Black Diamond AFL - 2012

Spot on all the calls in the last few posts! Speaking to a few people last night, 50% or more of the Riverina boys are currently on NEAFL lists, therefore making the gap in class a great one.

Rep footy in the region died when the league played in the state titles in 2008 and it was so poorly organised the team struggled in all three pool games. Not necessarily the team's fault but the ineptitude of the former organisation.

Just an observation mate
We have both been around the region long enough to know that many dont rate representing our league very highly
The facts are the Cardiff club has offered little to the two rep fixtures this year.
And for the record I hold no position with any senior club and state my observations without any club ties

The facts are that what individual people do with rep footy is not in any way influenced by the Cardiff club. To infer that we did is ludicrous. I have given a detailed explanation of each players circumstance, as given to the board. If you and your mates at the board aren't willing to listen, then obviously there is some sort of agenda being driven.
I wonder who Cardiff play next round?

By the way when was the other rep fixture this year? Are you talking about harros development squad which he didn't even tell the club about?

Spot on all the calls in the last few posts! Speaking to a few people last night, 50% or more of the Riverina boys are currently on NEAFL lists, therefore making the gap in class a great one.

Rep footy in the region died when the league played in the state titles in 2008 and it was so poorly organised the team struggled in all three pool games. Not necessarily the team's fault but the ineptitude of the former organisation.

Surely the former organisation couldn't be as inept as the one we have currently?

Dont know about the Riverina boys being on NEAFL lists. From the looks of Facebook a few of them got home pretty early this morning! 2 blokes from the RFL played in the NEAFL 21s game the other week but that would be it.

From what I heard a decent effort by the rep squad today.

Dont know about the Riverina boys being on NEAFL lists. From the looks of Facebook a few of them got home pretty early this morning! 2 blokes from the RFL played in the NEAFL 21s game the other week but that would be it.

Got told they got done by about 10 goals

thanks for clearing that up mate RE: NEAFL list players. You know what it is like talking to footy people!

Thanks for the info Borgy,looks like they competed for parts of the game,congrats to the players who played.Blake from the Bay did well coming from our '2nd grade' and Bryce showed again he has talent(just needs more help around him at league level)
Agree with Deitzy that it is not for all players and rep is a better tool for our 'younger' or developmental squads,altho in saying this dont want to deny players the odd game to represent maybe they just need one off games against similar standard leagues

what a great advert for the league in saturdays herald - no better story to give to the press - so you leak this shite ??? a story about a club "in hot water" and not supporting rep football !!!!!!!!!!
how ridiculous - a club that has provided more that its fair share of rep players in the 10+ years of the bdafl and always supported the region

pull your head in bdafl board - and btw - when do you get off badgering a 17yo to play rep footy when you know the circumstances

The facts are that what individual people do with rep footy is not in any way influenced by the Cardiff club. To infer that we did is ludicrous. I have given a detailed explanation of each players circumstance, as given to the board. If you and your mates at the board aren't willing to listen, then obviously there is some sort of agenda being driven.
I wonder who Cardiff play next round?

By the way when was the other rep fixture this year? Are you talking about harros development squad which he didn't even tell the club about?

Not trying to get into a debate, its obvious that you are way too passionate about your club and fair enough to see any wrong. I didn't infer that the cardiff club had specifically influenced players not to play Rep, just that for 1 out of 10 to "be available" to play the weekends fixture and none to play the Under 23's fixture pre season that the input of the Cardiff club (ie their players) has been minimal.

Agree with Deitzy and others that many would rather have a week off, have a punt, spend family time etc and you know what that is their choice, but the fact is that one of the top clubs in the league provided virtually nothing to rep this year, which in my opinion is disappointing what ever the reason.

As for the please explain letters to players, although I feel it is a bit harsh, it certainly isn't a first. I know of other leagues in Australia, including the old Newcastle AFL where if you are unavailable without a certificate or reasonable excuse, then players have had to sit out future fixtures.

The motto to the story, if guys don't want to play rep as is their right, they should speak to the league before the season in order to get dispensation. Rep fixtures whether we like them or not are played in every comp Australia wide and as such any league should feel that it has the services of every registered player within their competition at their disposal.

As for the comments you made re my affiliations with board members etc. I have been involved in football in the region for over 30 years, so it is a fair chance that I have crossed paths with many football people from many different clubs who I regard as friends and associates.

First time posting here. I live in Canberra now and the NEAFL is really going from strength to strength over the last season and a half... except for Tuggeranong. In a bit of strife right now which has made a lot of people talk about where the next team/teams are going to come from. As much as I'd like Pennant Hills to step up, I don't think they'll let them given how close they are to Hills Eagles in Sydney Terms. Made me think, are there any teams in the BDAFL who could step up? It looks like City Blues have the pedigree, but I have no idea about the finances behind the teams. From the sounds of things there are enough (just) players who have the want to play at the NEAFL level and you could top up any team with the talent that's gradually trickling in as the quality builds.

What do you guys think? I really wanna see more NSW representation and other than the cross-conference rounds, the travel wouldn't be that bad for anyone who was serious (7-8 home games, 4 trips to Canberra, 4 Trips to Sydney).

First time posting here. I live in Canberra now and the NEAFL is really going from strength to strength over the last season and a half... except for Tuggeranong. In a bit of strife right now which has made a lot of people talk about where the next team/teams are going to come from. As much as I'd like Pennant Hills to step up, I don't think they'll let them given how close they are to Hills Eagles in Sydney Terms. Made me think, are there any teams in the BDAFL who could step up? It looks like City Blues have the pedigree, but I have no idea about the finances behind the teams. From the sounds of things there are enough (just) players who have the want to play at the NEAFL level and you could top up any team with the talent that's gradually trickling in as the quality builds.

What do you guys think? I really wanna see more NSW representation and other than the cross-conference rounds, the travel wouldn't be that bad for anyone who was serious (7-8 home games, 4 trips to Canberra, 4 Trips to Sydney).

Good point SG. however, I am afraid this is the wrong forum to ask. Most posters (not all) on here are inward looking, small minded individuals who get their kicks out of abusing peolpe trying to make a difference. Instead of the ignorant comments and petty insults, maybe a few more need to put their hand up for the betterment of the league - not just their small corner of it.

Back to your question though - I doubt any individual club could muster the type of money needed to enter a NEAFL team. I believe the league does have long term goals of getting a side in there, but will probably fall short through lack of support by those with no vision (see para one).

Although struggling in some areas, its a good comp and could be much better if everyone pulled together.

If the BDAFL, sorry AFL Hunter Coast were to have a NEAFL team where would they play? Logically No 1 Sports ground would be the choice, but this is currently used by Newcastle City.

Anyway, the current user can't even mark the ground correctly. The centre square and circle is meant to be in the centre. Last time I watched a game there the square was on the far (scoreboard) wing. Are you kidding.

Its the centre square you blokes, NOT the wing square!!!!!

If the BDAFL, sorry AFL Hunter Coast were to have a NEAFL team where would they play? Logically No 1 Sports ground would be the choice, but this is currently used by Newcastle City.

Anyway, the current user can't even mark the ground correctly. The centre square and circle is meant to be in the centre. Last time I watched a game there the square was on the far (scoreboard) wing. Are you kidding.

Its the centre square you blokes, NOT the wing square!!!!!

Perhaps to protect the turf section of the ground? Happens at alot of grounds. The sooner we move away from shared facilities with cricket, the better (Even though nigh on impossible) The Giants have seen the light and shifted from Blacktown due to NSW Cricket's tenure overlapping with an AFL pre-season. I hate cricket.

Shame to hear that as far as current ability to elevate, but your response suggests that it's not entirely unreasonable to see a team come up which is good. I was expecting to hear derision from some and I look forward to seeing a team come through some time in the future.

First time poster on Big Footy. I unfortunately no longer play footy, but have in this area in the past. I still keenly follow the BDAFL, and a couple of other leagues around the traps.

From my perspective I think some of the stronger views on this forum don't seem to be consistent with those of the players in the Hunter / Central Coast. I think most guys (particularly the players) don't have a passionate discontent with the league, or the board, or any other body involved with the BDAFL.

As for Rep footy, I think most guys involved really enjoy it - most guys get on well, enjoy the experience, enjoy the challenge and enjoy the change in routine. As for Cardiff not showing much interest this year - well I think it's a number of contributing factors. Slightly disappointing, but a bit of a storm out of nothing. I think a few of the senior guys who are usually involved there largely enjoy it - as do the Terrigal & City regulars. As for the 23s program in the preseason, well I think it's a lost opportunity for some. Boys at that age are usually keen as mustard that time of year, and it's just another opportunity to train and be exposed to footy at a slightly higher level than Club level. I think it's really important - and disappointing the clubs didn't seem to promote it very convincingly. There's always next year I guess.

As far as disciplining players for not playing this year - I was lead to beleive it was more about communicating non-availability rather than forcing players to play. I know of a few guys that just wanted / needed the week off for one reason or another, and I believe that wasn't/isn't a problem if they responded through the correct channels. I think thats a fairly standard procedure in most leagues (although I do know of a few that are very tough in this area). I guess it's always going to ruffle a few feathers trying to enforce a procedural process. It seems some on here have taken it very personally, particularly Swans12 (I assume is the president or a non player). You seems to have very independent views from those of most at Cardiff, particularly prominent players that I know - you're not doing them or your club's reputation any favours by being a goose on here (I think you'd be surprised how many people read this forum).

Good to see the BDAFL rep side doing the region proud. By all accounts the local brand was well represented and turned a few heads (until I assume they ran out of puff?). Deitz, I'm not sure whether you're disgruntled by your previous experiences, but surely Rep footy has a very important place in this region - highly influencing funding, development of our own, promotion of junior talent, drives the culture within the AFL community here etc. I think the 23s program was a ripper idea this year - the game (which was all that I saw of the program) was great out at Lake Mac. I think the kids involved get a lot out of it - confidence, some new tips and tricks, exposure to a new game plan, a new coach, and at the end of the day they get a chance to network with players from other clubs.

Anyway, I guess I'd like to see more positive discussion and feedback on this forum. I don't think the passionate anger on this forum is a true reflection of the enjoyment, friendships and successes (on & off field) of footy in this area.

Mate definitely not disgruntled by previous experiences. Never got close to a side as a player and only had a little bit to do with it as a coach so never had much to do with it! Im a big believer in it at junior level as there is a pathway there. With senior footy it just seems more like a chance to go away and get on the sauce than anything. I would rather see the money be spent on assisting clubs to work with their junior feeder clubs to help with the transition to senior footy. For all that gets said about it, most senior clubs dont put in the work with their junior clubs for whatever reason, so give each club $500 to pay someone to do it properly and ensure there are players coming through and every club has a viable 18s side. If you dont have 18s you are stuffed in the long run. For all of that however, it is important to have a side play in the Country Championships. I have no issue with that. Probably contradicting myself there but the country champs have some meaning. When the league won in 2006 it did increase the interest and excitement around the comp for a few weeks but it quickly dropped off. I think the AFL provide funding for some of the country champs stuff so why not go in it if they are putting money towards the cost.

Knowing alot of the younger blokes who have been through the talent programs, alot of them arent interested in rep footy anymore. They have had a crack and just want to play with their mates on weekends for a bit of fun. If they want to play higher level footy they go elsewhere to play it every week. There are a few who still want to have a crack but alot no longer want to from talking to them. It is good however to see kids like Atkin and Fleming who never played in junior rep stuff getting a go and playing higher levels and enjoying it. If blokes arent interested dont hassle them, just pick blokes who want to have a crack because plenty will jump at it who havent been involved before. Mightnt be the most talented players but at least theyll have a crack and want to be there. Might also improve the standard around the comp.

For the person earlier who suggested a NEAFL side out of the region, it would be in the long term ideal, but it has to be 10-15 yrs down the track. If they try and rush it in the next 5 years I dont think it will work. Could a Hunter side compete with clubs like Ainslie or Southport at the moment? God no! Would be looking at a minimum of $300k pa to run a side and thats being conservative. Need to factor in player payments, coaching payments, a Club Development Manager, possible Footy Manager who would need to be full time. Would need to have a playing list of at least 40 blokes so would have to get out there and recruit heavily as well. No 1 is definitely too small at the moment to hold games, ticks alot of the boxes but the ground is about 20 metres too short and that cricket pitch is an issue! Is that redevelopment still happening there? A set up like Coffs would be ideal if a council could build it! It would be great to see the region get a side in, but seeing the standard of the NEAFL this year first hand, there is a lot of work that needs to be done to get up to scratch.

Anyway enough banging on about stuff that has already been done to death. Will any games get on down there this week? Heard it has been hammering down all week.

T
Mate definitely not disgruntled by previous experiences. Never got close to a side as a player and only had a little bit to do with it as a coach so never had much to do with it! Im a big believer in it at junior level as there is a pathway there. With senior footy it just seems more like a chance to go away and get on the sauce than anything. I would rather see the money be spent on assisting clubs to work with their junior feeder clubs to help with the transition to senior footy. For all that gets said about it, most senior clubs dont put in the work with their junior clubs for whatever reason, so give each club $500 to pay someone to do it properly and ensure there are players coming through and every club has a viable 18s side. If you dont have 18s you are stuffed in the long run. For all of that however, it is important to have a side play in the Country Championships. I have no issue with that. Probably contradicting myself there but the country champs have some meaning. When the league won in 2006 it did increase the interest and excitement around the comp for a few weeks but it quickly dropped off. I think the AFL provide funding for some of the country champs stuff so why not go in it if they are putting money towards the cost.

Knowing alot of the younger blokes who have been through the talent programs, alot of them arent interested in rep footy anymore. They have had a crack and just want to play with their mates on weekends for a bit of fun. If they want to play higher level footy they go elsewhere to play it every week. There are a few who still want to have a crack but alot no longer want to from talking to them. It is good however to see kids like Atkin and Fleming who never played in junior rep stuff getting a go and playing higher levels and enjoying it. If blokes arent interested dont hassle them, just pick blokes who want to have a crack because plenty will jump at it who havent been involved before. Mightnt be the most talented players but at least theyll have a crack and want to be there. Might also improve the standard around the comp.

For the person earlier who suggested a NEAFL side out of the region, it would be in the long term ideal, but it has to be 10-15 yrs down the track. If they try and rush it in the next 5 years I dont think it will work. Could a Hunter side compete with clubs like Ainslie or Southport at the moment? God no! Would be looking at a minimum of $300k pa to run a side and thats being conservative. Need to factor in player payments, coaching payments, a Club Development Manager, possible Footy Manager who would need to be full time. Would need to have a playing list of at least 40 blokes so would have to get out there and recruit heavily as well. No 1 is definitely too small at the moment to hold games, ticks alot of the boxes but the ground is about 20 metres too short and that cricket pitch is an issue! Is that redevelopment still happening there? A set up like Coffs would be ideal if a council could build it! It would be great to see the region get a side in, but seeing the standard of the NEAFL this year first hand, there is a lot of work that needs to be done to get up to scratch.

Anyway enough banging on about stuff that has already been done to death. Will any games get on down there this week? Heard it has been hammering down all week.

Terrigal game has been moved to pat Morley oval same starting times..

Our game V lake macq will def be going ahead at Adelaide st..ground is super heavy and is going to be a mud bath...

T

Terrigal game has been moved to pat Morley oval same starting times..

Our game V lake macq will def be going ahead at Adelaide st..ground is super heavy and is going to be a mud bath...

City games moved to Nelson bay for 1's and 2's their 3rd side game against Singo called off.

If the league(and by that we mean the players,coaches,officials,sponsers etc) really do want to play at a higher(neafl) level, I agree it would be a way off yet.
They should aim for a side in Sydney premier div first and see how they go(knowing that you basically need to be top of that grade to compete in neafl on the field,never mind the off the field stuff which is sometimes the problem!)

KV home game in the wet!! Wow mate that will be interesting it certainly isnt one of the better wet weather grounds!! Nelsons usually the best I think then maybe Singo and the Bulldogs,unfortunately most of the others have great lighting etc but only average draining

Shame to hear that as far as current ability to elevate, but your response suggests that it's not entirely unreasonable to see a team come up which is good. I was expecting to hear derision from some and I look forward to seeing a team come through some time in the future.

Talent wise,the best players in the area would go ok,unfortunatelty as posted earlier not all of that talent is available(altho I understand and respect indiv players decisions) also the off field costs,support staff etc would be the hardest part.

Probably out of left field but are Tassie on anyones radar? Do they want to put a team in another comp ie like the Devils in the VFL etc? We have a NT team in the neafl so prob not the most rediculous idea in here and surely an entire state would have the finances!!

Did hear somewhere that if NT dominated(they did last year) that at least 1 official wanted them to go up another level(maybe sanfl?) altho cant remember my source!!

Are there any other 'rep' areas that could join the neafl? I thought on last years results(and money on former Swans players) that Balmain would be next in line!! But this year not so much!!!!

First time poster on Big Footy. I unfortunately no longer play footy, but have in this area in the past. I still keenly follow the BDAFL, and a couple of other leagues around the traps.

From my perspective I think some of the stronger views on this forum don't seem to be consistent with those of the players in the Hunter / Central Coast. I think most guys (particularly the players) don't have a passionate discontent with the league, or the board, or any other body involved with the BDAFL.

As for Rep footy, I think most guys involved really enjoy it - most guys get on well, enjoy the experience, enjoy the challenge and enjoy the change in routine. As for Cardiff not showing much interest this year - well I think it's a number of contributing factors. Slightly disappointing, but a bit of a storm out of nothing. I think a few of the senior guys who are usually involved there largely enjoy it - as do the Terrigal & City regulars. As for the 23s program in the preseason, well I think it's a lost opportunity for some. Boys at that age are usually keen as mustard that time of year, and it's just another opportunity to train and be exposed to footy at a slightly higher level than Club level. I think it's really important - and disappointing the clubs didn't seem to promote it very convincingly. There's always next year I guess.

As far as disciplining players for not playing this year - I was lead to beleive it was more about communicating non-availability rather than forcing players to play. I know of a few guys that just wanted / needed the week off for one reason or another, and I believe that wasn't/isn't a problem if they responded through the correct channels. I think thats a fairly standard procedure in most leagues (although I do know of a few that are very tough in this area). I guess it's always going to ruffle a few feathers trying to enforce a procedural process. It seems some on here have taken it very personally, particularly Swans12 (I assume is the president or a non player). You seems to have very independent views from those of most at Cardiff, particularly prominent players that I know - you're not doing them or your club's reputation any favours by being a goose on here (I think you'd be surprised how many people read this forum).

Good to see the BDAFL rep side doing the region proud. By all accounts the local brand was well represented and turned a few heads (until I assume they ran out of puff?). Deitz, I'm not sure whether you're disgruntled by your previous experiences, but surely Rep footy has a very important place in this region - highly influencing funding, development of our own, promotion of junior talent, drives the culture within the AFL community here etc. I think the 23s program was a ripper idea this year - the game (which was all that I saw of the program) was great out at Lake Mac. I think the kids involved get a lot out of it - confidence, some new tips and tricks, exposure to a new game plan, a new coach, and at the end of the day they get a chance to network with players from other clubs.

Anyway, I guess I'd like to see more positive discussion and feedback on this forum. I don't think the passionate anger on this forum is a true reflection of the enjoyment, friendships and successes (on & off field) of footy in this area.

Some sensible points and not taking anything too personally mate. I am a non player, certainly not the president of any club or the league.

I agree with what you say about the region and the majority of its members in that we are on the whole a close community who generally get along.
I believe we should all just get in and play the game and try and support the board and any of their objectives where we can.

They are mostly volunteers trying to improve the region, so if anyone feels strongly that they are getting things wrong or can do a better job, feel free to put your hands up, I am sure they would gladly accept a hand.

Hi Guys, Long time reader first time poster...

So nice of Harro and Knighty join us today for their comments...kinda like being surrounded by royalty :rolleyes:

I can guess the "inward looking, small minded individuals who get their kicks out of abusing people trying to make a difference" are bokes like Dietzy, Northern_Swan, Noodles81 (to name a few), who can see the forest from the trees and can see that there are some serious issues with the longevity of this league, not entirely, but at least partly, by the lack of vision shown by this and previous boards of the league (whatever it is called this week)??

Blokes like these would do an excellent job running this league, because they are all willing to put the interests of the league above the interests of their club, or other personal agenda. It's interesting to note the comment about some of the nay sayers putting their hand up. From what I gather there is a vacancy on the board, yet it has not been advertised! I'm sure with the level of discontent around the clubs, there would be a number of people willing to put their hand up! To say there is no discontent, you have to be either blind or from city to believe that! There are a few blokes within all of the other clubs in the league who would make brilliant members of the board. I won't name names, but more than one of them post on here. If they were asked, i reckon they'd be more than interested!

As for the current board, it is quite clear that the President is only interested in getting this team in to Sydney to fluff his own ego, despite him being a horrible coach. That is why none of the Cardiff blokes supported the Under 23's concept! Why waste your time, when you could be down at the beach, to go and train with a bloke who's coaching method is to run 45 minutes of lanework? Why would you go and play an Under 23 "rep" game when you could play for your own club, working to your clubs plan, against a far superior club than Balmain, who lost all their players in Sydney last year because they didn't pay them?? This same person, rang players of no less than 3 clubs with some of the most vile abuse because they were injured or otherwise committed on the rep weekend. He followed it up with some comments for the Herald last weekend, which gave the opportunity for the press to have yet another pot at the league, his second such abomination after last years Newburn debacle.

As for the comment about the Northern_Swan being too passionate about his club, you obviously don't know him as well as you think you do Swans12. There is no denying the bloke is passionate about his footy, and in this case was defending his patch. But i'd say he would know a lot more about what is actually happening within the Cardiff club than an outsider, or someone from the board! The difference between he and many others who post here, is that he shows his cards. What you see is what you get.

From what i've seen on here, most of the gripes are pretty much spot on. How do we fix it though? For starters, if the league were interested in speaking with the stakeholders of the league (i.e. the players, committees, supporters, flogs on here) and getting some ideas, then actually implementing the best ones, we might get somewhere and actually improve the league.
  • Who knows, by actually talking to the clubs before naming a massively long rep squad, they may have found that there were half a dozen decent players from Cardiff who actually wanted to play rep.
  • We might find there are 50 blokes who would be wanting to play premier div in Sydney and it could be a goer.
  • We might find that someone has an idea that can fix the Under 18's debacle that we currently see (apart from the obvious moving Newcastle's 16's back to a predominately Friday night competition)
  • We might find a way, given the new divisional structure, to get the junior only clubs into Under 18 and senior footy
  • We might get Sydney, the media, the non footy public, to take us seriously
  • We might actually get some funding to get a full time general manager to work with and for the clubs!!!
food for thought I hope. I'll pop back in when i've got some more inside info to dish out for you.

Premier Division
KV v LM Pp
NC 10.16.76 d C 9.4.58
TA 15.5.95 d WB 6.3.39
First Division
NB 14.5.89 d TA 8.6.54
C 15.7.97 d NC 8.8.56
S 12.11.83 d WL 3.9.27
Second Division
KV v LM Pp
NC v S Pp
M 14.16.100 d WB 2.3.15