Best 22 in ‘22

I think our bottom 4-5 players in our 22 are quite strong now - especially so if you compare it to our team 2 years ago.
Two out of Answerth, Coleman, or Prior. Two out of Rayner, Bailey or Ah Chee. All three of JBerry, Cockatoo, Robertson.

That’s 7 players not in our best 18 that are pretty handy.

Two out of Answerth, Coleman, or Prior. Two out of Rayner, Bailey or Ah Chee. All three of JBerry, Cockatoo, Robertson.

Our bottom 5 or 6 players look a lot stronger at least on paper than when we first emerged 3 years ago.

The big improvement will come if Bailey, Coleman and J Berry take the next step . Rayner stays in the park and becomes a regular impact player. And Ah Chee ,Answerth ,Cockatoo and Robertson are able to produce the ability they have consistently week to week.

I don't want to get ahead of ourselves but you'd think amongst that group of players we should get some pleasant surprises.

Our bottom 5 or 6 players look a lot stronger at least on paper than when we first emerged 3 years ago.

The big improvement will come if Bailey, Coleman and J Berry take the next step . Rayner stays in the park and becomes a regular impact player. And Ah Chee ,Answerth ,Cockatoo and Robertson are able to produce the ability they have consistently week to week.

I don't want to get ahead of ourselves but you'd think amongst that group of players we should get some pleasant surprises.
Also kinda hoping that Lachie Neale will be a pleasant surprise after last year.

I know you are talking about the last 7 in the 22. However from the 2019 side we have also added Daniher, Payne, Sharp and a fit Adams ( and probably someone I have forgotten). An incredible amount of talent added to the list.

I had one go at a best 22 side back on Oct 17. How time flies
Hipwood best 22 obviously but no point including him till available
So my final guess on who may make the round 1 side v Port barring injuries in the next month

FB: Starcevich, Andrews, Gardiner
HB: Rich, Adams, Answerth
C.: McCluggage ~, Neale ~, Robbo w
HF
: Bailey ~, McStay, Cockatoo ~
FF
: McCarthy, Daniher *, Cameron

R.: McInerney *, Lyons ~, Rayner ~

Int: J Berry ~ (rotation), Zorko ~ (rotation), Coleman (def), Ah Chee w (wing)

Ruck relief *
Rotations ~
Wing relief w

If Fort gets a run then take out a rotation player.
Either Cockatoo, Berry, then possibly Ah Chee, Robbo & Zorko if injured

Sub: Anyone

Changes from our one point Dogs Semi Final loss

Out Payne In McStay
Out Fullarton - In Rayner
Out D Robertson - In Ah Chee
Out Birchall In - In Answerth

Out Lester was the Sub - In Anyone

Players inked in for Round 1: Daniher, McCluggage, Neale, Rich, McCarthy, Zorko, Rayner, Lyons, Cameron, Adams, McStay, Gardner, Andrews, Fort, Bailey, Starcevich, McInerney = 17.
Players in the mix to be selected Round 1: Robertson, Ah Chee, Robinson, Berry, Cockatoo, Madden, Coleman, Prior, Sharp, Lester, Payne, Answerth, Wilmot = 13.
The weeks leading up to March 19 will be fascinating.

Players inked in for Round 1: Daniher, McCluggage, Neale, Rich, McCarthy, Zorko, Rayner, Lyons, Cameron, Adams, McStay, Gardner, Andrews, Fort, Bailey, Starcevich, McInerney = 17.
Players in the mix to be selected Round 1: Robertson, Ah Chee, Robinson, Berry, Cockatoo, Madden, Coleman, Prior, Sharp, Lester, Payne, Answerth, Wilmot = 13.
From the second group of players you’ve mentioned I’ve got Berry, Cockatoo, Coleman and Answerth slightly ahead of the rest. The fifth player is completely up for grabs for me.

I wonder if the potential for Zorko to either miss round 1 or be underdone dictated some of the positional decisions today. A couple of weeks ago, Mike Whiting intimated that Zorko was only training/playing across half back to reduce training loads or get miles into his legs. Whiting pretty much said to expect Zorks to play mid-forward as normal. Since then Zorko has had surgery and is now on a tight recovery timeline to play round 1. If fit, he'll presumably play but maybe the idea that he starts the season at half-back whilst gaining match fitness is being seriously pursued. If Zorko plays half back, that obviously creates a squeeze down there. One option is to move Answerth out of the defensive 7 and into the midfield group (wing). ie Zorko to half back, Answerth to a wing, McCluggage/Berry to the midfield.

The way this is expressed, I am not sure if this is your opinion or some inside knowledge, but after watching yesterdays match (admittedly on tv), I can’t see Rayner being picked before Berry. I know all supporters want to see Rayner back in the first, fully fit and reaching his potential, but I thought Berry was one of our best (even allowing for kicking efficiency queries). I would include Berry as the 18 th.

if this is your opinion, I think you are pretty much spot on for the rest of it.

The way this is expressed, I am not sure if this is your opinion or some inside knowledge, but after watching yesterdays match (admittedly on tv), I can’t see Rayner being picked before Berry. I know all supporters want to see Rayner back in the first, fully fit and reaching his potential, but I thought Berry was one of our best (even allowing for kicking efficiency queries). I would include Berry as the 18 th.

if this is your opinion, I think you are pretty much spot on for the rest of it.
My opinion 100%. I know Berry is a favourite with a lot of BF posters and he gets a lot of support from that. For me, Berry often murders a lot of opportunities for the team with his disposal (as he did yesterday) and he also tries to do more when he has the ball than he should. I think he has a lot of upside but needs to improve on a few things before I think of him as a certain inclusion in the 22. Again, my opinion only.
When i post next I'll start with: "in my opinion".... ;)

both Berry brothers can take a half a sec too long or pick the wrong choice. Catch 22
Probably know disposal/choice not always the best. So take a half a sec which leads to poor choice/disposal or getting caught..

My opinion 100%. I know Berry is a favourite with a lot of BF posters and he gets a lot of support from that. For me, Berry often murders a lot of opportunities for the team with his disposal (as he did yesterday) and he also tries to do more when he has the ball than he should. I think he has a lot of upside but needs to improve on a few things before I think of him as a certain inclusion in the 22. Again, my opinion only.
No worries, I have concerns about Berry’s game awareness too. He seems to get caught trying to break away from congestion. However at best he gets lots of the ball in contested situation which makes him a very handy player.

Just on butchering the ball. I wrote maybe in another thread that he seems to take an extra half second when kicking the ball which seems to highlight mis kicks. I find kicking efficiency problematic as I have never been able to understand the published stats, they don’t seem to reflect what I see during the game.

Take for example Bailey. After his first goal yesterday, I thought what a beautiful kick. Will he ever miss? He missed three gettable shots. Poor conditions, heavy ball and windy, but I don’t think anyone would say he butcher the ball. Fact or perception?

yes I am a big Berry fan

No worries, I have concerns about Berry’s game awareness too. He seems to get caught trying to break away from congestion. However at best he gets lots of the ball in contested situation which makes him a very handy player.

Just on butchering the ball. I wrote maybe in another thread that he seems to take an extra half second when kicking the ball which seems to highlight mis kicks. I find kicking efficiency problematic as I have never been able to understand the published stats, they don’t seem to reflect what I see during the game.

Take for example Bailey. After his first goal yesterday, I thought what a beautiful kick. Will he ever miss? He missed three gettable shots. Poor conditions, heavy ball and windy, but I don’t think anyone would say he butcher the ball. Fact or perception?

yes I am a berry fan
In my opinion, fact. People quickly pass judgement on missed set shots but dont understand that the player taking the shot has often just ran a 400 metre sprint & his body is significantly fatigued while taking the kick. People should try doing just that and appreciate that what appears to be an easy set shot is not so easy when your lungs are burning and your legs feel like jelly. Plugger (in my opinion the best set shot ever) rarely moved outside the goal square let alone the forward 50. Current AFL footballers are expected to run more than ever before hence fatigue becoming more prevalent in the game.
I've said this before about J.Berry....he often tries to do the spectacular rather than contribute the way other players do and that gets him into trouble when it's time for him to offload the ball. You cant knock his effort nor his courage to go for the hard ball. I just wish he would stop with the plays that get him (& the team) in trouble and play more his role in doing the simple & uncomplicated things....just my opinion.

I find kicking efficiency problematic as I have never been able to understand the published stats, they don’t seem to reflect what I see during the game.
Completely agree. If you take a mark on the wing or half back flank, and all your team mates are marked up, you're probably going to kick long up the flank to a marking contest. Now, if you're team mate marks it, fantastic, but if he's able to bring it to ground and/or force a stoppage, as far as I know that is considered an inefficient disposal. In that situation I would suggest it is only an inefficient disposal if he gets outmarked.

I just wish he would stop with the plays that get him (& the team) in trouble and play more his role in doing the simple & uncomplicated things....just my opinion.
I reckon 90% of games are won by the team who do the simple things the best. I know it's a different sport but I'd say the Melbourne Storm are the standard bearers on this score, and have been for 2 decades. Not a whole lot of razzle dazzle, but very effective.

I think your opinion on Berry aligns with mine, but certainly thought he was one of our most effective yesterday. In particular, I think he often wastes kicks inside 50 but yesterday appeared to be purposely driving the ball in deep which worked a lot better than his usual shallow entries. Was easily in our best few players yesterday.

I wonder if the potential for Zorko to either miss round 1 or be underdone dictated some of the positional decisions today. A couple of weeks ago, Mike Whiting intimated that Zorko was only training/playing across half back to reduce training loads or get miles into his legs. Whiting pretty much said to expect Zorks to play mid-forward as normal. Since then Zorko has had surgery and is now on a tight recovery timeline to play round 1. If fit, he'll presumably play but maybe the idea that he starts the season at half-back whilst gaining match fitness is being seriously pursued. If Zorko plays half back, that obviously creates a squeeze down there. One option is to move Answerth out of the defensive 7 and into the midfield group (wing). ie Zorko to half back, Answerth to a wing, McCluggage/Berry to the midfield.

Answerth lined up on the wing quite a few times on Friday. Could be on to it.

I think your opinion on Berry aligns with mine, but certainly thought he was one of our most effective yesterday. In particular, I think he often wastes kicks inside 50 but yesterday appeared to be purposely driving the ball in deep which worked a lot better than his usual shallow entries. Was easily in our best few players yesterday.
Not in my best but everyone has an opinion based on how they see the game.

You're a harsh critic ;)
I was excited to see Answerth pick up so quickly from where he left off before injury. I thought McStay was good early. Gardner looked solid while Neale shows us, once again, how important he is to our 22. Didn't mind Wilmot's game and would love to see Lohmann & Tunstill get a gig against the Bulldogs. The competition for spots in fierce. Ah Chee, Cockatoo, Berry, Robbo, D.Rob, Prior, Sharp, Madden, Kiddy all justify a place in the 22 but there is simply not enough spots.

A great problem to have. Our 18-25 listed players could all easily be best 22 and our kids in the next bracket are quite talented.

Then consider we've got Ashcroft and Fletcher coming in next year 😍

We also have Payne and Lester as depth for the taller defensive stocks, who could very easily be best 22 in other teams.

Best 22 in ‘22