Adrian Shelton

Feb 9, 2003
Brisbane
North Adelaide
Time for a non Woodville old school themed threadl(although Pecker and Warrior old school stuff is welcome!!!)

Here we go

The careers of guys like Aish, McDermott, Carey and many other 'better than VFL' guys

The careers of guys like Michael Poynton, Craig Balme, Des O'Dwyer, Stevie Nicholls, Bob Beecroft and others from the VFL!!!

All the shootouts in the 80's where both teams kicked 20+ goals

Seeing Peter Motley do things beyond what other humans could do

Seeing Barrie Robran do great stuff on 1 leg(only for 1980 dammit!!)

Centrals being the SANFL's Geelong, fun to watch but then September came(both cases of that cured thankfully)

Mighty Roosters getting to the Escort cup last 4 in 86(pity they couldnt have another crack in 87, damn national football!!)

The player coach!!!(Cornes,Weston,Balme,Ebert,Davies, Robran and Bennett and Kayne should have plus Centrals really should have given Malthouse a bash!!)

Slighty small full forwards destroying all backlines (Rocky and the Jumbo prince)

Special Bruce being the 'junior' caller (Oats, Marker, Day and KG in the Channel 9 yrs)

Who needed Modra....... LUDERS!!!!!!!

King Kerley where he belongs, on the coaches bench.

More VFL imports (Laughlin, Bomber, Steven Carey for 8 games, the many tavels of Mad Dog Muir)

Grenville, there can only be one!!!!!!

Plenty more where this lot came from

oops Keane was player coach in 85!!!

Last GF of the 80's and a great memory for me.

Even though we lost 84 it was a great game of footy.

Kev Harris the Mighty Woodville Warrior.

Russell Eberts goal half way through the second quarter of the 81 GF.

David Grangers 6 goals against Sturt at Unley in 80. (Sturt won by 4pts in one of the great games of football).

Running on to Thebarton Oval to pat Tim Evans on the back after his 12th of 14 goals against Torrens which brought up his 100th in 1980. I was wearing my woollen long sleeved Port jumper with a number 7 that was too big for the jumper and my picture was in the footy budget the next week:D. The big man was drinking out of a 2 litre cordial bottle filled with water - my how times have changed.

Good times - Good times.

the 80's...the greatest era of footy ever. beats the afl today...

the jumbo prince

the magic of russell ebert, michael aish

the 1984 grand final..one of the finest grand finals ever

phil graham..the flash

darren jarmans left footed goal on the run from the pocket in the 87 GF

port containing north to 1 goal 8 in the 89 GF

thebby oval

38,000 people to watch sturt v port in a home and away game in 1988

the dumb actions of david granger

wilbur wilson

10/15,000 people on a saturday arvo at richmond oval

grenvile dietrich

kicking out the plastic coca cola footies at half time during finals games at footy park

state games

the stringer brothers

peter motley

peter carey's blind son running through the banner alongside his father

roger ludas..if only he didnt get injured

garry mcintosh standing greg williams in a state game and knocking his front teeth out

rudi mandamaker

tony the ant antrobus

the brawl between woodville and glenelg during the 1988 escort cup night final

the all in brawl between centrals and norwood during the warm up before the game at norwood oval also in 88

the guy selling home made pasties for a dollar outside the grounds after the game

Almost every shop down Jetty Rd displaying Tigers scarves, posters etc the week before the grand final (in the years we made it). Didn't see much of that last year unfortunately.

This thread has bought back a lot of memories.

To this day my mates and I, whenever we call each other at work and the secretary asks who's speaking, we always try to come up with some obscure or not so obscure 1980's SANFL footballer. And who should I say is calling? It's Leon, Leon Grosser.

Watching the Grand Final lap of honour 1980, 1981, 1988, 1989
Paul Northeast's speech at the brewery after the 1989 GF
1982 Prelim final for the sheer madness of it
Port's 1980 season
Marty Leslie v Dermott Brereton
The Riley brothers at North. One smashed atoms, the other one smashed heads
The desolation of seeing Glenelg win Grand Finals. That's just wrong.
Dave Granger pointing at Peter Carey and laughing after Port kicked a goal in the game where Port beat Glenelg at the bay oval in 1981 (Glenelg's first loss of the year)
While on a Dave run, the 1981 GF where he KO'ed Twiggy Caldwell, and voila, trial by video
Robbie Muir at Torrens/Woodville
Cowboy Neale coaching Centrals
Alan Stringer caught on video punching some Centrals player in the back of the head and running away in the 1984 finals and not being reported, while the same piece of video was used to suspend Peter Carey for 2 games for taking an air swing that wouldn't have blown out a candle
Neil Kerley's column in The News where every week he came up with a new rule change to suit the team he was coaching
The News, Alan Shiell, Ashley Porter
Blighty coming back to SA, running around on one leg and kicking 100 goals.
Blighty coaching Woodville ... never a dull moment
Dexter Kennedy, after years of toiling away at West he leaves to join Port and West win the flag. Port went into recession, then Dexter got sick. Life's not fair
Woodville's finals run in 1986. If only they had kicked straight in the PF, gone on to win a flag and stopped Glenelg winning at least 1 flag. It was amazing being at the final where they beat Port just for the atmosphere if not the result
Kernahan's 10 goals in the state game v Victoria at Footy Park
35,000 in the final minor round game of 1981 Port v Norwood at Footy Park (no double header either)
Paul Harradine's torps
Ray Huppatz's mark over Wayne Schmaal
Escort Cup games in the country
Seeing some memorable young talent blossom, especially in the mid 80s - like Bradley, Anderson, Platten, Naley, Kernahan, Hall, Antrobus
Nunan's North Adelaide sides. They kept losing grand finals, but they were great to watch when on song, and had a helluva headcase quotient
All the rumours late in 1982 about the Bays being ready to appoint Jack Cahill as coach, and then it all being nuked by the 1982 Prelim Final
Jack's return to Port in 1988 and Russell's rallies protesting his dismissal after being told his job was safe. The Board is behind you 100% Russell
Neil Balme pulling on the Norwood guensey and proving he had a couple of good hits left in him yet
Sam's Disco at the Redlegs Club. Don't forget your tie.
Annoying the Vics enough to get a SOO game at the MCG where they invented selection rules that gave them an awesome forward line with Jason Dunstall and Tony Lockett (Dermott on the bench and Ablett pulled out before the game). They hammered us, but what a collection of talent (I was even there for that one, and an Essendon supporter asked me exactly what paddock had Greg Phillips been in)
Pam and Tony, a love story
Ralphie Sewer at Glenelg, again just wrong (but the rumour involving Ralphie, a hubcap and a Roller was high comedy)
Larger than life administrators, like Bob McLean, Harry Kernahan, Doug Thomas
Larger than life administrator Bob McLean getting a bit 'under the weather' at the presentation of the 1980 Magarey Medal to Russell Ebert, toppling over, bringing down half the stage, and Russell sitting down with him to toast the win.

Mike Parsons adding a gf winner medal to his NBL Championship

John Seebohm kicking 170 odd of his 200 career goals in the 2 yrs after Sticks went to Carlton

The far to short career of Greg Edwards

Freddie Phillis grinding out part of a season after about 3 yrs off.

The best footy intro song of all time "Its all in the name"(or was it game?)

The versatility of players like Weston and Fry, going from CHF to CHB and controlling games from both spots

Goals raining from all angles in 1985, South had the lowest points for in the leauge and still averaged 100 a game!!!!

Pretty much every team having ruck and on ball divisions the equal of many VFL teams(even if a few of them were ex VFL players)

Paul Harradines hit on Danny Jenkins in 1981, the cleanest hit youll ever see!!!(and legal too)

Sturt 88 ( even tho it ended in tragedy )

Woodville's renaissance in 86-87 ( Blighty a Stephen Nicholls ) + knocking off PORT in the 88 Escort cup

Motley = nuff said

Grantley Fielkie ROBBING Mots of the 86 Magaerey ( sp? ) + flapping his arms whenever he felt contact so much i thought he was gonna lift off !!!!!!!!!!

As a Centrals supporter since day one back in '64 - any Darryl Hicks coaching moment. He was even more "out there" than Malcolm Blight!

...and while I think of it. The Centrals cheer squad used to have some hilarious routines, and not always directed at the opposition. They use to love to stick it up Geoff Gillies - Centrals resident male model and half forward of the early to mid 80's. My favourite from the cheer squad after he did anything (good or bad) was..."Geoff Gillies shaves his legs - do da do da, Geoff Gillies shaves his legs - oh do da day!"

Port's half back line in the late 80's Abernethy, Phillips, Leslie
The 86 and 87 State Games at Footy Park
Rick Davies' shock appointment to coach South
Characters such as Klanger Klenjans and Gordon Gatti at SA
The emergence of Darren Jarman in the late 80's
Ralph Sewer continuing to play well in to his 30's
Radio commentary from Jimmy Deane
Michael Long joining WT

Best :

Started off the 80's & ended them with Premierships!!!
Tim Evans wacking Craig Balme in the 84 GF
Watching North Adelaide get pumped in the 85 & 86 GF'S
Watching Glenelg get torn apart in the 87 GF!
Watching us tear North Adelaide apart in the 89 GF!
David Granger out of control in the 1982 Prelim Final!
1980 GF vs Norwood, best GF of the 80's!!!
Watching Sturt choke in the 83 GF!
Tearing Norwood apart in the 88 2ND Semi Final! 2.8 for the entire game.

Worst :

Losing the 84 GF!
Finishing 7th in 1985!
Losing to Woodville in the 86 1st Semi after kicking the 1st 8 Goals of the game!!!
Losing to Glenelg in the 87 1st semi by 2 pts! Hitting the post 6 times in the game!

Russell Johnson getting a 5 Match suspension in 88 after he KO'D Carl Dilenna subsequently missing the 88 premiership.
Scott Salisbury jumping on Greg Anderson's head in 1986! He should have been banned from playing football!!!
Scott Salisbury kneeing Ron fuller in the head in 1987 Elimination Final!!!

Best :

Started off the 80's & ended them with Premierships!!!
Tim Evans wacking Craig Balme in the 84 GF
Watching North Adelaide dominate 85 & 86 to get pumped in the GF'S
Watching Glenelg get torn apart in the 87 GF!

Watching us tear North Adelaide apart in the 89 GF!
David Granger out of control in the 1982 Prelim Final!
1980 GF vs Norwood, best GF of the 80's!!!
Tearing Norwood apart in the 88 2ND Semi Final! 2.8 for the entire game.

Worst :

Losing the 84 GF!
Finishing 7th in 1985!
Losing to Woodville in the 86 1st Semi after kicking the 1st 8 Goals of the game!!!
Losing to Glenelg in the 87 1st semi by 2 pts! Hitting the post 6 times in the game!

Russell Johnson getting a 5 Match suspension in 88 after he KO'D Carl Dilenna subsequently missing the 88 premiership.
Scott Salisbury jumping on Greg Anderson's head in 1986! He should have been banned from playing football!!!
Scott Salisbury kneeing Ron fuller in the head in 1987 Elimination Final!!!

At the time I was thinking 2 out of 3 ain't bad :)

Not sure how you can enjoy watching the Bays beat North in a GF, AND enjoy watching them lose to them.

But if GL v NA grand finals are your thing I guess the 80's was a perfect time for you :cool:

Port Adelaide have won more Premierships against Glenelg than Glenelg have won Premierships.

Even tho I'm as tired of the Doggies winning flags as most everyone else would've been of Port in the 90s especially (and 50s too I guess), it was good that record was kept intact. ;)

I hope ur extracting the urine !!!....Westies lost 1 game all year !!!!!
:rolleyes:
Was in the members ( top deck ) , think old CARLOS DILENOS's ( where is he these days ??? ) teeth landed in my chips !!! :eek:

One of , if not THE most disgusting thing i've ever seen at the footah...almost as sickening as seeing that DRONGO out there celebrating the flag a few weeks later !!!

The double header in 1988, nearly 40000 people at a minor round game.
As said b4 , was there...1 point win to the double blues...fell in a screaming heap after that day though !!!
Rooters vs Dogs was the 2nd game...think Centrals flogged em.
First time i'd seen the mexican wave done too.

Was in the members ( top deck ) , think old CARLOS DILENOS's ( where is he these days ??? ) teeth landed in my chips !!! :eek:

One of , if not THE most disgusting thing i've ever seen at the footah...almost as sickening as seeing that DRONGO out there celebrating the flag a few weeks later !!!

You really need to get out more. ;) Good, strong bump, not even reported at the ground. And Dilena came back on. Oh yeah, worst incident in football ever.

Still Port Adelaide rightfully went onto claim the premiership, and Johnno deservedly collected a couple more flags after that.

Great account of the game from Full Points Footy.

http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/double_header_blues_do_for_port.htm#2.

This thread has bought back a lot of memories.

To this day my mates and I, whenever we call each other at work and the secretary asks who's speaking, we always try to come up with some obscure or not so obscure 1980's SANFL footballer. And who should I say is calling? It's Leon, Leon Grosser.
Leo Darveneiza
Gary Argus

What a great thread - definitely helps my dodgy memory to hear all the old names and memories bobbing up.

Some other memories to throw into the mix:

• Darren Harris kicking a long bomb after the siren at Adelaide Oval to get the Panthers over the Magpies
  • Back in the early 80s I remember the Magpies being 23 points up going into time on against the Bloods who proceeded to kick four goals straight to snatch the game by a point (can't remember if it was Alberton or Richmond)
  • Milan (Pathetic) Faletic
  • Ugo Colasante...all 120 kgs of him! Throw in Alby Menzel as well who was the original Stevie Milne
  • Some of the great North Adelaide thugs - Steve Sims and Kim Klomp
  • Being at the first double-header at Footy Park...
  • 1984 GF - saddest day of my life

I think the OP is right - best decade of footy ever!

What a great thread - definitely helps my dodgy memory to hear all the old names and memories bobbing up.

Some other memories to throw into the mix:

• Darren Harris kicking a long bomb after the siren at Adelaide Oval to get the Panthers over the Magpies
  • Back in the early 80s I remember the Magpies being 23 points up going into time on against the Bloods who proceeded to kick four goals straight to snatch the game by a point (can't remember if it was Alberton or Richmond)

• Harris - didnt Graeme Robertson (?) kick back to Russell Ebert in the last seconds and Harris intercepted (was 'right in front of me' :D )

Def @ Richmond where we went down

Best SANFL moments in the 80's