Games & Recreation BigFooty Death List Game 2025 - Putting the Fun in Funerals

Pretty prevalent, plus they don't have safety net or the medical equipment of a pro.
I assume amateur footy has cleaned up it's act a bit regards violence. I played fourths if they were unlucky enough to need me to make up numbers for a couple of seasons and at that standard over thirty years ago there were too many who were just playing to have a fight.

So how goons used to be in the NHL in the 90s. Though I don't think all head knocks are violence related, some are just freak accidents.

For a wealthy country, it's embarrassing how grossly underfunded mental health support is, and the attitude some still have with it. You only have to look at how many take the piss out of R U OK Day.

Granted, my issue with that day is that big businesses pretend to give a shit by giving out free cupcakes, but then proceed to go back and treat their employees with discontempt straight after, but don't make fun of a fundraiser day that actually tries to raise awareness.
As someone with mental health issues I and many others really hate r u ok day and the fact that it promotes people to only check in once a year on someone. It also makes you feel really shit when no one checks in on you the one day people are reminded too. ****ing hate the day tbh

I always wonder how prevalent it is an ex amateur players. The game could be pretty rough at times and until stupidly recently head knocks weren't taken seriously.

I bet it's more prevalent than we think among the middle-aged to older cohort of men whose mental health issues are rarely investigated.

They've studied the brains of people who unalived themselves in their 20s, who didn't play competitive sports beyond college, and they've been found to have CTE.

Jovan Belcher was only 25 when he murdered his girlfriend, drove to the Kansas Chiefs facility, shot himself in the head - and was later found to have relatively advanced CTE.

Guys who've been playing at local level for decades must surely have taken enough head knocks for us to look into it.

He's only the second of the main cast of Man About the House to die. Yootha Joyce died in 1980 but Sally Thomsett, Paula Wilcox and Richard O'Sullivan are all still about.

Richard O'Sullivan has been on my list for years, he's been in poor long-term health.

As for 'Man About the House' there are two other actors who played prominent roles in the series who like Yootha Joyce died prematurely. One was Roy Kinnear who played George Roper's shonky mate Jerry. Kinnear died in bizarre circumstances in 1988 from injuries sustained when he fell off a horse while filming a movie. The other was Doug Fisher who played Robin's womanizing mate Larry. Fisher died of a heart attack at age 59 in 2001.

Counting 'Man About the House', 'George & Mildred' and 'Robin's Nest' together the only other main cast member to pass away is Tony Britton from Robin's Nest, who died in his mid 90s in 2019.

Josh Mail 4 games with Adelaide passed away yesterday aged 50 from cancer

That's bizarre - three former AFL players in Dale Tapping, Josh Mail and Troy Selwood dying prematurely in the past three days.

Even stranger is that Mail is the first Adelaide Crows AFL player to pass away in their history, and Selwood the first Brisbane player to have only played for the team as the Lions to have died. Brent Green, who drowned about 10 years ago, played some games for the Brisbane Lions in 1997 but mostly played for the Brisbane Bears in 1995 and 1996.

Even stranger is that Mail is the first Adelaide Crows AFL player to pass away in their history,

Almost.

First Crow AFLM player to play games who's died but first Crow to die was AFLW's Heather Anderson. (1994-2022.)

That's bizarre - three former AFL players in Dale Tapping, Josh Mail and Troy Selwood dying prematurely in the past three days.

Even stranger is that Mail is the first Adelaide Crows AFL player to pass away in their history, and Selwood the first Brisbane player to have only played for the team as the Lions to have died. Brent Green, who drowned about 10 years ago, played some games for the Brisbane Lions in 1997 but mostly played for the Brisbane Bears in 1995 and 1996.

I was doing to post that things come in threes after it was reported tapping and mail died.

Almost.

First Crow AFLM player to play games who's died but first Crow to die was AFLW's Heather Anderson. (1994-2022.)

I probably should have been more specific - I meant the Crows AFL men's team rather than AFLW or the Adelaide SANFL team that commenced in 2013. I was aware of Heather Anderson.

To date, I think the Gold Coast Suns are the only club where none of their players at any level - AFL, AFLW, NEAFL, VFL or Academy - have died but I'm not 100 percent sure.

This really hasn't been a good week in the world of AFL

Adam was 43yrs old

Damn. This one hits close to home. I watched him play as a junior before he wound up at West Coast.

jesus christ, the **** is going on?!

He was absolutely pivotal in that 2006 finals series, especially the GF. While the headlines consistently when to Judd, Cousins and Kerr, Chick and Hunter were the biggest reasons they were able to pull off the 06 Premiership.

Games & Recreation BigFooty Death List Game 2025 - Putting the Fun in Funerals

Write your reply...