Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne

Tried to go out in South Yarra back in August on a Saturday night.
Got knocked back from every joint on the strip
161, Electric, etc

Clubs just don't wants over 30s in their venues lol which is whom occupies this thread

and tbf they are correct and justified in doing so haha

But there are still people going to clubs outside of the CBD in Fitzroy and South Yarra
I think lol

This is why my favourite nightspot in my suburb is the local RSL (and not the wanky wine bar)

It's a national disgrace this thread has fizzled, drowned, and simmered to nowt.

It was a genuine hobby to come on here on a Friday arvo after uni and to see what was popping and then on Sunday, I'd get a pizza from this place on Brunswick and Gertrude street and have had a sad six pack and we'd all catch up on the best clubs and where the women were.

The state of Australian pubs and clubs and their decline is worthy of an enquiry.

I don't even know what zoomers get up to these days but there was a huge buzz about the days back when, that are (for now) kept in an internet ember for young men who would go to Ding Dong on Tuesday, Bottom End Friday, and alternate between Rats and My Aeon on a Saturday. throw in a Liberty Social on a Wednesday; whatever. it's your right to get drunk four nights a week and have enough money to go to Europe once a year on a dole payment.

What a different world.

Even my mid-early 20's friends aren't going out much anymore. They're into their health and fitness (good for them) but literally have no interest in going out and enjoying a few beers with their mates.

Watch DannyRants on YouTube, former club promotor. He talks about the issues within the industry today but basically is saying that ticketed events/concerts/festivals are UP and nightclubs are massively DOWN.

It all boils down to technology. People are connected online and don't feel the need to catch up as much anymore. You can stay in and have a good night. People are more aware of the damages alcohol can do to the mind and body through Tik Tok and YouTube etc. Our generation generally didn't give a **** and were able to stay healthy but also party at the same time.

Watch DannyRants on YouTube, former club promotor. He talks about the issues within the industry today but basically is saying that ticketed events/concerts/festivals are UP and nightclubs are massively DOWN.

It all boils down to technology. People are connected online and don't feel the need to catch up as much anymore. You can stay in and have a good night. People are more aware of the damages alcohol can do to the mind and body through Tik Tok and YouTube etc. Our generation generally didn't give a **** and were able to stay healthy but also party at the same time.
This can't be overstated enough. People are willing to save their money and spend big on ticketed events, especially concerts camping festivals even when a huge effort is required. Or put it toward going overseas and doing the same thing there at a cheaper cost. Major camping festivals like Beyond the Valley, Pitch, Strawberry Fields are huge talking points throughout the year for young people.

Social media definitely plays a part. People are bored less - so there is less need to go out. Although I reckon it's generally true that 18-25 prefer a good house party over a big night out in South Yarra/Fitzroy/CBD. Safer chance that it'll be a good night, and especially for women, safer all round.

Although, it could just be the ebb and flow of things. Trends matter greatly and people always want to be doing what their friends are doing. Techno/electronic festivals are huge right now, but that can certainly shift.

that's a load of shite. festivals are going belly-up left and right. people are 'bored less' because they're on the same 3 apps all the time; truthfully they're more bored than ever. everyone ever has preferred 'a good house party' that's why it's called a 'good' house party. how many of those come round in a year? i reckon ten in the year of my peak social life.

Are clubs actually any good though? I went to heaps of clubs when I was younger, and I look back now and wonder what I was doing. Yeah ok you might get the odd pash on the d floor, but are they really that enjoyable? Loud (and often) shit music, you don’t ever talk to anyone, you pile your body with terrible substances and feel shithouse the next couple of days. I’m early 30s now and every now and then find myself at one and am out 30 mins later. Maybe this generation has just worked out that they’re kinda shit and it’s funner to party at a house or have a proper Sunday doing something active.

It's a national disgrace this thread has fizzled, drowned, and simmered to nowt.

It was a genuine hobby to come on here on a Friday arvo after uni and to see what was popping and then on Sunday, I'd get a pizza from this place on Brunswick and Gertrude street and have had a sad six pack and we'd all catch up on the best clubs and where the women were.

The state of Australian pubs and clubs and their decline is worthy of an enquiry.

I don't even know what zoomers get up to these days but there was a huge buzz about the days back when, that are (for now) kept in an internet ember for young men who would go to Ding Dong on Tuesday, Bottom End Friday, and alternate between Rats and My Aeon on a Saturday. throw in a Liberty Social on a Wednesday; whatever. it's your right to get drunk four nights a week and have enough money to go to Europe once a year on a dole payment.

What a different world.
We're all in wine bars now. Hanging out with marketing executives and drinking delicious craft porters.

Are there any 18-23 year olds on forums anymore? No one going out is posting about it here. They're all on the tiktok and such. BigFooty should have pivoted to video.

This is an interesting point too. Most people on this forum are on here because we didn’t grow up with Instagram and Tik Tok and wanted to chat about shit, particularly footy. I can’t imagine anybody I know in that age bracket being on here.

No 19 year olds here posting about their first time at Revs. Tragic really, the world we live in.

Are clubs actually any good though? I went to heaps of clubs when I was younger, and I look back now and wonder what I was doing. Yeah ok you might get the odd pash on the d floor, but are they really that enjoyable? Loud (and often) shit music, you don’t ever talk to anyone, you pile your body with terrible substances and feel shithouse the next couple of days. I’m early 30s now and every now and then find myself at one and am out 30 mins later. Maybe this generation has just worked out that they’re kinda shit and it’s funner to party at a house or have a proper Sunday doing something active.
Yeah they were absolutely ****ing sick, clubs were a renowned part of the social fabric across the world for decades. the idea of going 'pffff I kissed a few girls' and thinking that's a bad thing is some pretty coping behaviour.

You can kick the cobwebs out with a Sherrin on Monday, sneak in a quick 20 minute sprint on Tuesday morning, it's not that hard to have balance. the idea of forgoing some very very fun times because, like, you could do exercise 7am Sunday is a bit odd. I met some of the best people in my life from a beer on a Thursday that rolled into a Friday and I wouldn't have met them in this current climate.

Clubs were ****in mega fun, whether it was a trendy haunt or a shithole, they were good ****ing times. I know some zoomers and I sort of feel sorry for them – I remember going out on Monday for a $13 jug and rocking up to RMIT and asking people if I could borrow some paper and a pen because I'd been sleeping at a mate's for an hour on Franklin Street prior to rolling in.

That's what you should do at 21.

ffs 'are clubs good...' not like they've been the intent and result of some of the sickest ****in music and films ever. sheeeeeeesh this world is ****ed.

Also parties... the last few I've been to, the chat was probably less edgy than the chat I have with work colleagues on a slow Thursday in the office. remember a while ago me and a mate heard about a 'sure thing' and rocked up with two slabs of Kronenburgs and people looked at us like we'd brought in criminal amounts of schedule four drugs. ended up so unintirely worth it we had to succumb half the French imports and just sat at mine watching cricket highlights and doing amyl and drinking long blacks.

People want to keep their nice terrace house sharehouses in the inner north or live in apartments where, no matter your state, playing Orbital at 4am doesn't feel good for the neighbours. hardcore fiend mates of mine might host a party twice a year but half the attendee list don't rock up because, even without kids, it's a 40 buck uber there and back and... nah, already can't be arsed.

Yeah they were absolutely ****ing sick, clubs were a renowned part of the social fabric across the world for decades. the idea of going 'pffff I kissed a few girls' and thinking that's a bad thing is some pretty coping behaviour.

You can kick the cobwebs out with a Sherrin on Monday, sneak in a quick 20 minute sprint on Tuesday morning, it's not that hard to have balance. the idea of forgoing some very very fun times because, like, you could do exercise 7am Sunday is a bit odd. I met some of the best people in my life from a beer on a Thursday that rolled into a Friday and I wouldn't have met them in this current climate.

Clubs were ****in mega fun, whether it was a trendy haunt or a shithole, they were good ****ing times. I know some zoomers and I sort of feel sorry for them – I remember going out on Monday for a $13 jug and rocking up to RMIT and asking people if I could borrow some paper and a pen because I'd been sleeping at a mate's for an hour on Franklin Street prior to rolling in.

That's what you should do at 21.
I didn’t kissing girls was a bad thing, I said it was the only remotely good thing amongst a sea of negatives.

Great to hear you got a lot out of it, personally I didn’t. Met a lot of people but none that I could say ever became good friends. A lot of 5am chats that ended with “yeah mate, we should ****ing hang out, in fact let’s do it this week” that never materialised. Maybe that’s my issue, but I reckon that would be a pretty common experience.

Yeah you get the odd one that goes off, but this is more the exception than the rule. You say that’s what you should be doing at 21, but is it really?? Bender after bender is terrible for your mental and physical health and IMO you’re not making real connections, just hanging out with fellow sesh merchants who are gone as soon as the good times are.

that's a load of shite. festivals are going belly-up left and right. people are 'bored less' because they're on the same 3 apps all the time; truthfully they're more bored than ever. everyone ever has preferred 'a good house party' that's why it's called a 'good' house party. how many of those come round in a year? i reckon ten in the year of my peak social life.
Indie-style, Triple J ones are going balls up at the minute. No one is shelling out that sort of money for mid-tier Australian artists that they could see any time they wanted. As I said, techno and electronic is about as popular as ever. Beyond the Valley predominantly covers this style and that'll see around 40-50k people, most of whom are shelling out well over $500 just for tickets and camping passes, let alone the other costs associated. Plenty of similar style festivals half the size that sell out within minutes without a lineup being revealed/

I totally agree that people are bored less because of their phones, that's the reason I mentioned it.

Truth be told, there's really a lot of cynicism around clubbing. Pubs and bars are still pretty popular. More easy-going atmosphere that you can hang around with your mates without all the bullshit.

Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne