Bendigo 2009

Very excited to hear that Myers and Daniher played very well.

Depending on how we go at the tribunal both could come into contention.

Myers/Skipworth for Lonergan.
Daniher for Lloyd.

Obviously Nash was rested as a back up for Atkinson being reported.

We don't need another tall, I hope a small (Quinn) comes in for Lloyd. I think this is Myers' time to shine...:D

would have thought the blokes they rested were rested for a reason meaning they will be the first ones in line for promotion

Would asume the same but in Myers case he had to play to get the match fitness.
With both Myers and Daniher going off at 3/4 without injury i would presume at that stage any of the 5 rested plus Myers and Daniher would be in contention.
Daniher went to Perth as Fletchers shadow two weeks ago and missed a game so they probably played him to make sure his match fitness was up.

Would asume the same but in Myers case he had to play to get the match fitness.
With both Myers and Daniher going off at 3/4 without injury i would presume at that stage any of the 5 rested plus Myers and Daniher would be in contention.
Daniher went to Perth as Fletchers shadow two weeks ago and missed a game so they probably played him to make sure his match fitness was up.

all very valid points - I am a Myers fan but only in midfield but think his lack of match practice would place him behind skipworth at the selection table.

I'd much rather Daniher ahead of any of Jetta, Nash or Quinn as i think he is versatile enough to play any position in defence or forward.

Some interesting news on the Bendigo front.
Hickmott spoke about what will be happening next year last thursday night at the Bomber Footy show.
As expected no new licence. What will happen is the alignment with bendigo will saty in place.
  • They will be known as the Bendigo Bank Bombers
  • There will be no seconds side. There will be a development squad of around 25 young players from the bendigo region and they will play for a Bendigo Leauge based club when not needed for Bendigo.

• The money saved on payer payments for the seconds will be used to chase some ex AFL players to strengthen the Bendigo list

• The squad (including Essendon players not in line for senior selection) will train with each other at least once a week which did not happen this year.

• There will be a Melbourne based squad

• At this stage no decision on the coach as this wont happen until Knights does his end of season review

• The split of games will be possibly 4 or 5 games in Bendigo depending on the ground with the other home games to be played at Windy Hill

Obviously this is not what everyone wanted but the clubs hands where tied to a certain degree and it took a fair few meetings to convince AFL Victoria and the VFL that not fielding a reserves side was in the best interests of the competetion let alone any stand alone side issues.

Lets hope that they can sign 5 or 6 really good VFL quality players so that the side can be competative every week and the young blokes are not just deck chairs on a sinking ship.

some players they possibly could look at as top up players (pending delisting etc):

darren pfeiffer, russell robertson (not for mine), paul wheatley, matthew whelan, daniel harris, corey jones, sam power, matt riggio, shannon watt, toby thurstans, nathan brown, mark coughlan, kayne pettifer, wade skipper.

Bendigo/Essendon Question

I've read that its hard to sell a gig to players to come play for the Bendigo Bombers , and lets face it there pretty crap who in the hell would wanna
come play for a team that couldn't win at least one game ?

I know i wouldn't want to , it be like playing for Melbourne Football Club.:D

which this brings to my point im about to make.

how about we come up with the idea that if you win the Bendigo Bombers
B&F you win a Contract with the Essendon Football Club. (even if its a rookie spot)

It has some Pro's and Con's like Jason choker cloke winning the bf and is no good at AFL but cause he won the B&F he would be on our list.

What are your thoughts ??

Re: Bendigo/Essendon Question

The idea has been raised on a few threads.

Pretty decent in theory, as a similar incentive seems to have done well at the Bulldogs.

However as you've stated, there are a few problems with it, such as an AFL-listed player winning (Kepler two years ago), or a player that is clearly not cut-out for the AFL (imagine Skipworth winning the B&F next year and not being worth handing a senior spot to, yet ineligible for a rookie spot).

Somebody like Ant or efcboy would probably be the best person to speak on the matter.

The idea has been raised on a few threads.

Pretty decent in theory, as a similar incentive seems to have done well at the Bulldogs.

However as you've stated, there are a few problems with it, such as an AFL-listed player winning (Kepler two years ago), or a player that is clearly not cut-out for the AFL (imagine Skipworth winning the B&F next year and not being worth handing a senior spot to, yet ineligible for a rookie spot).

Somebody like Ant or efcboy would probably be the best person to speak on the matter.

whoops sorry didn't know it was raised before , pretty hard to read every single thread and post .

The Bendigo Bombers and Essendon have made an agreement that instead of fielding a seconds side (full of rookies and mature aged duds) that it will instead be a 'development' squad/side, trying to lure talented youngsters to the area would be a good idea.

I do like the idea that I raised on the VFL board of, attracting a talented youngster, and if he has an outstanding year then offer the kid a rookie spot, much like the Western Bulldogs did with Williamstown and the picking of Liam Picken.

You think they don't already try to do that? Jarod Atkinson says gday.
The problem isn't "mature age duds" or anything like that. The Bendigo U18s side - ie the natural feeder - is a dud U18s team. And many of the good kids from there would prefer to get paid better $$$ at their local clubs in the Bendigo league and avoid all the travel costs, higher training workload etc.
Attracting kids who didn't quite make the draft after their U18s year would be the main aim. But hard to entice kids to come all the way up to Bendigo for the $$$ on offer which is often less than they'd get playing (for example) EFL divvie 1 or a big country club

You think they don't already try to do that? Jarod Atkinson says gday.
The problem isn't "mature age duds" or anything like that. The Bendigo U18s side - ie the natural feeder - is a dud U18s team. And many of the good kids from there would prefer to get paid better $$$ at their local clubs in the Bendigo league and avoid all the travel costs, higher training workload etc.
Attracting kids who didn't quite make the draft after their U18s year would be the main aim. But hard to entice kids to come all the way up to Bendigo for the $$$ on offer which is often less than they'd get playing (for example) EFL divvie 1 or a big country club

Agree 100%.

This seems to be a commom theme with players from the TAC Cup preferring to play for larger money in Suburban or Country Leagues.

I have heard Gary Ayres the coach of Port Melbourne several times on radio complaining about this situation.

It surprises me that if you were fair dinkum in trying to crack the AFL that you wouldn't spend 2 or 3 years playing in the VFL.

You can always play in the Suburban or Country leagues when you are 21 or 22.

Agree 100%.

This seems to be a commom theme with players from the TAC Cup preferring to play for larger money in Suburban or Country Leagues.

I have heard Gary Ayres the coach of Port Melbourne several times on radio complaining about this situation.

It surprises me that if you were fair dinkum in trying to crack the AFL that you wouldn't spend 2 or 3 years playing in the VFL.

You can always play in the Suburban or Country leagues when you are 21 or 22.
I know a few guys who had 2 or 3 years at VFL sides then went back to their EFL clubs. It depends what else they're doing, ie Uni or apprenticeship etc. Once it becomes obvious they're not going to crack it as a good VFL player, there's not really that much incentive to hang around as a fringe player.

I agree 100% that if you dont make an AFL List but still harbor AFL aspirations - you should give yourself every possible chance by playing in the VFL or another State League for 2 or 3 years. There is little chance of being noticed if you go direct from the TAC cup to a suburban or country league.

Thought I'd bump this now that our list is finalised to see how the Bendigo list would compare to '09.

Looks significantly improved on paper IMHO. Using a rough Essendon best 22 + 6 emergencies to factor in a few injuries, I've come up with the following which looks to be a much more competitive team at VFL level:

EFC:

B McVeigh Hurley H Slattery
HB
Dempsey Pears Fletcher
C
Winderlich Watson Dyson
HF
Monfries Gumbleton Davey
F
Hille Neagle M Williams
R
Ryder Prismall Stanton
INT
Lovett-Murray Welsh Reimers Hocking
EMG
Hooker Jetta Laycock Lonergan Myers Zaharakis

BFC:

B Atkinson Flaherty (B) Weekley (B)
HB
Hardingham Cloke (B) T Slattery
C
Melksham Marigliani (R) Houli
HF
Crameri (R) Daniher Skipworth (B)
F
Quinn (IR) Still Colyer
R
Bellchambers Howlett (R) Scanlon (B)
INT
Silverlock (R) Long Carlisle Hulme (B)
EMG
Bock (R) J Williams (R) Meli (IR) Stroobants (B) Holmes (B) Bristow (B)

Are there any important/promising Bendigo listed players I've missed, or other Bendigo recruits?

I agree 100% that if you dont make an AFL List but still harbor AFL aspirations - you should give yourself every possible chance by playing in the VFL or another State League for 2 or 3 years. There is little chance of being noticed if you go direct from the TAC cup to a suburban or country league.
Ya think?
Gee you come up with some gems.

B Atkinson Flaherty (B) Weekley (B)
HB
Hardingham Cloke (B) T Slattery
C
Melksham Marigliani (R) Houli
HF
Crameri (R) Daniher Skipworth (B)
F
Quinn (IR) Still Colyer
R
Bellchambers Howlett (R) Scanlon (B)
INT
Silverlock (R) Long Carlisle Hulme (B)
EMG
Bock (R) J Williams (R) Meli (IR) Stroobants (B) Holmes (B) Bristow (B)

If that team can't have a decent crack at it (i.e. win at least a handful of games), then Bendigo is officially cursed. Nice work GG.

Giggidy has nailed the current lineup pretty much - good work.

i'd like to see Bendigo sign up some good young players separate to rookies that EFC could effectively develop with the hope of potentially drafting next year. The club could effectively have an extra development squad of unlisted players. We should have the resources to do this.

The first guy that springs to mind is Serhat Temel - overlooked obviously due to his athletic limitations this is one guy that could benefit from being within a professional system to improve this area. He loves Essendon, idolised Matthew Lloyd and whilst being disappointed at missing out on being drafted you would think he would take a chance with Bendigo Bombers. I guess its debatable taking him to develop him in a KPP when we already have Carlisle, Still, Gumbleton, Daniher etc to develop as well as he may take one of their spots etc.

The other player is Charlie McAdam - son of Gilbert. A skilful wingman, HBFer - having missed being drafted the past two seasons perhaps he would consider a move down south to try his luck through the VFL.

I'd like to see Bendigo sign up some good young players separate to rookies that EFC could effectively develop with the hope of potentially drafting next year. The club could effectively have an extra development squad of unlisted players. We should have the resources to do this.

Well, according to this article Bendigo are trying to attract a few young guys who were hoping to be drafted and weren't.

The article mentions Kallen Geary and Shane Page, Bendigo are probably looking at them as they are locals but I'd assume that they would be looking at a few others as well in the hopes of trying to foster a developmental environment you are talking about.

Well, according to this article Bendigo are trying to attract a few young guys who were hoping to be drafted and weren't.

The article mentions Kallen Geary and Shane Page, Bendigo are probably looking at them as they are locals but I'd assume that they would be looking at a few others as well in the hopes of trying to foster a developmental environment you are talking about.

What they are looking at is having a squad of 25 based in Bendigo that will be pretty much under 22 players(with some experienced locals if there are any they like). They will be looking to attract the young blokes from Bendigo Pioneers and Murray Bushrangers into that squad and they will play local Bendigo Leauge or their home leauge when not selected for the VFL side.

So that will give them the Bendigo development squad and a squad of 8 or so experienced VFL players based in Melbourne.

I have no idea if their plans are to try and grab any non drafted Melbourne based kids or if they have a set up that would see any of the Melbourne based players playing in Metro footy on permits but i suspect that it would be the case given the system is already in place to allow VFL players not picked to return to a designated local club on match permits.

At this stage i have not heard anything other than the Bendigo development squad and the Melbourne based squad.

Bendigo 2009