Podcast BigFooty Tigercast -Sonsie and McAullife shine in VFL win!

this weeks show is now on itunes, spotify and podcast apps!

Current episode: VFL Round 1 win vs Coburg

Huge thanks to our guests for coming on!

You can now SEE us via the FB live or YouTube video of the show below. Go easy on us..

Topics covered:
-VFL Update, Round 1 win vs Coburg

Episode is now on iTunes / Spotify

Great show tonight guys, really appreciate it. My idea for quickening up the game, is bring back 15 metre penalties, for minor infringements, 50 metres for major infringements, and get rid of the ridiculous stand rule. Scorelines in the past 20 or so years have been dwindling to a point, that scores of 100 points or more are getting less common. I miss the days of 18.12 defeating 16.15 scores, as well as 100+ goal Coleman medalists. And back then, weather played a big part the results. Simpler times = better times. I know, I'm showing my age here, I am a dinosaur.
Don’t mind that at all!!

Thanks Chris, I had a conversation with my one eyed Carlton supporter nephew a few days ago, and we also thought that if any ball crosses the goal line, whether touched or not should be a goal, as long it is by foot. And if it hits the post and does the same, goal. Obvious rushed behinds, for example still count as points. He agreed with me, he said we should just leave it to the umpire. None of this "It may have touched the post bullshit. Just get on with the game.Just a few thoughts, to get the ball rolling.

Thanks heaps!

I wasn’t sure how this one would go, but seems to be well received !

I enjoy it mate given I live outside of straya it’s a really good catch up for me

Really good stuff that (Richie Benaud voice).

Huge week coming up for the Tigercast!

Monday night - regular weekly show looking at Round 1 vs

Blues Tuesday night Jordan from Centre Half Bench and I are going to tier rank our players

Wednesday night the debut of Behind Frenemy Lines with Pommy In oz

Plus a photo op!

Who are Richmond’s best wing combo for the start of the year and beyond?!

A few different options to consider!

Interesting video but I disagree with some of your options. Jack Ross to me is best suited to midfield/half forward which you did suggest. He did well on the wing and at the moment is our best winger, but midfield/forwards are harder to find. Banks is the most interesting. I have seen him play on the wing a few times and although he is fast enough to get to the ball first, he isn't a really attaching player once he gets it. He actually seems better when he is in congestion. To me he would be an ideal midfielder and we desperately need a quick midfielder at the centre bounce. Brown and or Trainer would be my ideal players on one wing with Trezise or Short on the other which would create a spot for Smith in defence. MacIntosh should not even be considered as an option. People keep talking up his leadership, but his kicking efficiency is too low, and his defensive running is ineffective these days. At his age he just does not justify him displacing a kid who needs games.

Trainer and Brown are my choice and possibly Gray and Lefau should be considered as well . Not a fan of having small types like campbell Dow that have 0 marking ability on the wings

Hugo and Trainor would be great player types for the wing. Both still need to prove themselves, Hugo showed some great signs last year but couldn’t impact on games consistently enough. Hopefully this year.
Banks as next in line, KMac maybe if needed due to injury, despite flaws. Brown wouldn’t have the endurance for full time wing.

Reminder we will be live tonight with Jordan from Centre Half Bench to tier rank the Richmond players ahead of the 2025 season!

8:30pm approx, join in the chat to help rank the players!

We will revisit this later in the year to see who has progressed!

For those who missed it here is the video from last night.

I was joined by Jordan of Centre Half Bench to Tier rank the Richmond players as an exercise we will do 3 times during the year to see what progress has been made.

There will be a few that many wont agree with, and that's ok! Some players could have sat in multiple lists as well.

But the criteria on the rankings is important to note as it's not as straight forward as a regular A, B, C, D ranking.

A tier - Consistent performer at a high level with a small gap between best and worst. Reliable ona weekly basis.

B tier - good games are really good, but the distance between best and worst is wide enough where it is noticeable. Typically reliable but can have a stinker too. Usually best 22.

C tier - their best is good but its only seen in large chunks on a inconsistent basis, can be in and out of the 22 depending on form.

D - Plays well in glimpses but is more inconsistent than consistent. Gap between best and worst is large and needs to be bridged. Currently back up depth.

It was good to hear what Pom had to say. Seemed like an honest assumption of where we are at this stage of our rebuild. Would be interesting to hear what his reaction would be, if the Tigers did the unthinkable, and won this game. I can dream can't I.

Behind Frenemy Lines!

Last night I was joined by PommyinOz who is a Blues supporter to help preview tonights big game.

Pommy has great footy knowledge and was sensational to listen to. If you're keen for a more balanced preview, this will be for you!

Podcast BigFooty Tigercast -Sonsie and McAullife shine in VFL win!