Black Diamond AFL

Good to see that the league has precautions in place for this weekend, should the weather not hold again.

Nelson Bay's ground and Adelaide Street on Sunday.

if i had to choose which ground, id choose burwell.. just because it seems to soak the water up far better.

warners bay in all 3 grades.. will any or all of them come out on top? their juniors had a similar fate against cardiff but cardiff came out victors.

if i had to choose which ground, id choose burwell.. just because it seems to soak the water up far better.

From a photographers point of view, I hate Number 1. The cars parked around the ground give a lousy background (its probably OK for the pro's with $$$$ to spend on a wide aperture lens to blur the background, but my other half would scream if I asked for $8000 for a new lens). I like Warners Bay and Lake Macquarie grounds in that respect. I also like lots of big puddles, make for some good photos as the players do the big face plant into the mud.;)

good point with the cars but what about colour of the grass? picket fence? old grandstand? I reckon they add heaps to a photo. Seaman Oval.... One of the worst in the comp, Lake Mac's isn't too bad. Got your point though, you're a photographer, I'm a player

My rating of grounds
No. 1 - atmosphere, council is too quick to close
Dick Burwell - Great size, Holds up in the wet, only drawback is in drought

Huge gap

Teralba - Good size + handles wet
Adelaide Oval - If it's not wet
Adcock park - might be a little small, council is way too quick to close
Billy Elliot - Can get greasy if wet but then holds ok
Seaman good size but mud bog if wet
Don small is a cow paddock
Hylton Moore is a goat track

Looks like the weather forecast for the weekends game predicts a heatwave compared to the last few weeks. Max temp 27 and possible thunderstorms in the afternoon which could make it interesting if a team gets outta the blocks quickly and gets a lead encase a storm does hit. My prediction is a close game all day and could go either way with a kick in it, but a Warners win if Cardiff dont show their opposition respect. Maybe the week off is good for them to re-focus.

a heatwave? is it just me, or does it happen every year, about this time in the year. just a little taste of summer.

i doubt the game would get called off late into 3rd quarter, the worst it will do is rain heavily, but its only meant to be an electrical display, so high chance they'll just keep on playing.

how are city holding up? after 3 weeks off, is this a disadvantage? advantage?

a heatwave? is it just me, or does it happen every year, about this time in the year. just a little taste of summer.

i doubt the game would get called off late into 3rd quarter, the worst it will do is rain heavily, but its only meant to be an electrical display, so high chance they'll just keep on playing.

how are city holding up? after 3 weeks off, is this a disadvantage? advantage?
Maybe 3 weeks off they might have to do a pre-season just for the finals:)

From a photographers point of view, I hate Number 1. The cars parked around the ground give a lousy background (its probably OK for the pro's with $$$$ to spend on a wide aperture lens to blur the background, but my other half would scream if I asked for $8000 for a new lens). I like Warners Bay and Lake Macquarie grounds in that respect. I also like lots of big puddles, make for some good photos as the players do the big face plant into the mud.;)

I like taking photos of chicks with massive cans!

Hey guys and girls. Long time lurker, first message. Just like to say it should be an interesting game on Saturday for the first quarter or so, but I expect Cardiff to be too good. I reckon Warners best 6-8 players can match it with Cardiff's best 6-8 but the next 10 players Cardiff have a clear edge. Anyway, looking forward to taking part in some good footy debate in the future (as long as UTF stays quiet. Wishful thinking..)

I am new in town and had the pleasure of watching the major semi between Cardiff and Newcastle City, I thought that the game was of a particularly high standard.

There is no doubt in my mind that Cardiff faded badly in the second half of the game, however I could not help but think that they were pretty hard done by with the frees inside and outside the fifty in the second half of the game.

Being a Western Bulldogs supporter I will certainly be plugging for WB on Saturday and I trust that both sides receive a fair go from the umpires.

All the very best Fella's you can do it.

Oh Pete did you miss me? Sorry, I enjoyed Ian Granland's history lecture at the BDAFL Presentation night far too much and I've only just recovered.

I do have a question to whomever can answer it: what is the procedure if it does start to storm during a game? Surely in this litigious context they can't run the risk that a player would get struck by lightning!

Oh Pete did you miss me? Sorry, I enjoyed Ian Granland's history lecture at the BDAFL Presentation night far too much and I've only just recovered.

I do have a question to whomever can answer it: what is the procedure if it does start to storm during a game? Surely in this litigious context they can't run the risk that a player would get struck by lightning!
Hi Miss BD, the decision to call off the game should a storm start if left up to the umpires. They have to take into account player official and spectator safety. I believe if the storm is an electrical storm or that there is lightening in the immediate area but maybe not at the ground at the time, the directive is to call off the game. I am not sure but and maybe borgy can answer it but if there is a certain percentage of the game that has been played, then they can call a winner from the scores. If that percentage has not been reached they have to replay the game.

if it is called off.. is the game then replayed on sunday? this season cant go on any longer surely.

or, if the previous games between cardiff and warners bay are any indication of the score line on saturday, cardiff will win by about 95-18 (if game is called off at or after half time).

havent heard from any city siders in a while, hard at training perhaps?

no big surprises yesterday with Cardiff giving WB a touch up in 1sts, City 2nds going out the back door and Terrigal getting a good win over WB in the 18's.

Funniest thing was seeing Blake have a go at a spectator at half time... would have thought the co-coach would have been more worried about what was happening on the field then off it, especially being the co-coach.

My prediction from a few weeks ago was correct. Warners Bay would not beat Cardiff. Credit it to them for making a game of it until half time but unfortunately you have to play a whole game to win.

Does anyone think Cardiff have a chance of taking out all three grades next week???

Saturdays game failed to reach the heights of the major semi final, despite my support for the Bay, I thought the Bay were going to give it a shake at half time but the Cardiff side failed to choke as was predicted.

Next weeks Grand Final should be enjoyable, I think that Cardiff have the advantage given the huge lay off City have had.

The umpiring effort this week was very good and I trust that the trend continues in the pentultimate game.

The 18's and Reserves should also go to the wire.

The very best wishes to all the teams their Coaches, Players and officials.

My prediction from a few weeks ago was correct. Warners Bay would not beat Cardiff. Credit it to them for making a game of it until half time but unfortunately you have to play a whole game to win.

Does anyone think Cardiff have a chance of taking out all three grades next week???

Have to agree with you here, was a great game to watch till the 3rd quarter, skills were razor sharp from both teams, and the bay seemed to have all the answers, pity about the 2nd half but at least they made is this far. Not sure about cardiff in all 3 next week, terrigals 18's were pretty good yesterday and should be a cracker but my tip is cardiff, in ressies i think warners bay will take it out, last 2 matches have been decided by less than 10 pts, although cardiff won both i think the bay will have too much run and their hardness at the ball yesterday won them the game. 1st garde should be a great match, expect cardiff to be pretty pissed losing to city in the semi so should come out firing and smash city.

no matter what happens this week... i believe the best two teams from each grade rightfully deserve their place in the grand final. The games themselves will be worth the arm and a leg they charge to watch.

Good luck all this week.

p.s. go cardiff :D

After seeing terrigal play i believe that they have the fire power to knock off the undefeated hawks in 18s..

Warners Bay going off recent form should be capable of taking out ressies

However firsts will be a well fought out game and not sure as to which way the game will swing

Does anyone think cardiff have a chance of losing all grades?

After seeing terrigal play i believe that they have the fire power to knock off the undefeated hawks in 18s..

However firsts will be a well fought out game and not sure as to which way the game will swing

Under 18s will be if the Cardiff by dont think they have won it before they play it. If they think that then the Terrigal Boys will walk all over them.

The Ressies will be a hard one to pick. Will be a great game and depending how the bay players pulled up after saturdays game but the Cardiff boys will be keen to get stuck into the game. They have a lot of players who are still young but have plenty of experience. Will be a great game.

First Grade. Well City watch out. After their major semi loss Cardiff will be focused. I think having 3 teams at training through the week will keep everyone focused and should be an advantage unlike other teams who may lose some focus because senior guys arent their.

Either way all grades will be great to watch in the sun enjoyong a beer. My tip Cardiff in 2 of 3 grades at least.

Under 18s will be if the Cardiff by dont think they have won it before they play it. If they think that then the Terrigal Boys will walk all over them.

The Ressies will be a hard one to pick. Will be a great game and depending how the bay players pulled up after saturdays game but the Cardiff boys will be keen to get stuck into the game. They have a lot of players who are still young but have plenty of experience. Will be a great game.

First Grade. Well City watch out. After their major semi loss Cardiff will be focused. I think having 3 teams at training through the week will keep everyone focused and should be an advantage unlike other teams who may lose some focus because senior guys arent their.

Either way all grades will be great to watch in the sun enjoyong a beer. My tip Cardiff in 2 of 3 grades at least.

i think that all the teams that played last weekend (Terrigal, Warner's and Cardiff) will be hard to beat. this is due to the fact of the other teams having such a long break between their games. it will be interesting how the teams with those few weeks off handle the pace of the first quarter and will they be blown off the park?

Yes, Cardiff will lose all three grades!!!!!!!!!!!

I am sure that the coaches of the Cardiff teams will be surprised to learn that they are going to lose all three grades, obviously you know more about the game in this town than I do (Being knew to Newcastle) but from what I have seen there are certainly no certainties.

I look forward to seeing some great contests and I don't think they will be too lopsided.

Does anyone have any info on how the junior grand finals went the other week?

This saturday is going to be HUGE! I think the lack of numbers over the last few weeks was due to the BDAFL's high gate pass and everyone was saving their money for the big day...