Club History Best Player per Guernsey Number in the AFL

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
Sorry for intruding but, with this year being Port Adelaide's 19th season in the VFL/AFL, I thought it would be best to do a thread for who wore a number better.

Who do you think wore a number better?
Who would you have from 1-47?

Some numbers are easier than others.

No. 5 for instance I'd have Brendon Lade as the prevailing choice.

Some numbers could be more interesting than others.

No. 9. Josh Carr vs Brayden Lyle vs Jacob Surjan vs Robbie Gray.
No. 10. Josh Francou vs Travis Boak.
No. 12. Jackson Trengove vs Che Cockatoo-Collins.
No. 14. Stephen Paxman vs Paul Stewart.
No. 20. Dean Brogan vs Chad Wingard.
No. 24. Damon White vs Jarman Impey.
No. 28. Toby Thurstans vs Jay Schulz.
No. 33. Darren Mead vs Brett Ebert.
No. 42. Peter Walsh vs Tom Jonas.

FWIW, these are my selections.

01 Gavin Wanganeen.
02 Matthew Primus.
03 Shayne Breuer.
04 Matthew Bishop.
05 Brendon Lade.
06 Jarrad Schofield.
07 Peter Burgoyne.
08 Shaun Burgoyne.
09 Josh Carr.
10 Josh Francou.
11 Damien Hardwick.
12 Che Cockatoo-Collins.
13 Cameron O'Shea.
14 Stephen Paxman.
15 Michael Wilson.
16 Warren Tredrea.
17 Stuart Dew.
18 Kane Cornes.
19 Donald Dickie.
20 Dean Brogan.
21 Matt Thomas.
22 Josh Mahoney.
23 Matthew Bode.
24 Jarman Impey.
25 Domenic Cassisi.
26 Andrew Moore.
27 Alipate Carlile.
28 Toby Thurstans.
29 Adam Kingsley.
30 Troy Chaplin.
31 Barnaby French.
32 Matt Thomas.
33 Brett Ebert.
34 Brent Guerra.
35 Chad Cornes.
36 Nick Stevens.
37 Kane Mitchell.
38 Roger James.
39 Justin Westhoff.
40 Aaron Young.
41 Jason Davenport.
42 Peter Walsh.
43 Daniel Stewart.
44 Tom Logan.
45 Cameron Hitchcock.
46 Sam Gray.
47 Jarrad Irons.

One last point.

Was Gavin Wanganeen better wearing No. 1 or No. 4 and was Matty Primus better wearing No. 1 or No. 2?

Over to you.

P.s. I hope I'm allowed to post this sort of thread.

No. 9. Brayden Lyle vs Jacob Surjan vs Robbie Gray.
No. 10. Josh Francou vs Travis Boak.
No. 12. Jackson Trengove vs Che Cockatoo-Collins.
No. 14. Stephen Paxman vs Paul Stewart.
No. 20. Dean Brogan vs Chad Wingard.
No. 24. Damon White vs Jarman Impey.
No. 28. Toby Thurstans vs Jay Schulz.
No. 33. Darren Mead vs Brett Ebert.
No. 42. Peter Walsh vs Tom Jonas.

Apart from 10, 14 and 24 I'd say you've gotten every one of these very, very wrong. And 10 is only not very, very wrong because Boak played his best football in the 1.

My changes to your list would be:

1 - Boak
3 - Montgomery by a mile
4 - Wanganeen
9 - Gray by a mile
20 - Wingard by a mile
21 - Wilson (his best footy was in 15 but he was still better than Thomas)
23 - Lobbe by a mile
28 - Schulz by a mile
32 - Butcher probably showed more in that number than Thomas did, pity he went to shit after he got #11
33 - Mead
42 - Jonas by a mile

I like the idea but your execution isn't the greatest, sorry.

Opening sentence might need an "in the AFL" qualifier unless you want your thread to be derailed right off the bat. :)

Promptly edited. :thumbsu::thumbsu:.

Cheers Raman.

1. Travis Boak
2. Matthew Primus
3. Brett Montgomery
4. Gavin Wanganeen
5. Brendon Lade
6. Jarrad Schofield
7. Peter Burgoyne
8. Shaun Burgoyne
9. Robbie Gray
10. Travis Boak
11. Damien Hardwick
12. Jackson Trengove
14. Stephen Paxman
15. Michael Wilson
16. Warren Tredrea
17. Stuart Dew
18. Kane Cornes
19. Matthew Bishop
20. Chad Wingard
21. Michael Wilson
23. Matthew Lobbe
25. Domenic Cassisi
27. Alipate Carlile
28. Jay Schulz
29. Adam Kingsley
31. Steven Salopek
33. Darren Mead
35. Chad Cornes
36. Jack Hombsch
38. Roger James
39. Justin Westhoff
42. Tom Jonas

That's as far as I got before losing interest.

Monty in bold red for a reason. Breuer was a tryer, Monty was a star.

Apart from 10, 14 and 24 I'd say you've gotten every one of these very, very wrong. And 10 is only not very, very wrong because Boak played his best football in the 1.

My changes to your list would be:

1 - Boak
4 - Wanganeen
9 - Gray by a mile
20 - Wingard by a mile
21 - Wilson (his best footy was in 15 but he was still better than Thomas)
23 - Lobbe by a mile
28 - Schulz by a mile
32 - Butcher probably showed more in that number than Thomas did, pity he went to shit after he got #11
33 - Mead
42 - Jonas by a mile

I like the idea but your execution isn't the greatest, sorry.

Mmmmm.

Robbie Gray, arguably the best player in the comp, versus Brayden Lyle and Jacob Surjan.

Are we taking into account Lyle's paramedic career or?

Great thread for spuds that wore rarely used/high numbers... recognition

10. Travis Boak

I'd rate Boak over Francou career-wise, but that's mostly off of the strength of post-captaincy Boak. Francou was a fair way ahead of pre-captaincy Boak IMO. Pre-captaincy Boak was a bit underwhelming.

Yeah that's true.

What about Josh Carr at no.9?? Whilst Gray is having a ripper couple of years. I'd still have Carr ahead at the minute.

SHIT forgot about Carr.

Carr --> Gray --> Lyle --> Surjan --> Ezard.

Brogan V Wingard, very very hard at this stage to judge. Two completely different players. Broges was a match winner in his position, as is Chad is in his, but Chad has a long way to go and could be anything, as i expect him to be.........or, could drop off, which i don't expect him to. Depends on what you're team needs at the time when comparing players.

Chad was an All-Australian in his second year. He wins.

Despite all the games that Damon White played for us, I still remember him for something he did in a North Adelaide guernsey

Chad was an All-Australian in his second year. He wins.
And since?

Broges was a match winning ruckman for the best part of his career, and the barometer of our team at the time. Not disputing your call on Chad, but he has to keep on keeping on to compare to Brogan at this stage.

And since?

Broges was a match winning ruckman for the best part of his career, and the barometer of our team at the time. Not disputing your call on Chad, but he has to keep on keeping on to compare to Brogan at this stage.

Brogan was third banana behind Primus and Lade. A very good, hard working, honest player and not an All-Australian. Chad is a star who achieved AA status at 19, and consequently marked pretty hard ever since. Most 20-21 year olds would kill for his 2014-15 numbers.

I'm pretty sure Broges took the number one mantle when Primus was injured a lot late in his time, and Ladey slowed down. As i said, i don't dispute your call. Although, if we didn't have the likes of Lobbe and Ryder right now, i'd take Brogan over Wingard at this very moment. Chad needs to find his promising form, and be consistent to convince me fully.

Is there seriously a Brogan v Wingard discussion in this thread or did someone slip me mushrooms?
Same number ( 20 ), that's what the thread is about. Thats why i thought twice in my Homer Simpson brain before posting. Homer won out.

Club History Best Player per Guernsey Number in the AFL