Black Diamond AFL - 2012

So another year has been and gone with results going the way most people thought. Terrigal had the best game plan and structure of any Premier div team this year and it showed again last Saturday.

Bishop must be laughing out loud the way he out coached the dynamic duo.

It will be interesting to see who hangs up the boots at City, Cardiff and Terrigal. It could leave the competition with a very big hole. Not sure the region has the talent to fill 5 or 6 losses to each team. It could be a very different competition next season.

Whilst people complained about the four game format and timings, I thought it proved to be very successful and I enjoyed the ability to watch four games at one venue back to back concluding with the feature Premier Div match - WELL DONE

Agree with your post and the fact Terrigal had the best structures. I reckon they have had the best structures for about 3 years, and with the retirement of the Gong last year, were a bit less predictable going inside 50 and would have no doubt exploited plenty of match ups in their forward half. They have certainly backed a heap of their ex-juniors in over the years and have been rewarded with the big prize after being so close for so long. Have always thought they were strategically the toughest to coach against and just needed to get more games in to their young blokes until they really challenged. Well done to all and good to see the trophy going down to the Central Coast for only the 3rd time since the comp began.

Good to see all clubs involved in some type of finals footy this year. It can only be a good thing that more teams are playing finals footy for the retention of players. Hopefully clubs can retain most of their players and find a few quality players who move to the area to continue to improve the standard and culture around local footy.

Well done to all the premiers for 2012!! Yeah there has been some talk of players hanging up the boots,but il guess we have to wait and see to confirm(if they do it may just mean the bottom 3 prem div teams bridge the gap on the big 3,not entirely bad for the comp but agree standard will obviously drop!!)

Next year brings questions on where the comp is heading? Will we have promotion/relegation etc or do clubs nominate for grades.I'm assuming all prem div clubs will stay but surely Singleton with an undefeated year should be allowed to step up?

As for 4 games, as far as I know that wont happen again with the joke 18's comp surely gone!! and the ages tweaked for juniors so they go to 17's,after that they play seniors.

Will Warners/Maitland step up a grade? and will clubs nominate more/less teams than they fielded this year ie Nelsons/Wyong 2nd side,City keep/drop 3rd team?(any more new clubs lol as I was shot down this time last year for stating Maitland would join,look what happened!!)

A few observations from the season ...

The season finished well with a really good final series, but not sure the Divisions had much impact apart from the opportunity for Maitland to get some success ... apart from that the results have been predictable. One of three teams were always going to win Premier Div and Singleton were always going to win Div 1 ... the others you can throw a blanket over.

We need to get our best teams in the highest Division possible so need to enforce promotion and relegation NOW (in line with the Sydney comp rules - i.e. only one club team per division). Not sure if Singleton will be happy about playing in Div 12 again for another year :(

The only way divisions are going to be truely viable is by the addition of teams and I do not see where they are going to come. Gosford - doing well in Sydney so not expected to come back, Bateau Bay - not for a couple of years (they need to start with U17s next year and see where they are at in 2014), Wyong and Nelson Bay second teams do not look likely, Cardiff Div 2 team not likely, and other clubs with three open teams - apart from City it does not look likely.

It will be nice to go back to 3 GF's in one day when U17's is introduced in 2013, although in saying that it would be good to see a CC U17 (i.e. Gosford) team play a HUNTER U17 (ie Sharks) team in a conference final at No.1.

Anyway - it will be an interesting off season with the formation of the AFL Hunter Coast (and Board of Management) with BDAFL, CCJAFL, and NJAFL sitting below them.

Meanwhile - Swans for the Flag !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

=====================

On a side note:

Well done to Beau Heeney from Cardiff who has been selected in the Sydney Swans Reserves (NEAFL Eastern Conf Grand Final) team to be played in Canberra this Sunday against Queanbeyan. Live Streaming on http://www.ustream.tv/channel/neafl-eastern-conference at 2:25pm

We also have some ex-Newcastle players going head to head in Sydney this Sunday in the Prelim Final - Jackson Monk and Mitch Crawford, playing for Balmain V Pennant Hills respectively, will have key roles in this game so watch it live at http://new.livestream.com/digitalsportslive at 3:15pm this Sunday.

Good luck to these three very talented footballers.

A few observations from the season ...

The season finished well with a really good final series, but not sure the Divisions had much impact apart from the opportunity for Maitland to get some success ... apart from that the results have been predictable. One of three teams were always going to win Premier Div and Singleton were always going to win Div 1 ... the others you can throw a blanket over.

We need to get our best teams in the highest Division possible so need to enforce promotion and relegation NOW (in line with the Sydney comp rules - i.e. only one club team per division). Not sure if Singleton will be happy about playing in Div 12 again for another year :(

The only way divisions are going to be truely viable is by the addition of teams and I do not see where they are going to come. Gosford - doing well in Sydney so not expected to come back, Bateau Bay - not for a couple of years (they need to start with U17s next year and see where they are at in 2014), Wyong and Nelson Bay second teams do not look likely, Cardiff Div 2 team not likely, and other clubs with three open teams - apart from City it does not look likely.

It will be nice to go back to 3 GF's in one day when U17's is introduced in 2013, although in saying that it would be good to see a CC U17 (i.e. Gosford) team play a HUNTER U17 (ie Sharks) team in a conference final at No.1.

Anyway - it will be an interesting off season with the formation of the AFL Hunter Coast (and Board of Management) with BDAFL, CCJAFL, and NJAFL sitting below them.

Meanwhile - Swans for the Flag !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

=====================

On a side note:

Well done to Beau Heeney from Cardiff who has been selected in the Sydney Swans Reserves (NEAFL Eastern Conf Grand Final) team to be played in Canberra this Sunday against Queanbeyan. Live Streaming on http://www.ustream.tv/channel/neafl-eastern-conference at 2:25pm

We also have some ex-Newcastle players going head to head in Sydney this Sunday in the Prelim Final - Jackson Monk and Mitch Crawford, playing for Balmain V Pennant Hills respectively, will have key roles in this game so watch it live at http://new.livestream.com/digitalsportslive at 3:15pm this Sunday.

Good luck to these three very talented footballers.
Yes the premier div was between the big 3,but at least we have new premiers in Terr and City didnt make the gf when most (including myself thought they would win again this year),KV seemed to be doing well early on but fell away towards end of year.
Warners and Dockers with work to do,but hopefully bridging the gap!!
Singleton were always going to win,esp when you look at the diff between them and Nelie bay the last few years they faced,and Wyong got beat last year in 1's(half a team of 1's players was never gonna be enough this year!!)

When will we find out what the boards intentions are? ie Singleton promotion etc
Divisions gave most clubs finals action(a lot for the 1st time in years) so I think/hope it will show benefits
in the future.

Had a couple of drinks with the Gossy boys after their narrow gf defeat on sat,and there is no chance they are coming back but are looking to expand their ranks!!
I would of thought Woy Woy would be a chance for a senior team(esp div 2 to start off) but any extra possible players headed to Gossy may kill that off!

Bateau and Sara will eventually come in,its just a matter of time be it 2-3 years,agree any extra Wyong/Nelsons teams dosent seem likely in near future,anyone in junior Newwy footy know if the Cats are keen? I know they were interested at 1 point but not heard anything since.

Like the cross conference superbowl idea for 17's. Agree prob not any clubs currently that could field 3 open age teams(I know it was tough for City) Im still in favour of alligning clubs in the draw geographically to possibly help out the draw with 3 divs

Any truth to the rumour the Warners Bay coach in a bold recruitment attempt spent grand final weekend in Melbourne with a number of Terrigal premiership players, also paying for the entire weekend for 2 brothers from the panthers???

Had a couple of drinks with the Gossy boys after their narrow gf defeat on sat,and there is no chance they are coming back but are looking to expand their ranks!!
Noodles,
It's early days but I'd be interested to know whether there are any movements so far southbound down the F3; it's been good to have Gosford in the SFL this year and, by all accounts, the whole project has been a raging success.
Are there any other teams eyeing up the Mooney Bridge for a southward migration ?

Any more Troy Luffs or McVeighs that are wanting to come to the big smoke ?

What about the combined team that might have joined us ?

Any truth to the rumour the Warners Bay coach in a bold recruitment attempt spent grand final weekend in Melbourne with a number of Terrigal premiership players, also paying for the entire weekend for 2 brothers from the panthers???

Not sure who was down there,but there was a bucks weekend on with numerous wyong boys in melbourne and at the the big 1!! Brothers? as in van dams? Would think they would be very hard to move from Terr altho their uncle did a season or 2 at the pies a few years ago. If its them,or any other brothers for that matter I can only really see the lure of a new challenge as motivation ie a club that hasent won it yet! that or money!!!lol

Noodles,
It's early days but I'd be interested to know whether there are any movements so far southbound down the F3; it's been good to have Gosford in the SFL this year and, by all accounts, the whole project has been a raging success.
Are there any other teams eyeing up the Mooney Bridge for a southward migration ?

Any more Troy Luffs or McVeighs that are wanting to come to the big smoke ?

What about the combined team that might have joined us ?

Hey mate, the last I heard Gossy are full steam ahead for next year, with the option of either staying as is (div4) seeking promotion(div3) and independant of promotion or not looking at player numbers for a (div5 team). There are some changes going on on the Coast/Newcastle with junior grades getting a shake up etc.

I think Gossy would agree it has been a success,and without knowing all their ins/outs and no disrespect to players etc it wouldnt have been their strongest team that they could have fielded had they gone to Sydney a few years earlier!!!

As for others clubs etc Wyong(similiar to Gossy in ability/player numbers etc) arent looking at it yet (I think they should,but dont have the ear of the new president unfortunately!!) and Killarney vale were keen early on but not sure about them now,think they were told couldnt stay as bombers,altho they did register central coast bombers I believe and I dont know wat the big wigs want(ie for clubs to choose either Newwy comp or Sydney comp) terrigal won premier div so they prob happy how they are for now.
Possible new senior clubs will join our comp but not till 2014.

As for Luffs or Mcveighs, we also had Bird from our comp (nellie bay) a premiership player with the Swans this year,and Ray Hall who had an ok afl career at Richmond. Not bad for a league dominated area!! There are a couple of juniors doing ok but most are already playing in Sydney with Pennant hills/Balmain/Hills etc

Finally as for the combined team,I like the idea of an 18's team playing down there (as most with the skill/desire)already play there,but as for seniors cant see it happening,too much to work out,clubs dispute,we already did it before!!! etc and our comp prob cant afford its better players to leave

Hey mate, the last I heard Gossy are full steam ahead for next year, with the option of either staying as is (div4) seeking promotion(div3) and independant of promotion or not looking at player numbers for a (div5 team). There are some changes going on on the Coast/Newcastle with junior grades getting a shake up etc.

I think Gossy would agree it has been a success,and without knowing all their ins/outs and no disrespect to players etc it wouldnt have been their strongest team that they could have fielded had they gone to Sydney a few years earlier!!!

As for others clubs etc Wyong(similiar to Gossy in ability/player numbers etc) arent looking at it yet (I think they should,but dont have the ear of the new president unfortunately!!) and Killarney vale were keen early on but not sure about them now,think they were told couldnt stay as bombers,altho they did register central coast bombers I believe and I dont know wat the big wigs want(ie for clubs to choose either Newwy comp or Sydney comp) terrigal won premier div so they prob happy how they are for now.
Possible new senior clubs will join our comp but not till 2014.

As for Luffs or Mcveighs, we also had Bird from our comp (nellie bay) a premiership player with the Swans this year,and Ray Hall who had an ok afl career at Richmond. Not bad for a league dominated area!! There are a couple of juniors doing ok but most are already playing in Sydney with Pennant hills/Balmain/Hills etc

Finally as for the combined team,I like the idea of an 18's team playing down there (as most with the skill/desire)already play there,but as for seniors cant see it happening,too much to work out,clubs dispute,we already did it before!!! etc and our comp prob cant afford its better players to leave

Seriously Noodles, do you really think the Van Dams would leave Terrigal to go to another club within the comp? Same as anyone at Terrigal. Youve just won a flag, I doubt you would be taking off up the freeway to Warners Bay. As it is the Van Dams werent the brothers with the Warners Bay coach, who certainly isnt renowned for shouting a drink at the pub, let alone a weekend away! Looking at peoples Facebook posts over the grand final weekend it looked like there were plenty of people from within the comp down at the GF, and it is surely a good sign that a few blokes from different clubs were getting together and having beers over the weekend, which can only help the relationships between clubs.

What will the make-up of the competition look like next year? Will Singleton be promoted to premier division? Hopefully they are as it will be a good test for that club, and it is the only way their players will improve. Will mean a bye is introduced but so what. It isnt a bad thing in a comp, allows people to get away from footy for a week which isnt the worst thing. Where are Wyong and Nelson Bay at? Will the moving of junior footy to 17s have a positive/negative or no impact? It is all something time will tell.

As for other clubs entering the AFL Sydney comp from the Hunter/CC, I believe it wont be happening any time soon. I have heard the powers that be in AFL NSW/ACT dont want to see the BDAFL comp get ripped to pieces by clubs moving to Sydney, so people will have to live with playing in the BDAFL for a while yet.

On juniors coming through, there are a couple who have a heap of ability but for the development of their footy in my opinion, they need to get out of Newcastle footy and experience higher level stuff. I think it is a waste of time for kids to go play 18s footy in Sydney, but if a junior player is good enough to play senior footy at that level they should go and do it. If I was super fair dinkum as a 17/18 year old, I would be going to either Hills or Sydney Uni and playing NEAFL footy, as that is the highest level you can play club footy at in the state, and going to expose you to much more than local footy will. One thing I've never understood is the people who say these kids coming through with plenty of ability should be staying and making the comp stronger. What will they get out of that? A rep jumper, or have idiots try and take their head off every week? Id have thought it was better for the comp and clubs to have in a record at an EFL game or WAFL game "previous club- Terrigal/Avoca" so the league and clubs get exposure, as well as that kid playing the highest level of footy they can. You only get one crack at it so why not aim high while you can.

Hey Deitzy, sorry if it sounded like I thought it would happen (van dams etc leave Terr) quite the opposite, I was trying to think of a fair dinkum reason for any of the Terr boys to even consider it(and came up with nothing!!)lol
As we know most posts on here are heresay at best(some out and out lies!!) Most if not all of your posts are factual and informed having been around a long time,and id like to think that mine would be held in the same light.
Agree its great that blokes can have a beer(or 2) with guys from other clubs,we dont hate each other(we just like to win on the weekend!!)

Surely Singo will get promoted!! They proved they were a long way in front of the others, apart from an average game against the bay (1 point win) they smashed Nellie and definately Wyong on every attempt!!
I hope they learned from their year in the top grade that the best are more than capable brasso,childs,elmo,mitchell etc its the bottom 6 or so that need to bridge the gap to compete in prem div!

As for Wyong I think they are where they prob belong(in a 2nd grade,call it what u like) prob never gona challenge in the top grade but may become the 'powerhouse 2's team' they once were.(this is why I thought they would consider Sydney where there are more divs/levels u can compete at(Wyong look like they could win 1st div get promoted get smashed then win 1st div etc etc Cant see them being able to take that next step in bdafl(my opinion anyway!!)

Nelsons used to be able to compete,think RAAF and even Birdy days,but now not many raafies and better players go to city(I believe a very good red headed city player was once a Nellie boy lol) I see them now around the same level as Wyong too good for lower level,not up to senior level(would love them to prove me wrong and we have 8 team prem div!!!)

Also heard that the big wigs want the same(and apparently Gary got told off for Gossy joining) I dont think its a bad thing to have options but agree no one wants to see a comp die. You(and myself) have mentioned the poss return of the nafl,well the coast clubs should then choose nafl or sfl.

17's will hopefully keep 17 year olds playing the game but not sure it keeps 18 year olds in, the removal of 18's grade from senior club duties will prob help more Maitlands get off the ground (where you have established junior club) then easy to add 1 senior team as opposed to the old you must have 1's 2's and 18's or else!!! remember Woy Woy? They were happy doing their thing competing in a lower grade,were given time frame and the year they were supposed to step up said see ya later.

If the players want to play the highest level totally agree, play neafl and see how you go, if you make it great if not you will at least not die wondering and surely return a better player in any case!!

Your old mob has a pretty good record with players testing themselves at higher levels,it should be encouraged more

Hi guys, I've only recently moved to newy and I want to play AFL next year, I've only played 1 year before which was 17s (now 25) played soccer for the last 7-8 years. Just wondering what the chances of me being able to get a game next year would be? Ie- how high a level is BDAFL? I'm 6'4 and about 100 kegs pretty unfit though.

Just watched a very interesting video on AFL.com about new rules for 2013 http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/149757/default.aspx

It will be interesting to see how the ruck-man in the BDAFL, sorry AFL Hunter Coast cope with the new "no contact" rule at ball ups and boundary throw ins. That's right there is to be NO CONTACT between the ruck-man at these contests.

Heaven help the umpires with that one.

just because they are implemented in the afl doesnt necessarily mean they are implemented in this league does it roger? we have made up a card system and still have 4 on the bench. this is without mentioning our leagues umpires interesting interpretation on a lot of rules.

Hi guys, I've only recently moved to newy and I want to play AFL next year, I've only played 1 year before which was 17s (now 25) played soccer for the last 7-8 years. Just wondering what the chances of me being able to get a game next year would be? Ie- how high a level is BDAFL? I'm 6'4 and about 100 kegs pretty unfit though.
Mate you'll get a kick no worries with any of the clubs.
Go to the league website www.bdafl.sportingpulse.net and there are a list of clubs on there. Get in touch with them and they'll be more than happy to get you down for a kick. Despite a lot of the banter on here, most of the clubs are an easygoing lot and you'll be made to feel welcome.*

* that being said, play for Cardiff, the rest of them are scumbags :D :p

Just watched a very interesting video on AFL.com about new rules for 2013 http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/149757/default.aspx

It will be interesting to see how the ruck-man in the BDAFL, sorry AFL Hunter Coast cope with the new "no contact" rule at ball ups and boundary throw ins. That's right there is to be NO CONTACT between the ruck-man at these contests.

Heaven help the umpires with that one.

Sounds great!!! I wish they had the rule in about 10 years ago!!! Would of helped my body(and probably my game) by not being bashed/blocked before the ball was in play,is it the rule they trialed in nab with the umps calling out for ruckmen to nominate themselves,then no contact untill ball arrives?

Definaately helps the (jumping ruckmen) myself being one,but not much good for the bigger bodied(wrestlers)

Sounds great!!! I wish they had the rule in about 10 years ago!!! Would of helped my body(and probably my game) by not being bashed/blocked before the ball was in play,is it the rule they trialed in nab with the umps calling out for ruckmen to nominate themselves,then no contact untill ball arrives?

Definaately helps the (jumping ruckmen) myself being one,but not much good for the bigger bodied(wrestlers)

They are turning the game into basketball if you ask me !!!! If any two players on the ground should be allowed to wrestle it is the designated ruckmen at a bounce or throw in. If anything I would rather see the rules relaxed by the umpires in this context ... short of ripping each others head off let them go at it.

I would prefer some tightening of the grappling and holding at the contest that goes on with midfielders and taggers ... absolutely ruins the flow of the game.

They are turning the game into basketball if you ask me !!!! If any two players on the ground should be allowed to wrestle it is the designated ruckmen at a bounce or throw in. If anything I would rather see the rules relaxed by the umpires in this context ... short of ripping each others head off let them go at it.

I would prefer some tightening of the grappling and holding at the contest that goes on with midfielders and taggers ... absolutely ruins the flow of the game.

obviously dont watch much bdafl. there is no flow to begin with.

Any news down that way at all? Any coaches appointed/retirements etc? Any word as to whether clubs are moving to premier division? Seems strangely quiet down there with nothing on the league website since the GF. What date is the league AGM?

Kv should be announcing a coach in 1-2weeks..

Interesting to see they are looking for applicants for the GM role at the moment. Thats how many GMs in how many years now? No wonder things chop and change so much when they can't get any continuity in the key administrative role for the league. Clubs frustrations grow because everything goes back to square one this time every year and by the time the year is done and they have an idea on what to do, they then move on.
If, as I have heard over the last couple of years, that they arent happy with the GMs work, the simple way to fix it is make the position full time, like they have wanted to do for the last 10 years, and you will find a quality candidate then. I doubt that the AFL feel the need to fund a full time position whilst they would only service the senior league, so now may be an ideal time with the name change of the region to bring junior football under that umbrella, and have that person administer the 3 competitions.
I would hate another 12 months to go by and be in the same position everyone has been in over the last couple of years at this time of year.

Interesting to see they are looking for applicants for the GM role at the moment. Thats how many GMs in how many years now? No wonder things chop and change so much when they can't get any continuity in the key administrative role for the league. Clubs frustrations grow because everything goes back to square one this time every year and by the time the year is done and they have an idea on what to do, they then move on.
If, as I have heard over the last couple of years, that they arent happy with the GMs work, the simple way to fix it is make the position full time, like they have wanted to do for the last 10 years, and you will find a quality candidate then. I doubt that the AFL feel the need to fund a full time position whilst they would only service the senior league, so now may be an ideal time with the name change of the region to bring junior football under that umbrella, and have that person administer the 3 competitions.
I would hate another 12 months to go by and be in the same position everyone has been in over the last couple of years at this time of year.

Hey Deitzy, any idea how much it pays? Agree maybe with the inclusion of the junior leagues they will be more likely to make a full time role(and hence attract possibly better/more experienced people)