• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Best Local PLayers

Eagles_09 said:
Is that the same saul caddy that played for yarrawonga last yr??

That's him.
Came with a big reputation, but didn't deliver like so many Yarrawonga recruits in the past.
Interesting to note they are going okay this year.
They are sitting in eighth spot on the ladder (six points out of the five) heading into round 13 and are still a chance.
The pre-season pundits had them down near the bottom and there was talk they weren't going to field a twos side at one stage.
But, they have unearthed some ripper young talent locally which has been bolstered by the return of home-grown players Craig Ednie and Xavier Leslie.
Luke Hammond is having a good year and Jason Wild is back to his best form.
Mark Tyrell and Brett Clarke are the best of the locals blooded at senior level this year.

harsh said:
That's him.
Came with a big reputation, but didn't deliver like so many Yarrawonga recruits in the past.
Interesting to note they are going okay this year.
They are sitting in eighth spot on the ladder (six points out of the five) heading into round 13 and are still a chance.
The pre-season pundits had them down near the bottom and there was talk they weren't going to field a twos side at one stage.
But, they have unearthed some ripper young talent locally which has been bolstered by the return of home-grown players Craig Ednie and Xavier Leslie.
Luke Hammond is having a good year and Jason Wild is back to his best form.
Mark Tyrell and Brett Clarke are the best of the locals blooded at senior level this year.

Yeah he had a big rep last yr and was nothing but a hot head who gave away silly free kicks and 50 mt penalties, but had a few stand out games.
Yeah and the leagues so much more even this yr than in the last couple of yrs as you can see by wangaratta magpies up the top three games clea, they havent made the finals before this yr for a long long time. Yarra are peaking at exactly the right time i reckon too they are in good shape they have had lance oswald from the VFL playing for a couple off weeks.

Eagles_09 said:
Is that the same saul caddy that played for yarrawonga last yr??
It sure is, he kills them in the dvfl and has won may games for nth. heidelberg. Im led to believe he didnt like the travelling all that well.

Saad Saad is an amazing player. This season he has gone up bush some where, was actually knocked out in a behind the play incident. He was from Northcote Park and then got a gig in the VFL with the Northern Bullants. Anyone know why he left?

Have to agree with eagles_09. Robbie Walker for mine. Saw all Wang Rovers games one year and don't think I saw him put in a bad performance. Also saw him single-handedly win 3 or 4 games for them that season. Was speaking to an old North Melb recruiter and he was mentioning that Robbie Walker was the one that got-away and could have been anything.

harsh said:
Why stop there.
Andrew Pollett, David Mason, Shane Loveless, Rob Hughes, Kevin Greenwood, Jamie Freeman, ******** Coulthard, Brendan Hogan, Nick Whittaker, Graeme Collins.
Can't believe a city the size of Sale hasn't had more success.
Would have to be one of the most under-achieving clubs in country Victoria.
Last flag 1986.
I was there the day they beat Morwell to win their premiership.
Perhaps they need to look at Maffra for the secret to success.
Sadly i'd have to agree with you but i think there are some excuses that can be made .Just comparing us to Maffra for a moment ,our equivilant age players to the current Maffra group would consist of players like Dylan McClaren ,Shane Birss ,Jason Gram ,Jacob Schubak all in the Afl then you have guys like Luke & Taylor Collins ,Kris Pendlebury in the VFL ,Rod Love & Piasente (forgotten his first name was capt of West Adelaide )in the SANFL & others who have had to leave the area through lack of employment.Maffra in recent years have only had Sam Pleming (Carlton )& the Burgiel bros drafted to the AFL both of which are back with the Eagles .To their credit,Maffra have been able to keep a good bunch of juniors together .Our juniors on the other hand have been above average for a number of years which in a way has been to the club's detriment.Add to that you have the fact that a lot of young local guys are employed in the RAAF which is a transient population & offshore in the oil industrie where the money is fantastic but the job won't allow time off for football injuries.Taking all that into account & the fact that you also have about three other minor league clubs drawing out of the area the pool of available footballers becomes a lot smaller.Taking nothing away from Maffra though they're a great club & deserve every bit of success they've had.

a.k.a. said:
Yse is an absolute freak. Marks absolutely everything, and rarely misses a shot at goal...

yeah hes pretty good. when we played against him this year kicked 5 in the first quarter then someone got moved on to him and struggled for the rest of the game.

Anybody from geelong league club North Shore between 1995-2000 when the Seagulls won 6 consecutive premierships...

Names like Hall, Robertson, Walsh, Warren, Milsome...the list goes on

Aaron Greaves (St.Joseph's FC, Geelong) is a fair player on his day...

Darren Leahy (Greensborough, ex Leopold) probably the most couragoues I've seen...

I believe Derek Filo was pretty handy...

But for sheer class, matchwinning ability, courage, and consistency in very good, and sometimes ordinary teams...Robbie Walker, come on down...

Harsh, But Fair will remember the day Walker single handedly brought Rovers back from the death at 3qt to draw a match against eventual premiers Corowa-Rutherglen in 2003

One of the best local footballers i have seen and im sure many people would agree is Mark Power (Sunbury,Mooropana,North Ballarat) the guy is a machine.

Darren Bennet who played for Swan Hill and i think Lake Boga was a gem, apparantly the guy basically did what he wanted and is a legend up there. I think he would be in his last season this year.

For as much as people hate him Dean Lupson was a very very very good footballer, im not sure if it was from talent or just the fact people hated playing againts him so they wouldnt tackle the guy. Probably the ladder.

Rabbi Kachouer (dunno how to spell his name) who plays this season at Keilor and the before that Moone Valley has won the last 2 EDFL medals and is a out and out superstar, would be interested to know if anyone has seen him play??

Sproule from Melton South is a gun player, getting older now but gee the guy just used to own the backline, a very smart player one of the best ive seen at his peak.

Travis Hodgson is a tough ball winner, always thought he had the talent and football smarts and is playing some great footy, one for the future perhaps.

cheers

Luke Ottens from Lower Plenty on his day would be among the best. Reminds me of his brother Brad a lot. When he has confidence, he will dominate and mark anything. But when he is low on confidence, he'll stay in his shell.

Best Wafl Player i have ever seen
Shane Beros
Past couple of years has carved them up in the wafl
played for the state, 1 sandover(deserved 2)
Alisitair Pickett, also a very good player too

All fantastic names, all great players in there own right. If any of them are as good a players as Robbie Walker I would be very surprised. Played against Robbie Walker 3 times in 2003, and even at about 34 years of age was the best I have seen. Would have had 40 odd touoches and kicked 4 playing onn ball, an absolute marvel, and fantastic fella to boot.

Some players from the EFL Division 1 that spring to mind are:

Bernie Dineen (multiple VAFA "A" B&F and bottom of the pack terrier) and Brad Cullen (Vermont), Daniel Donati and Gavin Vassallo (Noble Park), Adam and Lucas Slater (East Burwood), Bradley O'Connor (Donvale), Tim Hargraves (East Ringwood, though not as good as his Yarrawonga days from all accounts).

andrew forster-knight....(therry-penola)

freakishly skilled player who is being held back by coaching staff who refuse to play him anywhere but full-back. still manages to embarrass opposition full-forwards week-in, week-out including ex-AFL players Julian Kirzner and David Loats

Best local players I've seen:

Simon Minton-Connell: (Ex- Carlton, Sydney, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Balwyn, Doutta Stars, Aberfeldie, Moonee Valley and NOBS superstar)

Kicks a guaranteed ton every year. Forget Simon Goosey - this guy is/was better and not a bad bloke to boot.

Robert Lamberti ( Moonee Valley, Mulwala and Doutta Stars. Looks and smells like a Taxi Driver but was a genuine freak)

Brendon Long (Frankston YCW. Has won about 10 B&Fs and 3 or 4 flags. Still playing at a high level at Age 34. Used to absolutely dominate sweeping across half back)

Jock's Netballers said:
Anybody from geelong league club North Shore between 1995-2000 when the Seagulls won 6 consecutive premierships...

Names like Hall, Robertson, Walsh, Warren, Milsome...the list goes on

Aaron Greaves (St.Joseph's FC, Geelong) is a fair player on his day...

Darren Leahy (Greensborough, ex Leopold) probably the most couragoues I've seen...

I believe Derek Filo was pretty handy...

But for sheer class, matchwinning ability, courage, and consistency in very good, and sometimes ordinary teams...Robbie Walker, come on down...

Harsh, But Fair will remember the day Walker single handedly brought Rovers back from the death at 3qt to draw a match against eventual premiers Corowa-Rutherglen in 2003

Here here Rob was amazing that day, got the ball from the middle and kicked a goal after breaking about 4 tackles to get rovers a draw, you have to have seen this man to understand how good he is. All mentioned would be great players though i imagine.

Best Local PLayers