

JC good point using the google maps and distances, times etc but that is placed on roads with no snow on them or needing chains etc. As for comparing distances between Mansfield and their western points of the GV not seen much snow on those roads!!! But hey i have only known those roads for 30 years maybe i have not been on the earth long enough to remember.
Anyway as it looks like the BDFL is winding up I hope this year is a competative one for all. As for recruits this week and the next couple should see some names changing around as the other leagues have started.
Best of luck for all and i think that after seeing the All Blacks in action in the Pre-season night series at Benalla and their close win over Tatong i think they would prefer the BDFL teams find somewhere else so they do not get further embarassed.
:thumbsu:

JC good point using the google maps and distances, times etc but that is placed on roads with no snow on them or needing chains etc. As for comparing distances between Mansfield and their western points of the GV not seen much snow on those roads!!! But hey i have only known those roads for 30 years maybe i have not been on the earth long enough to remember.
Anyway as it looks like the BDFL is winding up I hope this year is a competative one for all. As for recruits this week and the next couple should see some names changing around as the other leagues have started.
Best of luck for all and i think that after seeing the All Blacks in action in the Pre-season night series at Benalla and their close win over Tatong i think they would prefer the BDFL teams find somewhere else so they do not get further embarassed.
Snow idea what your argument is Sidie. The many times I've been to Bright in the depths of winter I haven't had to hire chains at Myrtleford. Their footy ground isn't a turn right at Porepunkah and up the Buffalo "hill", is it?

If we're talking "snow" maybe Uncle 24 could give his interpretation!!!

Snow idea what your argument is Sidie. The many times I've been to Bright in the depths of winter I haven't had to hire chains at Myrtleford. Their footy ground isn't a turn right at Porepunkah and up the Buffalo "hill", is it?

If we're talking "snow" maybe Uncle 24 could give his interpretation!!!

In all the years I've been travelling up there never encountered snow, some ICE, horizontal rain and near darkness mid afternoon but no snow.
By the way JC, ever have apair of Ron Barassi plastic boots

In all the years I've been travelling up there never encountered snow, some ICE, horizontal rain and near darkness mid afternoon but no snow.

this is the one reason i wont play in a highland league/team, Tradward and the cold just don't mix. Not bad once on the ground in any case but still, i prefer the warmer climates. FYI. :D

I think so Splash. Didn't know they had Ron Barrassi name on him but they were the first ever moulded stops footwear.
I also had a black plastic Beatles wig at the same time .. aah the good old days. Nostalgia ain't what it used to be .. eh! :)

Interesting point side. But watching the game it was more Tatong Saints playing that night!! With 7 tatong regulars on the bench and being waterboys for the numerous saints (admittedly reserves) running on the field, I would hardly think Blacks embarrassed themselves :p.

Thats what you get when you appoint a coach who thinks he is better than he is. Whats he wasting his time at Tatong for? Is it a stepping stone to immortality???????
What is Tatong doing?
Longwood to spank them at home round 1!
Bet they put the tail between there legs then!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Swanpool seem to be in a sh1t load of trouble too, cant see them winning a game ever!

Thats what you get when you appoint a coach who thinks he is better than he is. Whats he wasting his time at Tatong for? Is it a stepping stone to immortality???????
What is Tatong doing?
Longwood to spank them at home round 1!
Bet they put the tail between there legs then!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Swanpool seem to be in a sh1t load of trouble too, cant see them winning a game ever!

Just answered your question about B&D sides going to the O&K

I think so Splash. Didn't know they had Ron Barrassi name on him but they were the first ever moulded stops footwear.
I also had a black plastic Beatles wig at the same time .. aah the good old days. Nostalgia ain't what it used to be .. eh! :)
Hey Carrot I see a couple of inclusions on the transfer list. Tried to get Ben Milliken last year, he has quite a bit of height and from all reports he can play. A little dissapointing to see so many senior players leaving. Whats the go with Maggins putting in for a clearance, surley he is too old to still be playing:)

The outgoing list continues to grow. Why has last years players not embraced the new coach?

G'day Dodger. Firstly Sean is playing for the Newman Tigers at a place about 1200km NWest of Perth and 400 klicks south of Port Headland ( hell of an advantage with the wind sometimes!). Maggins rang to ask if he could come back and play for the Magoo's for travelling money. It was a little bit steep so the request was denied. Our mate is over there in the aluminium business I believe .. not mining it - chuckin' the empties into the sandy rivers with his "newman" mates!!
Re Clearances, I'm following up with CD's comment in a tick...

The outgoing list continues to grow. Why has last years players not embraced the new coach?
Geez CD. Just when you were coming good you go and open your size 10 mouth and put your size 8 foot in it!
By the way. How come you're scribing at 7.08 pm. Are you working OT in the public service or has your work computer's clock gone daylight saving apeshit?
Clearances from Longwood. Apart from the two stars and the aforementioned Maggins. The rest are great contributors who won last years reserves flag. If you know the cycles of footy there is always an exodus after achieving the pinnacle and as is always said .."those blokes will be mates with each other and the Club forever". Maybe the theory didn't work with the Devenish All Blacks in latter years, I'll concede.
The finding of the HMAS Sydney has also been an influence as the lads could see the HMAS Benalla League being bombed out of existence by the VCFL, disguised as the destroyer Komoran (Nasty bastards!). A case of jumping ship?
The Club, players and supporters are right behind the UnFlinching Matt Finch.

If you have info about "coach rumblings" then let us all hear about it.

Tatong's ground is too dry so they have swapped the first game which will now be played at Redlegs Stadium on 12 April. Tradwad had a look at the facilities at the practice match and was impressed. Get down there and check it out yourself. Also look me up.
John Carrot .. I'm the one who looks like a vegie at Longwood. That'd narrow the field down to about a hundred for you mate .. eh!:)

Geez CD. Just when you were coming good you go and open your size 10 mouth and put your size 8 foot in it!
By the way. How come you're scribing at 7.08 pm. Are you working OT in the public service or has your work computer's clock gone daylight saving apeshit?
Clearances from Longwood. Apart from the two stars and the aforementioned Maggins. The rest are great contributors who won last years reserves flag. If you know the cycles of footy there is always an exodus after achieving the pinnacle and as is always said .."those blokes will be mates with each other and the Club forever". Maybe the theory didn't work with the Devenish All Blacks in latter years, I'll concede.
The finding of the HMAS Sydney has also been an influence as the lads could see the HMAS Benalla League being bombed out of existence by the VCFL, disguised as the destroyer Komoran (Nasty bastards!). A case of jumping ship?

Tatong's ground is too dry so they have swapped the first game which will now be played at Redlegs Stadium on 12 April. Tradwad had a look at the facilities at the practice match and was impressed. Get down there and check it out yourself. Also look me up.
John Carrot .. I'm the one who looks like a vegie at Longwood. That'd narrow the field down to about a hundred for you mate .. eh!:)

Not doing o/t JC more likely doing detention

Ah the good all days Splash.
You seem to know a bit about the gear mentioning the Jenkins and the jock strap. I remember running through the mud turf wicket at Mansfield with the Jenkins virtually laced to my kneecaps and that black suckin' mud still removed me boot.
Now the jock strap.
Then the coaches edict was "tuck your jumper in stupid and at least look like a footballer" (not like the silky smoothies today which are hard to grab).
If you were slow in the tackle you'd reach for the shorts and get a hand full of the strap which went around the back and it was like the coyote chasing the road runner .. he kept going but the jock strap would rebound!
Looking from a different angle these days, I see Saint Harv's has been denigrated by of all people, the multi folical coloured Aker for going the forward jock strap tackle .. otherwise known as a handful of tackle .. aka the squirrel grip.
If Harvs is is charged he can claim that he was just trying to see if Akermanis was a genuine blonde! Nobody knows if Aker has dyed his hair or his beard!!

Ah the good all days Splash.
You seem to know a bit about the gear mentioning the Jenkins and the jock strap. I remember running through the mud turf wicket at Mansfield with the Jenkins virtually laced to my kneecaps and that black suckin' mud still removed me boot.
Now the jock strap.
Then the coaches edict was "tuck your jumper in stupid and at least look like a footballer" (not like the silky smoothies today which are hard to grab).
If you were slow in the tackle you'd reach for the shorts and get a hand full of the strap which went around the back and it was like the coyote chasing the road runner .. he kept going but the jock strap would rebound!
Looking from a different angle these days, I see Saint Harv's has been denigrated by of all people, the multi folical coloured Aker for going the forward jock strap tackle .. otherwise known as a handful of tackle .. aka the squirrel grip.
If Harvs is is charged he can claim that he was just trying to see if Akermanis was a genuine blonde! Nobody knows if Aker has dyed his hair or his beard!!

Obviously JC you didn't have leather stops with the nails protruding as the leather wore down... Mate can't go past the plastic footy with the mould knob [ not CD] on one end that made it impossible to kick a drop punt on that end without causing some pain.And you're right about the coaches comments, if you can't be a footballer at least try to look like one.
Oh almost forgot the bottle of port on the bus whilst travelling up to Tolmie. And the botttle at every interval during the game.

Research Veggie Man, have you been doing yours? One thing Ive learnt on this site is not to believe everything the posters post. Most of it is dribble, a lot of it is untrue and a small amount is fact.
I checked up on you on the Longwood site and found a couple of interesting things that make me think more that there might be something going on with the new coach at Longwood.
Only 2 of the outgoing players played in the 2nds GF Veggie Man. Thats not taking into account that you may have played the others in it under a doggy name though. I also noticed that Donovan played in the 1st for the 2nd Semi and Paulke, Merrifield and Schlink were all playing seniors before they stoped playing. Finnigan played 1 game in the seniors for 6 goals.
My count makes it umm 10 senior players leaving Longwood 1 seconds player and 1 other. So when it comes to the cylcles of football Id say the Longwood players were not able to achieve the pinnacle and are moving on.
Dont get me wrong Veggie Man as Im not attacking the Longwood Football Club, just wanting to know why so many are leaving. And please dont defend what I say by posting untruths.
And Veggie Man Im fairly sure Ive heard the statement that the club is right behind a coach in the past!
Dont think I will make it for the great Longwood V Tatong spectacle, but if Longwood is the real deal Id like to see how they go against Bonnie Doon.

Obviously JC you didn't have leather stops with the nails protruding as the leather wore down... Mate can't go past the plastic footy with the mould knob [ not CD] on one end that made it impossible to kick a drop punt on that end without causing some pain.And you're right about the coaches comments, if you can't be a footballer at least try to look like one.
Oh almost forgot the bottle of port on the bus whilst travelling up to Tolmie. And the botttle at every interval during the game.
Carrot Ive been told that in the old days (older than my old days) Max may have carried a bottle of substance on cold days for players at longwood (dont think it was redbull).