Best Dvfl Player Ever

Colbol35, so if your young to be good you need to be in the vfl? thats a load of crap i have friends that have recently been de-listed from the afl they have gone to vfl clubs and hated it and have gone back to local footy becuase they are not enjoying there footy at vfl, i also had a short stint in the vfl and i hated it aswell i have now gone back to local footy and are loving every minute of it, i got droped from the vfl and found out first hand that they spin a lot of shit to get you there and then use u up as they please, and i reckon there is alot of young good players in the nfl that would easily be able to fit into a vfl side?
i think one of the main reasons alot of these young kids and even ex afl players come back and play local footy is because there is alot of easy money to be made, there is hardly any commitment at local level needed, i would say probably 7 hours a week and for the amount of money some get paid its the easy option. instead of giving up 4 to 5 days of ur week busting ur balls at a vfl club trying to break through to the seniors but probably going to play reserves for pretty much no coin would be the main reason alot of youngsters dont stay, the commitment is too much. and i would really doubtt that there would be any young players in ur comp that could fill spots in a senior vfl side without being down there for a couple of years earning there stripes.

Sorry mate i cant totally agree, to sum extent yes thats true there is alot of easy money to be made at not alot of commitment, but the reason i left was becuase i was not enjoying my footy and same with my other mates the only reason they left was becuase they were no longer enjoying footy and just wanted to have some fun again and play with there mates, 1 of my mates who only last year got dropped from st kilda wanted to get back into it so bad and was doing everything he could to get back, he took up being a paper boy so he could fit all there training schedules in so he didnt have to work when they were training, now thats commitment and he worked his a** off and for what? for them to play him in the 2's when he was by far a better footballer than at least half the guys on the team? they way the vfl works is crap they dont play players on form the play and pay players on there name, they have there favourites. and for me i am not on that much at my current club but got offered a alot more at other div 1 clubs but didnt take it up cuz i just wanted to have fun with my mates and get back to enjoying my footy and i am. i spose weve all had different experiences so u might have had a different one, but from people i know that play they dont like it, its just not fun and they just use u up as they please

I dont think you could go past Ace Cameron or Jamie shaw (90 s onwards) the best two ive seen. But from what i have heard Mario capola was an absolute champion.Robbo and Gadget were'nt bad either.

Wow, I thought most of you guys would be too young to remember players like Mario Cappola.

I left Melbourne in 1981, just as my team Diamo Creek went on their winning run.

John O'Connell, John Horton (my fav player) were two good players for Diamo back then.

do u play footy?...did u get a bit of a towling last time bundoora played u's are we touching on some hurt pride here....its the 3rd year mate n comming first in a b nf and top 3 last 2 years running aint bad...wats ur bundoora top 5 then

Don't type in Sms format you stupid immature noob!:thumbsdown:

One for the old old blokes

Frank Finlay and Alan Finlay it's been that long i've forgotten who they played with in the DVFL.
I know they played a lot of footy with Fairfield amateurs and then Parkside.Great players in their day, I can remember Alan Finlay kicking out at Parkside's ground he would nearly put in the center (Drop Kick) and that is a fair effort at that ground

A young Athas hyrousoulakis running around for lalor in his asics tigers would have to be one of the best midfielders seen in the valley apparently could chew a few souvas as well

Not good has fallen on hard times.
Hes alright big spider he has always been a substance abuser. He wont live a long life but he'll die a happy man. I still talk to him every now and then and he's happy living the same life he has lived for the past 25 years. Hes not the sort of bloke that admits he has a problem he just thinks thats the way we live. Spides is a great bloke and will always be a legend in my book. The best player i have ever played with.

I can't believe how far left of center this thread became, maybe if we add some rules.
1 - Must have played at least 150 a Grade div 1 games
2 - No player from Div 2 qualifies

On some of the questions posted
Bernie Smead was just OK, the best from Watsy would have been
1 - Mick Lamb
2 - Mal Griffith
(both of those 2 could have played Div 1 but didn't)
Someone asked about Northcote Park
bit of a guess here but maybe
1 - Origlasso
2 - ooze (i know i spelt that wrong)
icon10.gif
i saw nortcote park win 5 div one flags in 6 years.they had some great players in simon lennox,jason croall,shannon logan,joe & matty amad,damien yze,brett jeffries,saad saad, dave strooper,and barry mitchell

Not the best, but one to watch out for in the future, is a kid called Josh Earnest. He has a head like a watermelon, but **** can he play! :p

yes i have heard of him....but an even better player who has been around FOREVER but is just hittin his straps, is a man by the name of Leighroy Miller he is a powerhouse...and apparently he can cook one hell of a meal for multiple people on a thursday night, and not have one person dissapointed with their food

Yep, and cooking is not the only thing he pleases people in mulitples of. :D

Merv Bennel for me guys..eltham and research champion in the 50's..he didnt wear the number 1 for nothing..just ask him

Yep, if only Merv was half as good as he says he was :D

What about B Weatherald. I've heard he could play a bit in his day. Don't know if he was tough enough for DVFL but he did win a league Goal kicking award for Coburg in 1987.

Now days is content with coaching the young fellas and doesn't mind pinching Kickass's, Western Samoan Hot Chips from the Kitchen on a Thursday night .

Yep, if only Merv was half as good as he says he was :D

What about B Weatherald. I've heard he could play a bit in his day. Don't know if he was tough enough for DVFL but he did win a league Goal kicking award for Coburg in 1987.

Now days is content with coaching the young fellas and doesn't mind pinching Kickass's, Western Samoan Hot Chips from the Kitchen on a Thursday night .

he doesnt mind a beer or 28 either

Best Dvfl Player Ever