McLeod
Long
O'Loughlin
Goodes
Johnson
Kickett, Derek
Pickett
Davey

All of these guys epitomise terrific natural talent of the modern indigenous Aussie Rules player.

I think Kevin was onto something when he suggested that each club should be given one salary cap-free indigenous draft pick per annum.

Is this ALL TIME or CURRENT??

Ok, of all time POLLY FARMER easily folloed by greats M.Long, N.Winmar,J.Krauoker and I'm sure there are plenty more I am not remembering.

Currently on the playing lists .... A. McLeod- followed by Goodes, C.Johnson, Peter Bougoyne and Wanganeen

Future potential stars include Wells, Clarke brothers, Sampi, Davey, Motlop, Murray, --- but are all JUST POTENTIAL haven't made any list yet!

I need alist of WHO is aboriginal. Lappin? if so then YES. O'Louhglin? if so YES...

What about Darren Bewick wasn't he an Aboriginal player I read an article in the Western Australian a few years ago about the best ever and he was in there.

Mr Crow! said:
Don't get me started.

There is NO such thing as an Indigenous person.

'Aborigines' came from somewhere... they didn't just spring out of the ground of the Australian continent. Current theories abound that they travelled to this continent from India, somewhere like that thousands of years ago.

And the 'laws' that define what an indigenous person are, are utterly ridiculous. An 8th generation Australian is indigenous. So eventually white people, asian people, etc... will be indigenous.

And a person only has to be 1/8th Aboriginal to be deemed Aboriginal / Indigenous... what a joke. Look at Geoff Clarke, leader of ATSIC. Obviously he is white, but is deemed an Aboriginal. I am from Darwin, NT - and Geoff Clarke looks nothing like a full blood Aboriginal. It is people like him, half-castes, quarter castes that are ripping off the system and claiming the benefits to the detriment of REAL Aboriginals.

End rant.
Sheesh mate, I think we all know what we are referring to here.... your post is kind of irrelevant in this context.

This...

Mr Crow! said:
Don't get me started.

There is NO such thing as an Indigenous person.

'Aborigines' came from somewhere... they didn't just spring out of the ground of the Australian continent. Current theories abound that they travelled to this continent from India, somewhere like that thousands of years ago.

And the 'laws' that define what an indigenous person are, are utterly ridiculous. An 8th generation Australian is indigenous. So eventually white people, asian people, etc... will be indigenous.

And a person only has to be 1/8th Aboriginal to be deemed Aboriginal / Indigenous... what a joke. Look at Geoff Clarke, leader of ATSIC. Obviously he is white, but is deemed an Aboriginal. I am from Darwin, NT - and Geoff Clarke looks nothing like a full blood Aboriginal. It is people like him, half-castes, quarter castes that are ripping off the system and claiming the benefits to the detriment of REAL Aboriginals.

End rant.

...then this:

Mr Crow! said:
YES! Anyone remember Adam (sic) McAdam... the one season wonder!?

...kinda defeats the while purpose of your rant, eh Mr Crow? :cool:

Blue Red and Gold said:
Andrew Mcleod by a mile

Multiple AA
2x Premiership player
2X Norm Smith
Multiple Club Champion

Nobody else's statistics even come close.
Macca could chase anyone down, avoid anyone, win matches off his own boot when he was in his prime. He will still show glimpses of it but sadly I think his best is behind him.

St Phillip, you cant be serious! Farmer?
and you said Winmar was inconsistant :rolleyes:

polly farmer....as if the other tosser would even rate a mention!!!

From Dockerland poster Ooslumbird:

Steven Michael(T.I.) made his WAFL debut in 1975, and amassed 210 consecutive games before missing one through injury at the start of 1984. For a bloke who played the game as hard as he did, that was an outstanding feat of durability which added another dimension to his wealth of talent.

Awards: Sandover Medal 1980-81
South Fremantle Fairest and Best 1977-78-81-83
Tassie Medal 1983
All Australian captain 1983
Simpson Medal, WA V SA, 1983
Captained WA 1982, Played 17 games for WA

Just wondering - does anyone know if any other indigenous Australians have been AA captain?

Stephen Michael was an amazing footballer - people who never saw him certainly missed out.

masai said:
The standard of journalism in The West is very low, especially in relation to checking facts before printing.
Amen to that. See the 'piece' in yesterday's West about how Jimmy Krakouer may have had a coffee with John Kizon? Riveting stuff.... :rolleyes:

janiek said:
in the end i just had to go & get the info about aker from the AFL site

http://afl.com.au/?pg=printerfriendly&spg=default&articleid=68835

janiek, I have still have the article:

The Courier Mail
Wednesday, May 12, 2004

By JASON AKERMANIS

paragraph 16:
"My name has actually been linked to Aboriginal heritage and I blame myself."

He goes on to explain a conversation with a teammate about his (Aker's) family and his footy...

"It was speculation (of Aker's Aboriginality) that got so far out of control I noticed this week on the AFL's official website that I am listed as one of just two Aboriginal players to have won the Brownlow medal. (My guess is, at the time of writing it, he forgot about Goodes.)

"While I consider it a huge compliment to be thought of in that light, I don't have a skerrick of proof."

Aker explains that: his Dad was adopted at birth - his Dad has dark skin.

"And so the idea (of Aker having Aboriginall heritage) stuck."

Hope that clears it up for you. :)

re: David Kantilla
fabulousphil said:
so are you , never saw him play, just thought i would throw him in to confuse a few people.

By all reports, an out and out champion of the game. Recently inducted into the Panthers' Hall of fame, yes? Sadly, killed in a car crash not long after his SA career ended.

Best Indigenous Player