• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Benalla & District

The right reason would be move to a club and help build a successful future. How many of these quality players play 50 games? If any. They come for the money, play for a year, see how bad it is to be playing the same teams 600,000 times a year (may be an exaggeration) and leave. Some might stay 2 years.
Schools out for summer Germy Germ!!

Once again, take your statements and apply them to any league in Victoria. GV players go to KDFL teams and stay a year and are now back at GV teams. The same can be said with BFL players to HDFL. General enough for you?

and cocko dickliker I had a fair idea you were too old to learn.[/QUOTE]

Any chance you 2 could get a room and sort it out, it's dragging on

Hows the prep going GG?
I see you have an inter club Fri, will be interesting who you have to play on yourself?? You shoud start the season with a big bag if my the information I have on your pre season is correct.

Generalised comment. Attraction from GV to KDFL, Picola, Murray is money not the quality of footy unless you coach and so it goes. I thought Chris Dunne's brother in law was coaching Boonie Doon. Is that a family tie? Is that for your so called right reasons?
Get to school.
WOW, got some news for you Gang Goon. Appears the Dunne has 750 reasons to play for Bonnie Doon. No wonder Broadford couldnt keep him!!!!

Even if correct(and you havent been for a real long time) thats $15K a year for 20 games so Doon must have opened the bank balance and decided to whittle it down to nothing.

May be why they changed coach and parted company with the big FF who has gone to Swanpool. Needed the cash for others.

Hows the prep going GG?
I see you have an inter club Fri, will be interesting who you have to play on yourself?? You shoud start the season with a big bag if my the information I have on your pre season is correct.

Youll be walking instructions for Finchy this year I hear as you cant run without injuring yourself?
Has the training with Nathan Deakes paid off on the walks? Heard you look like a cross between Kel Knight and a severe case of hemaroids when you walk?
Lower the action and keep it closer to the ground.

I dont doubt a few clubs are treating this like their last.
I keep hearing rumours that Doon are discussing trying to join Div 2 YVMDFL and play against some local clubs next year. Has already been shot down by reports asked of committee but believe a delegation may have met with the new GM of the Yara Valley league last week?

In regards to Doon maybe they are trying to build a strong club to take a step up and have started this year.

Is that the most likely?
Bonnie Doon to YVMDFL
Longwood to KDFL
Goorambat to O&KFL
Swanpool & Tatong (merged or independent) to O&KFL

I take this a the general vibe coming from you guys.

Is that the most likely?
Bonnie Doon to YVMDFL
Longwood to KDFL
Goorambat to O&KFL
Swanpool & Tatong (merged or independent) to O&KFL

I take this a the general vibe coming from you guys.
Bonnie Doon to YVMDFL - likely
Longwood to KDFL - not likely Id say merge with avenel
Goorambat to O&KFL - likely
Tatong & Swanpool to O&KFL - dont know maybe Tatong to O&K and Swanpool to fold
Not sure how far down the track though, will depend on what the VCFL have planed.

Not for the right reasons hey doger boy. Money would be the only attraction to this league.
hey there cellar dwellar i have watched your post very closely over a period and it seems to me that not only do you bag the benalla league you also bag every other league that you visit as for chris dunne i dont think you have a very good sourse. there is a couple of broadford boys heading over to the doon and the reason we are going is because of mateship and to hopefulty bring some success to the club. we have all enjoyed some success at broadford in one way or another and this strikes us as another challenge:)

Not sure how far down the track though, will depend on what the VCFL have planed.

Agree with most Roger but I reckon if only option is to merge Tatong and Swanpool would. Too close to just drift off to nothing and at least you retain the history of the joint.

hey there cellar dwellar i have watched your post very closely over a period and it seems to me that not only do you bag the benalla league you also bag every other league that you visit as for chris dunne i dont think you have a very good sourse. there is a couple of broadford boys heading over to the doon and the reason we are going is because of mateship and to hopefulty bring some success to the club. we have all enjoyed some success at broadford in one way or another and this strikes us as another challenge:)

On ya powerforward, the final two clearances will b sweet by the way :thumbsu: just keep it to a couple boys as suggested hey ;)

hey mate thanks for the support with the clearances, you know we will be watching closely to see how those young pups are travelling that we have all put alot of work into over the last five or so years.we might not be with you guys on the paddock this year but hopefully our spirit will be. take care talk soon.:thumbsu::) go u roos

back at ya mate :thumbsu: Maybe a Bonnie Doon v Longwood GF would suit us all - more importantly for Finchy and you boys sake, would guarantee a big crowd from down our way Id reckon

Well said powerforward its just constant crap from the dweller. Often players will play in a lesser league to play with mates or family which is great. Playing footy, no matter what standard is about having fun.

The one suggestion I do not quite understand Roger is the Avenel/Longwood merger.
Has anyone told Avenel?
I am sure any boost to the playing stocks is welcome but I am guessing there is no need for Avenel to start considering a change to their club's future history..
Unless my memory is fading, the Longwood ground is not a patch on the lush Avenel surrounds and the after match facilities leaves a lot to be desired (unless standing around a fire drum is your go).
To be needed, you need something that someone else wants!
Unfortunately Longwood are in the unenviable task of not having heaps except for their own entity. A merger would be tough
Go it alone or retire gracefully!

The one suggestion I do not quite understand Roger is the Avenel/Longwood merger.
Has anyone told Avenel?
I am sure any boost to the playing stocks is welcome but I am guessing there is no need for Avenel to start considering a change to their club's future history..
Unless my memory is fading, the Longwood ground is not a patch on the lush Avenel surrounds and the after match facilities leaves a lot to be desired (unless standing around a fire drum is your go).
Unfortunately Longwood are in the unenviable task of not having heaps except for their own entity. A merger would be tough
Wouldnt think you would find too much wrong with Longwood's rooms, ground, gym, lights, kitchen or centre ross. I wouldnt think that anyone has told the Longwood Football Club about a merger either. It was a reply to a post and my opinion of the future for the clubs in the league if the VCFL dont do anything for the servival. I might be wrong but I would think that the one thing all clubs need is players, of which I wouldnt think Avenel has an endless supply of. So if you would prefer Ill say a merger with Nagambie because it dosent really matter who. The point Im making is that I cant see the league surviving and feel that Longwood would be stuck without anywhere to go. And its not retiring ross it would be dieing so a merger may be the only way to have the club survive in some form.
But in saying all that the VCFL may have plans or Longwood may have something up their sleave too. Looks like Bonnie Doon are doing something.

Post on the O&K thread suggesting Glenrowan poaching B&D players so they can join the BDFL next year or finish it this year:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
Would doubt their recruiting drive is behind an ambition to join B&D. But the inclusion of Glenrowan and All Blacks would insure the servival of the B&D, mayby.

I think that Glenrowan would be hoping to see the league go. I heard they have knocked back a few approaches to go back.Dont know if they were formal or in formal approaches though.

Has anyone told Avenel?

Doesn't sound like your memory is fading at all- just sounds like you haven't been inside Longwood's clubrooms/after match facilities at all. Avenel's aren't anywhere near as good as Longwood's.

Fair call about the two grounds, Avenel's is superb, but otherwise you're barking up the wrong tree.

PS. Do some research - you may find that Longwood and Avenel have had an arrangement in years past.

But do it properly. Unlike most people seem to believe on Big Footy, history goes back more than 2 or 3 years....

Doesn't sound like your memory is fading at all- just sounds like you haven't been inside Longwood's clubrooms/after match facilities at all. Avenel's aren't anywhere near as good as Longwood's.

Fair call about the two grounds, Avenel's is superb, but otherwise you're barking up the wrong tree.

PS. Do some research - you may find that Longwood and Avenel have had an arrangement in years past.

But do it properly. Unlike most people seem to believe on Big Footy, history goes back more than 2 or 3 years....

Here here Tusken, from memory Longwood's set up aint that bad :thumbsu:

can i call this one..? how about Glenny AND All Blacks in B&D...?? would give the league 2 "magnetic" clubs to funnel players through which would have positive effect on the other clubs down the track.. what to do with the smaller sides is the prob.. Just puttin it out there is all.

For smaller clubs to survive in todays enviroment they will need to play well outside thier own weight division. With players and money becoming harder and harder to attract these days you need quality people involved in the club building a strong club with an equaly strong club culture. Quality people need to volunteer their time and give 100% from the water boy to the president.

Im not sure you will find too many grounds as green as the Longwood ground this time of year!
Or when football starts if the rain dosent come.