Been thinking that I'd like to watch the game vs the Dawks with a bit more atmosphere than me screaming at the TV on the couch. So is there a good pub in Brisbane to go watch the game at that Pies fans go to?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Been thinking that I'd like to watch the game vs the Dawks with a bit more atmosphere than me screaming at the TV on the couch. So is there a good pub in Brisbane to go watch the game at that Pies fans go to?
I watched the GF at the Pineapple last year. Not too bad, but you will be jammed in looking towards the roof all night. Do some neck stretches before you go.
Sadly, the options for watching AFL at Brisbane pubs is really limited.
I tried at the Paddo a few weeks back for a Pies game that clashed with the Broncos. They refused to change the channel on a single TV, even though they had the Broncos on over 30 screens throughout the entire pub. So definitely don't go there. Pricks....
But on another note, how hot are the bartenders at the Paddo?!I watched the GF at the Pineapple last year. Not too bad, but you will be jammed in looking towards the roof all night. Do some neck stretches before you go.
Sadly, the options for watching AFL at Brisbane pubs is really limited.
I tried at the Paddo a few weeks back for a Pies game that clashed with the Broncos. They refused to change the channel on a single TV, even though they had the Broncos on over 30 screens throughout the entire pub. So definitely don't go there. Pricks....
But on another note, how hot are the bartenders at the Paddo?!
Ahaha, that is a very, very fair call.True. I think they have 3 pre-requisites for girls to get a job.
1) - They have to be no older than 23
2) - They have to be at least fairly hot
3) - They have to be permanantly pissed off and treat you like shit.
Girls, if you can tick all 3 boxes, then you have the job.
What about a pub on the gold coast that will show the AFL GF? Unfortunately have to leave Melbourne during GF weekend. Any options?
Newmarket Hotel usually throw on the footy for us. They have heaps of tv's and we can always manage to get it on one of them (usually in the gaming area)
Check out the Southport Sharks AFL club. They apparently have 3 huge screens and it looked pretty good when I saw a Pies function this year when we played GC. (although I only really saw the function room).
I'm in Brissy and have some mates from here driving down there for the prelim because the Pineapple will be chockers this week. I start early the next day so watching it on tv unfortunately.
The Pineapple is definitely the best pub to watch it in Brissy though. Particularly when the Bronco's are playing at the same time. The Pineapple is Brisbane's "AFL pub".
If we make it through to the GF, a friend of mine who runs the QLD Magpies supporter group will be looking to hire out the top floor function area at the Piney. Every year when we play the lions up here, a pre game function has been held there, with give aways, raffles, auctions of signed Collingwood gear, past collingwood players giving speeches, snacks etc, and have had great support with hundreds showing up.
I'll give details next week for anyone interested in going, or check out the website, qldmagpies.com.au - i think... but first we have to show those hawks who's boss!
Go the Pies!!!
Broncos are playing their prelim final Fri night same time at Pies game, so good luck in convincing pubs to show AFL. Breaky Creek has a few TVs, so maybe they will put one on AFL but doubt you would get much volume.
Cheers for the responses guys. Where is the newmarket hotel exactly? Is that the one near the Coles and post office?