Best 22 - Most Underrated Players of All Time

It is official acknowledgement, six times. What more do you want?

In your imagination, how do you get to a point where "everyone" acknowledges something?

It's certainly a shining example. Claiming he's under-rated despite being AA six times is absurd.

Basically, you could pick a player at random. I could claim he's under-rated, based on "the vibe". And there would be no argument available to you based on facts, unless "everyone" acknowledges they were awesome.

Think how dumb that is.

It’s a discussion forum. This place wouldn’t even exist if that isn’t how people operate.

Game day thread:

‘Eagles just kicked a goal.

Yes they did.’

x500

Enright or whoever it is, is irrelevant. I could just as easily cite Mitch Duncan as he has no AA nods but I actually think his standing within afl circles is reflective of his standing in the game itself.

Ricciuto was mentioned earlier in the thread.

He is not a cats player. I do think he is slightly underrated. You can disagree all you want because he’s won this or that but what gets analysed when deciding if someone is over or underrated isn’t their resume. It’s their reputation.

I would say ricciuto, beyond SA fans, has a reputation of being a great player but maybe not alongside the Abletts, Voss’ and Judd’s of the last 25 years. It’s his actual acknowledgements like a brownlow or a swag of AA jerseys that in itself should make people say ‘well hang on this bloke has a case as being one of the best handful of midfielders in decades.’

It’s a discussion forum. This place wouldn’t even exist if that isn’t how people operate.

Game day thread:

‘Eagles just kicked a goal.

Yes they did.’

x500

Enright or whoever it is, is irrelevant. I could just as easily cite Mitch Duncan as he has no AA nods but I actually think his standing within afl circles is reflective of his standing in the game itself.

Ricciuto was mentioned earlier in the thread.

He is not a cats player. I do think he is slightly underrated. You can disagree all you want because he’s won this or that but what gets analysed when deciding if someone is over or underrated isn’t their resume. It’s their reputation.

I would say ricciuto, beyond SA fans, has a reputation of being a great player but maybe not alongside the Abletts, Voss’ and Judd’s of the last 25 years. It’s his actual acknowledgements like a brownlow or a swag of AA jerseys that in itself should make people say ‘well hang on this bloke has a case as being one of the best handful of midfielders in decades.’
Read this again if you must.

Basically, you could pick a player at random. I could claim he's under-rated, based on "the vibe". And there would be no argument available to you based on facts, unless "everyone" acknowledges they were awesome.

This is the stupidity you're endorsing.

I you don't believe me, try it. Pick a player at random. And I'll feed your argument back to you so you can see how dumb it is.

Read this again if you must.

This is the stupidity you're endorsing.

I you don't believe me, try it. Pick a player at random.

You can call it stupidity all you want.

You’ll be having a pretty fvcken boring discussion with anyone who shares your view.

You can call it stupidity all you want.
Thanks but your consent wasn't required.

Pick a player at random. And I'll feed your argument back to you so you can see how dumb it is.

Player X has achieved this.

Yes, Player X has.
Yeah, and he's not really under-rated if those achievements include six AA nods. It's not hard.

Thanks but your consent wasn't required.

Pick a player at random. And I'll feed your argument back to you so you can see how dumb it is.

My argument that is shared by basically everyone else that has commented in this thread.

Ben Cousins. Peter Sumich. Craig Turley. David Mensch. Piss Drinking coinisseur Mark Zanotti. Non consensual intercourse enthusiast Adam Heuskes. I just don’t care.

This rule book of yours does not exist and if it did we would all have a copy.

My argument that is shared by basically everyone else that has commented in this thread.
Is that an endorsement?

Ben Cousins. Peter Sumich. Craig Turley. David Mensch. Piss Drinking coinisseur Mark Zanotti. Non consensual intercourse enthusiast Adam Heuskes. I just don’t care.
Peter Sumich (insert any other name) is under-rated.

In the grand popular cultural scheme, the vibe is that people don't think he was as good as he was. I just don't think he gets mentioned enough in discussions. I mean, when was the last time they talked about him on AFL 360? I know he's been retired for 20+ years but they should mention him more often. Under-rated.

In your mind, what factual argument would be acceptable against these statements? Any? None?

Is that an endorsement?

Peter Sumich (insert any other name) was under-rated.

In the grand popular cultural scheme, the vibe is that people don't think he was as good as he was. I just don't think he gets mentioned enough in discussions. I mean, when was the last time they talked about him on AFL 360? I know he's been retired for 20+ years but they should mention him more often. Under-rated.

In your mind, what factual argument would be acceptable against these statements? Any? None?

As he’s not a current player I don’t know why he would get discussed on 360 but I agree. I think he’s often overlooked when the golden era of forwards is discussed.

Why would I refute it when I agree with it.

And your argument would in turn generate discussion whereby people would agree or disagree. Hard to believe but that happens a lot on Internet forums.

As he’s not a current player I don’t know why he would get discussed on 360 but I agree.
That's how we know if players are under-rated. Whether they get mentioned regularly despite being retired. Like Daniel Bradshaw. He doesn't get mentioned enough. Therefore he's under-rated.

Why would I refute it when I agree with it.
So give me another player. Or do you think every player is under-rated?

That's how we know if players are under-rated. Whether they get mentioned regularly despite being retired. Like Daniel Bradshaw. He doesn't get mentioned enough. Therefore he's under-rated.

So give me another player. Or do you think every player is under-rated?

Ok mate get some sleep.

Let me know when your new facts only forum starts and I can pop in and say ‘this person was born in February and plays Australian Rules’ and all your members can hit the agree button and I can leave with a feeling of satisfaction.

Ok mate get some sleep.

Let me know when your new facts only forum starts and I can pop in and say ‘this person was born in February and plays Australian Rules’ and all your members can hit the agree button and I can leave with a feeling of satisfaction.
You're starting to realise that your argument is dumb?

I reckon Brendan Fewster was under-rated. Do you agree?

No, I’m starting to realise not everyone knows how discussion based online interaction works.
Facts not allowed? It's all about the vibe.

Hopefully one day Corey Enright will receive the acknowledgement he deserves. The six AAs are clearly insufficient. There should be a month named after him. Short of that, under-rated.

Peter Sumich (insert any other name) is under-rated.

Sumich had a bad timing. With Lockett, Dunstall and Ablett 3 of the top 5 goalkickers of all time were playing in his days. Even Modra gets more mentioned, probably because of his freakish x-factor (he probably is a little overrated) while a young Longmire was the one to sneak a Coleman from those 3 big names. But Sumich surely played a big role in WCs successful first half of 90s. And he won two premierships. Not many from that group can say that...
Doesn't get mentioned much.

Facts not allowed?

Hopefully one day Corey Enright will receive the acknowledgement he deserves. The six AAs are clearly insufficient. There should be a month named after him. Short of that, under-rated.
Enright is probably rated. His position not so much. That is why he seems underrated. Anybody not having him as the best small defender of his generation at least?

Enright is probably rated.
Don't let PhatBoy hear you say that. Six AAs is not sufficient acknowledgement. I don't think you appreciate how good he was.

They should bring in a medal called the Corey Enright Medal which gets awarded to the league's most under-rated player, adjudged without any regard for facts but instead based on the vibe and who deserves to be mentioned more.

PhatBoy would slide off his little chair in excitement.

Duncan at Geelong, Every time I watch them he racks up 30 possessions and he never even gets a mention.
could make the argument that he is the cats most important midfielder
Let’s the guys like Danger and Selwood have flexibility in their roles

I also always seem to forget that he’s been in the system almost as long as those other blokes (he’s 29) I always think he’s like 25 or 26

No it’s not. It’s pulling apart your stupid logic that only a select small percentage of consumers can determine whether something is any good or not
As opposed to the vibe?

Tell me, when does something cease to be under-rated?

Apparently Enright being AA six times doesn't meet the threshold. So what would it take?

I think it depends on what you mean by under-rated. As footballers, Matthews and Carey were under rated. So were Lockett, Dunstall and Ablett. I hope this helps.

To quote from the biblical Mike Sheahan's top fifty, "On the seventh day Mike Sheahan rated the best fifty of all time".

Wayne Carey- Ranked number one
Leigh Matthews- Ranked number two
Gary Ablett Snr- Ranked number four
Jason Dunstall- Ranked number five
Tony Lockett- Ranked number six

Unfortunately Mike Sheahan did not do a list of the top fifty Underrated footballers of all time, probably needed the likes hence went for the best.

That's one of the joys of talking footy with people.
Either you chat about the game in a current context, or
You chat about the past & it is fun to have shared memories of players, with others.
WTF is this obsession with people being "mentioned"? Should people really be sitting around talking about Daniel Bradshaw more often? In what context?

Handy player, no doubt. But is he in the top 10 key forwards of the past 20 years? I'd say no. Probably not even the top 15.

How about I write you a song called The Ballad of Daniel Bradshaw? Whenever you feel like he's not being mentioned enough, you can sing it to yourself.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Best 22 - Most Underrated Players of All Time